Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you expect to see in rural Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I see just as much dumping in Dublin as i do down the country to be honest.

aw well I'm never in Dublin so I wouldn't know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Yis should all get out more:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭sharkbite1983

Some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, the best craic in a lock in with a guitar session till 5 am drinking the creamest pints of Guinness ever. Yum

I'm from Dublin and I hate the kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭MotteDai

I wont get engaged with this thread from here, iiving in Mayo, what a beautiful place... god bless ireand

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

people talking to each other on the road, even when hey don't know each other, crazy I know.
    silage waves
    one car a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

The farmers handshake!
    We laugh at the boggers here, hard to grasp I know but here are different levels of boggerness. Farmers handshake consists of pressing your hand against the windscreen with all 5 fingers spread eagled and making a stupid face. It's red but feckin hilarious.

That and when you see a mate coming towards you on the road and you lie down on the passanger seat so it looks like there's no one driving the car. We haven't died pulling this stunt yet either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

gigantic ostentatious 7 bed houses with 3 acres of land, half a bog and a lake on sale for 80 grand

shops doubling as pubs/hardware/petrol stations/ headshops/ brothels

bonfires along the road after weddings ( well maybe in galway anyway)

an average wedding with 600 people in case someone gets left out

individuals from a certain nomadic community arriving at isolated farms trying to rob the place at the pretence of selling gates

ongoing family feuds about who should have paid for a funeral 90 years ago

lads arguing about the price of sheep dip and potato blight medicine

hairy arses sticking out of ditches!

driving across half the country to buy a digger/ tractor for 50 quid less

sheep hopping over walls at night time and nearly crashing cars

women with ronnie drew style beards

reading the social column of the farmers journal

attending a funeral is a daily event

bating lumps out of lads from the next town over

chippers called super donalds, mac burger, burger max etc

i'm a dub but i luv ye all lads

Lads collecting their dole in the local post office with horses tied outside:D:D

I've seen more horses being ridden on the M50 than where I live, used to have some neighbours who kept jumping over the fence and eating my plants! :mad:

Young lads about 13 driving tractors down narrow country roads with a head of long hair full of hay smoking a fag:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

areas of gravel which once were roads !:(

sheep being used as women substitutes !:eek:

people listening to "the deaths" on radio bogtrotter !:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Ugly women

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I remember my granny doing this on a daily basis. She used to say she was checking to see if she was dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

sheep shearing and dipping
    milking cows
    spreading muck
    cutting silage
    thinning mangles, turnips, carrots, and parsnips which city and country folk eat
    picking the poppies or praties
    pulling turnips
    going to the bog to cut turf, well, ( if the greens get their way that will be a thing of the past)
    peeing on the ditch
    eating bacon sandwiches with a pint of fresh creamy milk ( not pasturised)
    feeding the hens, geese, ducks) collecting the eggs
    washing the wellies
    drawing the turf home from bog with horse or tractor
    saving the hay
    washing myself in the stream on the farm with a bar of sunlight soap and a scrubbing brush, thats nate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

LFC5Times wrote: »
    Sh1t "nightclubs" full of everyone in the town

Incest

indeed, all just trying to model themselves on CopperFaceJacks.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

its not that bloody bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

people talking to each other on the road, even when hey don't know each other, crazy I know.
    silage waves
    one car a day

Not true my road has 5000 cars a day as it links limavady and derry wey coleraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

owenc wrote: »
    Not true my road has 5000 cars a day as it links limavady and derry wey coleraine.

Why don't you get yourself down to Limavady this afternoon for the vintage rally instead of wasting your life away on the internet. Fun for all the family!

http://www.limavady.gov.uk/visiting/whats-on/619/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Incest babies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

a petrol station that employs the whole town

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Jesus, some of you people need to get out of the cities more. I imagine the banjo from Deliverance plays in your head when ye're 1km outside your "cultured areas" :pac:

"To be shure, to be shure!!"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

owenc wrote: »

pff you city roader! I'm from real rural :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

clondalkin??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

I'd literally expect to see nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

You can expect to see me driving a Massey Fergus and cutting some thistles in about an hours time

Ooo Arr

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭high horse

Sheep can iron shirts now? Are they any good at making the tae?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

A small village with an inexplicably wide main street........two drivers passing in opposite directions stop for a chat......which combined with the triple-parking either side renders the whole road completely impassable

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭rednik

The obligatory donkey posing at the side of the road for photos as they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

rednik wrote: »
    The obligatory donkey posing at the side of the road for photos as they do.

Cheese! That'll be a fiver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Don Keypunch

Designer Tractors