Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shaking hands before a game, what do you say?

• 19-06-2010 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

As the title says, what do you say to the guy you are marking if ye shake hands before a game?

the norm I find is 'good luck' or 'best of luck', but really I would rather the guy doesn't have the best of luck for this particular match.

What should you say (without being nasty)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Most players dont actually say anything.

Just a shake and a nod of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I much prefer the Drago school of etiquette

It's how I always wanted Sami Hyypia to be when he was at Liverpool. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I don't say anything as I know I'm gonna try rile up during the game!

OP try the pulling his shorts down or the pullin his underarm hairs when helping him up technique,works a treat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,807 ✭✭✭✭kippy

"mmmm, nice legs honey"
    With a sly wink...............

That's a pretty "nice" thing to say and should throw them enough...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I don't play soccer, but in rugby I just squeeze their hands really hard and then growl(not a Homer Simpson sexy growl, more like a dog:P) at them when we're going into a scrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

If its John Terry, then he's probably saying something like ... "I had your missus, and yours, and yours, and yours, not yours though ... shes manky..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I'd always just say 'Best of luck' - it's in the spirit of fair play imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I don't shake hands before the game I am not a proffesional.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I never shake hands as I know most of the lads go to the bog before the game and Don't wash their hands!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    If its John Terry, then he's probably saying something like ... "I had your missus, and yours, and yours, and yours, not yours though ... shes manky..."

Laughed hard at that, well done :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Nothing wrong with it at all.

"Break a leg"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Welcome to your first day at the school of hard knocks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I hope you said goodbye to your mammy is another good one I've been told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

''Story witcha digits''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,014 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I always said 'good luck' but inside my head I was saying 'I am going to beat your ass mofo'

• Subscribers Posts: 16,596 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

PaulieC wrote: »
    I hope you said goodbye to your mammy is another good one I've been told

If you are trying to set them up for about 10 obvious jokes it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

Just give them a quick glance up and down and a peek at their boots. No words spoken, unless they say something first then I will give a reaction. ;)