Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Construction Studies

• 19-06-2010 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭

Does anyone have a full list of all the drawings that could come up in Question 1? Please & thankyou :D

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Mwah

Yeah i'd like this as well, im totally ****ed for the exam and out class never even got thought how to do uvalues... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭pathway33

Don't know if this is any use but here's the syllabus >>> http://www.education.ie/servlet/blobservlet/lc_construction_studies.pdf?language=EN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Titan9

Does any one have any tips on what drawing could come up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

I'm right now looking through the papers for the last 5 years to look for trends.

Firstly the drawings I know could come up are

• A flat roof
    • A manhole
    • The fireplace
    • The Chimney with the roof
    • A pitched roof
    • septic Tank
    • The stairs
    • The window casement.
    • Suspended timber floor
    • A concrete floor
    • The door.
    Some of these drawings can be found here
    http://homepage.tinet.ie/~abbeynet/Drawings/drawing_entry.htm

Two drawing questions come up every year. On Q1 the mandatory one and Q 7.

Q 5 has been the U-value question for the last 7 years.

Resistance= Thickness/ Conductivity or Resitivity x Thickness.

U-Value = 1/ (Total Resistance)

Sustainable Development has been up in the form of Q 6 + 10 for the last 4 years.

Generally

Q6: Is about rural building(regulations and guidelines)
    Low environmental impact construction.

Q10: Solar space/ Natural(solar) heating and insulating.

Thats 5 of your questions there done.

I am not however suggesting that that's all yous study as these are not guranteed to come up seeing as all other subjects seem to have become less predictable.

Also Foundations/floors/walls/openings comes up very often and so does the roof.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

I'm ruined for this, our teacher thinks the window/ door might come up but I haven't learned a thing about either, or how to draw them yet!

SunSpace Question will do me, I'll learn the Uvalue, and rest are guesswork really.

Construction is usually failr sound though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

we're allowed the tables for the u value and light questions aren't we

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    we're allowed the tables for the u value and light questions aren't we

Yup yup just ask.

Crow92 wrote: »
    Yup yup just ask.

Are you sure we don't have to draw them out ourselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ajjmk

pathway33 wrote: »
    Don't know if this is any use but here's the syllabus >>> http://www.education.ie/servlet/blobservlet/lc_construction_studies.pdf?language=EN

Theres alotta information in that, & I seem none the wiser :P Cheers though!

@Crow92 damn, I know like..none of those! I only chose this subject cos I thought it was easy, but Im lacking both common sense, & carpentry skills so Im finding it fecking haaaard!:eek:

Doocey wrote: »
    Are you sure we don't have to draw them out ourselves?

You have to work them out yourself yes but you can get the tables if need be.

ajjmk wrote: »
    Theres alotta information in that, & I seem none the wiser :P Cheers though!

@Crow92 damn, I know like..none of those! I only chose this subject cos I thought it was easy, but Im lacking both common sense, & carpentry skills so Im finding it fecking haaaard!:eek:

I only took this up in 5th year because it is easy. If you did any theory you'll know some basics. Just work now with the exam papers and use the marking scheme's from examinations.ie and you should be doing grand.

Alot of it becomes repetitive like reasons for building certain things like foundations and walls. i.e. durability, aesthetics, stability ect. or for any questions to do with heat loss and low enviornmental imact you talk about the same materials to insulate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

I actually found all my drawings this morning :D ... I have 8 of them i think, I will hopefully attempt the two drawings, U Value question and 2 others! If a saftey question comes up you can just dance away! :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Mwah

anyone got any drawing predictions ?

Door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ajjmk

Draw a door? :/

Panels of a door, entrance, etc.

There's probably a title for it :D

Door detail? :D

Like facing a door externally?

My teacher believes the window or foundations will come up.

The three panels of the door, the thrush(?) in the doorway.
    Window could come yes teacher also mentioned that.

If a fireplace comes, I'll start baning me head against the table.

I've never done about half the drawings.

I'm jsut gonna learn to sketch them with measurements then just like draw them properly on the day:p

You'll be doing well if ya can.
    Afterall, it's one drawing question, worst case scenario I get about 40% of it right.
    Then the dream would be a sunspace question, safety and UValue (Definitive)

Wouldn't mind if cold bridges came up too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 neilquiksilver

ya like you have no choice in question 1 and u-vaule (hopefully) for 5 then question 10 is usually easy to follow common knowledge really lcvp helped me with q10 in the mocks was about how a new town would contribute to a rural area or something?? then only two left with over 7 options?? hopefully SOMETHING would come up in them! i still dont know u-value though need to learn it:mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭trepasers

some of you are saying the door could come up....is this the section through the wall with the door frame or do you have to draw the door as well cause we never got drawings for a door

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

trepasers wrote: »
    some of you are saying the door could come up....is this the section through the wall with the door frame or do you have to draw the door as well cause we never got drawings for a door

The door threshold.

detail_b_11.2.4.jpg

Something like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Anyone know what page that drawing is in the book?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 gary199

double GG wrote: »
    The door threshold.

detail_b_11.2.4.jpg

Something like that.

yeh thats the drawing that they'd ask for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 gaffocarl

Our teacher hasn't given us alot of advice! What exactly does it mean by notes and free hand sketches?! Cheers :-)