Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath V Dublin SFC 27/6/2010

1235»

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Het-Field wrote: »
    The man was on the ground. Plus, it is at the discretion of the ref to allow even after blowing. It was a goal.
    Eh? Which man?
    Kevin Reilly fouled Brogan and the referee blew his whistle. Brogan then took 6 or 7 more steps (without a hop or solo I might add) before finishing to the net. Brendan Murphy clearly stopped playing as he heard the whistle. There is absolutely no way you can disagree with that if you watch it again.
    And there is also no way a referee would ever blow his whistle, and then allow play to go on. Especially in that sort of situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Meath were worthy winners and fair play to them. Joe Sheridan was due a big game against Dublin and O'Rourke playing at 14 gave them a huge advantage in strength, skill and most importantly Natural ability in the attacking stakes which Dublin sadly lack. Bray, Sheridan O'Rourke and Farrell when fit are as good as any forward in Ireland. Apart from the referee making errors the Dublin backs were to blame for 3 Meath goals after they were sucked in and left their man outside on his own for breaks.

Not much point in blaming Gilroy, he has to work with what he has but I really feel Dublin have gone back. Way to many average players and this is evident in club football around Dublin. To much emphasis in club games put on hairbrained tactics and we dont develop the basic skill the players have enough instead we run the b***s off them.

As for the supporters and references made earlier to them and their expectations. Genuine Dublin fans are top class, as are the Meath fans. There is nothing like a day out in Navan or anyother provincial town its actually what Dublin need more of. The banter and crack is great. However there are a crowd of pri**s following both counties who annoy the good genuine supporter.
    Dublin supporters dont expect to win All-Irelands but the media do hype them up big time unfortunatley the fair weather supporter reads a lot when the genuine followers is in Parnell Pk or Pairc Tailtean in the rain.

Long may this healty rivalery continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Malmedicine

thehill wrote: »
    Your sad to let that to be posted sure your all fooking knackers outside the pale .is that banter:D

Wasn't Meath part of the pale? Anyway thoroughly enjoyable game. Dublin unlucky to lose by so much but in regard to the Brogan's goal both O'Reilly and Murphy stopped playing because they knew the whistle had went. Also did anyone else see the forearm smash (maybe hyberbolic) to O'Reilly by one of the Brogans in the first half not even a yellow?

Meath a lot of people forget hae been all Ireland semi finalist 2 of the last 3 years. This year they seem hungrier though and it'll be an interesting summer I'd imagine. JUST PLEASE DON'T GO AND **** IT UP BY LOSING TO LOUTH!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,530 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Congarts to a very potent Meath team. Took there chances with aplomb and got the win they were so hungry. To be honest as a dub i wasn't one bit surprised we lost but the manner is becoming all to familiar.

Until we start to play proper forwards up there with Bernard and do away with this laughable notion that half-backs can suddenly became top class half forwards at this level then i feel many more barren years lay ahead. On the plus side we have some very talented young lads coming through the ranks and hopefully we can nurture some of those through in the next year or two.

Can anyone explain the decision to take mossy(our top scorer) off, still scratching my head now!:confused:

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Wasn't Meath part of the pale? Anyway thoroughly enjoyable game. Dublin unlucky to lose by so much but in regard to the Brogan's goal both O'Reilly and Murphy stopped playing because they knew the whistle had went. Also did anyone else see the forearm smash (maybe hyberbolic) to O'Reilly by one of the Brogans in the first half not even a yellow?

Meath a lot of people forget hae been all Ireland semi finalist 2 of the last 3 years. This year they seem hungrier though and it'll be an interesting summer I'd imagine. JUST PLEASE DON'T GO AND **** IT UP BY LOSING TO LOUTH!!!

Think you'll find Alan Brogan was pushed into O'Reilly by a meath player so can't see your point on that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 sin-blu

JRant wrote: »
    Congarts to a very potent Meath team. Took there chances with aplomb and got the win they were so hungry. To be honest as a dub i wasn't one bit surprised we lost but the manner is becoming all to familiar.

Until we start to play proper forwards up there with Bernard and do away with this laughable notion that half-backs can suddenly became top class half forwards at this level then i feel many more barren years lay ahead. On the plus side we have some very talented young lads coming through the ranks and hopefully we can nurture some of those through in the next year or two.

Can anyone explain the decision to take mossy(our top scorer) off, still scratching my head now!:confused:

He's a good free taker but thats about it. he-like the other full forwards-were doing no running offf the ball adn to me he wasnt fit enough

Can't really argue about his fitness levels but in fairness he wasn't that far off the pace. His main role is exactly that though, a free taker and he had one of his better days with the boot. I only ask because A Brogan was left on and he had his poorest outing for us in a long time(good player that he is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Meath were good today but apart from their forwards I still do not see anything special.An off day from the Dublin forwards does nothing but paint over the cracks that Meath have a poor defense and a serious team like Kerry,Cork,Tyrone and possibly Monaghan who will tear that defense to shreds.

I thought Meath played the style of football that Dublin have played for years and today Dublin needed to have players that could play that style.However,this management have totally gone away from the traditional gameplan that has brought Dublins whatever success they have had over the last 5 years.Quick long ball into the full forward line was the way and Meath exposed what is a very poor full back line.

However,Leinster is well within Meaths reach now and I feel this is the case because Eamonn O Brien has gelled the team much better together.David Bray was unstoppable and Sheridan caused problems for the backs.The game was lost on the full back line and on the sideline for Dublin.Meath did everything right and looked composed doing so.

I ask why was David Henry left on the bench?Why was McAulay not brought on earlier.Why was Keaney left on when he clearly struggled?Why were Fitzsimons and O Carroll left exposed?Why was the defensive gameplan abandoned in favour of an all out attack gameplan?

It is quite clear that Dublin are going nowhere fast under this management.Mickey Whelan and Pat Gilroy need to look at themselves when this champioship is over.We have the players that have won Leinster titles but we have lost experienced players through exile such as Whelan,Ryan and Sherlock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Three balls over the heads of small Dublin defenders. Management incompetence to me.

It wasn't the size of the defenders so much as the fact that they were way out of position. Management cannot be held responsible for everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

blackbelt wrote: »
    Meath were good today but apart from their forwards I still do not see anything special.An off day from the Dublin forwards does nothing but paint over the cracks that Meath have a poor defense and a serious team like Kerry,Cork,Tyrone and possibly Monaghan who will tear that defense to shreds.

I thought Meath played the style of football that Dublin have played for years and today Dublin needed to have players that could play that style.However,this management have totally gone away from the traditional gameplan that has brought Dublins whatever success they have had over the last 5 years.Quick long ball into the full forward line was the way and Meath exposed what is a very poor full back line.

However,Leinster is well within Meaths reach now and I feel this is the case because Eamonn O Brien has gelled the team much better together.David Bray was unstoppable and Sheridan caused problems for the backs.The game was lost on the full back line and on the sideline for Dublin.Meath did everything right and looked composed doing so.

I ask why was David Henry left on the bench?Why was McAulay not brought on earlier.Why was Keaney left on when he clearly struggled?Why were Fitzsimons and O Carroll left exposed?Why was the defensive gameplan abandoned in favour of an all out attack gameplan?

It is quite clear that Dublin are going nowhere fast under this management.Mickey Whelan and Pat Gilroy need to look at themselves when this champioship is over.We have the players that have won Leinster titles but we have lost experienced players through exile such as Whelan,Ryan and Sherlock.

TBH, I cant see any good reason for Gilroy and Whelan to stay. They have experienced two championship trouncings, played poorly in two other championship games, and hammered a wojiously bad Westmeath. Gilroy also had a terrible first NFL in 2009. There were also signs in the 2010 NFL campaign that all was not well. The games against Cork and Galway showed gaps and problems.

Gilroy has also seemed to have run ins with players like Dermot Connolly and Mark Vaughan. Otherwise, we might have seen them on the pitch today. The same could be said for the alienation of lads like Shane Ryan. How we could have used a man like him today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

TBH, I cant see any good reason for Gilroy and Whelan to stay. They have experienced two championship trouncings, played poorly in two other championship games, and hammered a wojiously bad Westmeath. Gilroy also had a terrible first NFL in 2009. There were also signs in the 2010 NFL campaign that all was not well. The games against Cork and Galway showed gaps and problems.

Gilroy has also seemed to have run ins with players like Dermot Connolly and Mark Vaughan. Otherwise, we might have seen them on the pitch today. The same could be said for the alienation of lads like Shane Ryan. How we could have used a man like him today.

Shane Ryan has played on several Dublin teams that have ben embarrassingly trounced at Croker. He was little or no use to them on those days.

Gilroy deserves credit for going with a younger panel, when the so-called more experienced players have let them down on numerous occasions in the past. What Gilroy is doing will be painful for Dublin fans in the short term but is the right thing for Dublin football in the long term. Its just sad that fans can't see the bigger picture. Its also a pity he won't be around in a few years to see the benefit of his plan, but hopefully he will be remembered when another manager reas the benefits of his blooding of the next generation of Dublin players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Craig Dowling

a good game today but meath need to sort out their midfield
    mark ward is not good enough
    crawford made a big difference when he came on
    meaths defence needs sorting as well

but by hell brendan murphy is some keeper
    denied dublin a goal at the end
    was lovely weather for football as well

Which begs the questions...."Are these guys even good at personnel management?" I thought that was the whole reasoning behind Gilroy being appointed but who is really pulling the strings?

I think Mickey Whelan is a cancer on the Senior Dublin football team.In 1996 he dismantled an All Ireland winning team and sent Dublin into the doldrums by shafting players like Barr,Farrell and Jason Sherlock.13-14 years later and now Ryan,Whelan and Sherlock are gone when these guys had 2 years left in them.Those three players were central to Dublin winning 5 Leinster Titles on the trot.Meanwhile Mark Vaughan is cast aside when he is clearly a player who has a lot to offer from play and from dead balls.I think we lacked his edge which he brings to Dublin - Meath games.

Gilroy does not know who his best 15 players are.It is also clear that he has th wrong players playing the wrong style of football.There is no plan b.We have a deep pool of talent of forwards on the panel but no depth in terms of cover for our midfield and backs.Gilroy also upsets the players by going with "tactics" that the team is not comfortable with.When we have to call on Bryan Cullen to be a centre back,we are in big trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

flahavaj wrote: »
    Shane Ryan has played on several Dublin teams that have ben embarrassingly trounced at Croker. He was little or no use to them on those days.

Gilroy deserves credit for going with a younger panel, when the so-called more experienced players have let them down on numerous occasions in the past. What Gilroy is doing will be painful for Dublin fans in the short term but is the right thing for Dublin football in the long term. Its just sad that fans can't see the bigger picture. Its also a pity he won't be around in a few years to see the benefit of his plan, but hopefully he will be remembered when another manager reas the benefits of his blooding of the next generation of Dublin players.

well said!

I can only remember one match he was involved in that we got trounced and that was the Tyrone game in 2008.Last year he was brought on with 10 minutes to go like David Henry was today.Despite being involved in that terrible match,he is much better than anything we have at midfield at present and was key to our provincial success.

Gilroy does deserve credit.He is introducing some new young blood into the team but at great costs.A great manager does this by keeping the team very competitive and Dublin are nowhere near competitive at the moment.We have too many new faces all of a sudden and the team look very raw.Fitzsimons,O Carroll and McMahon are very inexperienced and made Meath look 10 times better than they actually are.

This does nothing for their confidence when they are subject to a beating like this in their first championship season.Paddy Andrews is a mystery to me.He offers something different in the forward line and generally contributes a lot to the team.Why is he being shafted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Would you stop man, firstly the poster was talking about gilroy and whelan alienating certain players and history repeating itself in that respect which has nothing to do with "trouncing"

Secondly yes there have been times where we got a hiding and ryan was part of the panel, but last i checked a team does not get beaten because of just one man on the panel alone, in fact i happen to regard shane ryan as having been a very influential player for us and the partnership of him and ciaran whelan in the middle of the pitch has been unsurpassed in modern football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

dats_right wrote: »
    . meath won't get 5 goals in the rest of the championship let alone a single game.

have to bite at this to point out a little fact to you

v Offaly 1 goal

v Laois 2 goals

v Laois(replay) 2 goals

v Dublin 5 goals

thats ten goals in four championship games so id hardly say we were lucky to get them.they were five great finishes yesterday even brian farrells at the end.the lads really stood up yesterday and its great to see this year the old meath fight and spirit is back.if i was going to take a negative outta it id say out half backs and half forwards need to do more around breaking balls in midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭FastFuse

Congrats to Meath. When chances dropped their way, they were clinical in their finishing.

It was quite a comeptitve game up until the third goal, and actually enjoyable even with all the flaws in both teams being displayed.

Worrying times for Dublin, in that progress seems to have not so much stalled as hit a wall and bounced back a decade (or more). Hard to see some of these lads being able to pick themselves up.

Micky Whelan and Pat Gilroy out? I don't know. Certainly it looks as though too many changes have been made in too short a space of time.

One thing I am convinced of though is, if Eamonn Fennell is a Championship midfielder for Dublin then I be a monkey's uncle.

There is no way this Meath team will amount to anything this season, if Dublin can control the middle of the park to that extent what would Cork, Kerry or Tyrone do to them?

As for Gilroy, if he has a shred of decency he'll walk but we all know he wont. The team haven't put in one decent performance under him. I don't agree that we are a team in transition, more like groundhog day. We have the largest pool of players to pick from but as any dub will tell you county board politics decides if you play not how good you are( just look at fennels treatment by his own county board)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

At least Dublin have a handy game to get things right and start a roll in the qualifiers.
    There is no way this Meath team will amount to anything this season, if Dublin can control the middle of the park to that extent what would Cork, Kerry or Tyrone do to them?

Probably beat us by 4 or 5 points.
    As for Gilroy, if he has a shred of decency he'll walk but we all know he wont. The team haven't put in one decent performance under him. I don't agree that we are a team in transition, more like groundhog day. We have the largest pool of players to pick from but as any dub will tell you county board politics decides if you play not how good you are( just look at fennels treatment by his own county board)

Would you not rather give him a chance? Go through maybe 1 or 2 poor seasons while new players are found and a new team that's actually capable of beating some of the top class teams is built and gelled together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

well, what to make of that.... maybe the answer to the question of was it Meath magnificence or Dublin stupidity lies in the fact that it took so long for the Dublin sideline to realise the problem was with the defence who were letting in goals and not the attack. Then again, the Meath sideline and team copped it fairly quick so maybe it was six of one half dozen of the other.

it reminded me of Olly Murphy -v- Peadar Andrews all those years ago, there must be something in the view from that dublin dugout. perhaps there is something blocking the view.

Meath were well worth the win, and the guage of it was in the way that many people on the hill did not begrudge them it nor seem madly upset by it. perhaps three big scores in three years has left us somewhat numb? The Wexford match perhaps made us aware that this was coming.

Gilroy has been exposed. He brings out this new system in February and the first time it comes under real pressure (not counting the occasions in the league) it is abandoned and Henry is scapegoat - just like Barr and Sherlock and Farrell were. Then half way during yesterdays first half they started playing that system again - bringing Brogan back to the middle of the park and leaving two forwards and at half time abandoning it again when it may have actually been of some. Maybe I am imposing my theory on what happened, but was was bright as day was the fact that the full back line were confused - they did not know if they were marking space or marking their man. If they do not know that is the fault of management. You cannot chuck on a relatively new line and not instruct them and keep a close eye on them, but yesterday they were abandoned.

This is not to take anything away from Meath. Surely it is a plus for them that they recognised the problem and exploited it. Maybe they will do it again to other teams. Meanwhile Dublin have to think again.

well, what to make of that.... maybe the answer to the question of was it Meath magnificence or Dublin stupidity lies in the fact that it took so long for the Dublin sideline to realise the problem was with the defence who were letting in goals and not the attack. Then again, the Meath sideline and team copped it fairly quick so maybe it was six of one half dozen of the other.

it reminded me of Olly Murphy -v- Peadar Andrews all those years ago, there must be something in the view from that dublin dugout. perhaps there is something blocking the view.

Meath were well worth the win, and the guage of it was in the way that many people on the hill did not begrudge them it nor seem madly upset by it. perhaps three big scores in three years has left us somewhat numb? The Wexford match perhaps made us aware that this was coming.

Gilroy has been exposed. He brings out this new system in February and the first time it comes under real pressure (not counting the occasions in the league) it is abandoned and Henry is scapegoat - just like Barr and Sherlock and Farrell were. Then half way during yesterdays first half they started playing that system again - bringing Brogan back to the middle of the park and leaving two forwards and at half time abandoning it again when it may have actually been of some. Maybe I am imposing my theory on what happened, but was was bright as day was the fact that the full back line were confused - they did not know if they were marking space or marking their man. If they do not know that is the fault of management. You cannot chuck on a relatively new line and not instruct them and keep a close eye on them, but yesterday they were abandoned.

This is not to take anything away from Meath. Surely it is a plus for them that they recognised the problem and exploited it. Maybe they will do it again to other teams. Meanwhile Dublin have to think again.

Agreed with all of the above.However,I would like to add that the unchanging of a brittle full back line while changing forwards is a typical St Vincents attitude that is so obvious in the current management setup.

I've seen it at junior level up to senior club level and unfortunately it is happening on our intercounty team.What has changed in the last 12 months is that Gilroy has employed a defensive strategy that never really needed to be brought in.Yet he has reverted back to type which left 3 very inexperienced lads exposed against a full forward line that has been together for the last 4 years now.What he maybe should have done was brought one of the midfielders back to act as an extra defender so that we could at least keep our shape up front.

Then again,we did nothing wrong last year and should have produced a Meath rout if our forwards were on form that day.Why all the changes?Bastic was doing very well at full back.There is no way he would have let Stephen Bray race in like that.

Our game plan in the first 20 mins of the first half was effective yet it was abandoned when we clearly dominated midfield.Pushing men forward was going totally against what the squad was doing all year.

There will be more scapegoats too.Henry is a corner back end of story.We needed him there particularly in the first half when Meath kept pumping in diagonal ball into left forward position.Yet the fact that he is captain and is dropped only to get 10 minutes is a clear warning sign that he too maybe shafted like Sherlock and Ryan.I also feel Barry Cahill could be next in line for the chop.2 of Meaths goals came off the back of Cahill.Whether one was a result of terrible atrocious refereeing,it still remains that the buck stops with him.He was roasted alive for the first goal and that was crucial I thought in how how the game would unfold in the second half.

Paddy Andrews is as good a forward as you can get.While we know he would never oust Bernard from his full forward position,a place on the wing forwards would have been very ideal as he has played there before.He should have been in there ahead of Corkery and O Gara.The taking off of Mossy Quinn is bizarre.He was our best forward yesterday.

For me,Keaney needs to be dropped.He looks unfit and we needed a forward with more pace to penetrate the Meath defense.However,its the gameplan that is killing us.The clear indication that Gilroy and Whelan do not know what they are doing leaves me wondering if we will get past a good Tipperary team.Maybe the fact that Parnell Park is a smaller tighter pitch may suit the team and its tactics that they used in the league but Croke Park will facilitate another annual mauling which I am concerned may be a twice a year occurrence from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

When Nigel Crawford is back properly in full form (Which he will be) Meath will have himself and Meade or Connor Gillespie in the midfield.. Can't imagine any of the teams grossly outdoing them in the midfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Losing Griffin, and re-aligning Henry has hit us hard. Im not going to condone a defence which was obliterated by Kerry in 2009, however, losing experienced defenders has not helped.

Could somebody tell me what has happened to Mark Vaughan ? He managed to hit 1-03 in rougly 30 mins of championship football in 2008, and his 2007 season speaks for itself. He also scored a crucial goal at Longford in 2006, and two key points against Meath in 2005.

We should sneak past Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

Is it just me or do Dublin dropped their heads when they go behind. (Wexford is an exception)

Kerry last year they literally threw the towel in after 5 mins.

As soon as Meath banged a few goals in they gave up also.

Dropping their headshas to come from the manager.

The back line was getting murdered but it took him ages to do something.

I didn't think Fennel played well but maybe that was what I seen from my seat.

Henry should have came on early on for Fitzsimons as I thought he was getting roasted.

End of the day Meath deserved their win and Dublin have a lot of work ahead of them or else it will be a very short summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

i dont agree that we dropped our heads after the first couple of meath goals. i think going for goals with twenty mins left was a mistake but you have to wonder what was the cause. was it the fact that we usually do it? was it the management giving up on the defence and thinking what was on the bench was worse than was out there and so just try to out goal them or was it the forward line thinking that we're getting murdered back there and it wont stop anytime soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭M007

blackbelt wrote: »

.I also feel Barry Cahill could be next in line for the chop.2 of Meaths goals came off the back of Cahill.Whether one was a result of terrible atrocious refereeing,it still remains that the buck stops with him.He was roasted alive for the first goal and that was crucial I thought in how how the game would unfold in the second half.

What game were you at - For the first goal the ref incorrectly blew him up for two hops in the middle of the park - Ball was taken off him - free kick taken quickly to corner forward position and goal scored - he was in the middle of the park - so please explain that roasting? Think some of ye should watch a rerun of the game.

Don't think the Dublin half back line were to blame - full back line was in trouble early doors and decisions should have been made at h-t to address that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

What I think is wrong that we are trying to create a style of play that will counteract the likes of Tyrone. We are thinking too much about the other team and what they will play rather than looking at ourselves and developing a game to suit our style of play.

What is wrong with having the big man on the edge of square pump in high ball to him and then have our nippy forwards like Brogan feed of him. As for defence each player mark their man, one of the mid-fielders funnels back into the defence to create the extra man, and we put players in front of goals so that we don't concede any goals and force teams to shoot from further out.

Surely if we concentrate on this we can improve.

Floppybits wrote: »
    What I think is wrong that we are trying to create a style of play that will counteract the likes of Tyrone. We are thinking too much about the other team and what they will play rather than looking at ourselves and developing a game to suit our style of play.

What is wrong with having the big man on the edge of square pump in high ball to him and then have our nippy forwards like Brogan feed of him. As for defence each player mark their man, one of the mid-fielders funnels back into the defence to create the extra man, and we put players in front of goals so that we don't concede any goals and force teams to shoot from further out.

Surely if we concentrate on this we can improve.

Couldn't agree with you more, You've hit the nail on the head there. Our problem seems to be the managements inability to play to our own strengths and style of play that you see in any dublin championship game. Its a simple game plan and it works, look at Meath today and Kerry. All this nonsense of continually playing players out of position and leaving out important players like Andrews just seems daft. We don't play the swarm defence or the running game in our club football so why they think they can do it at the highest levels beggars belief.

Either Vaughan "doesn't fit in with the style of play" or he just isn't liked by the management.He would be entering his prime now as a player aged 25.Reports of indiscipline are apparently the reason he is being excluded.

I think it is farcical having a player like Dermot Connolly named on the bench when it was well documented he was sent home from La Manga last year yet Vaughan isn't anywhere near the team.

I totally agree the loss of O Sullivan and Griffin hit us hard but that is no excuse for playing Henry out of position.I know he plays in half forwards for Raheny but there are many more better half forwardss than Henry in Dublin.He is very prominent for Raheny but that is as a result of all the play either going through him or the constant gameplan Raheny have of using him as a target.He works well as a defender and should have been there.His experience would have settled the other two lads.

M007 wrote: »
    What game were you at - For the first goal the ref incorrectly blew him up for two hops in the middle of the park - Ball was taken off him - free kick taken quickly to corner forward position and goal scored - he was in the middle of the park - so please explain that roasting? Think some of ye should watch a rerun of the game.

Don't think the Dublin half back line were to blame - full back line was in trouble early doors and decisions should have been made at h-t to address that.

I think you should revisit my post where I cited the refereeing error.In either case,Cahill looks to be a frontrunner for taking some of the blame and we all know this mis-management team have a very strong tendency to blame the more experienced players first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

I play Junior football and would be shot if i defended like dublin did for Joe and farrells goal. Although 5 goal chances and 5 goals, you can't argue with finishing like that.

Dublin totally outclassed Meath in midfield, ward was not able to get a hand near fennell. Dubs were poor with the amount of possession they had. Only for kenny picking up breaks we were in serious trouble. Meade was also poor, although he's usually better than this. Ward has had enough chances over the last few years, he's just not up to it. The sooner Crawford gets back the better, because louth have a serious midfield.

Meath defence did a good job in the second half to stop Dublin getting a goal they needed.

Can see the Dubs going on a decent run now so long as that defeat doesn't completely destroy them, ie mayo. their not as bad as they looked yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

royaler ward broke a lot of ball yesterday what killed us was the inability of some of our half backs and half forwards to be brave and go in for it.still though we deffo need crawford back as he will actually catch ball but im undecided who he would replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭pipelaser

bubbleking wrote: »
    what about in 2007 when grahem gerraghty had a perfectly good goal ruled out and alan brogan was given a goal that was a clear square ball.

The point im making is these things even themselves out - we were due a bit of luck :)

He had one disallowed in 1993 aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

What was the official attendance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

DH2K9 wrote: »
    What was the official attendance?

Sixty thousand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

unknown13 wrote: »
    Sixty thousand

We NEED AVIVA! :P