Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pink Concert

• 20-06-2010 2:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭

Hi
    I'm taking the wife to see Pink in concert in Thomond Park tomorrow. Was wondering about parking somewhere in the city and getting a taxi out to the concert. What do people think ie: where to park and taxi numbers to use?? Want to make sure the car is safe

• Registered Users Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

I'm planning on trying to get parking on or near O'Connell Street and walking out.

Another option would be parking at the Jetland Shopping Centre on the Ennis Road and walking across from there

• Registered Users Posts: 24,209 ✭✭✭✭phog

Coming from Mooncoin?

Park at City side of river or you'll be all night getting back over the bridges.

You could park on Clare St (Dublin Rd) and walk out by King John's castle, 15 - 20 minute walk max.

Where ever you park the car should be safe if you put all valubales out of sight prior to parking, it's gombeens that leave SatNavs on their dash or open the boot to get stuff out and a laptop is visible that are generally done.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Safest thing is probably to use one of the 24 hour car parks like the one on Mount Kenneth near Sarsfield bridge, which is not to say that street parking is a big risk or anything like that.

As for taxis

Limerick City Taxis 061 311111

All route taxis 061 300777

Raheen Taxis 061 415555

Fixed Price Taxis 061 313131

Hope ye have a great time at it. Have been to see Pink before and she really puts on a great show and has some cracking tunes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Another option might be to use one of the park & rides.

http://www.mikehynancoaches.ie/limerick_park_and_ride.html

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭MikeyReilly

Thanks for the replies lads. Think we'll go with the park and ride service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Any one know what time shes starting at

According to the Thomond Park website, she's due on stage at approx 8.45pm

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭manna452121

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

Can here this over by the Maldron Hotel :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Skuxx

I'm less than 3 minutes away in caherdavin and can't hear a thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

jonski wrote: »
    Can here this over by the Maldron Hotel :)
    alan1990 wrote: »
    I'm less than 3 minutes away in caherdavin and can't hear a thing!

Can hear 'Roxanne' hear as clear as a bell right now in Dooradoyle :eek:

- Can't be wind affecting what way the sound is carrying either as there is no breeze?

Its unbelievably loud here, can make out songs from first few bars of the intro!!!

- I thought it was our Neighbours a few doors down first.......!

P.S. Can hear her chatting to crowd now........

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭xi

Its vibrating the house in Ballycummin :eek:

Can hear it pretty clearly in Dooradoyle. Sounds like she is putting on a great show, plenty of chat between songs as well to make the gig feel more intimate.

Her voice sounds great tonight. I reckon anybody there is defo getting value for money.

Didn't know she covered Three non blondes....

Woo hoo free concert in Dooradoyle

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

I'm living about 5 mins from Thomond park and can't hear anything!
    Maybe its the sound travelling through the tunnel.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Could hear it very clearly here in Raheen

Pink had to stop to tell people stop fighting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

id say its got something to do with the height dooradoyle is at and the angle of the stadium openings we must be in the sweet spot.. sounded like a good concert..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

Down on the bottom road in Janesboro and can hear it enough to know what she is singing .

Kess73 wrote: »
    Can hear it pretty clearly in Dooradoyle. Sounds like she is putting on a great show, plenty of chat between songs as well to make the gig feel more intimate.

Her voice sounds great tonight. I reckon anybody there is defo getting value for money.

Worth every penny, she sure put on a spectacular show :D

I was very impressed by her

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭Gers_punto

Met her 3 tour buses coming out of the city. got an escort as far as park way roundabout and then the buses split up one went down by singland and the other 2 turned up by the childers road. was behind one the whole way to birdhill and in the distant the other 2 could be seen behind us....

Thought it was unusal the buses split up tho

Gers_punto wrote: »
    Met her 3 tour buses coming out of the city. got an escort as far as park way roundabout and then the buses split up one went down by singland and the other 2 turned up by the childers road. was behind one the whole way to birdhill and in the distant the other 2 could be seen behind us....

It would appear to be a Pink Elephant

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Gers_punto wrote: »

Maybe it was to throw off any weird stalker that might be following them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

I could hear what I thought was a band playing in a pub near by...totally forgot Pink was in town.
    What perfect weather for a gig, hope all enjoyed.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Could hear it very clearly here in Raheen

Pink had to stop to tell people stop fighting

Was just a few drunk skankers showing themselves up as the scum they are. They will probably be as proud as punch that their fight made the national news this morning.

I doubt if it took away from what sounded like a great gig for the thousands of other people there though.

Thomond Park/City Officials should really pull their fingers out though and have more than two or three concerts a year at Thomond Park though. Getting Pink to play in Limerick was a big step in the right direction imho, in terms of getting a younger act.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Kess73 wrote: »
    Was just a few drunk skankers showing themselves up as the scum they are. They will probably be as proud as punch that their fight made the national news this morning.

I doubt if it took away from what sounded like a great gig for the thousands of other people there though.

Thomond Park/City Officials should really pull their fingers out though and have more than two or three concerts a year at Thomond Park though. Getting Pink to play in Limerick was a big step in the right direction imho, in terms of getting a younger act.

Wife was at it and enjoyed it , cant have been much of a fight as she didnt see /hear anything about it until this morning.

There will be more than 2/3 concerts a year in future , from what i've heard.
    The first 2/3 years are stepping stones to see how everything goes, also hoping to increase the capacity for future concerts.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Shammy wrote: »
    Wife was at it and enjoyed it , cant have been much of a fight as she didnt see /hear anything about it until this morning.

A little suspicious no? McLove heard Pink breaking it up from Dooradoyle - Check yer Wifes story in more detail........ :eek:

Raiser wrote: »
    A little suspicious no? McLove heard Pink breaking it up from Dooradoyle - Check yer Wifes story in more detail........ :eek:

The youtube video of Pink stopping and asking for the fighting to stop has been taken down, but I am sure other ones will pop up there. From how it looked, she brought everything to a standstill to ask the people involved to cop on. They were kicked out of the stadium, and the rest of the crowd went back to enjoying what looked a a great gig.

Some of the other footage on youtube of last night looks and sounds great. Pink's stage set up puts the cheap ass stage set ups of Elton John and Rod Stewart to shame. Fair play to her for bringing as much of her full set up as would fit and for having the long ramp that went out into the crowd and the zip line to go out over the crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

that whole thing lasted about 1 minute if even. Why blow it out of proportion ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Raiser wrote: »

I did !!!!
    She started a song than stopped and said stop fighting its only drink or something like that, wife said it was nothing.

vkid wrote: »
    that whole thing lasted about 1 minute if even. Why blow it out of proportion ?

Nobody is. As I said earlier it was only a couple of local skangers showing themselves up as the scum they are.

Nobody is trying to say that there were loads of people fighting or anything like that. But it made the national news this morning, so I figure it is better to acknowledge it as a small fight between two or three pieces of local trash rather than have it sound like it was a big brawl worthy of being on the news this morning.

From what I can tell pretty much everyone who was not there is saying it sounded like a great gig, and those that were there are confirming that it was a great gig.