Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí investigating Waterford death

• 20-06-2010 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭

Gardaí are investigating the circumstances surrounding the death of a man at a house in Waterford this morning.

A 27-year-old man died at a house at the Glen in Waterford at around 5.30am.

The man's body was removed to Waterford Regional Hospital where a post mortem will be carried out this afternoon.

Gardai say it is understood the man was stabbed.

A woman who was in the house also received a number of injuries.

She is being treated at Waterford Regional Hospital.

Her injuries are not believed to be life threatening.

A 24-year-old man has been arrested and is being held at Waterford Garda Station.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0620/waterford.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

it would,nt be the house directly across from tony,s chipper by any chance?? as i saw a fella getting a slap of a hammer outside that house a few weeks ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

no, its the house opposite glen terrace...one of the bungalows between tonys and morgan street

terrible stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

tis bad alright whats the city coming to eh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Was coming home from the gym this morning and it was all blocked off, lot of garda activity as well so knew it was either someone been killed or seriously injured sadly its the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Terrible stuff,

Sad to see this kind of thing happening more and more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭tc2010

Is it part of a feud?

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭Creamsoda

tc2010 wrote: »
    Is it part of a feud?

No jealous ex-boyfriend from what I've been told. Terrible shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mysterious&Shy

Oh dear god, that's terrible!

I live across from there and was wondering was I dreaming all the noises around 6am this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

Creamsoda wrote: »
    No jealous ex-boyfriend from what I've been told. Terrible shame.

ye your right from what i hear too...:(

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

jo06555 wrote: »
    ye your right from what i hear too...:(

yep same thing i heard, also heard a rumour of who did it too....

One of the usual families?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

One of the usual families?

NO

from what I heard it's nothing like that, it was a guy who walked in on either his ex, or current gf I'm not sure, sleeping with some guy, nothing to do with "the fued" or any of those "families"

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Sheebs

I know who it was, he's from Ferrybank originally. Can't believe this has happened!

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

yeah its terrible all right id say a lot of people will know him through his line of work if its the person i heard it is

does anyone know who was killed though? it seems other people have heard the same as i have about who did it but ive heard nothing of the couple involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mountcarmel

god this is terrible situation

what line of work was the man involved in that people would know him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭burkey85

deise48 wrote: »
    yeah its terrible all right id say a lot of people will know him through his line of work if its the person i heard it is

Yeah, your right there.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 youngmother

R.I.P Paddy x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

god this is terrible situation

what line of work was the man involved in that people would know him?

tattoo artist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JohnC.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/man-held-in-fatal-stabbing-was-on-temporary-release-2228654.html
    Patrick Murphy killed and Amy Quigley injured. Amy said to be a sister of his girlfriend. Two of her children were present. The unnamed killer was on temporary release from prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

know who the lad is,he wasnt exactly an angel himself.but its a horrible way to die.what kind of coward stabs you in your sleep?and he dies an hour after its happened,imagine the fear ,knowing youve been fatally wounded?poor fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Why the fcuk are scum like this given a weekend pass from prison? They have a great time on the inside anyway, so the only reason I can think of them wanting to be out is to settle an old score or revert to type.

Breaking News: The law in this country is a joke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    tattoo artist

the victim or the accused?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭tom thum

gscully wrote: »

Breaking News: The law in this country is a joke :rolleyes:
    i think u meant OLD news gscully.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

This is nuts!

He was in my brother's primary school... some way to go.

Can do what ya want now anyway, get bail, commit another crime go to jail for a few years, come out and do it again...

No wonder crime is escalating - no deterrent

Heathen wrote: »
    the victim or the accused?

the accused, and I have confirmation that it is indeed him who has been arrested, they aren't rumours....
    mozattack wrote: »
    This is nuts!

Can do what ya want now anyway, get bail, commit another crime go to jail for a few years, come out and do it again...

No wonder crime is escalating - no deterrent

well to be fair if he's convicted of this, he's not getting out till he's over 50, only sentence for murder is life, and he'll prob get more for attacking the woman too. but yeah I get what ya mean on lesser crimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

If its who I think it is , would I be right in assuming that the accused might have a history of attacking people with knives?

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

Meatwad wrote: »
    If its who I think it is , would I be right in assuming that the accused might have a history of attacking people with knives?
    yep you can assume that all right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

tom thum wrote: »
    i think u meant OLD news gscully.:rolleyes:

Hence the sarcasm!

Meatwad wrote: »

yep, this is right alrighty

also keep an eye on RTE news website, they are saying he's due in a special hearing in court today, so i'll hope some info will become public soon enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

yup he has a history of knife crimes! if its who im told i know him well but dont know if its him or not yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Yes Boss

deisedave wrote: »
    yup he has a history of knife crimes! if its who im told i know him well but dont know if its him or not yet

A real hero then!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

A 24-year-old man has been charged with murder following a stabbing incident in Waterford city early yesterday morning.

Patrick Murphy, 27, died after the incident in a house in the Glen in Waterford city.

John Flaherty with an address at Ard Daire, Ferrybank just outside of the city was brought before a special sitting of Waterford District Court this afternoon.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0621/murphyp.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

Ye so its confirmed now that it was him ... questions need to be asked on how he was left out on temp release after another knife crime, and now end up murdering someone with a knife . Its not as if cops did not know he was a risk .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Yes Boss wrote: »
    A real hero then!!:rolleyes:

never said he was a hero small town its hard not to know most people :rolleyes:

I wonder if he was just off his face or something, crazy stuff like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JohnC.

jo06555 wrote: »
    Ye so its confirmed now that it was him ... questions need to be asked on how he was left out on temp release after another knife crime, and now end up murdering someone with a knife . Its not as if cops did not know he was a risk .

It's easy to say that with hindsight. We don't hear about all the temporary releases which end without incident. I'm sure they vastly outnumber the ones which go wrong or they wouldn't be happening. They may have genuinely believed he wasn't a risk.

Hes been out of prison about 4 months after serving a few months. It was not weekend release or anything like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It was apparently over his girlfriend/ex girlfriend from what I've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Absolutely disgraceful that this thug was let out early.

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Absolutely disgraceful that this thug was let out early.

He wasnt let out early He served his full sentence

Still a THUG!!

Yes Boss wrote: »
    Still a THUG!!

Indeed. I think Your one had 3 kids for him aswell which makes it worse.

Terrible alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

He got 3 years, 2 were dropped and due to be fully released in August as mentioned earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

what was the motive behind this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

I would say jealousy..

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

Not the face of your typical murderer.

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001059351289

Not the face of your typical murderer.

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001059351289

What does a typical murderer look like? As mentioned in previous posts he had a conviction for a similar offence!! He cannot be defended for his actions...