Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

España -v- Chile, Fri 7:30pm RTE & ITV HD

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭nipps

we'll prob see 3-4 more goals now dat chile are reduced to 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Didn't think Torres was the kind of player to do that. Joke red card.

Loving the score though. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

In fairness Estrada should have been gone before now anyway , Torres got clipped no question about it , seemed accidental but like i said he was on his 9th life

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Degag wrote: »
    Commentators said he tripped Torres.... i couldn't see any contact whatsoever!
    It was as clear as day but it was purely accidental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Never a red. This ref is a tool. Proved that in the German Aussie game as well.

Hope Chile still progress though. Swiss are a horrid horrid side.

No sending off and Torres made a meal of it.

I'm assuming Torres presumed yer man delibertely hacked him.

Still, no need for the prolonged lying on the ground BS.

Typical from the Spanish tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Referees are doing their utmost to ruin the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Torres none too happy about Villa getting all the goals so he tries to help his team out another way....

Terrible from Nando!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

nice finish from iniesta.torres made such a meal of that .got the lad sent off.nice clip of xavi telling ramos to **** off from the ref.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Hmm, any credit to Spain for the goal? It was a beaut. Typical Spain tbh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

The more i see of spain the more i dislike them. Chasing the ref with invisible cards and tumbling at the slightest of touches. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Apparently this guy is called Dracula in Mexico... I can see why he has sucked the life out of this game

I can see Chile finishing with 8 or 9 men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Switzerland should be ahead. I've been watching bits of their game and Honduras are awful. Really wasteful stuff from the Swiss.

_Bella_ wrote: »
    Apparently this guy is called Dracula in Mexico... I can see why he has sucked the life out of this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Looks like if a Chilean player even farts next to a Spaniard the ref gives a free. Tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

There's this game down the pooper.

I had my head turned when Estrada got sent off and didn't know, it would help if the commentators showed some feeling when something like that happened.

Switzerland should be ahead. I've been watching bits of their game and Honduras are awful. Really wasteful stuff from the Swiss.

They rarely score goals the Swiss. If they win, it will probably be by a single goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Archimedes wrote: »
    Referees are doing their utmost to ruin the tournament.

Isn't this the referee that sent off Cahill then after the match he went up to Cahill and apologized?

Also I agree with the point, refereeing standards have been very poor this World Cup.

So Spain vs Portugal... what a game!

The Portuguese defence have looked good and they are excellent on the break

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Really hope the Swiss don't score.
    Will be a disgrace to the game if they go through and Chile go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,408 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Unlikeable team Spain. No worries, they'll face justice in this tournament sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

And people thought Uruguay were the hatchetmen of Latin America.

Both whopper goals for Spain. Villa is gonna be ridiculous with Barca next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

hope to see Faragas in the second half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Torres basicly controlling this game.

First he makes room for Villas chip and then his lay off helps set up the second goal and he gets a man sent off. Brilliant really! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Hope torres is ok after that horribe horrible challenge, he looked really hurt.

mike65 wrote: »
    Torres basicly controlling this game.

First he makes room for Villas chip and then his lay off to helps set up the second goal and he gets a man sent off. Brilliant really! :pac:

It wasn't a second yellow, but Estradas challenge on Iniesta defo was so swings and roundabouts for me. Chile were BOUND to have a man sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Osu wrote: »
    Isn't this the referee that sent off Cahill then after the match he went up to Cahill and apologized?

Also I agree with the point, refereeing standards have been very poor this World Cup.

Well, if he did, fair play to him.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Chile have imploded. They were on top and a combination of crazy goalkeeping, indisciplined defending and lazy tackling have finished the game early. Estrada and Ponce (haw haw) are what Eamo would call headbangers.

Good goals from Spain but unimpressive again. They're basically playing three holding midfielders which seems excessive to me although Torres' poor form isn't helping either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Wheres the thing gone from Ardiles's head!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

ossie STF up!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Rightso, I'm done watching RTÉ.

Headbanger LOL!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ooPabsoo

Ah he deserved to get sent off.....................Giles:"You can tell by his face that he's a headbanger" Bill " How?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,682 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

god, i hate that ****ing George Hook sky advert

Giles, gentle assassin me hole!

Didn't know these guys were playing tonight lol!

Slayer-LA-010810.jpg

Ush1 wrote: »
    Giles, gentle ass ass in me hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Didn't think Torres was the kind of player to do that. Joke red card.

Loving the score though. :)

You've never seen his Atletico years!!!

5-0 to Spain IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

For everyone barking on about the ref note that he didnt play a part in Spain's two goals. The ref aint been left with much of an option as the Chilean players seem intent on kicking the living shite out of Spain. Some of them tackles out there were shocking. Must be a kick the fcuk out of the opposition to try win the ball back tactic.

rarnes1 wrote: »

Great goal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

What a goal Millar!

Deflection, but right back in it. Sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Ush1 wrote: »

Look back Ush, he fixed your post:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Super goal!

edit: Or maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

2-1 Game on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Not over yet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,682 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

class goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,014 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Fantastic strike, and well deserved too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Dirty deflection

Game on!