Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rudd Out - Gillard In

• 24-06-2010 12:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,868 ✭✭✭

Dunno if anyone cares, but Kevin Rudd got turfed out of the cabinet last night, and Julia Gillard was voted in. Australias first female PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I think they shot themselves in the foot doing this. I mean it was their first term in power and had been doing really well getting the country through the global economic downturn why on earth they would want to change leaders at this time is beyond me. I mean one of their strongest arguments against the opposition leader was that barely over half of his party wanted him to lead now the shoe is on the other foot and they can say that Australians never elected Gillard. She is now the Gordon Brown of Australian politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

Rudd got absolutely shafted. One of the best leaders on the world's political stage at the moment in my opinion and he didn't even last 1 term.
    What Ireland wouldn't do to have a politician of his standard.

Kicked out for having too much forethought.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Teg Veece wrote: »
    Rudd got absolutely shafted. One of the best leaders on the world's political stage at the moment in my opinion and he didn't even last 1 term.

He shafted himself ... that mining tax just pushed him over the edge .. the aussie economy is very strong thanks to this mining, and he goes rocking the boat ...

I liked him too, but 1 term .. and at one stage the most popular aussie PM ...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

The ALP view Kevin Dudd as a cancer, they are just cutting him out to save the party before the election.

The Insulation, BER, Mining Tax & Boat people are what tipped it over the edge.

They done the same in the NSW state with Rees

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭irishturkey

I actually found Rudd quite likeable and will be sorry to see him go. He had a himan side to him in that he wasn't afraid to have a laugh. I don't know much about Gillard.

My biggest fear is that it all backfires and we end up having to listen to Ol Big Ears Abbott talking ****e. He's actually irritates me more than any Irish politician and thats saying something

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

hussey wrote: »
    He shafted himself ... that mining tax just pushed him over the edge .. the aussie economy is very strong thanks to this mining, and he goes rocking the boat ...

The mining companies make billions in profit each year. They're getting away with murder in terms of the taxes they pay and they know it.
    The Super Profit Tax scales with the profit they earn and makes the whole thing more sustainable. The mining operations will continue regardless of what the scare campaigns on TV say.
    Fair play to Rudd for trying to take on the mining giants on this issue but it's depressing to see what the result is.

I guess its clear who really runs things in Australia anyway and it's not the people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

The mining companies make billions in profit each year. They're getting away with murder in terms of the taxes they pay and they know it.
    The Super Profit Tax scales with the profit they earn and makes the whole thing more sustainable. The mining operations will continue regardless of what the scare campaigns on TV say.
    Fair play to Rudd for trying to take on the mining giants on this issue but it's depressing to see what the result is.

I guess its clear who really runs things in Australia anyway and it's not the people.

I agree, the big mining companies run this country, no doubt. The scare tactics they put out were rediculous. But in fairness the government didnt do much in opposition to them.

Im sad to see the K-Rudd step down, this country has made a big mistake.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

the mining companies were never going to give in to a new tax without a fight but I really didn't expect the fight to bring down rudd. i suppose it was just the last straw. he seemed to have some good ideas but everything was badly implemented. (BER, Insulation scheme, ETS, mining tax, refugee policy)

i don't really know anything about julia, i suppose anyone is better than Abbott. That man is so stupid I'm surprised he remembers to breath. No coherent policies and his shadow cabinet are worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Indeed. Good god, Ive never heard anyone to moan as much about their standard of living. We may have had the strongest economy in Europe at one point but for the average Joe Soap life was never particularly brilliant. Yes, we had high wages, but the vast majority of it went on rent, food and overpriced drink. Here you had a recession avoided only due to Rudds stimulus plan. Upgrading infrastructure, 900 dollar tax refund, no other world leader had the foresight to do this.

They live in a country with good wages, unbelieveably cheap rent even in prime locations, cheap food, cheap nightlife/ socialising costs, and all they can do is fcuking moan sh1te about how much this and that bill costs (watch that rubbishy tabloid A Current Affair show to see what I mean). Mining tax my bollix. I even heard them moan about the fags hike (as a smoker I think its a great idea, might help me quit smoking the rubbish eventually)

His infrastructure boost was genius, and Im thankful me and my mates got quite a bit of work on a sh1tload of school renovations during the normally quiet post Christmas period.