Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

guard dog and family pet

• 24-06-2010 1:42am

Hi guys,

I grew up with Labs, one was an excellent guard dog, only allowed people he knew into the house, sometimes even stopped us kids bringing friends in cause he didn't know them. But then I had a Lab who loved everyone, and later a Lab who wets herself any time someone new comes to visit (we still have her, she's 12 now). Due to some very unwanted activity around our area, and because I have found myself at a loose end (college ended, no chance of a job in sight) we are considering getting a puppy that would work both as a family pet and a guard dog. I am thinking an Alsatian. I steer very clear of Rotweilers and Pitbulls, Dobermans too, mostly because I don't trust them but there is a chance, quite likely, that within the dog's lifetime, me and my partner might have a baby. I just have a massive mistrust of the three breeds I listed above, but have had good experiences with Alsatians, also French Mastiffs, big ass scary dogs, but very cowardly. I do need a dog, for security, that is not the "I'll bark at them from behind you" (Labradors) but also not nasty enough to be untrusted with children (supervised, obviously).

Am I right in looking for an Alastian pup? It will be very well exercised, well disiplined (both my and my partner have had dogs before) and of course will see the vet!!

Just looking for any advice here. The unwanted activity in my area has spread from just kicking in our fences, to breaking into the garden and p*ssing on the walls and patio doors, grafitti written in (non permanent) marker on my pertner's motorbike (which is secure in our back garden!) and small fires lit beside our house.

Two doors down they have some sort of Lab/Rotweiler mix, and no one goes near the place, Unfortunately they let the said dog run around the neighbourhood as he pleases, and he isn't friendly, not at all. I worry about him roaming free like that. I would never allow my dogs out without my being there to watch them.

Anyway, advice needed folks! We reckon we do need a dog - just what type do you think is suitable for us? I'm leaning with the Allers, but open to suggestion.

PS - We will very, very gladly adopt from one of the pet rescues. This is a cause I have supported since I was a small child! If any of the pet rescues frequents this board and has a dog that suits our requirments then fell free to PM me! Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

I don't like the idea of a dog being used as protection unless specifically trained to do so, these dogs are bred and trained for the task. Getting a dog as a pet and expecting it to guard isn't fair imo, ok you might get lucky and get a dog who will guard but in my experience it takes an exceptionally temered dog to be able to switch from being a pussycat at home to turning into a protection tool when the need arises. Even out of those dogs who are specifically bred for the job only a small precentage of those will be found to have a stable enough temperament. At the end of the day when you take on a dog as your pet it is your job to look after and protect it not the other way around, I have a Rottweiler and I would hope if I was broken into she would hide and save herself, there are too many cruel, sadistic people out there.
    IMO if you want a pet get a dog, if you want house protection get CCTV or an alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

OP are you looking for a dog that will get cross with anyone who comes onto your property or just one who will bark lots but if someone actually approached them would just enjoy the attention?

I believe that as a rule a barking dog should be enough to deter anyone. My springer goes mad barking at people walking past our house (well some people he's fine with the posty and delivery people but hates anyone wearing a hood:rolleyes: ) but if someone came in he would just jump into his bed and hide :D

Believe me when people see this big head at the window and hear him there isn't many who would come any closer.

There is no need to not trust the breeds you have listed, with the proper training and care all dogs can be lovely pets :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭morganafay

I don't really like dogs being used as guard dogs (as in being trained to be aggressive) but if you just want a big dog to scare people away but it'll be friendly, then that's different. :)

Though I'd be kinda scared that those people could steal or hurt your dog if they found out it wasn't as scary as it looked . . . I'd definitely go for an adult dog for that reason too. And I'd be scared of letting the dog outside at night too . . .

Why don't you try CCTV like someone else said, or even a fake camera outside the house?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Most dogs will protect their home without even being trained to do so, so i would tread very carefully if you intend on getting a dog just to protect the home.

I own a rottweiler who ive never trained to be protective in any way, but its just his instinct now to protect his home and i would have no hesitation that he would protect me and his home if needs be.

My fella is fabulous around children, absolutely loves them and any dog rottweilers included will be very loyal to their family, children included.

I know several people who own rottweilers and have very small children and they are fantastic with them and they dont treat their dogs as guard dogs, they are family pets.

I would not advise you to go dow the route of getting a dog primarily as a guard dog as you need to be very careful as there is a fine line there and unless you are prepared to put in huge training with this dog you could be asking for trouble.

Just get whatever breed you want and as a pet, he/she will protect your home in time when they mature but i wouldnt advise getting one just so it can be guard dog.

Dont know why you would mention rottweilers that you dont trust and then say you want a german shepherd:confused:. They are both big strong dogs that need lots of training and socialisation from the word go. All dogs will be great around children once they get the correct training and guidance so please be very careful what route you are going to go down with your dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

I do need a dog, for security, that is not the "I'll bark at them from behind you" (Labradors) but also not nasty enough to be untrusted with children (supervised, obviously)

Irushe made a great point that it's very hard to get a dog to be the type of guard dog you say here and expect it to able to turn into a loveable affectionate house dog. Most dogs will "protect" their family home by barking and such so IMO what you need is a big house dog with a loud bark and nothing more. A good hearty bark should be enough to deter anyone from coming into your garden.

Your mistrust of the breeds you mentioned is also silly as any dog in the wrong hands can be aggressive and those 3 breeds are some of the most loyal, friendly and soppy dogs you could meet (in the hands of a good owner). Like Andrea said, I don't know how you mention a GSD if you don't trust other big strong dogs?? Normally when people ask me about a loyal, friendly house dog that will protect it's family and home I'd always recommend an Akita (which get almost as much stupid bad press as Rotties) but the most important thing, regardless of the breed, is that your dog is socialised and trained.

If things are that bad in your area, I'd also be worried about something happening the dog when it's out your back. And if your dog bites someone on your property you'll most likely be found liable.

If you want a good family dog, get a GSD, Akita, Rottie etc if you want an aggressive guard dog, get CCTV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭morganafay

If your neighbours have labXrotties and that works, then maybe a large lab X would be good? As long as it's big enough to scare people away, it should be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭Howitzer

Get whatever dog you want and keep it as your pet.
    A true guard-dog is a job for life for the dog. Not really a dog you'd want in with you also if you get me.

If you get a large dog just be sure to be seen walking it regularly and showing it is in your full control. Even if it will lick people to death - gobsh*tes will be still intimidated by it - once you show you contol/are leader of that dog.

If it's an Alsatian or other a nice big sticker picture of it in your front window wouldn't hurt. Beware the dog sort of thing.

But don't expect to get an aggressively trained dog and have it know when to timeout. That would be a professional dog that takes full time training/handling.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Welruc

We have 2 mastiffs, friendly dogs and they will bark at anyone that looks over the fence. They are very large dogs and I guarantee nobody will come onto your property with one lurking. They are great with kids but can be clumsy and due to their size they could easily hurt a small child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

What about great danes? They're great with kids, lovely temperament and are good watch dogs, meaning they'll bark at strangers which is all you need really, and their sheer size should put off the yobs that are making your life hell. They're huge, second biggest dog breed in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Echoing much of what is being said here.

An example.

The Gardai called y;day;a routine follow-up re a local problem.

When they have called before, our two dogs, collie and JRT/Basset cross, have been in the house and they have come to the door.

Y;day the dogs were loose in the gardens. They make a great barking when anyone comes near and we have a sign up to advise folk that we have dogs.

The Gardai stayed behind the gate.

when I used the whistle ( new trick) they came in immediately ( I was so proud of them!)

The Gardai were more scared re the small one, interestingly. As they said, the dogs were "just doing their job"

They are pets and never any aggression around us. But if a stranger comes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭TooManyDogs

My bro-in-law was a policeman in England for years and he said that the best buglar deterant bar none was a dog, breed didn't matter, the barking put most burglars off, Like other posters have said, most pet dogs will be great watch dogs and I would have thought that would be plenty.

You would also have to be aware of legal issues if anyone got hurt on your property by your trained guard dog, they're sometimes regarded as weapons by guardai because they're specially trained to guard/attack etc

So sorry guys! I got one reply via email then forgot about this thread! We weighed up our options and decided that we can't afford to keep a dog right now. I have two budgies and the rare time they need the vet is still more than we can afford, buying a dog would be well, rewarding, but selfish.

I guess when we can afford a dog I would need something big and scary, but not actually viscious. That should have been what I put across in my original post. Labs are inclined to bark and jump behnd the sofa. The Spinger we have pees himself when the doorbell rings (my parents springer).

I reckon I'm going to wait until not only are we financially stable, but get a puppy a year before we plan to have a kid - or a year after. A puppy and newborn together would just be ridiculous.

I always had Labs, lately got to know Springers cause my parents have one who is incredibly smart, but he's not very affectionate. And neither the Lab nor the Springer are good watch dogs.

I've just been considering an Aller cause I like the dogs, met a few, seem like nice dogs but I reckon need to be raised with a good bit of disipiline?

Anyway, thank you all so much for your advice!! I wont be getting a dog as yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

So sorry guys! I got one reply via email then forgot about this thread! We weighed up our options and decided that we can't afford to keep a dog right now. I have two budgies and the rare time they need the vet is still more than we can afford, buying a dog would be well, rewarding, but selfish.

I guess when we can afford a dog I would need something big and scary, but not actually viscious. That should have been what I put across in my original post. Labs are inclined to bark and jump behnd the sofa. The Spinger we have pees himself when the doorbell rings (my parents springer).

I reckon I'm going to wait until not only are we financially stable, but get a puppy a year before we plan to have a kid - or a year after. A puppy and newborn together would just be ridiculous.

I always had Labs, lately got to know Springers cause my parents have one who is incredibly smart, but he's not very affectionate. And neither the Lab nor the Springer are good watch dogs.

I've just been considering an Aller cause I like the dogs, met a few, seem like nice dogs but I reckon need to be raised with a good bit of disipiline?

Anyway, thank you all so much for your advice!! I wont be getting a dog as yet.

Please, choose a rescue dog? They are so grateful and devoted. Our collie is utterly affectionate and gentle, but would defend if we were threatened. And there are so many needy dogs...

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My bro-in-law was a policeman in England for years and he said that the best buglar deterant bar none was a dog, breed didn't matter, the barking put most burglars off, Like other posters have said, most pet dogs will be great watch dogs and I would have thought that would be plenty.
    Despite media hype, the vast majority of burglars are not knife-wielding psychos ready to kill the occupants of whatever house they break into. The majority of them are scared ****less and want to get in and out of a house as quickly as possible without waking anyone up.

The vast majority of burglaries do not result in confrontation, and the vast majority of the time when an occupant is woken up, the burglar runs for it. It is *extremely* rare for a violent burglar to enter your home.

This is why a dog is effective - not because the burglar is afraid of getting attacked, but because they know they won't be able to get in and out without waking somebody.

OP, you also have to remember that if you train a family pet to be a "guard" dog and attack intruders, then if someone does break in, not only will you have the trauma of a break-in, but you will also find yourself being sued for any damage caused by the dog, and you will also be forced to put down a beloved family pet. I would much rather that a burglar raped my house bare rather than have to lose my dog and keep my material stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

i-digress wrote: »
    They're huge, second biggest dog breed in the world.

What's the biggest?:eek:

My nextdoor neighbours have a family of great danes. I don't think we are ever, ever, ever getting broken into. No burglar would take the risk of going into the wrong house. Lovely gentle dogs though.

My springers are great watch dogs anyway. They always bark whenever anyone comes into the house or garden. Then once they see that I'm happy with the visitor it's one last 'just so you know I have my eye on you' bark and then it's in for cuddles.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

iguana wrote: »
    What's the biggest?:eek:

The Irish Wolfhound :)

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Jackasaurus rex

All you really want is a deterent or for the dog to let you know something is up. My jack russell is a grand chap with strangers and people he knows. however if he hears someone at the door or in the garden he will growl and bark his brains out. if i come in the back gate and im not on my motorbike he wont hear me till im opening the gate and will come tearing out of the house snarling and all the hair on his back up. Same as if im upstairs and he is downstairs with the mot and forgets im in, soon as i walk down the steps he jumps up and runs out snarling to see who is in his house

• Registered Users Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

andreac wrote: »
    The Irish Wolfhound :)

Whenever my dog Dougal sees an Irish Wolfhound he pretends it doesn't exist. He turns his back on it and if the wolfhound walks around him to say hello Dougal turns away again. It's like his brain just can't compute that there could be a dog that big.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭TooManyDogs

iguana wrote: »
    Whenever my dog Dougal sees an Irish Wolfhound he pretends it doesn't exist. He turns his back on it and if the wolfhound walks around him to say hello Dougal turns away again. It's like his brain just can't compute that there could be a dog that big.:)

My dog did that the first time she saw a neopolatain mastiff! We were in the vets when it came in with it's owner, my girl's eyes bugged out of her head and she refused to look at it again, I was in bits laughing!

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Steve30x

My border collie will bark at the slightest sign of any danger to me or the house but in reality he is'nt a danger to anybody. He is a frirendly dog who wouldnt hurt a soul. A dog like this is a great deterant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

We have a border collie,she wasn't trained to be a guard dog and was bought as a family pet but when a stranger comes to the house she always barks and jumps up at them,would never bite though.

She even stops us from climbing in the windows if we forgot/lost the house keys.:pac:

She still acts as a family pet though,very friendly with those she likes,playful etc.