Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MardiGras street party in Limerick

• 24-06-2010 12:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭

Hi guys, saw this festival planned for the dtreets of Limerick on the 3rd in denmark st and one or two other neighbouring streets..street entertainment, bbqs and drink are the main things that stand out, anyone know anymore on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭source

Market Quarter to host first ever Mardi Gras carnival
    Written by Newswire Editor on June 24th, 2010 at 10:31

Limerick is set to hold its first ever Mardi Gras Carnival on Saturday July 3rd.

The lively Market Quarter will echo with music and a carnival atmosphere as the city downtown area hosts a free Mardi Gras Street Party.

The ‘Market Quarter’ idea is the brainchild of a group of ‘like minded business people’ who made the decision to work together to drive business forward in their area of Limerick and over the past number of months and organisers say the re-development of the Milk Market presented a great opportunity to act as a catalyst for change in the area.

On Saturday July 3rd streets from Patrick Street to the top of Upper Denmark Street and over to the Robert Street/Carr Street Junction will be closed from 6pm when revellers will take to the streets as the Market Quarter becomes a glass free party zone with music, street performers and a huge colourful carnival by the award winning LUXe company.

A main stage will be set up at Chapel Street with the Roaring Forties legendary Dublin Jump Jive Jazz/Swing Band from 8pm and live music throughout the evening.

There will be live performances across all eight participating venues for the Mardi Street Party with the main event, a spectacular carnival parade traversing its way through the streets at 10pm.

At 11pm, organisers say the party continues with an event known as the ‘Bourbon Street Music Trail’.

“We feel that the overall result can generate a positive image for Limerick city, retain business and jobs within the city centre and create a community template for other areas of Limerick City,” Liam Flannery, chairman of ‘The Market Quarter’ said Thursday.

The Mayor of Limerick, Kevin Kiely said the weekend of July 3rd is set to be a “fantastic weekend in Limerick” with the Mardi Gras Street Party, Bob Dylan visiting the city and the world’s top golfers and celebrities playing in Adare at the JP Macmanus Pro-Am event.

The Market Quarter includes Denmark St, Upper Denmark St, Cornmarket Row, Carr St, Robert St, Ellen Street & Patrick St from the Ellen Street junction to the Denmark Street junction. Venues participating in the event include Phil Flannery’s, The Bailey, O’Connells Bar, The Cuckoo Box, Smyth’s Bar &Icon, Angel Lane Night Club, Flannery’s Bar and Molly Malone’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I seen a sign for it up in Flannerys and it said on it "Drinking in the street is permitted" so caution is advised as we know the types that will encourage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

I seen a sign for it up in Flannerys and it said on it "Drinking in the street is permitted" so caution is advised as we know the types that will encourage!

Drinkers?

Roadend wrote: »
    Drinkers?

I enjoy that craic as much as the next fella but this is Limerick after all and knackers will see this as a great day out for them as you can't deny someone access to a street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Bring back the Beat on the Street!!!!!

- Or Mortal Kombat as it was known in Limerick!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,279 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Beating on the Street with Electric Eddie, there's a blast from the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

Fair play, there really does seem to be more of an effort being made to promote the city.
    Sounds like a great night could be had.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭dave 27

fcuk it sure it could be a laugh, if ever there was a reason to go drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,757 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Attention Women of Limerick!!!

I'll be buying the beads

dave 27 wrote: »
    fcuk it sure it could be a laugh, if ever there was a reason to go drinking!

And to see pappyodaniel getting smacked in the face!!!!

- And not in the way he was hoping either......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

id imagine there will be a big garda presence there. plus alot of bouncers on the streets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bertisevil

your only going to be able to drink any drinks bought in the pubs hosting the event and it'll only be plastic glass' allowed on the streets so hopefuly that will stop scumbags been there...and the street will be closed off so hopefuly the amount of them going through the area will be lessened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bertisevil

sorry lads just to let ye know that i do work in one of the pubs hosting the party but i'm not trying to promote the bar just the party so hopefully limerick will be able to organise more events like this :):)

I'll be buying the beads

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭kenoconnell

I enjoy that craic as much as the next fella but this is Limerick after all and knackers will see this as a great day out for them as you can't deny someone access to a street

Hey guys... the mortal combat line was good but how bout we try be positive about this one.

Each entrance and street will have security and a garda presence, so hopefully it will deter anyone that would be the most suitable to bring home as bf or gf tom mum....

There will be beads supplied, think there's 3000 ordered, I specifically didn't mention earlier as i was affraid!!!!! :-)

It well be a well managed and fun night so lets hope the rain stays away.

K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Fantastic idea and badly needed.

If you ever go to the Galway races, you can see how a street party can be kept safe and secure with reasonably little Garda interference in the fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭dave 27

theres an advert on the tele at the moment that really reminds me of this street party, its got a green ant float (like something u would see in paddys day) and there are loads of ppl taking pics of it..i think its advertising a camera or something..it was also taken place at night so kinda reminded me of something that could happen..

I think there should be a main act/ band that night (someone reasonably famous..like coronas or something along the lines of that..and they could play in the new milk market, that place could fit a few thousand ppl and the ficilities would be perfect too, this could potentially be a really good night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

good ol Ireland. having Mardi Gras 4 months late:D

ah its good that we have a new "holiday" for summer drinking:) hopefully it goes well so we can have it every year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Looking forward to this, should be fun.

Hey guys... the mortal combat line was good but how bout we try be positive about this one.

Each entrance and street will have security and a garda presence, so hopefully it will deter anyone that would be the most suitable to bring home as bf or gf tom mum....

There will be beads supplied, think there's 3000 ordered, I specifically didn't mention earlier as i was affraid!!!!! :-)

K

Best of luck to all concerned - Hope everybody has a great night and its a commercial success as a return for the effort involved and so similar events may be repeated in future.

- Limerick badly needs more options for entertainment/socialising........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Limerick badly needs a bar that stocks Craft Beer from around the world, like Abbots Ale House in Cork.

I hope you are reading this Ken wink wink nudge nudge

Also I hope the women know the proper etiquette for Mardi Gras :pac:

I'll be buying the beads
    Millie wrote: »
    There will be beads supplied, think there's 3000 ordered
    RonMexico wrote: »

Rumour is that Millie is planning on going home with 2,999 sets of Beads...... :D

\ Now where's Nora Bennis to kick off a nice, pious Catholic Vigil in protest?

Wooohooo, why didn't someone think of this idea all along.

Can't wait to see you there guys, so many beads to gather.

A recent pic of me attached just so you'll recognise me ;)

Millie.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭johnmolloy554

K

Well done to Ken & all others involved. I think this is a great idea and hopefully the first of many. I was going to Dublin for a few pints on that night but now definitely staying around. I sincerely hope it's well supported as that time of year in Limerick is normally quiet. If it's busy and a commercial success it'll give the businesses of The Market Quarter a good start.
    Halloween festival, Music festival, etc etc.

Well done!!

Do you really think the girls of Limerick will whack them out for beads?
    That'd be great in fairness!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Millie wrote: »
    Wooohooo, why didn't someone think of this idea all along.

Can't wait to see you there guys, so many beads to gather.

A recent pic of me attached just so you'll recognise me ;)

Millie.jpg

Hey Millie are you coming out with us next Thursday? I meant to PM you but just saw your post here so said I'd mention it....

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭johnmolloy554

6 days to go, really looking forward to this and long range forecast is

about 19/20 degrees by day, dry thankfully and down to around 12 that night (so much like this weekend really)

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭TheWarrior

RonMexico wrote: »
    Limerick badly needs a bar that stocks Craft Beer from around the world, like Abbots Ale House in Cork.

I hope you are reading this Ken wink wink nudge nudge

Absolutely- A bar with a proper craft beer selection would get my custom over any other bar. I see the bailey is trying to go down this route but not to the same level of the Abbots ale house or Bierhaus.

Lets hope this goes off ok & certain people don't ruin this for every one else.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭kenoconnell

TheWarrior wrote: »
    Absolutely- A bar with a proper craft beer selection would get my custom over any other bar. I see the bailey is trying to go down this route but not to the same level of the Abbots ale house or Bierhaus.

Lets hope this goes off ok & certain people don't ruin this for every one else.

Will have a look into it, would have to be bottle to start as the draft would never keep.

Ya hope mardis Gras goes well, will be good for the area and the city so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭knockon

I'll be there. Great idea guys.