Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Brazil V Portugal 3pm RTE2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I'm following this on the live text.

Was the handball deserving of a red?

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

SantryRed wrote: »
    That was a blatant red card.

He wasn't the last man back .... someone would have been able to over the player with the ball before he got back.

Also a red card this early in the game ould ruin it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Well done ref for booking Duda for chasing him and waving the imaginary card. Its one of the most irritating things in football and more refs should do it, it will stamp it out.

So many handballs in this world cup lol

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Frisbee wrote: »

Technically yes. He didn't really deny a direct goal scoring opportunity but was teh last man back, albeit about 40 metres out from goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Frisbee wrote: »

It the same as Vidic did against Germany but Vidic's was in the box.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

What a save!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

What a save!

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG What a save!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

fookkin save

edit fookin dive

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Tiago booked for a dive

Thought that was a goal...

I thought he was giving a penalty... I'm not sure if he dived

Bad dive. Fair balls to the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Portugal dive looking for a penalty - yellow for Tiago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

well done ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Poor dive there

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Wexler12

Anto Murphy dive there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Proper order by the ref there, nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ya it was a dive. Good reffing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Great save, brilliant counter by Portugal, fantastic call by the referee. Never a penalty.

Ref is brilliant, cheating shower of fcukers diving all over the place. Well done referee

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Love this ref - taking no ѕhit from the Portuguese.

I missed the save somehow - who was it from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

DJCR wrote: »
    He wasn't the last man back .... someone would have been able to over the player with the ball before he got back.

Also a red card this early in the game ould ruin it!

So what?

That was as deliberate as it comes. He knew exactly what he was doing. A break was on.

Definite red.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

Ref surely must be thinking Portugal are a shower of ****! :D

Duda should have given that earlier!

Brazil are lacking creativity they are playing with two defensive mids and three strikers.

Ref surely must be thinking Portugal are a shower of ****! :D

No just cheating thats all. Fair play and all that, someone forgot to tell Portugal, its embarrasing for them

Game badly needs a goal.

Brazil taking no prisoners here, love it :D

Posession 64% - 36% in favour of Ivory Coast in the other game, surprised it isn't higher...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

Almost the best through ball ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

WTF is up with the feed for the Ivory Coast game on RTE.ie??!! No audio from the game, Jimmy Magee commentating - and you can clearly hear him eating what must be his dinner. I heard him put down his cutlery there :rolleyes:

Something really needs to be done about diving in the world cup ..... its a disgrace!!!

Stright Reds should be handed out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Brazil are getting a lot of joy down their left side against Costa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,566 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Listening to game on 5 live and Alan Green & Chris Waddle seemed to be bored by the game. In fact they saying that today is Waddle's anniversary and Waddle has just admitted to giving his wife a card one year with 'Best Wishes Chris Waddle'....made me laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Love this ref - taking no ѕhit from the Portuguese.

I missed the save somehow - who was it from?

Nilmar.

Fabiano should have scored

WTF is up with the feed for the Ivory Coast game on RTE.ie??!! No audio from the game, Jimmy Magee commentating - and you can clearly hear him eating what must be his dinner. I heard him put down his cutlery there :rolleyes:

A lot of the online only games have just had studio sound, if you're really missing the vuvus play the http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/fifaworldcup/ match feed in the background turned down low!

Great pass to Maicon.... how did Fabiano miss!!!

Inches away from Fabiano - booking for Pepe, nasty looking challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

that's an awful attempt from Fabiano......

Yellow for Pepe

That's a dirty tackle from Pepe.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

DJCR wrote: »
    Something really needs to be done about diving in the world cup ..... its a disgrace!!!

Stright Reds should be handed out!!

Straight reds for diving? You must be joking.

Ronaldo ......... what a waste!

Straight reds for diving? You must be joking.

Why not?? Its cheating?

I make that 5 cards altogether 2 for Brazil and 3 for Portugal. None at all in the other game so far.

Edit: make that 6, 3 each with Melo's booking

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

How many yellow cards is that now, five or six?

Edit: oops, Bob beat me to it! :D

6 yellows so far! All deserved

Melo........... Great tackle!! Gives the thumbs up to the ref when he recieved the Yellow..... You know its bad when the player agrees with the ref!!

Melo off for fecking up too many times!!