Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Famous Living Galway Person

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭boardswalker

Using the number of results in Google as criteria - then it looks like Leo Moran might be the most famous with 1,230,000 search results.

Its interesting using Google - some of the names mentioned have very low numbers of results. I only ran with about 5 or 6 of the names mentioned.

It looked first like Christy O'Connor but then I realised the results included Jr and Snr and Golf Clubs called after him etc.
    But Leo's looking good.

Treacy and Leeson are way down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭EJLL

I'd have to say Philip Treacy. One of the most recognisable designers in the world and is expanding appartently.

For sheer American tabloid drivel, Lindsay Lohans father (Michael Lohan) was born in Galway and pops up on American news, magazines, etc frequently. He is a bit of a swindler and media wh@re by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Bosco boy wrote: »
    Elvis, he's now shacked up with a bird in rosmuc!

He's always in Clarkes pub drinking, talking ****e about when he was famous in Vegas.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Using the number of results in Google as criteria - then it looks like Leo Moran might be the most famous with 1,230,000 search results.

Much as I love Leo...
    The results I got for him:

Leo Moran: About 1,130,000

Peter O'Toole: About 1,240,000

• Registered Users Posts: 13 gassdfres

dennis connolly

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

gassdfres wrote: »
    dennis connolly
    denis is a man who should be dead but he faced up to his demons and to a certain extent conquered them.

william Joyce
    Padraic O Conaire

john ford
    bobby molloy
    chic
    francy barrett

carmel27 wrote: »
    Warty Nora

not originally from galway

• Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

John killeen. the guy who brought the ocean race to galway, i used to look after his kids years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭loser2old4board

Look at the title of the thread :pac:

Ooops!

Can't get much clearer than that.:)

Still I'll leave all the deceased ones up here.
    They deserve a passing mention.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    d
    chic

What, all of them??

They were one of the best things at Electric Picnic last year!:p:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

I'm hoping all of you can do me a quick favour for a project I'm doing in work.

Who is the most famous person from Galway City or county that is not a GAA footballer or hurler? Or even the most famous person living person who lives or has lived in Galway City or County?

I asked the same question in the Kilkenny forum and got a fantastic list of Kilkenny people. Hope the mods don't mind me asking here about Galway too.

What about soccer players?

Eamonn "Chick" Deacey is from the city; he won English League in the early 80's with Aston Villa and was capped for the Republic of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,898 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

inisboffin wrote: »
    Much as I love Leo...
    The results I got for him:

Leo Moran: About 1,130,000

Peter O'Toole: About 1,240,000

Hah! I can't wait to tell him that!

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

snubbleste wrote: »
    Nick Leeson is english

The most famous Galway person is milliner Philip Treacy from Ahrascragh whose creations have adorned royalty and movie stars

judging by the first post i dont think ya have to be from galway, just living here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭catmelodian

Tinie Tempah is from the Claddagh and he is a pretty big star. Also, Neil Diamond lives in Kilannin, near Kinneavy's pub.

ErnieBert wrote: »
    What about soccer players?

Eamonn "Chick" Deacey is from the city; he won English League in the early 80's with Aston Villa and was capped for the Republic of Ireland.

i meant chic the barber. a legend of old galway

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭carmel27

Fuinseog wrote: »
    not originally from galway

Thanks for the info. Not from Galway either, and have never even lived there, so the fact that I even know of her surely entitles her to a mention!:D

Close the thread.

I have the ultimate answer.

Someone who spent some time in Galway.....

...and then fecked off America where he became a household name.

Nick Leeson is a distant second

And the famous Galwegian is....

CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS

Alive, the OP said! :p:p:p

Otherwise,

Herself, the Pirate Queen, Ms O'Malley lived for a tad here too!

Not to mention Her Royal Highness Medb

inisboffin wrote: »
    Alive, the OP said! :p:p:p

Otherwise,

Herself, the Pirate Queen, Ms O'Malley lived for a tad here too!

Not to mention Her Royal Highness Medb

Drat

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Eh, Nick Leeson. Are ye feckin' serious? So what if he had a film done about him. Nick Leeson has just lived in Galway 4/5 years. C'mon people!

The answer is clearly and has been for the past 50+ years Clifden's Peter O'Toole. He been nominated for more Academy Awards than any one in history from '62 to as recent as 2006. And has the lifetime achievment award from the 2005 Oscars ceremony.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Michael Lyster.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

Famous: Martin Sheen attended NUIG.
    Infamous: Blue_Lagoon born Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭catmelodian

Che Guevara's spirit is alive and well!

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭einshteen

Jack Duvale

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

can't believe no one mentioned Radio John or Dancin Pat.

CrinkElite wrote: »
    can't believe no one mentioned Radio John or Dancin Pat.

Who?

Seriously, who?

The Galway girl