Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,568 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Anyone catch the name of the film the reviewer was raving on about at the very end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Anyone catch the name of the film the reviewer was raving on about at the very end?

Joke Answer: Gran Turino starring Darren Scully..

Real Answer: Take Shelter

lol

Ta!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭hollypink

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Take Shelter. I didnt quite catch it either, heard him mention boardwalk empire so found it that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

An extraordinary performance from Proinsias De Rossa this morning ... so now we know no one at the top is responsible for anything, accountable for anything or should take the rap for anything. So what the hell are we paying them for in that case? :confused:

I used to have some respect for Proinsias De Rossa when he was a left wing socialist but it didn't take long 'inside the tent' for him to start singing from the establishment hymn book .... shame, shame Proinsias.

I'd love to know:
    1. Who have they promised Finance to that they are so desperate to pawn Cardiff off to Europe?
    2. How much lolly is in it for Cardiff that he is prepared to accept this kind of humiliation and being made a laughing stock all over Europe?

Callan57 wrote: »
    I'd love to know:1. Who have they promised Finance to that they are so desperate to pawn Cardiff off to Europe?

Niamh Lyons said during the week, I think she was quoting from one of the bank collapse genre of books, that Kevin Cardiff rang Gillian Bowler with regard to the "Bed & Breakfast" billions that INLP pumped in to Anglo to cook the books... wanting to know how what was the best way to do this... And nobody has questioned him about this since... lot of unanswered questions about this guy.. He's a really unimpressive guy imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Callan57 wrote: »
    An extraordinary performance from Proinsias De Rossa this morning ...

De Rossa performances over the last few days have been extraordinary - apparently a majority where in favour of Kevin Cardiff when they voted - funny I thought he lost the vote...which makes it a minority..........

The only interviewer I have heard tackling the government is Rachel English - Bruton 'there was a flurry of negative emails sent ' English ' you mean 2 '

How can 'Green Tea' be struggling - the Kevin Cardiff story is comedy gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I hate the way that Marian skims over the Sunday newspaper headlines, especially the ones involving RTE personalitites. She didn't give anything away when previewing the Sunday World headline today about Joe Duffy. I had to switch over to the Newstalk newspaper headline review to find out what the story was. So much for objective journalism Marian. :rolleyes:

I hate the way that Marian skims over the Sunday newspaper headlines..

Well Harry, I thought they spent waaaay too long going over the Fr Reynolds thing yet again... same old "lessons have to be learned" type clichés, with nothing new added, bar a few things by Ronan "Scooter" Mullan.. (who is from the same constituency as Father Reynolds)...

I thought a lot more time should have been devoted to the David Drumm story.. and why did she persist with the AWFUL telephone line to Niall O'Dowd ... It's 2011 ffs, why do RTE have soooo many bad phone lines??

And no podcasts for the Denis O'Brien stations since Dunpy and Smyth left.. what is that all about.. I usually listen to Finucane and then take down the other podcasts.. Not an option any more... (I know I can prob listen to them streaming but my bband aint great so I like to take the actual podcast down)..

Well Harry, I thought they spent waaaay too long going over the Fr Reynolds thing yet again... same old "lessons have to be learned" type clichés, with nothing new added, bar a few things by Ronan "Scooter" Mullan.. (who is from the same constituency as Father Reynolds)...

I thought a lot more time should have been devoted to the David Drumm story.. and why did she persist with the AWFUL telephone line to Niall O'Dowd ... It's 2011 ffs, why do RTE have soooo many bad phone lines??

And no podcasts for the Denis O'Brien stations since Dunpy and Smyth left.. what is that all about.. I usually listen to Finucane and then take down the other podcasts.. Not an option any more... (I know I can prob listen to them streaming but my bband aint great so I like to take the actual podcast down)..

I agree with you about the Reynolds thing. The Drumm story was dismissed as "self-serving" but the whole point seems to have been overlooked about his allegations that people in high places knew about the Anglo Ten deal while it was happening, which would be explosive if it could be proven.

Just seems to me that when she's reading out the newspaper headlines, she's very selective about what she says about them. Take the Joe Duffy story in today's Sunday World, she read the headline and that was that - no background to the story at all leaving us all wondering what it was all about. RTE protecting its own again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I was just thinking the same thing here myself last week.

As for this morning's programme, I agree that more time should have been given to the Drumm interview with the Sindo, (which I haven't had the time to read yet).

Matt Cooper raised an interesting point. If Drumm feels so hard done by and believes himself to be something of a scapegoat, then why not return and spill the beans on his fellow cohorts?

He may be persuaded to do so if he were offered immunity from prosecution and allowed to return to the US.
    Highly unlikely to happen however, as those in a position to offer such immunity are themselves probably not immune to some of the relevations Drumm may have up his sleeve.

O'Dowd alluded to this on this mornings programme with the suggestion that members the last government were privvy to Anglo's murky practices. (Willie O'Dea was having none of it of course).

While most of us would like to see Drumm return to face the music, I feel there are a considerable number of establishment figures who would prefer if he chose a more remote location to exile himself.

Lapin wrote: »
    As for this morning's programme, I agree that more time should have been given to the Drumm interview with the Sindo, (which I haven't had the time to read yet).

Small point but it was the SBP.. He went to Neil O'Dowd to "give his side of the story".. I have serious problems with the interview, and I think it was completely self serving as Matt Cooper... My problems are as follows:

1. Neil O'Dowd didnt come across as being objective.. he described Drumm as "honest", and actually seemed to be on Drumm's side.. He should have just given the facts and not given his opinion..
    2. Drumm's claim that he was one of many is certainly true.. but he was the head of the organisation and was earning 90k a week in 2007.. Money that effectively is now being covered by the taxpayers.. He IS responsible..
    3. O'Dowd said "he's had to move country, he's had to move his kids"... many Irish people have had to leave the country, in part because of the austerity measures brought in so that Ireland can pay off Anglo's debts.. Drumm had secret accounts, and work lined up for himself before the whole thing collapsed here, and also moved properties and money in to his wife's name (even though those assets should have been sold to pay off his personal Anglo debts that are still outstanding)..
    4. Drumm says that the head of the Central Bank knew that Anglo lent money to sell shares to clients to buy their own shares... Whatever about civil servants knowing, surely this proves that HE KNEW, and is guilty of illegal trading practices.. ?

The guy is a coward and a rat... I hope that he is banged up for perjury..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

What was the headline about Joe Duffy?

I was just down in the shops a minute ago... His brother, Brendan (the drug addict), said that Joe used him as fodder for his book...

The guy is a coward and a rat... I hope that he is banged up for perjury..

As do I.

But if he can take a few more rats down with him, all the better.

I also thought O'Dowd was being overly defensive of Drumm this morning but put this down to him applying the old journalistic practice of keeping his source sweet.

Drumm is O'Dowd's scoop and he doesn't want to lose him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 catser6767

The guy is a coward and a rat... I hope that he is banged up for perjury..[/QUOTE]
    Just read full article, understand the coward bit , for not returning to Ireland. Perjury bit, if he has lied about his assets. I associate rat with spilling the beans on anothers wrong doings, and I personally wish he would come back to Ireland and do just that.
    The following however concerns me more.
    "And what settling meant was offering the bank all of my assets, which they would get anyway in a bankruptcy if you like, and my pension. To give you perspective on that, the assets were probably worth four million, my pension was worth six. So 10 million. They couldn’t possible settle, it took me a while to accept that.

The attorneys were telling me that politically they cannot be seen to settle with you. In writing I am putting all my money on the table, I’m giving them my pension it’s protected from creditors at all costs under Irish law, they have to settle, but they didn’t settle. And I ended up doing something that in my wildest nightmares I would never have seen happening, filing for bankruptcy. I filed for bankruptcy there being no other options."

This was my money, your money and every other taxpayers money. Now we only get the 4mil property and not the pension protected 6mil. In Irelands current financial crisis, surely the money is more useful to us than running around America just to be seen to be politically chasing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

Almost the entire newspaper review today was given over to sports drivel. How one Italian guy doesn't want to play against another Italian guy. There are COUNTLESS HOURS of programming given over to sports, I wish she'd leave it there.

Is it not the case that she just does the front pages, and that's pretty much all that's on the front pages today? She did refer to the odd other story/news that made the headlines in some papers, but the news stand in my local shop was one giant Trappatoni montage this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭easychair

Dirigent wrote: »
    Almost the entire newspaper review today was given over to sports drivel. How one Italian guy doesn't want to play against another Italian guy. There are COUNTLESS HOURS of programming given over to sports, I wish she'd leave it there.

Surely she did leave it? Did she do her whole programme on that topic?

Not sure why they are interviewing Phil Coulter again.. I like the guy but we've heard his story a million times before...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭easychair

Not sure why they are interviewing Phil Coulter again.. I like the guy but we've heard his story a million times before...

So turn off and listen to something you enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Dirigent wrote: »

you'd imagine after this long that she'd be able to pronounce trappatoni's name too.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

easychair wrote: »
    So turn off and listen to something you enjoy!

its saturday.

there isnt anything else to listen too !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

You really have to listen to that aul cow to fully understand what the phrase "sell by date" means. :rolleyes:

But she is way, way, way past it.:(

A pity Gerry Ryan didn't introduce her to his dealer before he did the decent thing and removed himself from the media.;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

I missed most of todays show, i just wondered did Moanie marian make any mention of the report she featured a few weeks ago into women being searched by male prison officers in the Dochas . Y'all may remember she had the head of the prison visiting commitee on and they discussed this breach of prisoners civil rights etc . The commitee head was on pat kenny the other morning and it appears there is no proof this ever took place, merely an allegation by some prisoners that male officers were near by . So despite her claims that she works so so hard during the week researching for the show, marian just took the report on face value , probably because it suited her touchey feeley cock and bull theories on law and order . What a total waste of Our license fee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    You really have to listen to that aul cow to fully understand what the phrase "sell by date" means. :rolleyes:

A pity Gerry Ryan didn't introduce her to his dealer before he did the decent thing and removed himself from the media.;);)

banned for 2 weeks. Comments like this are not tolerated no matter who you are or work for.

I missed most of todays show, i just wondered did Moanie marian make any mention of the report she featured a few weeks ago into women being searched by male prison officers in the Dochas . Y'all may remember she had the head of the prison visiting commitee on and they discussed this breach of prisoners civil rights etc . The commitee head was on pat kenny the other morning and it appears there is no proof this ever took place, merely an allegation by some prisoners that male officers were near by . So despite her claims that she works so so hard during the week researching for the show, marian just took the report on face value , probably because it suited her touchey feeley cock and bull theories on law and order . What a total waste of Our license fee

No she made no reference whatever to it .... I heard the PK interview & fair play to him he followed the detail (did his research!)and if my memory serves me right it was actually ONE prisoner who made the allegation to the visiting committee & they seem to have taken it as gospel. I mean it would never happen that an inmate of the Joy would make a false or exagerrated allegation would it?

Such a total non story & as you say exhibiting a lack of research 'so to speak'.

Tony Bates was on this morning ... he made sense this time or maybe I was just more alert. Interesting segment of the show.

I mean it would never happen that an inmate of the Joy would make a false or exagerrated allegation would it?

Yeah, she completely bypassed any mention of that story.. Funny given that she gave ample time to the sloppy reporting of the Father Reynolds case last Sunday, having doing equally sloppy reporting herself the previous day..

Jim Power on laundry today... :rolleyes:

Ellis Dee wrote: »

Thats a real shíttty thing to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Yeah, she completely bypassed any mention of that story.. Funny given that she gave ample time to the sloppy reporting of the Father Reynolds case last Sunday, having doing equally sloppy reporting herself the previous day..

Jim Power on laundry today... :rolleyes:

He was terrible today - waffling on how he is a eurosceptic, but at the same time saying Ireland has to obey any measures from Brussels, because it is 'part of the club'.

Marian let himself, and fellow EU traveller Banotti, have an easy ride with their waffle.

He was terrible today - waffling on how he is a eurosceptic, but at the same time saying Ireland has to obey any measures from Brussels, because it is 'part of the club'.

Marian let himself, and fellow EU traveller Banotti, have an easy ride with their waffle.

Jim Power - who invited him on ! his comments on the laundry , his sympathy towards politicians and then Marian reads out a comment from a listener supporting Jim Powers views -

Finbar Flood was excellent in his responses to such provactive comments

Infoanon wrote: »
    Finbar Flood was excellent in his responses to such provactive comments

I couldn't believe it when I heard Flood talking about the green, white and "yellow" of the Irish flag. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

I know the story phil never tells

I seen him in a loser NYC night club on the UES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This property genius is really putting me off my fry

Can we expect Made Marion to give half-hour interviews to every failed property magnate when they loose their court cases?

It just gets better the golden circle gardener is on now:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

Oh no not more air time for Diarmuid Gavin, he is full of his own...........eh importance. Who does he know in RTE, he is never off the radio?

Rochester wrote: »
    Oh no not more air time for Diarmuid Gavin, he is full of his own...........eh importance. Who does he know in RTE, he is never off the radio?

Diarmuid is very well connected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

Diarmuid is very well connected

If only he was as talented.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

jaysus lads have you no compassion ?

can ya not sense the tears in his eyes ?

what a load of self indulgent bollocks that was. i swear to **** i wonder at times what colour the sky is in these insiders worlds cause it doesnt seem to be the blue of ours.

marion now pimping up the tears.

this is like bertie mark two from RTE.

Marion has a soft spot for self-indulgent whingers. She's had two on today so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

people like Gavin need a mighty slap across the face with a wet fish on a regular basis

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭suzzi

i could hear the tissues being handed out (along with the "get out of jail card") as the sympathy and tears were mopped up by marian for the man whose garden fell out of the sky! quote (similar) "he was REALLY upset", could hardly talk...yeah!.....how long was he digging?

God be with the days when gardening meant planting a few flowers and herbaceous borders to spruce up a dull patch of garden. I couldn't see Gerry Daly getting into such a hissy fit.

As for that property guy, I'm sick of hearing all of those greedy developers coming onto Marian Finucane blaming everybody else except themselves for their financial woes. :rolleyes:

Totally agree with you all .... self indulgent whining this morning. Dam it to hell there are people who haven't corn flakes for their kids this morning & these pampered whiners are expecting sympathy.

Never had any time for Dermot Gavin & his voice just grates on me .... can't see why he gets such easy access to RTE (well connected obviously!). As you say Gerry Daly would be too busy fighting off the carrott fly to indulge in Dermot's pseudo gardening.

Of course Dermot is a designer not a gardener .... what a load of Celtic Tiger clap trap.

And as for that developer IMO Judge Peter Kelly is the only man with his head screwed on the right way in this country at the minute .... he takes no crap and calls a pile of bullsh1t for what it is. Long may he preside in the commercial court.

Was Marian on this morning lads? I know she was on yesterday, but I'm assuming that she didnt work New Year's Day.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Was Marian on this morning lads? I know she was on yesterday, but I'm assuming that she didnt work New Year's Day.. :confused:
    I flicked on for about 5 minutes, think it was a "best of 2011". The bit I heard was Twink's birthday love in.
    Switched to BBC Radio 4 where Wogan was on Desert Island Discs. Much better radio.

Live yesterday - pre recorded today.....it was a 'best of the Saturday interviews'........

Rather good timing considering that Marian has a new book out 'The Saturday Interviews 2005-2011'......

I wonder if any living being has set foot inside the RTE radio centre for the past 8 days?? I have visions of a tape being switched on after Joe Duffy's Christmas Eve programme and it's still being played as we speak, while all the RTE radio staff and contractors are sipping cocktails on a Caribbean Island somewhere.........

I wonder if any living being has set foot inside the RTE radio centre for the past 8 days??

It baffles me Harry.. I work in the entertainment industry, and I was working most nights of the Christmas... it's part of the job... The level of programming during the two weeks of Christmas is an absolute insult to the license payer..