Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Okay, which one of ye texted that in about saying the women should be a bit more grateful. Honey, it was you wasn't it??

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Same old panel types on today

Yer man Blair Horan retired from his union job ages ago yet still a fixture on Marian’s panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

There's a discussion regarding misogynistic behaviour by male doctors within the cervical check controversy , even though the controversy had nothing to do with that and by the way panelists the head doctor for cervical check was a woman but never leave facts get in the way of an agenda by certain panelists and hosts.

just 10 mins to the end of show and then the weekly 'TRUMP RANT HALF HOUR' .. it should be introduced as 'sponsored by the licence payer '.

and we're off , ECHO , ECHO , ECHO .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Oops69 wrote: »

Manafort cooperating is some pretty substantial international news. Not discussing it would be like not discussing Watergate back in the day.

This US commentator was on a few weeks ago and wasn’t able to contribute anything worthwhile to a conversation with Brendan

batgoat wrote: »
    Manafort cooperating is some pretty substantial international news. Not discussing it would be like not discussing Watergate back in the day.

If it was a 'discussion ', yes , this is not a ' discussion'.

Has something inaccurate been stated? You're being outraged for the sake of it.

I've heard unopposed reportage from a commentator to a receptive host , thats not a discussion .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Marian McKeown is a Democrat spokesperson when on with Matt Cooper.

When she comes on Marian Finnucane she is a supposed impartial correspondent.

Noel Dorr is using ' we' a lot when speaking about personal opinions.

Think they should have a good break before having her on again.Not a Trump fan, but even Marian F pulled her up on the bashing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,750 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Who paid for that nult’s “90 flights” last year.

FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I see that the shinners have nominated Liadh Ni Riada as their Presidential candidate. Very surprised after her short tempered and irritable performance when she was on with Marion a few weeks ago. I mean if she can't handle a few soft enough questions from Finucane, what is she gonna do when Pat Kenny goes after her like he did O'Broinn (on the water charges).

Who paid for that nult’s “90 flights” last year.

FFS.

Nult is a great word, we can always rely on you to add to the lexicon, Brendan.

Is that Michael Sheridan you were referring to? I think he's the guy who played Bertie in the Bull Island satire a few years back. I assume he's employed outside of RTÉ now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,750 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Nult is a great word, we can always rely on you to add to the lexicon, Brendan.

Is that Michael Sheridan you were referring to? I think he's the guy who played Bertie in the Bull Island satire a few years back. I assume he's employed outside of RTÉ now.

Not sure Ty, just heard some spong boasting he had 90 flights last year.

Was washing the cat so my attention was a bit askew:D

not even gonna ask what that's a euphemism for, sir

This is a family-friendly space

20 mins of ' em- am am ' from Coveney now at least and she has a chesty cold/ flu / on top of the cacophony of snots coughs and wheezes we usually have ... will be a challenge to listen .

Thought Coveney was unnecessarily defensive in that interview, Finucane kept having to interject to stop him from going on a few well-rehearsed political speeches.

Why be so defensive when you're preaching to the choir about the need for a smooth UK withdrawal from the EU? His attitude made him sound like he's worried things aren't going as planned, which may be a cause for concern.

Had to give up listening though, so I didn't hear the whole thing. It's hard to listen to wheezing when you are wearing headphones... Marian Finucane should have stayed home today with some sucky sweets and a pot of honey.

I'd doubt any of these people have the answer to Brexit. Do they have to spend 40 minutes every week on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I'd doubt any of these people have the answer to Brexit. Do they have to spend 40 minutes every week on this?

Well maybe not a full 40 minutes every week but it is an important topic.
    This is history unfolding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

elperello wrote: »
    Well maybe not a full 40 minutes every week but it is an important topic.
    This is history unfolding.

Aye but you'd get awful sick of hearing the same three or four points being rehashed by the same voices again and again, all followed up by Marian itching to throw in 'but we have to remember the people voted for it, whether we like it or not' as though it was some amazing revelatory point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Aye but you'd get awful sick of hearing the same three or four points being rehashed by the same voices again and again, all followed up by Marian itching to throw in 'but we have to remember the people voted for it, whether we like it or not' as though it was some amazing revelatory point.

You would need to be a very regular listener. She gets a lot of those.

And how would Matt Cooper feel if somebody wrote a book about him, and then went whoring it around all the usual stations gossiping about O'Leary's personal affairs like an oul fishwife.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Very strange reading out the ingredients list on the back of packaging there to wind down the clock

More lazy and cliched waffle this morning

Is Alan Dukes there just to tell knock knock jokes?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

"Borris is a very, very clever man" .... ah please

Is Alan Dukes there just to tell knock knock jokes?
    he sounded particularly peevish this morning.

No wonder he is peeved. Never made Taoiseach and then had to endure Kenny's success.

Anyway we are lucky to be able to hear him for nothing, some have to pay -

https://www.personallyspeakingbureau.com/speaker/alan-dukes/

No wonder he is peeved. Never made Taoiseach and then had to endure Kenny's success.

Anyway we are lucky to be able to hear him for nothing, some have to pay -

https://www.personallyspeakingbureau.com/speaker/alan-dukes/
    unfortunately we are paying via the licence fee , there's no way he's turning up at RTE on a Sunday morning to altruistically pass on his words of 'wisdom',and we're paying the pension/s on top of the appearance fee... just to rub it in .

News Alert - Radio is free to air :)

That's an interesting point!

You might argue that although RTÉ does spend licence-fee money on radio, including broadcaster' salaries/fees, you can't reasonably use the cost of your TV licence to complain about a different service, on a different medium.

However, it kinda ignores the point that radio and TV are not separate organisations operating at arms' length from one another. It's a unitary organisation. And that the overwhelming majority of users of RTÉ services are also TV-licence holders, which licence effectively obliges RTÉ to commit to a radio service.

It's a bit like subscribing to Spotify, then complaining about paying for an aspect of the application which is available even to 'free users'. Although you're technically only paying for the 'premium' content, it's entirely valid to consider whether or not your money has been well-spent, considering the service as a whole.

Yes but you still don't pay if you don't have a TV licence.

That's the beauty of the medium, you can have a house full of radios and pay nothing for all that entertainment and information.

Nothing to stop you complaining either but I doubt in the case of RTE that anyone is listening to the listeners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭serfboard

I doubt in the case of RTE that anyone is listening to the listeners.
    In terms of radio, the only thing that RTE, or indeed any other radio station, listens to is the JNLR.

And in the last period for which detailed figures are available (2017 Q1), Marian's programme was the third most popular in the country, behind Liveline and Morning Ireland.

Of course, the JNLR does not ask take podcasts into account - in so far as they could measure it, that would be accounted for by overall listenership - but that's not within its remit.

Palin is like the David Attenborough of travel writing , an amateurs modicum of knowledge but went to an ox-bridge college and the BBC love them so they could write or speak drivel and it'll be a great success .

They have some manic mcgregor super fan on now.

By the sounds of it he’s been mainlining Red Bull (or other substances perhaps...) since 2 am

Not Marian mcKeown again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Marion McKeown once again presented as an impartial US correspondent.

A Hillary Clinton campaigner in the studio and the rest all nod away in agreement at the one sided discussion.

Don't think Marian even tried to play devil's advocate this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

Palin is like the David Attenborough of travel writing , an amateurs modicum of knowledge but went to an ox-bridge college and the BBC love them so they could write or speak drivel and it'll be a great success .

David Attenborough studied geology and zoology. He has a degree in Natural Sciences from Cambridge - and decades of experience of field-work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

David Attenborough is a odd benchmark for "an amateurs modicum of knowledge" of natural history. He's been dedicated to the topic for 80 years, his actual primary degree is in the topic, and a Fellow of numerous societies, and he can barely move for honorary degrees at this point, advanced doctorates included.

A person could go far on such modicums.

John Fitzgerald .... could he not just have gone into a graceful retirement .

alaimacerc wrote: »
    David Attenborough is a odd benchmark for "an amateurs modicum of knowledge" of natural history. He's been dedicated to the topic for 80 years, his actual primary degree is in the topic, and a Fellow of numerous societies, and he can barely move for honorary degrees at this point, advanced doctorates included.

A person could go far on such modicums.
    honorary doctorates and fellowships , wheres his doctorate through research ?

And ultimately I don't think that matters. I would suspect his fifty years plus of nature documentaries has inspired generations to pursue doctorates in it. So you can complain about pop nature documentaries or travel documentaries by Palin but they are ultimately education and increase interest in their respective areas.

John Fitzgerald wants an electric car that will take him to Kilcrohane on one charge.
    I heard him say this before, why Kilcrohane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

I did once hear a writer describe their doctorate in physics as their "union card". I don't think the natural sciences still operate a closed shop.

And ultimately I don't think that matters. I would suspect his fifty years plus of nature documentaries has inspired generations to pursue doctorates in it. So you can complain about pop nature documentaries or travel documentaries by Palin but they are ultimately education and increase interest in their respective areas.
    most of the stuff he has narrated for the last 20 years he has had very little editorial or production involvement with , he has just been the voice that adds kudos to the production because of 'life on earth' , which was a ground- breaking series ,yes, but he does seem to be living off the glory of that ever since .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

You could apply the same analogy to Marian.

most of the stuff he has narrated for the last 20 years he has had very little editorial or production involvement with , he has just been the voice that adds kudos to the production because of 'life on earth' , which was a ground- breaking series ,yes, but he does seem to be living off the glory of that ever since .

This doesn't negate the fact that he still inspires people to enter the field. Pop science et al is incredibly influential and Attenborough is of huge influence.