Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Am I hearing right here...

There is a woman (annoying voice alert) on National Radio calling MF whinging about the fact she can't go "walkabout" in the White House so now wants to know what are the best restaurants to go to.....

The RTE world has truly lost the plot.

aaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrgggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

what is THIS?

End RTE now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

Am I hearing right here...

There is a woman (annoying voice alert) on National Radio calling MF whinging about the fact she can't go "walkabout" in the White House so now wants to know what are the best restaurants to go to.....

The RTE world has truly lost the plot.

RTE got Richard Downes out of bed at cock-crow to tell this woman where to visit when her hubby takes her to Washington for her 60th :O
    She managed to squeeze in that she has been to other major cities in the US but this was next on her list. He has been advising her on where to eat, what to see and which of the Govt. buildings do tours. In fairness to him, he's been very good about having his Saturday disrupted.

In otherwords, this attention-seeker wants to have our state broadcaster do her Google search for her! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Richard Downes - Get a job as a Travel Agent.

You should be ashamed of yourself for that piece of drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

An hour of religion, the Angelus, a travel slot, a food slot. Yawn.

I'm going back to the scratcher.

'you can listen to the radio on them, smartphones are great for when you are overseas for staying in contact'

what does her contract cost us?

my friend wrote: »
    'you can listen to the radio on them, smartphones are great for when you are overseas for staying in contact'

what does her contract cost us?

Too Bloody Much.

she didnt want the lads bashing 'Albert Nobbs', she wont have 'fellow star' Glenn Close diminished ..... didn't comment herself and then moved them on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Listening to the Fr D'arcy interview I couldn't help but be reminded of the last guy who upset the status quo .... as I recall they crucified him. Bet Benny & Co are deeply sorry they don't have that option for Brian and any other uppity priests daring to question their orders.

Benny certainly learned a few tricks during his Hitler Youth days ..... can't beat having the few cowardly anonymous snitches in the community keeping an eye & reporting the backsliders to HQ. :mad:

Callan57 wrote: »
    Benny certainly learned a few tricks during his Hitler Youth days ..... can't beat having the few cowardly anonymous snitches in the community keeping an eye & reporting the backsliders to HQ. :mad:

check these lads out...

Investiture-holy-sepulchre-ireland.jpg

http://www.holysepulchre.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

Spain is a great nation, France is a great nation, Italy is a great nation........... Dunphy's just been re-programmed.

Dunphy still believes in free money. Thats what you get for being in RTE too long. Sure we can get people to lend to us without them expecting to get it repaid. Populist nonsense and nobody is picking him up on it.

They should consider ditching their current sponsor and calling a Cough Medicine supplier. Made Marion is bad, but her guests today seem to think that microphones are there to be coughed into.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭JoeGil

GSF wrote: »
    Spain is a great nation, France is a great nation, Italy is a great nation........... Dunphy's just been re-programmed.

Dunphy still believes in free money. Thats what you get for being in RTE too long. Sure we can get people to lend to us without them expecting to get it repaid. Populist nonsense and nobody is picking him up on it.

Now Dunphy is calling for Hollande to lead Ireland.
    Nobody in Ireland had even heard of Hollande up to two weeks ago and now he is being touted on national radio as our leader.
    Unbelievable stuff and nobody to question it's validity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Joining me today "In Studio" are Eamon Dunphy, Geraldine Kennedy, etc etc etc, gulp gulp swallow, it has to be said (in a falsetto voice) gulp gulp, 'Marion takes deep intake of breath' that, bla bla bla . . . .

Turn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

".....not a good bank, but a great bank, baby....."

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

Where is the accountability for the shoddy inspections in Priory Hall?

Will someone get Geraldine Kennedy a glass of water/Strepsil - I've had enough of listening to her choking.....

dvcireland wrote: »
    ".....not a good bank, but a great bank, baby....."

Up to the time of the bust Anglo was pushed and promoted by every organ the government had at it's disposal. RTE was to the forefront of this promotion of Anglo as a world class company with a huge future and strong growth path ahead of it.

Now that the bubble has burst, the same RTE never tire of telling us that anybody investing in Anglo was gambling. Bet they won't be showing this clip on Reeling in The Years.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

I missed most of the show today . Sunday mornings just arnt the same since Dunphy gave up his gig on NT. So, imagine my surprise this morning, Dunphy on MF, perhaps he will stick to some of his previously expressed views ?
    No, of course not. Its amazing how much he has become an RTE insider, with of course some populism thrown in. the man is a disgrace, a pure Hypocrite . He hasnt got one ounce of integrity . Mouthing economic theories that most 6 year olds would laugh at . Just like MF, he is on the rte public sector gravy train, and that means first class all the way
    I remember when he started on Today fm, a long time ago. He used to express his admiration for Maggie Thatcher and what she had done for the UK. He said he knew all about it, as he had lived there before she came to power and he knew what a mess the place was in . Bet he wouldnt claim to be a fan of hers now, eh?
    I was in the audience at the Helix for his tv show one night, the night he interviewed bertie. Now, personally, im not sure bertie was totally to blame for the mess the country is in, but dunphy does, and you should have seen how far his head was up berties ass .
    Anyway, thats my rant over, kinda handy to get to ****heads for the price of one on a sunday morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

The podcast of the show is up now Cavanman.. I'm just downloading it now..

I thought that was a Nob Nation sketch I was listening to. :)

Not only all the throat clearing but someone was thumping the desk again this week ... these sound effect are getting really, really annoying. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

JoeGil wrote: »
    Up to the time of the bust Anglo was pushed and promoted by every organ the government had at it's disposal. RTE was to the forefront of this promotion of Anglo as a world class company with a huge future and strong growth path ahead of it.

Now that the bubble has burst, the same RTE never tire of telling us that anybody investing in Anglo was gambling. Bet they won't be showing this clip on Reeling in The Years.
    this video is archived on the RTE website, but is hard enough to find and there are issues with quality, on purpose perhaps?

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

I thought that was a Nob Nation sketch I was listening to. :) Not only all the throat clearing but someone was thumping the desk again this week ... these sound effect are getting really, really annoying. :(

I thought somebody had borrowed Colm McCarthy's vibrating pen.. :pac:

If Finucane is still in her gig by this time next year I will be very surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

She's fecked off again!

mike65 wrote: »
    She's fecked off again!

Has summer started already, or has her permanent cough got the better of her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,367 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Ah balls to this.

Did anybody see it was Bob Collins, ex RTE head, who is in charge of the BAI... He looked after most of his old pals anyway.. They've all kept their jobs bar Aoife Kavanagh.. Kind of a pity really, I liked her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭mattser

Big interviews this morning re the company ( us ) being hit for 200k. Meanwhile where's the paid host ?
    What a fcuking joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Did anybody see it was Bob Collins, ex RTE head, who is in charge of the BAI... He looked after most of his old pals anyway.. They've all kept their jobs bar Aoife Kavanagh.. Kind of a pity really, I liked her.

Aoife was being kept on as well.She chose to resign. She also chose not to go with the paternity test when the option was there. I have ZERO sympathy for her as from what I can see she, was the driver of much of this and was badly exposed as being a bad journalist. Don't worry about her,she'll turn up again and will be looked after.
    Much like the numbskull that's presenting today's programme.However someone in RTE likes her. She's getting a lot of gigs these days.

oh here we go again.. "Bobby" Ballagh, why the hell do RTE always turn to an unelected artist to give us an opinion on the economy???
    Aoife was being kept on as well.She chose to resign. She also chose not to go with the paternity test when the option was there

hey yosser, I dont know if we have any proof that she would have been kept on. With regard to the paternity test, it was said in the results of the investigation yesterday, that the RTE staff thought that if they agreed to the paternity test they would have NO way of enforcing it... either way the whole thing was a complete shambles..

I always want to hear what Bobby Ballagh has to say about macro economics! :rolleyes:

oh here we go again.. "Bobby" Ballagh, why the hell do RTE always turn to an unelected artist to give us an opinion on the economy???

hey yosser, I dont know if we have any proof that she would have been kept on. With regard to the paternity test, it was said in the results of the investigation yesterday, that the RTE staff thought that if they agreed to the paternity test they would have NO way of enforcing it... either way the whole thing was a complete shambles..

Fair enough Jonathan.I just thought that in the initial news reports yeterday,it stated the fine RTE (the taxpayer) has to pay and that she was being moved elsewhere in the organisation.Now maybe that position forced her to resign,I don't know.
    Agree on Bobby Ballagh. I cannot abide this man. Apart from being another bluffer this country has produced he was a good mate of that gangster Haughey who thought he was some kind of Picasso. Got a lot of state patronage over the years.

Edit:Who do RTE pay that fine to? where does it go?

Des Bishop! Seriously, how up its arse is Irish radio?

Some solicitor from UK now on touting for business.
    He specialises in moving Irish people over to the UK so that they can offload their debts somebody else.

Rte providing free ad for uk bankruptcy specialist

Rte helping Irish dead beats avoid their obligations

Claire Byrne and rte are a disgrace

I cannot believe they just aired that.:eek:

Unbelievable.. the irony is certainly not lost on me anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Me neither. I tuned in halfway through the interview and it slowly dawned on me that this was yer man's own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

I doubt he left the line of cocaine till last... :rolleyes:

Jaysus this is grim. Would RTE ever throw their eye over to BBC4 to see what constitutes entertainment for a saturday morning. This is dire. :mad:

a backlash against the State for the knuckle rapping from the BAI ?

That was a treacherous segment, was a fee paid by the bankruptcy specialist?

How do I get such free airtime for my business?

Slightly off topic, but does any one else find the McDowell Chuckle Brothers add for their appearance with Miriam tomorrow nauseating? Neither of them will ever wonder where the next new Merc will come from, let alone the next loaf of bread.

and now we know why Claire Byrne has no depth! ;)

wtf... My radio is after changing to student FM... ???

Did Kathryn Thomas turn down another series of "Before Our Time"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

mike65 wrote: »
    I always want to hear what Bobby Ballagh has to say about macro economics! :rolleyes:
    Wasn't he a supporter of the morons who got us into trouble in the first place? And now he tells us they were 'irresponsible'?

Pathetic effort at a show this morning ....

I wonder which cost more the payout to Fr Reynolds or the exit package for Ed Mulhall? :mad: I feel sorry for Aoife Kavanagh & I commend her for resigning but really the person who should be gone is whoever let a clearly inexperienced, naive and careless journalist loose.

If that solicitor was charged the going rate for the airtime he got this morning it would go a long way to pay the 200,000 fine .... that segment was on a par with the item Joe did on Liveline that nearly caused a run on the banks, national sabotage IMO ... absolutely disgraceful.

If that solicitor was charged the going rate for the airtime he got this morning it would go a long way to pay the 200,000 fine ....

The guy also failed to recognise that for every person he facilities in declaring themselves bankrupt and ridding themselves of all financial worries, subcontractors back here in Ireland who are owed money by these businesses will then have their own financial pressures increased. When somebody declares bankruptcy, they simply pass their financial problems on to somebody else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

The guy also failed to recognise that for every person he facilities in declaring themselves bankrupt and ridding themselves of all financial worries, subcontractors back here in Ireland who are owed money by these businesses will then have their own financial pressures increased. When somebody declares bankruptcy, they simply pass their financial problems on to somebody else...
    Same as the debt forgiveness lobby - the debt isn't forgiven, it's passed onto the taxpayers. It should be called 'debt sharing'. Thanks very much, but I don't want any more debt...

This Keiran Allen lad really annoys me.. We have far too many overpaid academics like him who like the sound of their own voice, who dont disclose their earnings and give out about the rich private business men, and advocate certain anti Government positions.

I think the only chance for the country is if all funding IS stopped by the Troika. At least then the Government would be forced to rebalance the books, and sacred cows like Keiran Allen would be forced to look for an easy overpaid job on somebody else's dime..

A dreadful performance from Simon Coveney on this am show. Nothing but ahm, ahm, long pause, ahm ahm and more long pauses. He gave a great impression of someone who hadn't a clue. :mad:
    Do they do any prep at all for the show? .... it's not as if they are getting questions out of the blue, everything that is discussed is well flagged and unless you've been asleep all week you have to know exactly what is going to come up. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

A dreadful performance from Simon Coveney on this am show. Nothing but ahm, ahm, long pause, ahm ahm and more long pauses. He gave a great impression of someone who hadn't a clue. :mad:

Thought it was just me - thought Simon Coveney was dire and his interaction and dismissive attitude reminded me of Lucinda Creightons performance on Prime Time.

Perhaps he wasn't expecting a tough chairing by Claire Byrne who I must admit was a lot better then her previous appearances on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

But then those subcontractors are themselves more likely to go bankrupt, making more business for - guess who?