Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Lapin wrote: »
    And then you'd be saying, if someone posted about her not bothering to check how much she was losing, then somebody would be on here moaning about that.
    Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Infoanon wrote: »
    In fairness I think thats been taken out of context - additionally I don't think she said that 'she had not bothered'.

I was listening yesterday and Aine mentioned a number of 'negative' stories and in particular the impact of the budget.
    Yeah you could be right about the use of the word 'bothered'.

Bottom line, she should have kept her own well paid circumstances out of the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Greenman wrote: »
    Well I seem to be out numbered.

As long as Aine Lawlor is on air I'll be elsewhere on the radio dial.

What exactly do you not like about her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I had to laugh at Aíne Lawlor yesterday... When talking about Strumpet City, she said "it's great, you can watch it all on youtube"... I'm only surprised she didnt give a shout out to wierdscience1990s taking the time to illegally upload it all.. lol :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭countrynosebag

one big club/family and looking after each other too I see.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Can someone tell me if this panel is meant to be balanced ?

Cause it sounds like a borderline racist EU love in to me . The UK needs "adult political leadership " ? from john bruton off all people - the biggest EU tax slurper in the country !

He almost went gay Mitchell's on the boarder too. Apparently gattling guns will be set up. :D

Bet there'll be some complaints about this show .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Cause it sounds like a borderline racist EU love in to me . The UK needs "adult political leadership " ? from john bruton off all people - the biggest EU tax slurper in the country !

He almost went gay Mitchell's on the boarder too. Apparently gattling guns will be set up. :D

Not to mention his comment that the Supreme Court ruling in the x-case should be ignored, only equalled by Gerard Caseys 'Ambiguity in the law is a good thing',

Add to that John Brutons appeasing of the drug companies re generic drugs,his 'politicians have taken pay cuts' rhetoric,checkpoints on the border, and......you get the idea - would be classic comedy except John Bruton is in a very powerful position.

Overall thought Aine Lawlor did another good job this week - best to give John Bruton enough rope to hang himself - a lot of what he said could come back to haunt him in the future.

I bet it was more like Colm who came running to throw his arms around Anne Hathaway, and her who had no clue who he was... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

Anyone else hear Made Marion's newspaper review today, particularly her reference to the Horseburger story? The way she swallowed (!) the spin from Goodman about how the DNA tests might be wrong? Funny thing that, I'd be of the opinion that professional mircobiologists might know a little more about DNA testing than a successful cattle dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Jaysus, get this egomaniac off the air.

lol yeah, it's a bit self indulgent alright.. I found him the same when he was on the Late Late a while back... With regard to his statement that people in Dublin might say "he lost the run of himself", I think the ship has sailed on that one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

Dirigent wrote: »
    Anyone else hear Made Marion's newspaper review today, particularly her reference to the Horseburger story? The way she swallowed (!) the spin from Goodman about how the DNA tests might be wrong? Funny thing that, I'd be of the opinion that professional mircobiologists might know a little more about DNA testing than a successful cattle dealer.

Green jersey time? She has to believe it in the national interest.

"Soo mannneeeeee yeeeeeeeaaaaaaaassss" :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Imagine being stuck somewhere with that carried away eejit!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Bloody*Mary

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Imagine being stuck somewhere with that carried away eejit!

Colm?

Now I listened carefully and I don't think he was over the top.

The guy is a terrific performer and I evaluated his contributions in that context,and while the 'I' word was prominent, I would say he was in no way over the top or egotistic, no way at all.

Hmmmm Marzie over in Palm Springs.. nice part of the world, still living on the Nuala interview, wonder did she have a round of golf down in Palm desert.

La Quinta lovely courses:D

Colm?

The guy is a terrific performer and I evaluated his contributions in that context,and while the 'I' word was prominent, I would say he was in no way over the top or egotistic, no way at all.

Hmmmm Marzie over in Palm Springs.. nice part of the world, still living on the Nuala interview, wonder did she have a round of golf down in Palm desert.

La Quinta lovely courses:D

You don't think that little "anecdote" about Anne Hathaway wasn't a tiny bit egotistical? Or the way he talked up his role in the film of Les Miserables, or the way that every production he ever seemed to be involved with was either the highest grossing or most popular, or the fact that he was in Rolling Stone Magazine's top five singers etc etc etc ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

You don't think that little "anecdote" about Anne Hathaway wasn't a tiny bit egotistical? ...
    I interpreted that as his telling us that Anne Hathaway isn't egotistical.

I interpreted it as him informing us that Anne Hathaway knew who he was, but he didn't know who she was......

No, don't think he was doing that, not the way I saw it.

Wouldn't be a big fan, but have to hand it to guy, he has achieved loads and deserves to big himself up on shows like this.

I do not think he was trying to purport that view, in fairness.

Came across as a guy who worked hard for his achievements.

Just my opinion.

GSF wrote: »
    Green jersey time? She has to believe it in the national interest.

Would have thought the opposite - last thing the government need is Larry Goodman going against the Govt spin on horseburger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'm just listening to Marian's interview with Colm now on playback. The last time I heard an interview this cringe worthy was when Pee Flynn appeared on the LLS back in 1999.

I hope Colm is embarrassed when he listens to this interview, even Marian appeared to be uncomfortable at times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

MF: 'you feel that a voucher is the same as cash'

Speaking of the HMV voucher gouge

I wonder how MF would react if RTE attempted to pay MF with vouchers in lieu of license payers cash ....

'Feel'

Very comfortable little chat this morning with nothing particularly insightful or controversial from any of the participants.. It's a bit like that civil service scene in Barry Murphy's recent comedy series where they break out the beers..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Political parties offices are exempt from rates but charity shops are not ... followed by a deafening silence from the panel, even with encouragement from Marian not one of the panel seemed to find it either surprising or down right unfair! :confused:
    Have we really reached the stage in this country where no one sees any contradiction or hypocrisy in this or is it that we have totally surrendered any sense of public outrage? I'm stunned (again!)

Callan57 wrote: »
    Have we really reached the stage in this country where no one sees any contradiction or hypocrisy in this or is it that we have totally surrendered any sense of public outrage? I'm stunned (again!)

Maybe she's getting paranoid, but Marian seems to fill the studio with the same civil service squares who have their noses in the same trough as herself... Rarely a dissenting voice these days.. Oh, well we do have that chap that paid 350K for his house (now worth 100K) and wants the rest of us to pay for it... I've two words for him..

Does anyone know was Lance Armstrong paid for that selfserving PR stint with Ophra?

Colm?

He has that curious opaque ability to mask his trumpet blowing from most people, who are generally fans.
    I couldn't care less about his performing ability as I have no interest in over the top, overblown, musical silliness, so that context is irrelevant to me. All I heard was subtle but vulgar self promotion.

Just googled Michelle Mulherin... Her who is on that march today and does not agree with "fornication before registration".

'Fornication row' TD's own little secret: Deputy's partner has a lovechild... by a girlfriend 17 years his junior

Seems like she doesnt hold prospective partners to the same high standards.. Never heard about this story at the time she was doing the rounds last year.

Just googled Michelle Mulherin... Her who is on that march today and does not agree with "fornication before registration".

'Fornication row' TD's own little secret: Deputy's partner has a lovechild... by a girlfriend 17 years his junior

Seems like she doesnt hold prospective partners to the same high standards.. Never heard about this story at the time she was doing the rounds last year.

You couldn't write it, why don't these compromised idiots not just stay silent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Who is this socialist gimp?

You couldn't write it, why don't these compromised idiots not just stay silent.

Screen-Shot-2012-04-22-at-15.18.04.png

tbh, the only reason I googled her was that I remembered seeing her on with Brendan O'Connor last year. She gave a fairly competent (albeit a little pious) performance.. But there was no mention of her relationship, which I think would have been relevant given that she was basically sitting in judgement of people in a similar situation to her partner.. It's typically Irish, here are the rules for me, and over there are the rules I want for everybody else..

That's the assassination footage they are talking about... Just happened to watch it myself and hour ago.. It's fairly amazing.. Love the way when they have the guy completely sedated on the ground (eventually!!) some oul lad comes up and starts hitting him.. what a hero.. lol

He has that curious opaque ability to mask his trumpet blowing from most people, who are generally fans.
    I couldn't care less about his performing ability as I have no interest in over the top, overblown, musical silliness, so that context is irrelevant to me. All I heard was subtle but vulgar self promotion.

Not a fan, but I can certainly see where you are coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

I'm glad someone else mentioned the Colm Wilkinson interview, that was unbelievable, and not in a good way.

The man could name drop for Ireland, everyone got a mench from Cameron Mackintosh, Andrew Lloyd Webber, to Ted Kennedy. He went on and on, and on. In the end he gave a painful rendition of the song Whats Another Year. I turned the radio down for that bit. I turned it up to hear if he was finished, and unluckily got the ear piercing falsetto note at the end. :eek:

Oh Christ . Not Paul Williams. Can marrion roll out no one else when a gard gets murdered ?

It's a worthwhile topic but I just can't stand the man's rehtoric .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

MF whining about Internet freedom now

Another classic show from Marian, usual unbalanced line up and non stop rambling;
    First ten minutes spend talking about dissidents (Marian/Pat Rabbitte/Alan Dukes) only for one of the contributors Emer to remind them that in the RTE 11am news the Gardai has said that they are no longer concentracting on dissident involvement and were now concentrating on 'local' involvement in the dreadful shooting of Garda Adrian Donoghue.

Next we had Pat and Alan (all very freindly) telling us that things could be a lot worse, the old 'no money in the ATMs' chestnut line and Pat stated that there were no basis to the Reuters story about the Promissory notes.
    Alas at the same time Leo Varadkar was telling RTE TV news that indeed the discussions have run into trouble....
    Emer and Sam Smyth did attempt to challenge the Dukes/Rabbitte/Marian Troika view but the 'naysayers' line was thrown out again.....

Bring back Aine Lawlor is all I can say.

in fairness , for those of us informed it made for great comedy.

Infoanon wrote: »
    Next we had Pat and Alan (all very freindly)

Yeah fairly nauseating stuff alright... Same old boys club every week.. The only dissenting voice being Emer Woodfull, who was probably overcompensating given that the last time she was in RTE she was bullied. Martin Donellan went off on another "yiz are all doing it wrong" rant, spouted a load of complete conjecture in relation to the Garda in Louth, before giving the usual pat on the back to populist judge Paul Carney..

I had to laugh when Brent Pope was talking about how the IRFU couldnt afford to keep Jonny Sexton at 750K a year... Yet RTE can afford Marian at 500k for two days the odd week..

I'm listening to The Sunday Show in future.. Far less palsy, and more representative of the views of those who dont live in ivory towers. ..

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2013/0201/1224329514763.html
    Marian Finucane’s weekend shows suffered the most severe losses of the top 10 programmes. Her Saturday show lost 25,000 listeners to 363,000 in the period from January to December 2012 when compared with October 2011 to September 2012, while her Sunday audience fell by 20,000 listeners to 305,000, the Joint National Listenership Research (JNLR) survey reveals.

I can only assume Marian's response will be "well you cant hold me responsible for that, I was hardly ever presenting it" :pac:

No wonder Marian is losing her audience. Half an hour of listening to John Banville is enough to send even the most hardened of insomniacs to sleep. No need for talking to that sleep expert afterwards.

I disagree, I'd be happy to listen to John Banville all day. :)

I think he should stick to what he does best. Whenever I hear him being interviewed he sounds completely uninterested, and that monotone voice of his is stupor-inducing.

Have to agree with Harry on that,he is a very good writer,but to me he gives the impression that he feels on a higher intellectual plane that most.

Enthusiastic and bubbly won't appear on any CV I would suggest.

Have to agree with Harry on that,he is a very good writer,but to me he gives the impression that he feels on a higher intellectual plane that most.

Enthusiastic and bubbly won't appear on any CV I would suggest.

:confused: .... IMO he is an extremly funny man but in a subtle, quiet and unassuming way. I have listened to numerous interviews with him and never ever have I felt the slightest hint of intellectual superiority from him. I will agree, however, that this morning's interview was not the best I've heard, he is a lot better with someone like John Kelly. There was IMO a hint of going through the motions from Marian this morning.

Only my opinion,and I was not listening too closely.

Probably deserves more attention from me,in fairness

Just listening this morning to the angst concerning the murder of Adrian Donohue in the Dundalk area.

Rightly in my opinion, there was local outrage,but stand back and take the general area as a whole.

Could one say that the Gardai were supported and respected in that area?

I know what my answer to that would be.

Let's call a spade a spade and cut some of the bullscrap out of things.

All very well and fine calling for more resources,but local attitude could

and would assist if it was more forthcoming.

Worth thinking about for some of the more mouthy members of the media,in my opinion.

The Sunday Marian Finucane is just a mess at this stage... Never liked Declan Power or his funny voice, and I dont like him as a contributor, which he seems to be EVERY week now. They devote more time to international affairs than Hilary Clinton does..

After twelve today was just ridiculous... Eddie O'Sullivan on the phone talking about the rugby and they ask the security analyst about the game, before Marian saying that she herself had predicted that France would win easily today.... They dont even go to Dunphy on the topic!!!!

The show needs a complete restructure.. and a presenter who is there because of their talent not because of their legacy..

Good man Ming... There's a man to ruffle up all the polite conversation with Marian's friends..

I thought Marian was supposed to be a professional broadcaster who puts in hours & hours of research .... not for the first time this morning she couldn't even get the name of a member of her panel correct. Surely, if you are going to invite someone on to a panel you could spend a couple of minutes researching how to pronounce their name .... how very rude. :mad: