Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

Just listening this morning to the angst concerning the murder of Adrian Donohue in the Dundalk area.

Rightly in my opinion, there was local outrage,but stand back and take the general area as a whole.

Could one say that the Gardai were supported and respected in that area?

I know what my answer to that would be.

Let's call a spade a spade and cut some of the bullscrap out of things.

All very well and fine calling for more resources,but local attitude could

and would assist if it was more forthcoming.

Worth thinking about for some of the more mouthy members of the media,in my opinion.

No discussion on whether money could be spent BETTER either. Just always assume more is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Good man Ming... There's a man to ruffle up all the polite conversation with Marian's friends..

'well Marian the last time you spoke to me in 1997' ,no matter what you think of the man he was well able to deal with Marian today.

Overall the show was a mess - one govt representative and no non govt spokesperson again,talked about the Rugby in detail twice - talked about the Garda cuts for an age and ended with the phone call to Ming - something I say Marian regrets ! she sounded very flustered at the end of the show.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

missed marion today but had to stream the bit with ming.

man you could just feel the bristling of her pannal at having their views challenged.

they were so so disappointed he wasnt a halfwit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

they were so so disappointed he wasnt a halfwit....
    He wasn't?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

nope he wasnt.

much to their despair as they so clearly wanted to trash him and he took them to school.

it made a nice change to the usual marion circle jerk where they almost proudly display their ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Joe O'Shea must be on the show to meet the "eye candy" clause in Marian's contract.. He really is a poor contributor.. It's like he's just reading from the TV guide, occasionally adding in a few big words to make him look intellectual.

Though Marion was extremely poor during that section on discussing Michael Noonan's comments about Europe.. She seemed distracted, mumbling over her words..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Though Marion was extremely poor during that section on discussing Michael Noonan's comments about Europe.. She seemed distracted, mumbling over her words..

She was probably busy leafing through a holiday brochure...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Bloody*Mary

This morning we had a genuine priest Fr.Cusack if I recollect correctly who officiated at the funeral.

Fr Cusack castigated 'Garda Management' and extolled the huge outpouring of support for the slain Garda.

Now,does anybody think that the respect for the Gardai in the Dundalk area is huge?

It was called 'El Paso' in the bad times so I would think it fair to believe a Pauline conversion didn't occur.

To put it bluntly, its the day to day attitude to crime and lawlessness which colours an areas sincerity and not an extraordinary event such as happened.

Maybe the priest would have been better advised to dwell on the endemic attitude of a great proportion of people in that area towards authority and think on the foundations of those attitudes which empowered the cowardly crew who took down the Garda to believe they could get away with it.

That's not sexy though:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

This morning we had a genuine priest Fr.Cusack if I recollect correctly who officiated at the funeral.

Fr Cusack castigated 'Garda Management' and extolled the huge outpouring of support for the slain Garda.

Now,does anybody think that the respect for the Gardai in the Dundalk area is huge?

It was called 'El Paso' in the bad times so I would think it fair to believe a Pauline conversion didn't occur.

To put it bluntly, its the day to day attitude to crime and lawlessness which colours an areas sincerity and not an extraordinary event such as happened.

Maybe the priest would have been better advised to dwell on the endemic attitude of a great proportion of people in that area towards authority and think on the foundations of those attitudes which empowered the cowardly crew who took down the Garda to believe they could get away with it.

That's not sexy though:P

I also couldn't help thinking when Fr Cusack was pleading for information to be passed on to the Gardai that its a pity that people in the know ,(other clergy), didn't pass on information when they knew of children being abused. Crime is crime.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I also couldn't help thinking when Fr Cusack was pleading for information to be passed on to the Gardai that its a pity that people in the know ,(other clergy), didn't pass on information when they knew of children being abused. Crime is crime.

Which is exactly my point.

It's not the reaction of people to extraordinary events which defines public attitude.

It's the day-to-day mundane low intensity attitude of the populace to the forces of law and order.

If that is strongly and unequivocally 'pro' ,then punters like those who took down the Det. Garda might think a little differently and not feel there was underlying tacit support for their activities.

These things need to be said.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

It should not be forgotten that it is a fact that we had rural crime even when all these Garda Stations were fully staffed .... how does the good Father explain that then?
    It is not a garda sitting drinking tea in a local station that will reduce rural crime but when the population at large stop "turning the blind eye" & are prepared to stand up give evidence (against their neighbours in many instances) and when the courts start dealing severly with criminals.

IMO that priest proved again that it is easy to talk in the abstract about crime and the causes of crime until you are directly impacted yourself, then suddenly it becomes a totally different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Who is that mairead one? Good god she reminds me of mary hanafin..feel like kicking the radio.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Poor choice of words there by one of Margie's guests in desscribing Oscar Pistorius as human after all and having "feet of clay".:(

lufties wrote: »
    Who is that mairead one? Good god she reminds me of mary hanafin..feel like kicking the radio.

Mairead McGuinness, FG MEP for Leinster. She is a former editor of the farming supplement in the Indo.

Two of the richest women in Ireland discussing poverty... You know if the State hadnt shovelled so much money in to both of their accounts they could have given more money in aid..

Have to agree with you there, was doing some mundane tasks around the casa

and was 'pulled up' by the hectoring style she was using.

Being lectured to by a teacher came to mind, but have to say I was surprised

it was her.

had to laugh at the lady's attitude to Pistorious,the Channel 4 lady.Mulvihill is her name,seemed very surprised that the media 'turned on him'

This is a lad who crashed expensive cars,speedboats,had two white tigers in a back garden, kept guns at his bedside, got up to go to shooting ranges at night?

Total looper comes to mind .

Don't know who picked the contributors today - from slurs about Chinesse food to Noonan's magic wand to 'we are all to blame' etc - apart from David Hall the rest of the show was farcial.

Noted that the LW religious services now commence at 11 and with The Week In Politics from 12 on RTE 1 you would wonder is someone trying to squeeze Maid Marion out of her slot.....

Holy smoke, that journalist lad is wearing me out.

The intensity, the barrage of words, the total flood of stuff.

The sheer wall of rhetoric emanating from him is mind boggling

Lad must eat 8 meals a day to keep that flood going.

Whew , I'm wiped.

Marion - "If I was the Pope...."

Now there's an image I can't shake off.

It's amazing the way Blair Horan speaks about emigration being sad as if him and his unions had nothing to do with the state of the country.. The public services are an absolute mess thanks to the unions.. Cant let anybody go when their job is no longer necessary or they are crap at their job, cant move anybody to a different position, cant reduce pay now with Croke Park (and they are even looking for increments!!).. And the leaders and former leaders like Blair Horan each pulling >100K and them meant to be socialists??? Absolute hypocrites the lot of them..

Lapin wrote: »
    Marion - "If I was the Pope...."

Well I was driving past RTE earlier and I saw a lot of smoke coming from the roof of Marion's studio, but I'm pretty sure it was not related to the current papal situation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Have to agree with you there, was doing some mundane tasks around the casa

and was 'pulled up' by the hectoring style she was using.

Being lectured to by a teacher came to mind, but have to say I was surprised

it was her.

had to laugh at the lady's attitude to Pistorious,the Channel 4 lady.Mulvihill is her name,seemed very surprised that the media 'turned on him'

This is a lad who crashed expensive cars,speedboats,had two white tigers in a back garden, kept guns at his bedside, got up to go to shooting ranges at night?

Total looper comes to mind .

Total farce today's panel..that mairead one pontificating saying there's a great community spirit in rural ireland such as texting gardai about strange cars..I laughed out loud, this woman is full of sh1t and incredibly fake to boot, talking any old crap to protect her precious salary/pension, politics in ireland has to change. .its all spin, lies and spoofing.

"you're on your way to the airport"...

I guess the "can I get a lift" bit is implied?

Is Benedict going to take as long to retire as Bertie?

Total farce today's panel..that mairead one pontificating saying there's a great community spirit in rural ireland such as texting gardai about strange cars..I laughed out loud, this woman is full of sh1t and incredibly fake to boot, talking any old crap to protect her precious salary/pension, politics in ireland has to change. .its all spin, lies and spoofing.

Don't forget the 'lost dogs' remark.

Bad mistake there.

I mightn't be as outspoken as you,but ,yes, politics needs to change and other things too.

I'm sure the irony of highly paid people,very highly paid people, keening about the plight of the ordinary person is not lost on anyone who knows what is going on.

Paid for by those very people they purport to defend.

Has me beat,I must say.

Well I was driving past RTE earlier and I saw a lot of smoke coming from the roof of Marion's studio, but I'm pretty sure it was not related to the current papal situation..

If she did become Pontiff she's probably take the name, Pope Carrolls Number 1. ;)

Callan57 wrote: »
    Is Benedict going to take as long to retire as Bertie?

Pension won't be as generous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Duncan Stewart really does like to play the Cassandra card doesn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

mike65 wrote: »
    Duncan Stewart really does like to play the Cassandra card doesn't he?
    You mean that he is telling the truth and you don't believe him?

Marion seemed disinterested and badly prepared again today.

Maybe Simon Zebo was put on as a last minute guest ? - but there was zero preparation and the questions were lame to say the least - in fact I got the impression that Marian had little or no interest in talking to Simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

Infoanon wrote: »
    Maybe Simon Zebo was put on as a last minute guest ? - but there was zero preparation and the questions were lame to say the least - in fact I got the impression that Marian had little or no interest in talking to Simon.

I thought the full weeks preparation meant she was ready for anything?

"The phallic power of the gun. The gun is a misogynistic weapon".. Who is this clown? And like all the people who wish to judge Padraig Nally, I hope he has a late night visitor some night and see how he would react when he is put in a life threatening situation through the criminal actions of another.

Really poor show again today.. The usual conservative, mealy mouthed opinions

"The phallic power of the gun. The gun is a misogynistic weapon".. Who is this clown? And like all the people who wish to judge Padraig Nally, I hope he has a late night visitor some night and see how he would react when he is put in a life threatening situation through the criminal actions of another.

Really poor show again today.. The usual conservative, mealy mouthed opinions

Most of them on over 250k a year.

What really gets me was the references to Duffy's piece in some Sunday paper,
    As if it should be in some way relevant.

A well overpaid individual telling the public how bad it is!

C'mon give us a break.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Most of them on over 250k a year.

What really gets me was the references to Duffy's piece in some Sunday paper,
    As if it should be in some way relevant.

A well overpaid individual telling the public how bad it is!

C'mon give us a break.
    Why didn't they mention joe duffy when they were talking about sensorship and editorials to suit your own agenda in journalism.

He's show is a prime example, no need to be preaching about INM.

What really gets me was the references to Duffy's piece in some Sunday paper,As if it should be in some way relevant.

Yeah I heard the reference to Duffy's article alright.. He really gets to me at this stage.. Picks something that he's know will be hugely populist (i.e. having a go at ex minister's pensions) and tries to align it somehow with the Magdalen laundries..... Why doesnt he make the comparison to how much RTE presenters are paid??? Finucane and himself were both paid more than the Taoiseach during the Celtic Tiger, and are STILL paid more than the Taoiseach now. At least you could say that the Taoiseach has a whole country to run, Joe only has his own soap box show to run.

Nice to see Ms DeBurca got herself set up with a nice, cushy (public service) earner:confused:
    Isn't it amazing all these ex-TD & Senators who get themselves slotted into handy numbers. Recently saw Peter Power pop up as executive director of UNICEF IRELAND - how much state funding do they receive I wonder?

Typical the rep of ISME couldn't even get her facts right - then they wonder why they aren't taken serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Ive given up on Marion altogether. Especially the sunday panel discussion.

A bunch of high earners speculating about how people are coping in de-recession.

The only panel i listen to now is the podcast of Real Time with Bill Maher

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

http://www.tuamherald.ie/2013/02/27/cllr-slates-garda-funeral-priest%e2%80%99s-comments/

Fr. Cusack was not correct about 2 elderly having " heads bashed in " in Galway. He was also wrong on the closure of local garda station, Williamstown. I think he was being a bit political.

"Everyone in the country feel they've been treated unfairly" ... so says Marian & presumeably she is including herself in that & her 4 hour a week job :rolleyes:

That man from the fire fighters union must have thought the studio was about to go up in smoke with the level the smokers cough reached ... bet he was glad he was on the phone and not across the desk from that wheezing, coughing chimney. More evidence of poor research, Pat Kenny's interview last week on the same subject was way better researched and miles more informative. This morning's was pointless and clueless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

That's disappointing out of Made Marion. She spent all week researching, doncha know?

Have to say the crowd we have on this morning are obnoxious in the extreme.

Bunch of talking heads,all well paid, spouting bull dust and waffle and frankly

Off the wall crap.

Nothing of any positive outlook coming from anyone plus a ten minute promo for that stupid Dragon's Den rubbish.

Poor poor stuff.

And we're back to the "well heeled ex senior civil servants" who walked off the pitch (well rewarded) when the going got tough. Yea like hell her former colleagues are says they just want to get on with the job, wonder what select group she was talking to. :mad:

Gavin Duffy is a tonic IMO .... he could talk up a burst balloon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

She started off with nothing after leaving the civil service:rolleyes:

Well spotted!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Callan57 wrote: »
    Gavin Duffy is a tonic IMO .... he could talk up a burst balloon :)

I wish somebody would leave the air out of him. A nauseating windbag.

Aidric wrote: »
    I wish somebody would leave the air out of him. A nauseating windbag.

He put the wind into windbag,all bluster generalities,aspirations,and hopefully I will never be in his company.

GBH is a serious offence.

After listening to most of the first hour, I have the feeling it could have been a repeat of one I heard a year ago, and another about 6 months ago and another every week in between.

It seems to be the same thing week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I am shocked that something like this could happen in Russia