Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Has Marian left the studio!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Imagine having Christmas dinner with Maureen Gaffney :rolleyes:
    I think I'd prefer to stay at home and eat cold beans on toast instead.

Another remarkably unremarkable panel with Marian this morning <<Yawn>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Marian is slowly slipping into tabloid journalism , wonder who'll be covering her obligatory post Christmas break , don't let it be that giggly head aine lawlor

Get real he's a Jesuit , experts at pr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

When will the case for the beatification of Nigella Lawson begin........I'm p1ssed off with all this 'poor Nigella' stuff. But then again, she is the woman in the story, I.e. The innocent victim!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Roger_007 wrote: »
    When will the case for the beatification of Nigella Lawson begin........I'm p1ssed off with all this 'poor Nigella' stuff. But then again, she is the woman in the story, I.e. The innocent victim!

What really annoyed me in the whole Nigella saga was the salary she & her husband were paying the PA's (£26,000 I read!) and I'd imagine the post was a 24/7 one & a hell of a lot of "crap" involved. They should be ashamed of themselves - I was delighted the girls won their case. :mad:

Callan57 wrote: »
    They should be ashamed of themselves - I was delighted the girls won their case. :mad:

After seeing how much Sean Dunne was paying his missus to iron the clothes, I'm surprised the Grillo sisters didnt countersue.

I dont know why they dragged her back from France to press the play button this morning. Seems like she wants to have absolutely minimal involvement in the show this weekend.

Oops69 wrote: »
    Marian is slowly slipping into tabloid journalism , wonder who'll be covering her obligatory post Christmas break , don't let it be that giggly head aine lawlor

She cant cover it, she's going to the One Direction concert.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

She cant cover it, she's going to the One Direction concert.. :D

I think it's time that the One Direction she should take is out the door, permanently!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I dont know why they dragged her back from France to press the play button this morning. Seems like she wants to have absolutely minimal involvement in the show this weekend.

They could have let her ring in

This would be a good enough stand-alone programme. Just seems like a filler when it's on Marian's show.

Did you hear that .. She has a separate researcher to look up the dictionary for her. Her name is Ann Cyclopedia.

Do farmers not check their animals everyday , not just Xmas , theses old Christmases don't ring of nostalgia , they sound depressing , the highlight being rhymers calling around and john McCormack all day long !

I'm gonna get one of those yokes myself.. All your MP3 (downloaded by your researcher) available at the touch of a pedal.

sst11-foot.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

What really annoyed me in the whole Nigella saga was the salary she & her husband were paying the PA's (£26,000 I read!) and I'd imagine the post was a 24/7 one & a hell of a lot of "crap" involved. They should be ashamed of themselves - I was delighted the girls won their case. :mad:

You imagine? In other words you haven't a clue.

What should they have been paid? They are PA's for gods sake.

A quick perusal shows me a typical starting salary for a PA in central London is 21 - 32.5k. How much experience did these girls have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Lapin wrote: »
    From a recent thread over on the Daily Mail Forum

Things we'd have said in <insert year>

2005, Thats a nice ad on the radio. The one with the train set for Barry's Tea.:)

2006, I heard that nice ad for Barry's Tea on again. Remember, the one with the train set.

2007, I didn't think Barry's Tea would use the train set ad 3 years running.

2008, I know we're in a recession now but you'd think Barry's Tea would fork out for a new ad at this stage.

2009, Oh FFS. :rolleyes:

2010, I'd love to get that friggin train set and wrap it round Barry's head.

2011, If I hear that ad this Christmas, I'm gonna boycott Barry's Tea.

2012, If I hear that ad once more I'm gonna smash the first train set I see into smithereens. :mad:

2013, The only good reason for the ESB going on strike would be to spare us from that poxy ****ing advert on the radio. :mad::mad:

..................................................:pac:

Have a nice cup of Barrys tea and settle down.
    It will help calm you're nerves.

Nothing worse than listening to Irish theatre luvies and their own self-aggrandisement.

Especially when I fairly certain that is a repeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Evan DietrichSmith

Heh heh you are talking about Colgan,have to say that was my first impression, but I warmed to the lad as the interview went on,self depreciating in fairness,brass neck which he admitted to,and very honest.

Summing up of Leonard pulled no punches.

He done well in my book:D

Heh heh you are talking about Colgan,have to say that was my first impression, but I warmed to the lad as the interview went on,self depreciating in fairness,brass neck which he admitted to,and very honest.

Summing up of Leonard pulled no punches.

He done well in my book:D

Granted, it got a bit more interesting when he started talking about Pinter and Beckett. That was around the same time he stopped talking about himself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Ya but those storys are on heavy rotation.

I said to Sam blah blah¬¬¬¬¬¬

Ya but those storys are on heavy rotation.

I said to Sam blah blah¬¬¬¬¬¬

Granted, it got a bit more interesting when he started talking about Pinter and Beckett. That was around the same time he stopped talking about himself ;)

Correct, was wondering how far he would go bigging himself up,top drawer performance in that regard and 10 out of 10 on the brash confident brass necked scale.
    Have to hand it to him, not afraid to big himself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Major 'luvvie' overload this morning.

Also. I was surprised to hear Marion in the chair before the 6th of January.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

discussion on the success of "Mrs Browns boys" this morning.

apparently it hooked 9m viewers at crimbo.

none of the pannal can figure out why. kinda sums up RTEs attitude to comedy the last 30yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

The price of coffee depending on politeness internet meme gets an airing. *yawn*

Is this panel from 10 years ago , "00hhh, the computers know all about us ", etc , etc , Marion is sounding really jaded at the moment , losing touch with reality

Tape recorder on , Marion packing bags for the airport , she's pissed off she missed being the 20 millionth passenger at dublin this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

jesus lads does anyone even know what this peice is about?

think ill call it a day today if it doesnt improve. theres better things to stream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

Piers Morgan talking about gun control. He's an idiot, but he's so much more polished than almost anyone else you'll hear on Irish radio!

The Sunday Marion Marian Finucane show round-table can be greatly engrossing - despite its host. However, depending on the guests, it can be excruciating, as a group of non-specialists stumble through the news and happenings of the week, giving as much insight as as you'd get in your local pub.

Piers Morgan talking about gun control. He's an idiot, but he's so much more polished than almost anyone else you'll hear on Irish radio!

The Sunday Marion Marian Finucane show round-table can be greatly engrossing - despite its host. However, depending on the guests, it can be excruciating, as a group of non-specialists stumble through the news and happenings of the week, giving as much insight as as you'd get in your local pub.

Ok I'll bite what was wrong with Piers and gun control?
    Seemed to make sense to me.

And don't tell me about American attitude to guns, been there ,done that , worn the weapon.

What did Piers say that made him an idiot?

Just interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Its been a while since we have had an engrossing show - apart from reading out the headlines and referencing David Mc Williams article in the SBP there was very little discussion of the headlines.

The discussion of the economy was very poor - 'more jobs would be good for us' summed up the level of debate.

To be honest it's quite some time since I found it engrossing - at least in the local pub you'd get a bit of diversity & always the possibility of a good row.
    When was the last time there was anything even vaguely resembling a rigorous discussion muchless a good row on the show? Nothing but a bunch from the local mutual admiration society every Sunday.
    Think I may give up Marian altogether for the New Year.

Ok I'll bite what was wrong with Piers and gun control?

I wasn't actually referring to his performance in the interview when branding him an idiot.

He was formally editor of the Mirror (from which he was sacked) - a tabloid that was as active as any in gutter-press activities. He then tried his hand at talent-show judging. I suggest you enlist Google to find illustrations of his unpleasant personality. Btw, I used the word "idiot" in a pejorative sense.

I agree that what he said about Gun Control was sensible, and that he had more than sentimental arguments, but arguing for Gun Control is a bit like arguing for decriminalisation of homosexuality: it's so obviously correct.

To be honest it's quite some time since I found it engrossing.

I was only so positive, so as to balance the succeeding criticism! However, and I can't remember any specific details, I did not want to get out of the car, recently, until the show had finished. I think that would qualify as engrossing.

wrote:
    I was only so positive, so as to balance the succeeding criticism! However, and I can't remember any specific details, I did not want to get out of the car, recently, until the show had finished. I think that would qualify as engrossing.

The last time I recall feeling like that was her interview with Seanie Fitz when he gave the country the benefit of his insight into Social Welfare - rivetting radio I agree but unfortunately hasn't been happening lately. There's a lot to be said for getting out at the top of your game - as a longtime admirer of Marian I find it sad that she continues when clearly she no longer has any interest or commitment to the show.

I'm only a newcomer to radio listening, so I'll trust you that she was once an accomplished presenter!

Do you ever listen to Marc Coleman on Sunday evenings? Coleman can take a while to warm to, but it's probably the programme I find most enjoyable to listen to!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Brendan Ballsy O'Connor joins Marian in studio..
    ugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

snubbleste wrote: »
    Brendan Ballsy O'Connor joins Marian in studio..
    ugh
    I don't like him as a broadcaster but I do find his insight into life with child with Downs Syndrome very informative.

Marion being 'un PC' , she'll not like that

Oh no , he's not doing an ad for a charlatan !

Oops69 wrote: »
    Marion being 'un PC' , she'll not like that

Well feck the other pair, I like Brendan. He's the only one in RTE (especially in entertainment) with the balls to ask the hard questions... And with the balls to correct the queen bee.. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Well feck the other pair, I like Brendan. He's the only one in RTE (especially in entertainment) with the balls to ask the hard questions... And with the balls to correct the queen bee.. :D

You do know he was bertie aherns biggest cheer leader writing for the Sindo?

Hard questions??

I like Brendan but what i don't like are celebrities or otherwise coming on the radio or writing books about birth, still births or any other natural occurrences like they are the first people in the world to have this experience and they feel they have to impart their 'more superior' knowledge to their audience. Have heard Amanda holden on every radio station and tv channel in the past few weeks promoting a book on her recent experience and to me that is sheer vulgarity.

Jaysus, OConnor said not once,not twice, not three times, but numerous times that he was not in that category you describe.

Thought the guy came over very honest and well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Its pretty standard celeb behaviour at this stage....keep a 'dignified silence' in the immediate aftermath of a personal tragedy, but when they have something to promote, that's when they start bladding to all and sundry.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I generally don't like Finucane or O'Connor, but caught the interview today by fluke when flicking around.

Thought it was a absolutely fantastic piece. Thought he spoke very well about what life is like with a child with Downs. Loved hearing him talk towards the end about how the perception out there is you should be grateful for any little scrap you get.

Had to laugh at the "disability bingo" explanation. Nice to finally have a name for it. :pac:

And Evan is right, he said on numerous occasions that he wasn't the first to have this happen to. He also made it perfectly clear that his family's situation could be way worse.

And as for celebrities thinking they have "to impart their more superior knowledge to their audience", that sort of misses the point. The point is they have an audience to impart their knowledge on. How many people would read a book by some random person talking about their life with a child with Downs compared to a well known person like O'Connor? You can argue all night long about how this shouldn't be the case, but unfortunately that's the world we live in.

Jaysus, OConnor said not once,not twice, not three times, but numerous times that he was not in that category you describe.

Thought the guy came over very honest and well

Yes and i agree with you and that's why i said i like Brendan, and not the other category of person i referred to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

lol..asking the hard questions of who? He is as establishment as they come.