Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

alaimacerc wrote: »
    The pieces he's done since he left his old gig do seem to have a rather wallowing quality to them, it must be said. Or maybe the whingeing was just a bit punchier when it had to be edited down to Six-One-sized segments.
    Charlie Bird seems very dim to me. He cannot explain anything clearly. He makes staying in the Arctic sound as interesting and exciting as a trip to my local Spar. Who ever thought he would make an intrepid traveller - he is scared of his own shadow.
    Why, oh why, did the Irish Times pay for the return ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

"whingeing was just a bit punchier"

Classic. Sums up the country too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

"When does Lent end?" saga has a hilariously "pre-internet" quality to it (or, a "can't be bothered to look it up on the internet, but will nonetheless text into a radio programme about it" one, at least). Whatever else you might say about the Catholic church, it's not like they're not well able to define and document the heck out of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

The more money you get paid, the worse your performance... Certainly works that way in RTE anyway... :pac:

Jack O'Conner has no credibility... "60% percent of the electorate went out last time and voted for the parties that favour the better off"...

He's on far more money that a lot of the "better off", and him a socialist.. Why do people continue to let him away with this hypocrisy?

Jack O'Conner has no credibility... "60% percent of the electorate went out last time and voted for the parties that favour the better off"...
    And he's spot on. The parties of the "left" continue to try to steal each other's lunch, and the electorate blithely continue to vote for The Irish Conservative Party and The Other Irish Conservative Party. And this is entirely unrefuted by you, and instead we get whataboutery like:
    He's on far more money that a lot of the "better off", and him a socialist.. Why do people continue to let him away with this hypocrisy?

As obviously, any socialist above median income inherently has no credibility whatsoever, and anything they say is to be simply disregarded.

Perhaps you're obliquely trying to illustrate the mindset of the above conservative 60%?

As obviously, any socialist above median income inherently has no credibility whatsoever, and anything they say is to be simply disregarded. Perhaps you're obliquely trying to illustrate the mindset of the above conservative 60%?

He gets paid four times the average industrial wage, which is paid for with the union fees of the working class people he purports to represent.. So when Jack comes on my radio talking about how the latest Government tax / fee / charge is taking money out of the pockets of the working classes, maybe he should question how much of their money he is taking for himself.

I firmly believe that anybody who preaches socialist ideals should LIVE by those ideals.. What the shinners say is that their TDs take only the average working wage, and while I dont believe for one second that they actually DO, this should be the standard.. Far too many of those who preach socialism in this country take the attitude of "socialism for the masses, capitalism for me cos it's more profitable thank you very much".

He gets paid four times the average industrial wage, which is paid for with the union fees of the working class people he purports to represent.. So when Jack comes on my radio talking about how the latest Government tax / fee / charge is taking money out of the pockets of the working classes, maybe he should question how much of their money he is taking for himself.
    In other words, as I say, it doesn't matter what he has to say on anything, as you've ruled out consideration of it, purely on a "playing the man, not the ball" basis. So the relevance of your comment to this thread on this programme is precisely nil.
    I firmly believe that anybody who preaches socialist ideals should LIVE by those ideals.. What the shinners say is that their TDs take only the average working wage, and while I dont believe for one second that they actually DO, this should be the standard..
    So what you see as "hypocrisy" is OK, so long as it's veiled in a polite covering of telling actual porkies?
    Far too many of those who preach socialism in this country take the attitude of "socialism for the masses, capitalism for me cos it's more profitable thank you very much".
    Far too many people insist that "socialists" in this country, or indeed anyone to the left of the usual "centre"-right business as usual, arrange themselves into a neat little circular firing squad, and shoot each other on command. This seems to be a prime example of it.

Is Marian in today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Is Marian in today?

She is. We're not worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

She is. We're not worthy.

with Jim "soft landing" Power

Noirin Hegarty seems to have a new job every time she turns up as a talking head. Lonely Planet this time. I wonder what's next? The Tibetan Times?

signostic wrote: »
    with Jim "soft landing" Power

I started to guffaw when Marian mentioned "short memories" there. It applies perfectly to Jimbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

I started to guffaw when Marian mentioned "short memories" there. It applies perfectly to Jimbo.

Jim Power "I dont know what Alan Shatter is supposed to have done wrong" , very short memory Mr. Softlanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

The collision bros came from a wealthy suburb of limerick

Starting to fall asleep here.......

Yer man started his company on the day after the bank guarantee.. Brave to start a business at such an uncertain time, but maybe he heard Jim Power's analysis and thought things werent going to be so bad..

Noirin is starting to bug the shyte out of me, even more so than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Starting to fall asleep here.......

You will be nicely refreshed by 1pm...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Oops69 wrote: »
    The collision bros came from a wealthy suburb of limerick
    If I'm not mistaken the Collison Bros. are originally from Monegal Co, Offaly. They went to college in Limerick.

"Nixon in China" sounds like a load of *expletive deleted*.

Noirin is starting to bug the shyte out of me, even more so than usual.

She's got that sort of aloofness of the usual "Irish man from abroad" who usually rings in to Joe Duffy to explain how things are "done properly" in their current country of habitual residence...

Reports say that two people have been killed in a gun battle in ..... Temple Bar??:pac:

Joe on the radio on a Sunday? I'm feelling a bit discombobulated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Forgot about Duffys grief fest today

Won't somebody please think of the chiselers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Kate Carolan, strangest accent , it's growing on me a little , she must have had pull to get past DOireann ni Bhriann, she who tells us how to pronounce dunleeery .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Joe sees a conspiracy in that a shop with Easter eggs was attacked ...

Is he serious ?

He is big in clontarf

Marian takes 'the papers' to be scripture, law and fact

She's quite vapid and unable to discuss anything without her 'newspaper' crutches

Who is this republican chappie

Dubelin noight may er

Shoulda, woulda, coulda.

Joe Duffy seems to have a fascination with death and everything depressing..

Liverpool game is on NT if anybody is bored ... 2-0 up already..

Stephens green surrounded on all sides idiotic and bridges not good for defending a city the man is a fool

Could we rent that tour guide out to the CIA ?

He'd crack the toughest in Gitmo

So... you know what I've learned from this ...

A lot of people in Ireland have a lot of time on their hands..

Joe on the radio on a Sunday? I'm feelling a bit discombobulated.

It's cruel and unusual punishment for a country already on its knees. 50% cuts to Duffy-free days this week!

Looters , classy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Today's effort must surely be one of the weakest shows ever - but then it's Easter so I guess the speed dial list of super pensioned civil servants & former gardai are all off playing golf. Seriously boring show

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Won't somebody please think of the chiselers??

only if theyre dead babies.

jesus joes becoming more and more like that savage eye pisstake on him everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

I don't know whether anyone else heard this astonishing incident which occurred when Marian was reading the headlines from the Papers (Link; from about 2:40 on). It was the last one she was going to read, and the headline was "South Korean ferry hero gave her life to save schoolchildren." She was midway through passing a comment when she realised there was something else she wanted to say: "Well, that's just...oh, and the other thing I wanted to mention...", before going on to say how there was an "eNORMOUS crowd" at a Brian Boru celebration, and how, "I didn't actually know that people were still that passionate about Brian Boru, but, anyway, clearly they are, and I guess that's no bad thing...anyway." What utter drivel!

She should have a script for the Paper-review section, which should could at times deviate from.

"Well, that's just...oh, and the other thing I wanted to mention...", before going on to say how there was an "eNORMOUS crowd" at a Brian Boru celebration, .........What utter drivel!

First of all, fair play to Marian for actually being in on Easter Sunday... It seems that no other RTE personality (outside of the newsroom) feels it appropriate to go to work on the most minor of holiday, even though they all work in the entertainment industry and as such should be ON when other people are off.

But with regard to her delivery... She has become really sloppy.. Introducing her guests by the wrong names, getting mixed up with her information etc etc.. Yesterday she introduced Brian Warfield as Derek... I mean you dont have to read the papers seven days a week to know that that was an important thing to get right... But in general there seems to be very little preparation for the show put in by Marian Finucane herself.. I cant imagine Pat Kenny making the same mistakes that she is making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

First of all, fair play to Marian for actually being in on Easter Sunday... It seems that no other RTE personality (outside of the newsroom) feels it appropriate to go to work on the most minor of holiday, even though they all work in the entertainment industry and as such should be ON when other people are off.

But with regard to her delivery... She has become really sloppy.. Introducing her guests by the wrong names, getting mixed up with her information etc etc.. Yesterday she introduced Brian Warfield as Derek... I mean you dont have to read the papers seven days a week to know that that was an important thing to get right... But in general there seems to be very little preparation for the show put in by Marian Finucane herself.. I cant imagine Pat Kenny making the same mistakes that she is making.

I'll be damned if I'm giving Finucane credit! What presenters weren't in studio? Claire Byrne, Richard Crowley, Colm O'Mongain, Miriam O'Callaghan and George Lee all were.

I wonder is she distressed by her lack of lucidity and acuity, and trying to avoid it. I would feel much sympathy were she, but I get the impression - like you - that it's merely the result of a lack of preparation and little attention to detail. Remember, Pat Kenny is older than she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I'll be damned if I'm giving Finucane credit! What presenters weren't in studio? Claire Byrne, Richard Crowley, Colm O'Mongain, Miriam O'Callaghan and George Lee all were.
    Not to mention that Joe Duffy put in some overtime!
    I wonder is she distressed by her lack of lucidity and acuity, and trying to avoid it. I would feel much sympathy were she, but I get the impression - like you - that it's merely the result of a lack of preparation and little attention to detail. Remember, Pat Kenny is older than she is.
    I don't think her age comes into it; many broadcasters her age and older than her are well up to expected standards. I get the impression that she is just bumbling along, ill-prepared and not caring a great deal about the listeners.

She was a fairly good broadcaster in the past. In particular, her stint on Liveline was deserving of praise, mainly because her ego did not get in the way of callers getting their message across.

Nowadays I think she is just coasting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭thimble

Maybe it's all those cigs cutting off oxygen to her brain.

I wonder is she distressed by her lack of lucidity and acuity, and trying to avoid it. I would feel much sympathy were she, but I get the impression - like you - that it's merely the result of a lack of preparation and little attention to detail.

One doesn't get the impression she's the least bothered. I think she's going for "cosy and full of folksy affability".
    Remember, Pat Kenny is older than she is.
    What, and you think that's not showing?:/ PK contrariwise isn't much bothered about "cosy" at all (your Late Late Toy Show tickets? I'm tearing them up live on air, in a fit of offended pride!) What he cares about is people being wowed by his "breadth of knowledge" (i.e., asking long-winded questions from the cards prepared by his researchers, and then talking all over the answer in his haste to get to the next one.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Evan DietrichSmith

One doesn't get the impression she's the least bothered. I think she's going for "cosy and full of folksy affability".

What, and you think that's not showing?:/ PK contrariwise isn't much bothered about "cosy" at all (your Late Late Toy Show tickets? I'm tearing them up live on air, in a fit of offended pride!) What he cares about is people being wowed by his "breadth of knowledge" (i.e., asking long-winded questions from the cards prepared by his researchers, and then talking all over the answer in his haste to get to the next one.)

I'll say this,lad,Kenny always knows what he is talking about,unlike a lot of others .

Have to be fair to the lad.

I'll say this,lad,Kenny always knows what he is talking about,unlike a lot of others .

Have to be fair to the lad.

Apart from the name of this fella ;)

seinfeld_jerry.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Evan DietrichSmith

Apart from the name of this fella ;)

seinfeld_jerry.jpg

Have to say Harold,and no disrespect,knowing the name of 'that fella' wouldn't be the top of most peoples agenda.

Most serious commentators anyway.

Who is he anyway?

Some B lister who pumps out ****e movies ad nauseum