Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing your own alcohol to pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

One of the local late bars where I live decided they'd hire a female door person a while back so they could search the ladies coming in...
    You'd be astonished at the amount of naggins, shoulders (even litre bottles) that were confiscated at the door! And that was just the people who decided they actually wanted to stay in the pub after being caught!
    A friend of mine was actually one of the offenders, she called back the next day to collect a replacement for her confiscated booze, said there was still about 40 various bottles of differing sizes there the next day.

So, OP, don't feel bad, this type of thing is rampant, especially amongst the female part of society (us men start to look suspicious if we walk into a pub with a handbag)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Insurgent wrote: »
    If I can't afford it I just don't go out. If I can barely afford it I'll have a few before going out and if I can afford it I'll get bananas in the pub :)

I'd love to get bananas in the pub... good for a bit of soakage... usually have to get'em on the way in though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

One of the local late bars where I live decided they'd hire a female door person a while back so they could search the ladies coming in...
    You'd be astonished at the amount of naggins, shoulders (even litre bottles) that were confiscated at the door! And that was just the people who decided they actually wanted to stay in the pub after being caught!
    A friend of mine was actually one of the offenders, she called back the next day to collect a replacement for her confiscated booze, said there was still about 40 various bottles of differing sizes there the next day.

So, OP, don't feel bad, this type of thing is rampant, especially amongst the female part of society (us men start to look suspicious if we walk into a pub with a handbag)

I would agree that in my experience it is females who practice it more. I wonder why it is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

KingLoser wrote: »

You can only afford what you can afford.

Correct.

If you can't afford to go out, then don't go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Insurgent wrote: »
    If I can't afford it I just don't go out. If I can barely afford it I'll have a few before going out and if I can afford it I'll get bananas in the pub :)

I have done this about three times..literally just two or three little bottles and in all cases I also bought drink from the place..I do pre-drink all the time aswell..I dont like bringing drink in with me and I wouldnt do it again..if I cant afford it..I wont drink or I wont go out..

The place im talking about is unreal..the amount of drink clearly being smuggled in is incredible but the place is pretty popular and they definitely make it back..doesnt excuse it but the security are rubbish in the place..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

I would agree that in my experience it is females who practice it more. I wonder why it is?

Most pubs only employ male door security, they can't legally search a woman, so the ladies usually can just carry what they like within their handbags and just have to be discreet about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,568 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I gernerally bring at least a naggin, often a shoulder out with me when I go out. If I'm going to the pub just for a few I won't but if I'm going out after I'll bring it for the club later.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Most pubs only employ male door security, they can't legally search a woman, so the ladies usually can just carry what they like within their handbags and just have to be discreet about it.

We don't have security, maybe it's the ladies sneaking the lads scoops in as well. Although it's always the girls who get the pint of blackcurrant, the lads buy pints, yet the girls are suspiciously drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

pampers1 wrote: »
    Because you want to socialise with your friends but can't afford the ridiculously high prices of the alcohol being sold there.

Do it somewhere else then.

Have to say I do this a fair bit not every night but fairly often, a few of us invested in hip flasks a while back as they are much more comfortable in your pocket than bringing naggins. I have been doing it for the last 7 years and never been caught don't even go into the toilet to do it anymore just slyly do in the crowd.

However I do reserve this for the night club or near the end of a late bar. I would be drinking pints early in the night and would probably have more drink aswell in the club on top of the drink I brought in but it saves a few quid so I wont be stopping doing it.

I dont like drinking at home so anything that makes the night a bit cheaper! Its very common too nearly everybody I know has done it/does it sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

It is the done thing among students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

KevArno wrote: »
    Paying for food and drink is the grievance?? Drinking and eating are the by-products? I'm sorry but you are very much mistaken. I think you will find that a bar opens its doors to sell food and drink, and that the socialisation between patrons is the by-product. Take alcohol out of the equation and see how busy these bars would be.

Yep, its very clearly a grievance, as is well documented by this topic. while im not suggesting that payinga at all is a grievance (as you have clearly taken it up as), but pwople have an issue with paying the high prices. it is common knowledge that our drink prices are amoung the highest in the EU. eating and drinking are definatly the by product, without them sure noone would be there, do the same with women and see how many men turn up for a night out. the fact is this, we can drink at home, for less, yet we go to a place where we are not as comfortable have to dress up and pay lots or hard earned money..... why do people do that? we are social creatures my friend.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

funkyjebus wrote: »
    Yep, its very clearly a grievance, as is well documented by this topic. while im not suggesting that payinga at all is a grievance (as you have clearly taken it up as), but pwople have an issue with paying the high prices. it is common knowledge that our drink prices are amoung the highest in the EU. eating and drinking are definatly the by product, without them sure noone would be there, do the same with women and see how many men turn up for a night out. the fact is this, we can drink at home, for less, yet we go to a place where we are not as comfortable have to dress up and pay lots or hard earned money..... why do people do that? we are social creatures my friend.

But the "socialising" in this instance is a result...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

funkyjebus wrote: »

So, if people are just going for the social aspect of it and not the alcohol, why are cafes and other non-alcohol selling establishments not jammed on a Friday and Saturday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

reprazant wrote: »
    So, if people are just going for the social aspect of it and not the alcohol, why are cafes and other non-alcohol selling establishments not jammed on a Friday and Saturday night?

Probably something to do with the alcohol culture in Ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

I usually drink with friends before before I go out, and if say I'm drinking vodka, and I havent finished the bottle by the time we're heading out I'll bring it with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Do you bring your own food to a restauraunt?

I wouldn't recommended you do this as not only are you breaking the law, you're putting me out of a job.

The unreal asking price of drink is putting you out of a job,its also keeping people away from the pub.
    Check every handbag on the way in thqat might help,i know people who do this fairly often fair play to em,i dont im just not organised enought.

was watching a world cup match last week during the afternoon in the pub,one pint of bud was 4.70 right accross the road in the offo you could buy the same amount of bud for nearly six times cheaper.

I dont drink alcohol in pubs i just drink the free water with added ice, I like to piss on the bathroom floor and then I take headshop drugs from the tables, but at least Im paying tax on my headshop drugs!

To the posters complaining about people bringing booze in, is it more socially acceptable if they buy their mixer in the pub before adding their own spirits?

That way they are still paying rip off prices for their drink!

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭magotch07

i say fair play... for anybody who drinks shorts its crazy the cost of a short and mixer

if you get away with it happy days

drdeadlift wrote: »
    The unreal asking price of drink is putting you out of a job,its also keeping people away from the pub.
    Check every handbag on the way in thqat might help,i know people who do this fairly often fair play to em,i dont im just not organised enought.

was watching a world cup match last week during the afternoon in the pub,one pint of bud was 4.70 right accross the road in the offo you could buy the same amount of bud for nearly six times cheaper.

I was in a bar during the english soccer season it was a quiet saturday afternoon so i could hear everything that was happening at the bar.

A new customer came into the bar and all he ordered was a red bull and it cost a few pence less than a fiver :eek: I have a slight problem with that pricing scheme!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I'd love to get bananas in the pub... good for a bit of soakage... usually have to get'em on the way in though.

Great for the hangover aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

TBH i don't smuggle anything into pubs, couldn't be bothered really. Anyway i couldn't be arsed with pubs anymore, used to be into the whole pub thing few years ago but not anymore.
    Expensive, noisey, generally uncomfortable. Often have to stand which i don't mind but after an hour & a half its a fcuking pain.

I prefer to have a few drinks where i live or a mates place & maybe head in to a nightclub around 11.30/midnight. Might have to pay for a taxi but between 3 or 4 people its nothing.

Best of both worlds, avoid the eye-watering cost of 6 or 7 pints in a packed pub yet able to socialise at the best time of the night in a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

reprazant wrote: »
    becuse of beer goggles. it easier to get along and have fun when your drunk!!! i think you misread somewhere along the line. im not saying people dont like alcohol and its not a reason for going out, but paying for there drink is not the reason that people go out, whch is what im arguing. which is erroneous. nobody like handing over ten euro for oe drink, no body goes out for that, hense all pubs with cheap drink offers are jammers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

LoanShark wrote: »
    It is people like you who are ruining the Irish Pub and industry..

it's lazy and greedy bar owners not keeping up with the times thats ruining the industry - not the odd person bringing in a naggin cos their skint.

there's a serious lack of value to be had in visiting a pub anymore and the only ones i see doing well are the ones where the owner gives soomething back....maybe you should try this 'value' approach instead of gettin bent out of shape (and physically threatening) people who are only trying to socialise without paying extortionate prices.

The overheads of running a business, especially a pub are extremely high, unfortuantly there's nothing we can do to change it as it is the way our economy works. The country has been in recession for about two years now. The pub game has been for the last ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

If you can't afford the prices a place charges then you can't afford to go. Your perception of what a pub or club may be for does not matter, because it is still a business, where the management are in it to make money and provide jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

The overheads of running a business, especially a pub are extremely high

The costs of drinking in a pub is very high which is why lots of folks are not bothering anymore.

We're all in this recession. 3 pints will cost a person about 12/13 euros in a pub? Thats just too much im afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm sure the vintners association would be fully behind this practice. After all their recent cringe-worthy ad campaigns have focused entirely on the "social aspect" of returning to the pub and put practically no emphasis on the purchase or consumption of alcohol whilst there.

So Crouching Tiger away! The VA will be glad just to see your face again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,094 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The best thing to do is to record the sounds of a busy bar for four hours, then play it back at home with your eyes closed, while you're drinking yourself stupid. You can add to the experience by mixing stale beer, vomit and piss in a bucket for the ambiance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

my idiot friend once tried the opposite. Bought a double vodka in a pint glass and supplied his own red bull. A drop had not touched his lips before he was fecked out.