Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing your own alcohol to pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

KevArno wrote: »
    If you can't afford the prices a place charges then you can't afford to go. Your perception of what a pub or club may be for does not matter, because it is still a business, where the management are in it to make money and provide jobs.

So what if you drive to a pub and drink water all night? Are you still not entitled to be there? Night clubs charge up to €15 entry, certainly in that instance I don't see anything wrong if I see someone sneaking their own drink in. The clubs will damn sure look after their interests and poeple can look after theirs. If they choose to sneak drink in and risk getting caught and thrown out that's their choice and if they get away with it then fair play to them.

Clubs especially need to adjust their business plan. €6 for a pint and €9 for a vodka and coke is way more criminal and damaging than the odd few saving some money on a night out.

I don't bring drink out with me, but the more I think about it and the arguements I see here, maybe I should start.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

The costs of drinking in a pub is very high which is why lots of folks are not bothering anymore.

We're all in this recession. 3 pints will cost a person about 12/13 euros in a pub? Thats just too much im afraid.

I agree with you, the price of a pint is huge but it's not the pubs fault, it's the governments and the economys. I'm not defending the cost of the drink as such, but there's little we can do about it, people are always blaming the publican, but it's our high wages, high taxes etc, that push the price up and up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

The overheads of running a business, especially a pub are extremely high, unfortunately there's nothing we can do to change it as it is the way our economy works. The country has been in recession for about two years now. The pub game has been for the last ten.
    KevArno wrote: »
    If you can't afford the prices a place charges then you can't afford to go. Your perception of what a pub or club may be for does not matter, because it is still a business, where the management are in it to make money and provide jobs.

but this phenomenon of people bring there own beer is down to the fact that there is no value, if you cant lower the prices due to (what i know are crazy) overheads, you'll have to do something else to satisfy punters instead of moaning about the recession. how about a currys night? big f'uck off pot of curry and rice - which costs f'uck all - served with a pint for 6 euro? basically, curry = no profit but you get arses on seats for a while. how about poker nights? movie nights? hooking up your tv to the internet to get matches that aren't shown on telly? how about drinks promos, sexy spanish chick table service or a bbq for regulars on a summers nigth?

the major problem i have with bar owners is that they still expect the induistry to be 'open the doors, people come in on the piss'...those days are gone buddy. show some innovation in your 'business' and you wont need to complain about how bad things are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

It's the greedy publicans who are putting themselves out of business, I have absolutely no sympathy for a **** who charges €5.50 for a pint.

I wouldn't do it in normal pubs where pints are less than say €4.20 (still too much) but in these superpubs/clubs there's no shame in bringing in a naggin.

I'm 22 btw and all my friends would have no problem doing it, maybe it's older people that would be embarrassed?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

but this phenomenon of people bring there own beer is down to the fact that there is no value, if you cant lower the prices due to (what i know are crazy) overheads, you'll have to do something else to satisfy punters instead of moaning about the recession. how about a currys night> big f'uck off pot of curry and rice - which costs f'uck all - served with a pint for 6 euro? basically, curry = no profit but you get arses on seats for a while. how about poker nights? movie nights? hooking up your tv to the internet to get matches that aren't shown on telly? how about drinks promos, sexy spanish chick table service or a bbq for regulars on a summers nigth?

the major problem i have with bar owners is that they still expect the induistry to be 'open the doors, people come in on the piss'...those days are gone buddy. show some innovation in your 'business' and you wont need to complain about how bad things are!

We have poker nights, bands etc. We even did a free BBQ during Cheltenham week, free Chinese food New Years, little fireworks display. We're a small pub, we look after our customers. There's other issues with broadcasting games and you wouldn't believe the cost of SKY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

most woman i know do this,if you have a full wedding or something like that to go to it would cost you if you were drinking shorts all day so its a bottle of vodka poured into a empty water bottle on the table and its not just the younger crowd i have seen all age groups do this,the reason is nearly 8 euro for short and mixer in many hotels.:mad:i know a lot of places turn a blind eye to it because if you a group of 10-15 people and the men in group are drinking pints are you going to truf the whole group out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Do you bring your own food to a restauraunt?

I wouldn't recommended you do this as not only are you breaking the law, you're putting me out of a job.

how so?

you work in a bar so ..correct?

i would've thought people drinking at home would put you out of a job.

thebullkf wrote: »
    how so?

you work in a bar so ..correct?

i would've thought people drinking at home would put you out of a job.

Well if you are desperate enough to bring your own drink in, it means you want to go to the pub, the alternitive would be buying a pint. Although I'll admit it was a bit of an exaggeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I agree with you, the price of a pint is huge but it's not the pubs fault, it's the governments and the economys. I'm not defending the cost of the drink as such, but there's little we can do about it, people are always blaming the publican, but it's our high wages, high taxes etc, that push the price up and up.

I understand that but theres nothing us public can do about it. If you keep saying oh its the government's fault it really doesn't change anything or help the problem.
    If its taxes that are the problem its up to pub owners to kick up a fuss about it not us.

Knock a euro off the price of a pint, advertise it & surely you'll get more punters coming in. Ignore the recession at your peril.

I don't bother with my local because the cheeky fcuker hasn't really dropped his prices in 3 years & plenty others have done the same.

I understand that but theres nothing us public can do about it. If you keep saying oh its the government's fault it really doesn't change anything or help the problem.
    If its taxes that are the problem its up to pub owners to kick up a fuss about it not us.

Knock a euro off the price of a pint, advertise it & surely you'll get more punters coming in. Ignore the recession at your peril.

I don't bother with my local because the cheeky fcuker hasn't really dropped his prices in 3 years & plenty others have done the same.

Our price has dropped in the last few months due to some sense in dropping the excise. That's only the thing the government have direct control over, other costs are circumstantial. Owners do kick up a fuss, but no one listens of course. The thing with excise and tax on alcohol is that there is a health/social issue involved, any serious lowering of the rates would be an unpopular decision among the "Joe Duffy" crowd, it's similar to the rates on cigarettes I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,795 ✭✭✭sweetie

I don't do it in pubs but been to a few music festivals abroad and we have brought a couple of 500ml coke bottles of rum/vodka (one in each sock, under the jeans!) in with us. The spirits are pricey and the beer is usually muck and can't be drinking it all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

NothingMan wrote: »
    So what if you drive to a pub and drink water all night? Are you still not entitled to be there? Night clubs charge up to €15 entry, certainly in that instance I don't see anything wrong if I see someone sneaking their own drink in. The clubs will damn sure look after their interests and poeple can look after theirs. If they choose to sneak drink in and risk getting caught and thrown out that's their choice and if they get away with it then fair play to them.

Clubs especially need to adjust their business plan. €6 for a pint and €9 for a vodka and coke is way more criminal and damaging than the odd few saving some money on a night out.

I don't bring drink out with me, but the more I think about it and the arguements I see here, maybe I should start.

Ah well I wasnt referring to non drinkers or people on the water for a night. Im sure non drinkers arent a favourite customer of the publicans, but thats just life. It is the cheek of people bringing in alcohol from elsewhere into a premises licenced to sell alcohol that is the problem.

And a companies business plan is nobodies business but the management. You dont like that, and you dont like their product/service, then vote with your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,923 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

I don't think the whole "The taxes is so high" arguement reallly holds true. A small pub down the country that's not too busy get by charging their few customers €3.80 a pint and don't charge at all for mixers. Then you come to Dublin, and I know costs are higher, but a really busy pub and charge €4.70 a pint and almost the same for a mixer and is packed out the door every Thurs-Saturday and busy enough on weekdays too.

I guarantee you the extra costs are not for extra overheads. They know they can get away with it so they do. You would be a bad business person if you can't take the same service selling the same products in a prime location and are constantly busy and lose more money than the guy with 100 customers selling the product for half the price.

I think the problem is, pubs got used to charging silly money for drink during the celtic tiger years & making huge profit, then when the sh!t hit the fan & the recession happened overnight they thought they would just ignore the whole thing & expect people to still to pay a fiver for a pint of beer.:D

I think that is the problem.

I don't think the whole "The taxes is so high" arguement reallly holds true. A small pub down the country that's not too busy get by charging their few customers €3.80 a pint and don't charge at all for mixers. Then you come to Dublin, and I know costs are higher, but a really busy pub and charge €4.70 a pint and almost the same for a mixer and is packed out the door every Thurs-Saturday and busy enough on weekdays too.

I guarantee you the extra costs are not for extra overheads. They know they can get away with it so they do. You would be a bad business person if you can't take the same service selling the same products in a prime location and are constantly busy and lose more money than the guy with 100 customers selling the product for half the price.

I work in Dublin pub, we charge 4 euro for a pint of Guinness. I accept that there are alot of pubs charging higher prices, this may be down to greed or just bad management. I'm sure you'll also accept that there are pubs, like the one I work in, that are trying to offer value for money, I can only speak for my pub, and others like it, not any of the higher priced pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I have done it a couple of times when I was skint and I have no issue with it. I normally end up spending as much as I usually do anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 annie87

I do it a lot. If I had any money I probably wouldn't do it as much, but the job I'm working in now doesn't pay till November, and my new job isn't starting till september. Plus, it's fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

eh.. yeah, you know nothing about me. I havent been in a pub in about 5 weeks because i cant afford it. Im not out every weekend, afraid to miss something. I merely said if i had to go to a close friends party or something but had no money I would rather show my face.

And yes sometimes I dont want to let someone down and go out for some occassion etc.

I am not some cheap skate teenager or student. I work but the way things are gone I simply decide sometimes that i would rather bring some drink with me. Simple as

I think the problem is, pubs got used to charging silly money for drink during the celtic tiger years & making huge profit, then when the sh!t hit the fan & the recession happened overnight they thought they would just ignore the whole thing & expect people to still to pay a fiver for a pint of beer.:D

I think that is the problem.

As I said in an earlier post, the pub game has been in recession for a lot longer than the country, it was the Celtic Tiger that killed it off, not the recession, although it's certainly not helping.

I work in Dublin pub, we charge 4 euro for a pint of Guinness. I accept that there are alot of pubs charging higher prices, this may be down to greed or just bad management. I'm sure you'll also accept that there are pubs, like the one I work in, that are trying to offer value for money, I can only speak for my pub, and others like it, not any of the higher priced pubs.

I don't drink Guinness, how much is a Heineken? How much is a vodka & coke? In my mates local in Carlow a Heinekn is €3.90 and a vodka is €4. The bar has bottles of coke/7up/orange juice etc... just sitting there to take as you need for your short. Can't see that ever happening in Dublin, and I know those publicans do alright for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

LoanShark wrote: »
    I work in a pub and to be honest if I caught you in my place with your own drink the next time your feet would hit the ground would be on the day your getting discharged from the hospital..

Ah so you'd physically attack someone and put them in hospital for bringing a naggin into a pub ?

I'd do it just to see if you're the warrior in person that you appear the be online.
    It is people like you who are ruining the Irish Pub and industry..

And stupidly high prices for drink is not ? I'm pretty sure these people wouldn't sneak in a naggin of vodka if they didn't have to pay 5+ euro for vodka and 1.50+ for a mixer of coke.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭weiland79

You don't need to drink to socialise.

Blah blah blah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

To pubs: No. To clubs: Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Ah so you'd physically attack someone and put them in hospital for bringing a naggin into a pub ?

I'd do it just to see if you're the warrior in person that you appear the be online.

And stupidly high prices for drink is not ? I'm pretty sure these people wouldn't sneak in a naggin of vodka if they didn't have to pay 5+ euro for vodka and 1.50+ for a mixer of coke.

The prices in dublin put that mixer at closer to €3 and after 10 in most city centre bars may be even more.

As I said in an earlier post, the pub game has been in recession for a lot longer than the country, it was the Celtic Tiger that killed it off, not the recession, although it's certainly not helping.

FFS hold on a second now, all im hearing is how bad the pubs are doing over & over again. Do something about it.
    The solution obviously isn't leaving prices unadjusted or ever so slightly lowering prices by 4 or 5 cent.

The owner of my local super-pub is a very wealthy guy. Fair play to him for having the drive to be a success but if he was to complain to me about business being down i would tell him to get fcuked.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I don't drink Guinness, how much is a Heineken? How much is a vodka & coke? In my mates local in Carlow a Heinekn is €3.90 and a vodka is €4. The bar has bottles of coke/7up/orange juice etc... just sitting there to take as you need for your short. Can't see that ever happening in Dublin, and I know those publicans do alright for themselves.

Fibbers do that as well... not a new thing to'em either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

weiland79 wrote: »
    Blah blah blah!

OP is going on entirelly about socialising. Drinking is not a catalyst for socialising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

I dont see a problem with a bit of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Naggin. Especially on a long night out. Its just too expensive in dublin these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

what ever happened to the free dash of coke or 7-up from the mixer pump machine dont see them anymore,as i said before my friends only bring drink if it is going to be along day out like weddings or into a club we would rarely bring it into a pub.if we were only going down for a few drinks whats the point.what we do most times is buy a large bottle of 7-up between the group it works out a lot cheaper