Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing your own alcohol to pubs!

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭leg

Read the brackets.

Still doesnt add up

Which is just as expensive as drinking pints anyway. .
    Yeah but I've never seen anyone slip a naggin of coke in!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Becky_Boo wrote: »
    Definitely practised among students, especially in the student bars, it's just too easy. In fairness though the student bars usually have decent prices so I don't always do it but saves me a fortune especially on the big nights out!
    A naggin of vodka and 500ml soft drink mixer typically costs €8.50. Naggin (200ml) contains 5 x 40ml measures...so 5 drinks.
    This equivilent of this in a pub/club would set me back €26.50 at the very least based on my calculation: vodka = €4 (my local price) and mixer at €2.60 split for 2 vodkas is €1.30... so €5.30 per drink x 5 drinks as in a naggin = €26.50.
    As a student I simpily can't afford this. The answer is usually just pre-drinking in a house or downing it on the bus/luas if we're stuck for time heading into town. Most clubs now have male and female bouncers so it can be tough to bring in the sneaky naggin but there's certainly a few places that you can get away with it.
    Can't say I've brought my own naggin to a local pub usually on these nights I'd just have a 'social drink' i.e make 2/3 pints last that bit longer.

A student who can do maths? Who'd have thunk it? :eek:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

leg wrote: »
    Still doesnt add up

Opps! At least I didn't short change you.

A midget walks into a bar.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

A midget walks into a bar.

and asked for credit, as he was a little short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

pre drink....few mates at your gaf then go out....
    you do save an absoulute fortune by bringing your own and you get the pub/club athmosphere but theres alot of effort in it.
    drinking by yourself at home is a sign of social retardation or just that the person is way too fond of the sauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Becky_Boo

A student who can do maths? Who'd have thunk it? :eek:
    I'd have thought it thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Read the brackets.

i have.....

you still can't count.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Becky_Boo wrote: »
    A naggin of vodka and 500ml soft drink mixer typically costs €8.50.

what a waste of money. You don't need to buy a new naggin every time, just buy big bottles of tesco/lidl vodka and use the original naggin bottle to measure. And also, soft drink mixers? Tesco orange isotonic 4 for €1.99 (a better mixer can't be found), or even better, just make up some squash from your house (no squash? make your own shit version with water, orange juice and sugar). Anything more than a 5er and you're being ripped off :D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I have caught many people sneaking drinks in. They all plead innocence and I won't do it again but they all get chucked out in front of their mates. Usually women too!

What's worse is the ones who sneak their drinks into the loo and add their own their! You do realise those bathrooms are filthy right? So many drunks idiots in there before you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 deiseash

I work in a pub but always bring a nagon out with me when I go out!! Adding up the costs of taxis and club entry makes a night expensive enough without spending a fortune on drink! I'd usually bring in a nagon and buy a few cokes for that and then maybe one or two vodkas and coke, so I'm still spending a bit though... Not nice to be too cheap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I haven't snuck drinks into the club since my undergrad years, but I'm a spirits/wine drinker, and going out in Dublin is prohibitively expensive. What's worse is that I have NEVER seen such a stingy pour on spirits as I have with Dublin bartenders. And having to pay an additional 2.50 for a miniature bottle of coke or tonic is highway robbery. (Why do they even use bottles anyway? The per unit markup on a soda gun is waaaay higher).

In addition, there are few alternatives to going out with friends, as most cafes close by 8pm and restaurants are even more insanely overpriced that bars (and also close quite early...and the food often sucks). Yes you can go to someone's house, but for us single folk, it's good to be out and about. ;)

I went to Spain to stay with some friends for my birthday weekend, and spent most (ok, pretty much all) of my time drinking, and when I got back I realized that even with the cost of airfare I had STILL spent less for a weekend in Madrid than I would have for an equally boozy weekend in Dublin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Do you bring your own food to a restauraunt?

I wouldn't recommended you do this as not only are you breaking the law, you're putting me out of a job.
    People do bring their own drink to restaurants and pay a small amount for corkage for the use of glasses and facilities.

Perhaps pubs could consider this :pac:

But seriously the price of soft drinks in pubs is seriously taking the píss

Yawns wrote: »
    I have caught many people sneaking drinks in. They all plead innocence and I won't do it again but they all get chucked out in front of their mates. Usually women too!

What's worse is the ones who sneak their drinks into the loo and add their own their! You do realise those bathrooms are filthy right? So many drunks idiots in there before you.

I dont know how people manage to get caught. The clubs I go never search, I never hide my hip flask its just in my pocket none of that down the jocks carry on and I usually poor my drink right at the bar or just in the middle of the crowd just keep it down low out of sight of the bar staff. In fairness I'm probably getting over confident at my drink sneeking ability at this stage :D.

Although I will never forget going to the Raddison night club in Galway when I was in 1st year college, I used to buy a bottle of miwadi and a half bottle of vodka (350ml) pour out half the miwadi, pour in the vodka and bring the litre bottle of vodka mix into the club inside my big jacket, I could only use one hand for id etc as my other was holding the bottle (I would already be half drunk as well). Then in and ask for two pint glasses of water, into the jacks, water out, drink in. Them were the days!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Before all this silly scare mongering over liquids on flights I use to regularly sneek in a few cans into the cabin.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

I always bring vodka with me if I'm going out to a night club. Being in Dublin and paying a tenner in and I'm expected to pay €9.50 for a vodka and mixer? I don't think so!

But if I'm in a pub, I'll pay my way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

My aunt used to bring in bottles of 7up for her vodka

Did she also work as budgetary advisor in the public sector?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

I'd definitely bring a naggin into a pub if I were stuck for cash, but I'd most likely buy a 7up or a coke to go with it so I don't think it's that bad. Like bringing your own seasoning to a restaurant to use on the food you buy, or something. Pre-drinking is a good way to save money but it can have disastrous effects, and besides, most people will drink more than a naggin on a night out anyway, it's just a handy way to get started.

pampers1 wrote: »
    Because you want to socialise with your friends but can't afford the ridiculously high prices of the alcohol being sold there.

Jesus, people are really tight.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

@Paislee Obedient Venom

Usually it's the idiots that get caught. Generally they come to the bar and ask for a coke but can they have 2 glasses of ice with it? Or just ask for 2 glass with ice on their own. It's pretty obvious. If the bar is quiet a quick stroll by their table usually shows em with their naggin held low filling their glasses.

Que an embarrasing departure in front of their friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Yawns wrote: »
    @Paislee Obedient Venom

Usually it's the idiots that get caught. Generally they come to the bar and ask for a coke but can they have 2 glasses of ice with it? Or just ask for 2 glass with ice on their own. It's pretty obvious. If the bar is quiet a quick stroll by their table usually shows em with their naggin held low filling their glasses.

Que an embarrasing departure in front of their friends.
    That would be too obvious, someone that tight not to buy the first two deserves to be caught, to do this game right you need to splash out some money.

Bring their glass into the jacks, have one of these in your pocket and it would be very difficult to detect.

Only a very observent bar manager could detect the continuity of the drink held in the suspects glass, ie the that the level of drink rises or stays the same through out the night, he could then fit a CCTV cam in the jacks to nab the culprit. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Did she also work as budgetary advisor in the public sector?

What? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's a really scabby student thing to do. I didn't even do it when I was a scabby student because I had a modicum of self-respect.

The auld self-respect is long gone now but at least I have a bit of cash to hide behind instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

What I generally do is drink at home, bring some in with me and spend some money in there, everyone is happy then, especially me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Cannot understand people doing this.
    They surely see the direct correlation between them using premises for free and costing other people their jobs, but are not only tight but also ignorant enough not to care about that.
    If you can afford the offie prices, then you can afford to drink in a bar, just less often. Or you could drink your offie drink at home. Socialise there, with your mates if you're all that tight-fisted.
    I remember a hammered lad years ago in a bar on Dame Street going up to the barman and asking 'Do you serve Dutch Gold?'
    The barman laughed and said of course not.
    Hammered boy produces pint glass full of suds in one hand and can of Dutch Gold in the other and says 'You do now!'
    Straight out the door, but even the bouncer was roaring laughing.

Cannot understand people doing this.
    They surely see the direct correlation between them using premises for free and costing other people their jobs, but are not only tight but also ignorant enough not to care about that.

Thats rubbish in fairness, for a start this is most often done in night clubs which have a cover charge anyway, also 95% of people who bring their own drink staill buy the mixer and probably have a drink or two as well (at least) so the bar is still better off than if the person was at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Thats rubbish in fairness, for a start this is most often done in night clubs which have a cover charge anyway, also 95% of people who bring their own drink staill buy the mixer and probably have a drink or two as well (at least) so the bar is still better off than if the person was at home.

I take it you wouldn't mind if I came around your gaff and used your kitchen then hung out in your living room all evening?
    I'll leave you a wee bit of food. That way you're still better off than if I didn't come around at all.
    Bottom line: it's scabby, poor form, and it does cost jobs. And as previously stated by another poster, the barstaff are liable for your pissed-up ass whether they served you the drink or whether you were hiding in the jacks supping Mundies out of your shoe like an alkie.

I take it you wouldn't mind if I came around your gaff and used your kitchen then hung out in your living room all evening?
    I'll leave you a wee bit of food. That way you're still better off than if I didn't come around at all.
    Bottom line: it's scabby, poor form, and it does cost jobs. And as previously stated by another poster, the barstaff are liable for your pissed-up ass whether they served you the drink or whether you were hiding in the jacks supping Mundies out of your shoe like an alkie.

Ah come on if I spend 40euro in a night club instead of 80euro its hardly like Im only leaving crumbs.

What about someone not drinking and only have a soft drink or two, they would spend less than someone who brings in their own drinks, buys the mixers and maybe has a few additional drinks. Should non-drinkers stay at home too?

There are also plenty of nights where I would not bring my own drink and leave large sums of cash behind the bar so they can feck off tbh, I will bring my own from time to time to make my night a bit cheaper.