Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lazy People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Got told meself that I may be laid off in September so I have started doing this, the amount of recruitment agencies hiring for **** wages are a joke. Most of them are for highly qualified accountants and/or trainee jobs. Depressing that I may have to go back to education at 24.

No harm in chasing now while you still have a wage. Yeah salaries have dropped a lot. I was hoping to try to push up a bit but I am managing to get interviews for places that pay the same or a little more than I was getting, so I can manage on that.

The killer I am finding is the expense of longer distance interviews. I managed to miss the earliest train from Cork to Dublin yesterday and the ticket machine was pricing the next one at an eye watering 66 euro! One way!

I dug out a few books also and starting updating my tech skills too, that seems to help also.

I will say it isn't easy, but there is work out there if you really are willing to chase it to the end. The dole is pretty small money if you are used to getting more than an average salary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Everyone know unemployed is really funemployed!

obviously I'm joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭RachPie

There's nothing you can do about it really, these are just people who don't realise how good they could have it if they actually tried. Just concentrate on your own life and ignore these people. They'll come to a harsh realisation at some stage in their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

shoegirl wrote: »
    I disagree. I got laid off last week and I've had an interview almost every day since. Why? Because I sent off about 50 job applications over the previous 3 months when I knew it waas coming. In 3 months all I got was one interview with a company which has a bad repuation for mistreating its employees. That was soul destroying bad it didn't stop me trying.

What happened at the end was that agencies who I'd passed on my CV to months ago remembered my proactivity, and came back to me, most of the jobs I am now interviewing for are jobs I never even applied for. Don't underestimate the effort, eventually it will start to pay off. Just think about the money you are losing every day by not working, to me, that keeps me motivated. The phone is now hopping because the work I put in over time took a while to start to pay off, but it is now.

One can only presume that you don't work in the construction industry or related professions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Being unemployed is great for a while, sorta like a holiday when you have no worries but for me that died pretty quickly.

Finding a job or even getting a foot in the door for an interview is a tough cookie but I did find an advantage to this unemployed mullarkey! Cuz I'm on the dole I'm able to do my Comptia A+, N+ courses and exams for free :D and I'm starting a voluntary job as an IT trainer in St. Vincent De Paul's soon enough so at least it'll keep me busy...............or to help me lay off the **** :pac:

Sitting around the house gets boring as fùck, plus I feel a bit guilty if I go to bed knowing I didn't do anything with my day. (Exceptions being hungover :pac:)

You gotta see ahead because when you do get an interview they'll ask you what you've been up to for the past while (They tend to frown at "fapping")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Being unemployed is great for a while, sorta like a holiday when you have no worries but for me that died pretty quickly.

Finding a job or even getting a foot in the door for an interview is a tough cookie but I did find an advantage to this unemployed mullarkey! Cuz I'm on the dole I'm able to do my Comptia A+, N+ courses and exams for free :D and I'm starting a voluntary job as an IT trainer in St. Vincent De Paul's soon enough so at least it'll keep me busy...............or to help me lay off the **** :pac:

Sitting around the house gets boring as fùck, plus I feel a bit guilty if I go to bed knowing I didn't do anything with my day. (Exceptions being hungover :pac:)

You gotta see ahead because when you do get an interview they'll ask you what you've been up to for the past while (They tend to frown at "fapping")

This post is made of all kinds of win.

And OP if you have vacancies where shall I send my CV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

some people just like to do nothing once and a while. play computer games and go on the internet all day....nothing wrong with that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Toes

Im currently very actively seeking work. I hate being unemployed, what really bugs me is the pissheads who drink every day while on the dole. I know its all gonna turn around for me and ill get a job soon. Tbh I have to think that way!

On a side note I am currently developing an extreme disliking towards recruitment agencies.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Some even go to the pub and drink and have a good time there during the day, more prefer the bookies,shopping or leisurely strolls.
    Heck I met a family of dole people on holidays in Spain for a week.
    And, there is a family nearby with 2 cars, yes 2 cars; what do you need 2 cars for when your on the dole?

In case one brakes down.:D:D:D

allanb49 wrote: »
    I'd like to point out im not complaining i have a job,

I'm complaining that they have no motivation to get a job. I know people are stuck at this time but some of you would be people looking for work.

It's the ones who are happy to sit back and take it and lazily put the blame on there being nothing out there when they have no drive to look

What do you care if people sit back and are lazy just get on with your life and dont be worring you will give yourself a heart attack sure it's not worth the worry:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

lets celebrate the dole with this song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Why are you singling out me?:(

No, no, your great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

One can only presume that you don't work in the construction industry or related professions.

yeah because *you* have the monopoly on the recession and lack of jobs! :rolleyes:

There is a difference between being unemployed and being a bum on the dole. Dont reckon the OP is "fretting" over his flat mates not looking for work unless its impacting on him which is must be, financially or other ways. There are vacancies out there (PM me, we get bonus's for referrals! :cool:) but it seems to me OP is pissed at the people who arent interested in vacancies until Bill Gates rings round and askes if there are any people free with computer degrees to work in MS next month!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Some even go to the pub and drink and have a good time there during the day, more prefer the bookies,shopping or leisurely strolls.
    Heck I met a family of dole people on holidays in Spain for a week.
    And, there is a family nearby with 2 cars, yes 2 cars; what do you need 2 cars for when your on the dole?

You want them to walk to the dole office!!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Got told meself that I may be laid off in September so I have started doing this, the amount of recruitment agencies hiring for **** wages are a joke. Most of them are for highly qualified accountants and/or trainee jobs. Depressing that I may have to go back to education at 24.

What bothers me more is looking at the FAS website for jobs and getting back all these "WPP"-designated vacancies. A lot of the time they're looking for people with specific degrees and experience to work a full time job for no pay. That kind of carry on makes me close the FAS website and go back to watching Jeremy Kyle.

Pure chancers, cashing in on the high level of unemployment. If it becomes standard in this country that you have to work for nothing for a year just to get your foot in the door onto the bottom rung of the ladder, then it's a complete farce.

I hope no-one ever takes up these vacancies.

I completely agree with the sentiment that you should sit at home all day playing video games rather than taking any job you can. And no, you aren't missing out on life by choosing to not be in a miserable job that pays crap wages if that's your only option. I've done both and have much fonder memories of the unemployed times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    What bothers me more is looking at the FAS website for jobs and getting back all these "WPP"-designated vacancies. A lot of the time they're looking for people with specific degrees and experience to work a full time job for no pay. That kind of carry on makes me close the FAS website and go back to watching Jeremy Kyle.

Pure chancers, cashing in on the high level of unemployment. If it becomes standard in this country that you have to work for nothing for a year just to get your foot in the door onto the bottom rung of the ladder, then it's a complete farce.

I hope no-one ever takes up these vacancies.

I completely agree with the sentiment that you should sit at home all day playing video games rather than taking any job you can. And no, you aren't missing out on life by choosing to not be in a miserable job that pays crap wages if that's your only option. I've done both and have much fonder memories of the unemployed times.

For the love of god, Mods, please don't let Bill Cullen see this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Darren_

3 out of 3. Get in there. If only I could get 6 out of the 6 lotto numbers then I wouldn't be on the Dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

It's none of your business how your neighbours spend their time. Stop being so nosy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

they probably apply for jobs online, lazy people dont make it all the way thru college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

allanb49 wrote: »
    I'd like to point out im not complaining i have a job,

I'm complaining that they have no motivation to get a job. I know people are stuck at this time but some of you would be people looking for work.

It's the ones who are happy to sit back and take it and lazily put the blame on there being nothing out there when they have no drive to look
    Maybe they are depressed. Try sending a few hundred cvs without getting a reply and see how that motivates you.

Has anyone any soap i am after hand feeding the troll and i feel dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

"if i didn't work, i would would be bored out of my mind"

I'd hate to be one of those people ^
    If you are one of those people, you pretty much have no life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Maybe they are depressed. Try sending a few hundred cvs without getting a reply and see how that motivates you.

Has anyone any soap i am after hand feeding the troll and i feel dirty.

They don't send out cv's they don't leave the house, They wake up go down to the living room turn on the console/internet and from 11am to 2am just stay in those positions all week, bar bathroom and feeding times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

hmmm, OP, shouldn't you be working rather than be posting on boards? do they pay you to make dole-bashing threads instead of whatever it is you do?
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

In my nine months on the dole I took up organic gardening, knitting/sewing, worked on a voluntary basis almost full time with a local sports club, spent a large amount of time working on my health and fitness, improved my cookery skills and cycled down the west coast of Ireland. Jesus, I hadn't a pot to p*ss in but it was probably one of the most happiest and fufilling times of my life.

And yes, I had the opportunity to take up a low pay, sh*tty job in a night club cleaning up vomit and spilt drink but I held out for a job that I was actually happy to do, and it worked out in the end. I now have a wonderful job that uses my college experiences and benefits from the skill I have to bring to the work.

If you are happy to take up any old job for the sake of being employed, or to work for FAS for free then fair play to you. But I don't know why people choose to slave away in a completely pointless job just to avoid a (completely unfounded) stigma that they are otherwise taking away from the collective wealth and wellbeing of the rest of the population. I was more of an asset to the Irish economy when I was unemployed than I ever was working.

OP some people are just lazy employed or not. I don't begrudge people who want to take dole and waste away in front of a TV because it's not how I wan't to live my life. If it was then I would be doing it now. And if you really think that the dole money is good, that you would like the freedom to be as lazy as you want. Then by all means go for it. Social welfare expenditure is not what is making this country poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭j1974

pmcmahon wrote: »
    chill maaaan don't be such a slave to the wage maaaan

:D classic, you sound like dennis hopper or matthew mcConbaughey in daved and confused. the "wage maaaan"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 electrofrog

shoegirl wrote: »
    Now that makes far more sense to me that the original post.

I used to live in a house full of flats where I was the only person who had a job. They were quiet but just weird and went off the rails.
    Drink isn't cheap tho, can't see how you could finance drinking several days a week on the dole unless its all just cheap cider.

Lets just say we may have exaggerated (just a little) on our rent allowance forms :rolleyes: were pretty much living rent free and got our dole on different days so funded each others lifestyles plus half the people in my hometown my age are unemployed at them moment too so if you had a place (our gaff) to go and brought the session with you (supplied the drink) you were welcome anytime :D Still glad to be working again though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

You get up at 5:30 and get home 1h 30mins later.
    WTF are you moaning about??

You people make me sick.

Give him a break, he puts milk on your doorstep every morning pal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Pauleta wrote: »
    Ive been on the dole since last Monday and have drank everyday bar 1. When somebody tells you its horrible being on the dole, they are just bull****ting you. I will fully agree that the system is wrong but dont hate the playa, hate the game.

When you get some experience, say about 6 months to a year, then you can comment on the situation, until then, enjoy being unemployed while it lasts.

A whole week on the dole and she's an expert, lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Pauleta wrote: »
    Ive been on the dole since last Monday and have drank everyday bar 1. When somebody tells you its horrible being on the dole, they are just bull****ting you. I will fully agree that the system is wrong but dont hate the playa, hate the game.

Pauleta in a few months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

When you get some experience, say about 6 months to a year, then you can comment on the situation, until then, enjoy being unemployed while it lasts.

A whole week on the dole and she's an expert, lol...

I was on the dole for 7 months last year and had a great time :P

Also im not a she im a he. Pauleta is Portugals record goal scorer. I think i may need a name change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

if their on the dole and not interested or looking then rat them in

i know a guy whos on the dole 15 years , no lie and theres nothing wrong with him , just a lazy pot smoking twat

its these sort of people that have the dole situation fooked

in australia if u worked there and lost your job , you have a month to leave , maybe we should do this to foreigners on the dole god knows theirs loads

and its not a racist remark , its just were a small country and can't sustain the extra 200'000 of them on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Johnny_Trotter

Darren_ wrote: »
    3 out of 3. Get in there. If only I could get 6 out of the 6 lotto numbers then I wouldn't be on the Dole.

If you win the lotto, you'll go and get a job?

Fair play! I suppose it'll give you a bit of spending money for when your lotto millions are sitting in the bank earning interest...

And OP - generalise much? Are all the 400,000 on the Live Register in exactly the same situation, bumming around etc.?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

I'm on the dole, do i feel ashamed or embarrassed about it? .....nope not in the slightest.

Havin it cushty if you must know, get up when i like, hang out with people that i like, do what i like when i like > no worries no stresses.

Now lets see, when i was working i would have to get up in the early hours in the cold, battle my way through the traffic, work for 8 hrs + in a ****hole dump with people that i don't like and then once that was finished battle my way through traffic again to get home, and once i was home i'd be too exhausted to do anything else other than make dinner and watch TV.
    Then off to bed and in the morning repeat the same routine again.

nah, i'm in no hurry to return to that life:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

and its not a racist remark , its just were a small country and can't sustain the extra 200'000 of them on the dole

But we could tolerate their cheap labour and taxes yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

philstar wrote: »
    Now lets see, when i was working i would have to get up in the early hours in the cold, battle my way through the traffic, work for 8 hrs + in a ****hole dump with people that i don't like and then once that was finished battle my way through traffic again to get home, and once i was home i'd be too exhausted to do anything else other than make dinner and watch TV.
    Then off to bed and in the morning repeat the same routine again.

You know you have a good point there. I think I'm more bored and have less of a life because of work :)
    It's the only time I can surf and play games because when I come home I'm wrecked! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

philstar wrote: »
    I'm on the dole, do i feel ashamed or embarrassed about it? .....nope not in the slightest.

Havin it cushty if you must know, get up when i like, hang out with people that i like, do what i like when i like > no worries no stresses.

get up off your arse, you lazy bollix

most jobs arent necessary and are just invented to keep people in a mortgage and consumerism trap.

everything entertainment based for out of work hours for the job people features advertising so that they get back to work asap and get some more money to buy more unnecessary sh1t.

football stadiums, morning commute, tv, cinema, city streets, theres no escaping advertising, most people think it doesnt work but billions of euro/dollars are spent every year so it must be working

nobody can actually save up and pay for a house, we are obliged to beg a bank for a mortgage for somewhere to sleep,watch tv and store our bought goods when we are finished work. the very same banks that screw us whenever they can and are basically gonna always run a profit collectively.

the materials put into houses dont reflect the inflated cost. the goods in shops made in Asia by hard working people earning a dollar an hour get sold to us 1000% more than the actual cost of manufacturing.

when people eventually get their homes they spend their entire lifetime fixing it up thru an argos catalouge,arnotts,Ikea etc when there are families in India basically living in their own **** all packed into small shacks but seemingly perfectly happy

this planet has enough natural resources to make us all wealthy, sure there are jobs that need to be done but 40hrs a week or more is a huge con in this day and age. a very tiny minority has control over everyone with more money than they could ever spend use in a 1000000 lifetimes while we all work jobs to keep us distracted from that fact.

dont be angry with people on the dole, some are alot smarter than they realise, tho wasting time drinking cans and seating on their arses negates that because theres a whole world out there and free time is the closest to freedom we actually have. be angry at the suits in bentleys being driven from expensive restaurant to golf clubs to palaces and private Islands.

drugs are illegal not because they are dangerous but because they free minds from a false reality that is screwing us

drink is legal because its easier to control and gives the working man a reason to do a weeks work, friday&saturday gets them thru the banality of it all, wear those new clothes made in Asia/South America and buy that expensive bottled fermented water&hops, bottled water&sugar&ethanol, spend all your money so you have to go back into work on monday to earn some more...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

most jobs arent necessary and are just invented to keep people in a mortgage and consumerism trap.

everything entertainment based for out of work hours for the job people features advertising so that they get back to work asap and get some more money to buy more unnecessary sh1t.

football stadiums, morning commute, tv, cinema, city streets, theres no escaping advertising, most people think it doesnt work but billions of euro/dollars are spent every year so it must be working

nobody can actually save up and pay for a house, we are obliged to beg a bank for a mortgage for somewhere to sleep,watch tv and store our bought goods when we are finished work. the very same banks that screw us whenever they can and are basically gonna always run a profit collectively.

the materials put into houses dont reflect the inflated cost. the goods in shops made in Asia by hard working people earning a dollar an hour get sold to us 1000% more than the actual cost of manufacturing.

when people eventually get their homes they spend their entire lifetime fixing it up thru an argos catalouge,arnotts,Ikea etc when there are families in India basically living in their own **** all packed into small shacks but seemingly perfectly happy

this planet has enough natural resources to make us all wealthy, sure there are jobs that need to be done but 40hrs a week or more is a huge con in this day and age. a very tiny minority has control over everyone with more money than they could ever spend use in a 1000000 lifetimes while we all work jobs to keep us distracted from that fact.

dont be angry with people on the dole, some are alot smarter than they realise, tho wasting time drinking cans and seating on their arses negates that because theres a whole world out there and free time is the closest to freedom we actually have. be angry at the suits in bentleys being driven from expensive restaurant to golf clubs to palaces and private Islands.

drugs are illegal not because they are dangerous but because they free minds from a false reality that is screwing us

drink is legal because its easier to control and gives the working man a reason to do a weeks work, friday&saturday gets them thru the banality of it all, wear those new clothes made in Asia/South America and buy that expensive bottled fermented water&hops, bottled water&sugar&ethanol, spend all your money so you have to go back into work on monday to earn some more...
    how about healthcare,education and all other things there to help you live better? consumer capitalism for life bro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

AntiRip wrote: »
    You know you have a good point there. I think I'm more bored and have less of a life because of work :)
    It's the only time I can surf and play games because when I come home I'm wrecked! ;)

i take it you work in a call centre:cool:

pmcmahon wrote: »
    how about healthcare,education and all other things there to help you live better? consumer capitalism for life bro

obviously you didnt read/comprehend all of what I wrote

Im not looking for a utopia, they dont/wont ever exist in any reality

also, 'education'
    in school they didnt teach me how to cook my own meals, how to bake my own bread or grow my own vegetables, how to build my own home, how to fix a damaged garment, no first aid or any other 'education' that could be usefull for daily life. I did learn some French at school tho incase I ever go on holidays there, which I will need to work long hours to afford. maybe those 40min french classes would have been better learning their native cuisine rather than their native language

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

obviously you didnt read/comprehend all of what I wrote

Im not looking for a utopia, they dont/wont ever exist in any reality

also, 'education'
    in school they didnt teach me how to cook my own meals, how to bake my own bread or grow my own vegetables, how to build my own home, how to fix a damaged garment, no first aid or any other 'education' that could be usefull for daily life. I did learn some French at school tho incase I ever go on holidays there, which I will need to work long hours to afford. maybe those 40min french classes would have been better learning their native cuisine rather than their native language
    I agree that capitalism has gone too far and my first comment was tongue in cheek in case you couldn't read but they do teach you that in school...you aren't jailed in a box because of money,you have the choice to completely live without it if you really wanted to,its the dependency factor,and to be honest i think i'd prefer to live with a little bit of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭laoishibee

OK, try living in a small town where everytime you hand out a CV, you'd be very lucky to even get an acknowledgment that they got your application.

In fact, the only reason I got the last job I had was because my brother knew the managers of the place!

I get given out for not bothering to look for a job but I already know that its f***ing pointless, I can't even get a step in.

Its soul numbing and depressing, I can't do anything and my life has being dull and I'm jealous of my peers who seem to have gone everywhere because they could get jobs! :mad:

Also, don't tell me that I have to do a job I hate just for the sake of it and its there. I know this situation is numbing but waking up, dreading the day of work because its make you miserable is a LOT worse!

I have to say that sums up myself as well, Its sickening to hear the OP pretty much complaining about having a job were most people like myself would love to go and work an unreal amount of hours and be happy!

Ive gone out to the local towns big and small, handed in my CV and had a word with the managers, trying for any job possible so i can support myself for college, But the simple fact is theres nothing out there, ive been called for interviews on the odd (very odd) occasions, gone through them with satisfaction but hear nothing thereafter. Its a real downer to know i can't suceed in even getting a job, I can't rely on parents like most young students as my fathers been unemployed for over a year now, my mother has a very low paying job trying to support the whole family with large debt and a mortgage.

They have a lot more to deal with than me, I can admit my father is lazy at times but its the lack of self confidence and depression thats getting to him, he feels useless because he cant support our family. But he's still looking a job as much as he can.

I think its not right that the OP is complaining as there are a lot of people in this country that are far worse of than him/her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

You shouldn't be complaining about the OP, when there are a lot of people in this world a lot worse off than you are
    laoishibee wrote: »
    I have to say that sums up myself as well, Its sickening to hear the OP pretty much complaining about having a job were most people like myself would love to go and work an unreal amount of hours and be happy!

Ive gone out to the local towns big and small, handed in my CV and had a word with the managers, trying for any job possible so i can support myself for college, But the simple fact is theres nothing out there, ive been called for interviews on the odd (very odd) occasions, gone through them with satisfaction but hear nothing thereafter. Its a real downer to know i can't suceed in even getting a job, I can't rely on parents like most young students as my fathers been unemployed for over a year now, my mother has a very low paying job trying to support the whole family with large debt and a mortgage.

They have a lot more to deal with than me, I can admit my father is lazy at times but its the lack of self confidence and depression thats getting to him, he feels useless because he cant support our family. But he's still looking a job as much as he can.

I think its not right that the OP is complaining as there are a lot of people in this country that are far worse of than him/her.