Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Compliment from strangers

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

sam34 wrote: »
    problem is, if it's a stranger on the street it's impossible to know if it's a genuine compliment or a piss-take/acting on a dare from the lads/sleazebag/general weirdo

True, but it's a sad indictment that most of you would automatically assume the latter. It only takes one hostile reaction to put someone off, ruining the fun for everyone who is able to take a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Too hard for everything to come across as cheezey and sleazy! Wink and cheeky grin all the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

True, but it's a sad indictment that most of you would automatically assume the latter. It only takes one hostile reaction to put someone off, ruining the fun for everyone who is able to take a compliment.

Oh no, how dare we ruin the 'fun' for other people by NOT enjoying unwanted comments from strangers. How could we? we should just pretend we love hearing witless comments then, so other people feel better, right?

I'm not sure why you feel the need to respond to everything with hostility and sarcasm. Would it be too much to remain civil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

sam34 wrote: »
    problem is, if it's a stranger on the street it's impossible to know if it's a genuine compliment or a piss-take/acting on a dare from the lads/sleazebag/general weirdo
    Personally I tend to assume that people say what they mean and I take compliments at face value. I've had random nice things said to me on occasion, and it puts a smile on my face. Likewise I've given random compliments to other people, guys and girls, and more often than not it goes down well. It's nice to be nice, and sometimes the smallest nice gestures can make somebody's day.
    Well that didn't take long. Women say how they feel about something and some man, instead of taking on board what women say, instead farts out ' oh lighten up.' Talk about self-entitled.
    Here's the thing, a lot of women are NOT interested in your comment and don't want to hear it. Instead of us 'lightening up' how about you keep your yap shut.
    Ths was not about complimenting people you know, this is about making uninvited comments to strangers.
    Keep your comments to yourself, or as MUSSOLINI observes, if you really MUST make a comment as it is so very important to you, a smile and a hello is polite.

Hostile much? Do you really need to tell someone to keep their "yap shut" to make a point? If you want to get your views across perhaps doing it in a less aggressive way would be more effective. True, this is a woman's forum for women to talk, but this is one woman who's not particularly enjoying the way this talk is going.

You don't like random compliments, I do. And I'll keep giving them to random people - if they don't like it then so be it - it's meant in no harm and with no ill-will behind it. They can take it for what it is or they can ignore it, it's no skin off my nose. I'm not infringing on their lives or their well-being, and I don't see it as being overly intrusive or over-bearing, but hey may well do. I'm happy to take the risk and hope it's taken in the positive light it was meant though.

Why should I have a civil reaction to what you wrote? Your comment was basically that that woman who reacts in a hostile manner ( thus 'ruining' things) is at fault, and not the man who made the unwelcome comment in the first place. Why should I be civil when faced with that kind of logic?

g'em wrote: »
    Personally I tend to assume that people say what they mean and I take compliments at face value. I've had random nice things said to me on occasion, and it puts a smile on my face. Likewise I've given random compliments to other people, guys and girls, and more often than not it goes down well. It's nice to be nice, and sometimes the smallest nice gestures can make somebody's day.

Hostile much? Do you really need to tell someone to keep their "yap shut" to make a point? If you want to get your views across perhaps doing it in a less aggressive way would be more effective. True, this is a woman's forum for women to talk, but this is one woman who's not particularly enjoying the way this talk is going.

You don't like random compliments, I do. And I'll keep giving them to random people - if they don't like it then so be it - it's meant in no harm and with no ill-will behind it. They can take it for what it is or they can ignore it, it's no skin off my nose. I'm not infringing on their lives or their well-being, and I don't see it as being overly intrusive or over-bearing, but hey may well do. I'm happy to take the risk and hope it's taken in the positive light it was meant though.

Oh yes G'em, some women might like them, my entire point is SOME women do not. And when a woman says she does not she should not be told to lighten up for expressing herself. Its not hard NOT make comments to strangers.

Why should I have a civil reaction to what you wrote? Your comment was basically that that woman who reacts in a hostile manner ( thus 'ruining' things) is at fault, and not the man who made the unwelcome comment in the first place. Why should I be civil when faced with that kind of logic?

I don't understand where you're coming from - why does anyone need a reason to be civil, for goodness sake? Regardless, I'll stop tilting at windmills and let you bite someone else's legs.

Oh yes G'em, some women might like them, my entire point is SOME women do not. And when a woman says she does not she should not be told to lighten up for expressing herself. Its not hard NOT make comments to strangers.

Fair enough, if you don't that's absolutely fine, I think some of the reactions here are a little OTT though. Think of it from the perspective of the person doing the complimenting (and I'm assuming here that the compliments given are genuine and hoenst) - the person complimenting is doing a nice thing, maybe to make someone else feel better or even to do something nice to make themselves feel better (niceness is its own reward and all that). The assumption is that a compliment will be received in the manner from which it was intended, but then you read some of the posts and the person who likes to give compliments can't help but go "whoah! I'm being totally misunderstood here!".

When you do something nice and it's misconstrued as being sleazy or out of place it's hard not to get defensive about it - I can totally understand why being told to "lighten up" is a little abrasive, but my inclination would be to have a neutral reaction instead of a negative one to it. Why counter nice with nasty? :)

Because DAILY as I run, I hear 'nice tits' 'nice arse', and many variations of the same. My tolerance of the unwanted comment is at an all time low. They are intrusive and unwanted and very often smutty crap or sexually charged.
    So when I as a woman, say I object, the last thing I need to hear is that I am 'ruining' things for the comment maker.
    If a woman gives a hostile reaction to a comment she is not the aggressor, she is reacting. Most women will not react in a negative way to a non sexual pleasant comment, but 9 times out of 10 comments are not invited and in a lot of cases- as stated here-not appreciated. Is it so hard then for men to understand that? That rather than risk offending/annoying/ making uncomfortable a person they ought to instead keep it to themselves?
    ?

Those are smutty, horrible comments. I'm talking about genuine compliments, as are most people here. But then I guess the whole thing is interlinked - for as long as women receive unwanted horrible attention, it will taint their view of the comments made with genuine niceness behind them. And for as long as they react defensively to that (understandably so) the people giving the genuine compliments will feel hard done-by by those reactions because their intent was good. And so the "all men do X" and "all women do Y" bollóxology will continue!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Well that didn't take long. Women say how they feel about something and some man, instead of taking on board what women say, instead farts out ' oh lighten up.' Talk about self-entitled.
    Here's the thing, a lot of women are NOT interested in your comment and don't want to hear it. Instead of us 'lightening up' how about you keep your yap shut.
    Ths was not about complimenting people you know, this is about making uninvited comments to strangers.
    Keep your comments to yourself, or as MUSSOLINI observes, if you really MUST make a comment as it is so very important to you, a smile and a hello is polite.

Wow, that was hardly required was it? If nothing else, you're proving what I said while being a case in point.

You above just stated:
    but 9 times out of 10 comments are not invited and in a lot of cases- as stated here-not appreciated.

Do you only accept compliments which you have 'invited'?? Seriously, you have a stinking attitude just because some gobsh1te decided to tell you that you have a nice arse or tits or whatever?

Would it be so bad to take a compliment for what it is - a compliment. Smile and be on your merry way?

Believe it or not, just because you're running around in your spandex and attracting sexual comments from strangers does not in fact meant that men in general will only make a sexually charged comment. Obviously the gobsh1te in question has not acquired the vocabulary to pay you a compliment in a more sensitive, genuine fashion.

The majority of us men when paying a compliment, believe it or not, are going out of our way to say something nice to you [women] because we genuinely believe what we're telling you to be true. We're not looking for a reaction, or you to jump into bed or flash your tits.

A simple smile, or 'thanks' would suffice, and we would most likely never see you again.

Lose the attitude. It really is uncalled for.

I dont' think all men do/ all women do, ever. We're all just people at the end of the day. I work and train with men on a regular basis and they are brilliant, engaging and inspiring in many ways. But there are certain social mores that get knocked out of the loop by unsavoury behaviours and that's both a reality and a shame.

So when I as a woman, say I object, the last thing I need to hear is that I am 'ruining' things for the comment maker.

I didn't say that at all. In fact I didn't say any of the things that you decided to understand from my post.

Wow, that was hardly required was it? If nothing else, you're proving what I said while being a case in point.

You above just stated:

Do you only accept compliments which you have 'invited'?? Seriously, you have a stinking attitude just because some gobsh1te decided to tell you that you have a nice arse or tits or whatever?

Would it be so bad to take a compliment for what it is - a compliment. Smile and be on your merry way?

Believe it or not, just because you're running around in your spandex and attracting sexual comments from strangers does not in fact meant that men in general will only make a sexually charged comment. Obviously the gobsh1te in question has not acquired the vocabulary to pay you a compliment in a more sensitive, genuine fashion.

The majority of us men when paying a compliment, believe it or not, are going out of our way to say something nice to you [women] because we genuinely believe what we're telling you to be true. We're not looking for a reaction, or you to jump into bed or flash your tits.

A simple smile, or 'thanks' would suffice, and we would most likely never see you again.

Lose the attitude. It really is uncalled for.

You don't like my attitude, so what? Now you;re attempting to dictate how women should react to your comment. Smile and be on our merry way? How patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

You don't like my attitude, so what? Now you;re attempting to dictate how women should react to your comment. Smile and be on our merry way? How patronising.

Oh dear lord. I give up.

I didn't say that at all. In fact I didn't say any of the things that you decided to understand from my post.

Are you putting your legs back in for a new chew? I'm sorry I was sarcastic to your initial comment, it was uncalled for. But you wrote what you wrote and your placed the blame squarely on the woman.

What I said:

No mention of men or women and (I even used italics here) I was talking about people who do like to receive compliments but who are unlikely to get any from someone who has been stung by a hiostile reaction to a genuine compliment.

What you read:
    Christ only knows

And again, why would a woman reacting badly to a comment 'ruin' it for everyone who likes comment from random strangers? You're still blaming the woman's reaction.

Oh dear lord. I give up.

Likewise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭sexdwarf

I think it can be really nice, when it's meant in a nice non-sleazy way. If someone tells me I look well, I'm delighted, if someone whistles or shouts 'nice arse', I'll probably just feel uncomfortable. A man in Leeds once stopped and told me that I looked 'very pretty today', and just kept walking, that was lovely and unexpected!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Nobody is dictating to anybody as to how women should react. The majority of posters here are giving their point of view. I think everybody can hear what you're saying and respects how you feel. But you're not respecting how other people feel.

I find it interesting and can completely empathise with the men on this thread who are saying that they would almost be afraid to pay a compliment to a woman incase they were accused of being pervy or out of line.

If its meant in a positive and appreciative way then there is no harm done and it would appear to me that if someone made more of an issue or drama out of it then the problem lies with the person receiving the compliment and not the compliment giver. If a person can not take a genuine compliment then it probably relates to self-esteem issues. Maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I wouldn't compliment a stranger, never really felt inclined to. :confused: I wouldn't even compliment friends unless I thought they were fishing for one, and even then it would just be a generic "Don't be silly you look great."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I will tell strangers "I love your necklace" and so on. If they think I'm weird, then fine, I was just trying to brighten their day :P

Then again, I'm a woman, and these comments are not along the lines of "nice tits" or "damn girl you fine" which would under most circumstances be construed as sleazy.

When I'm on a night out I often get chatting to other girls in the toilets and if they have something nice on or a particularly good haircut I would probably say it in passing, but that's just in conversation. I wouldn't ever pass some guy on the street and say, wow, you're really good looking, they'd think I was mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Robroyman.

OP here,

well this has certinally got the debate going, didnt expect such a reaction.

I think some people have taken an incorrect angle on this, lets face it womens bodies are a very beautiful thing and if a guy or a girl for that matter see what they considered beauty I think its nice to say so, not in a pervy sly way.

lets take an example if your walking up Grafton Dtreet on a hot summers day people are generally dressed for the hot weather, and we have all seen people that we would find attractive.

is it not ok to when walking by someone "u look fantastic" or "fit body" etc

lets face it we all like compliments so why not say what you think????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭magotch07

Just from lads side.

I remember last year a girl came up to me in friendly way and told me I was gorgeous. I taught it was really nice thing for her to say and thanked her. Was such nice booster to me and made my day really.

I know it's much different for girls cause lads look at boobs before any face when they do speak out.

Not sure ye ladies will agree but lot of it is how they come about saying it too. There is time and place I guess.

have had this happen before was in waterford (dungarvin i think) a girl came up and said a beautiful face and smile really nice to hear, thanked her nice ego boost

i have also told a girl in a niteclub she had an amazing figure (not to chat her up but just to say i suppose)and a girl on the bus i told her she had a beautiful face (again not to chat her up but she just caught me off guard i suppose)

all in all i think it nice to do when its done properly and with sincerity

Defo depends on how the compliment is delivered though I suppose! I once had a guy at a gig come right up to my face and start telling me that my curls were 'amaaaaazing' and then started petting my hair. That's going too far!! In fairness to him I think he had just had one too many!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Vanbis wrote: »
    True story - When i was in Vegas thee years ago this amazing looking girl walked into the bar absolutely stunning looking, my jaw hit the ground. Like me the whole bar looked as she walked through. A few drinks later i told her and paid her a nice compliment and she took it very well and thanked me. I was at the bar a while later getting drink and she was there and paid for drink. She was at the bar with her boyfriend.

cool_story_bro.jpg

I think I would feel uncomfortable if I was walking down the street and some guy said "great legs" (that would never happen :pac:)! But if I was in a bar or even in a cafe and wasn't caught quite off guard and was presented with nice compliment "you're very pretty", "you've got nice eyes" "you've got a lovely smile" etc. Then I would be flattered, as most people have pointed out, it's the sleeze factor that would put me off but apart from that I like compliments.

I'm one of those weirdos though that will tell you you look lovely while you're fixing your make up in the nightclub toilets! "I love your dress" would regularly come from my lips!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

To be honest, the vast majority of men who´ve complimented me walking down the street in Ireland have been teenage lads (making some reference to my vagina or tits), old men ("give us a smile there, love"....this is actually alright with me....quite sweet), builders (usually something sleazy), foreign men (can be very full on) or drunk men (incoherent but can be funny depending on my mood and their level of drunkeness), so to be honest, if somebody nice and normal and sober and my age complimented me, I´d be on guard.

On the whole though, Irish men aren´t creepy and if the compliment seemed genuine with no mention of any of my sexual organs, I´d smile. It´s the height of the Summer here in Madrid and all the sleazy, Latin men are in overdrive. They comment and glare at most women here and you just have to get used to it. Was walking home from work this morning and a man mumbled under his breath "Muy guapa" (very good looking) as I was walking by but by the tone of his voice, it sounded like he was picturing me naked and was coming in his trousers as he said it. THIS gives me the heebie jeebies. I wanted to hurl. I usually mumble something like, "eff off" under my breath. That´s a power thing on his part: he doesn´t know how to respect women.

What men have to understand is that a lot of women get "compliments" like the one I just mentioned and it really is hard to decipher the well intended from the downright sleazy and that´s why we might react badly. You have to see it from our point-of-view as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I run on flattery, so I adore compliments :D

No sleazing though, I hate that. But once when queueing for a nightclub a guy turned around and was like "you look tremendous", which made my night. In fairness he was pretty lashed, but sincerity is overrated :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Eve_Dublin wrote: »

On the whole though, Irish men aren´t creepy and if the compliment seemed genuine with no mention of any of my sexual organs, I´d smile. It´s the height of the Summer here in Madrid and all the sleazy, Latin men are in overdrive. They comment and glare at most women here and you just have to get used to it. Was walking home from work this morning and a man mumbled under his breath "Muy guapa" (very good looking) as I was walking by but by the tone of his voice, it sounded like he was picturing me naked and was coming in his trousers as he said it. THIS gives me the heebie jeebies. I wanted to hurl. I usually mumble something like, "eff off" under my breath. That´s a power thing on his part: he doesn´t know how to respect women.

Dear God, Spanish guys are so creepy. I know it's a massive generalisation, but there were sleazy, pervy guys EVERYWHERE in Barcelona, they'd get really handsy in clubs and never take to hint to eff off. They'd also follow us in the street and ask where we were going and if they could come.

Spanish women always seem so nice, do they really go for that machismo crap?

Piste wrote: »
    I run on flattery, so I adore compliments :D

No sleazing though, I hate that. But once when queueing for a nightclub a guy turned around and was like "you look tremendous", which made my night. In fairness he was pretty lashed, but sincerity is overrated :pac:

At oxegen last year there was a guy on the phone trying to explain to someone where he was, as I was walking by I said "left of the sound stage, o2 stage", he looks at me, takes the phone away from his ear and says "jesus christ you're beautiful". Now how can that not make you smile?!!

(plus it was day 3 of oxegen and I was feeling pretty yucky so it definitely helped :pac:)

dolliemix wrote: »
    Nobody is dictating to anybody as to how women should react. The majority of posters here are giving their point of view. I think everybody can hear what you're saying and respects how you feel. But you're not respecting how other people feel.

I find it interesting and can completely empathise with the men on this thread who are saying that they would almost be afraid to pay a compliment to a woman incase they were accused of being pervy or out of line.

If its meant in a positive and appreciative way then there is no harm done and it would appear to me that if someone made more of an issue or drama out of it then the problem lies with the person receiving the compliment and not the compliment giver. If a person can not take a genuine compliment then it probably relates to self-esteem issues. Maybe?

Respect runs two way, one way would be to allow for a moment that there ARE in fact people who do not appreciate compliments/comments from random strangers and that they should not be made feel bogged down by supposed self esteem issues, or be told to smile and just accept it as the status quo.
    I am well aware that SOME women don't mind random compliments. I wouldn't dream of pondering what sort of person needs validation from a stranger to brighten their day. I would just respect that is how they feel about the issue and I'm pretty sure if you scan over the posts you will find I disparaged NO ONE who said they enjoyed compliments.
    My entire argument was from the place of the person who does not like them. MY preference is for strangers to keep their compliments to themselves and let me go on about my business unfettered and unbothered by their attentions. My other preference is for people to get it through to their skulls than when a woman says 'Hey I don't actually like that' it is JUST that. Not I hate all men, but that I do not like that particular thing or action.

I wouldn't dream of pondering what sort of person needs validation from a stranger to brighten their day. I would just respect that is how they feel about the issue and I'm pretty sure if you scan over the posts you will find I disparaged NO ONE who said they enjoyed compliments.

You've actually managed to totally contradict yourself in two consecutive sentences...

g'em wrote: »
    You've actually managed to totally contradict yourself in two consecutive sentences...

No, I didn't. I'm responding to the mildly passive aggressive cast out line on self esteem issues.
    I'm done with this subject, life's too short, and tone impossible to regulate while typing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

the only time I've ever really complimented a stranger on their look is this one time when I was at a gig with my wife - she saw a girl who had a bag she really liked. When my wife went to the bathroom I went over to the girl and just said how pretty my wife thought her bag was, and asked her where she got it. Your woman was chuffed, my wife was chuffed when I bought her one. (10e from pennys, don't cannonise me just yet)

I will regularly however compliment people, men and women, when they do a good job - I'd make a point of ringing someones manager if they do well. How nice must it be for your manager to call you in to tell you that someone had rung in to rave about you?

might find out one day :(

life's too short

Bingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Respect runs two way,
    I am well aware that SOME women don't mind random compliments. I wouldn't dream of pondering what sort of person needs validation from a stranger to brighten their day.

Sorry but this is crazy. You've actually managed to put down anyone who doesn't mind being complimented. I don't 'need' to be complimented. I just see it as a bit of fun and I really wouldn't take any of it too seriously.

I have said before that I completely understand if another woman would feel intimidated or uncomfortable by it. And I have no problem with that.

When I was 19 or 20 I was walking down Grafton Street and a middle-aged man turned around to his son and said 'son, thats what a woman's legs should look like'. I was mortified. A friend reminded me about that recently and I was thinking fair play to that man. He had no intention of being sleezy, just wanted to make a young woman feel good about herself.

15 years later .....I would be delighted if that happened to me tomorrow. I would laugh it off and say thank you.

But I am a different person now than I was then. I'm comfortable with myself and how I look. I was extremely self-concious when I was younger.

That's my experience so thats where I'm coming from. If you feel I've taken you up wrong in any way, I apologise.

The bottom line, for me, is compliments are fun. And if you stand out so much to a stranger from the crowd, that he feels impulsed to comment, that is fantastic! (All my opinion and experience of course) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Robroyman.

Thanks Dolliemix I think you have hit my "curiousity" on the head with that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I have said before that I completely understand if another woman would feel intimidated or uncomfortable by it. And I have no problem with that.

but not every woman that doesn't like it would feel intimidated or uncomfortable. I've gotten good complements but it would be very difficult for one to be good it would have to be casual and obvious that the guy wasn't chatting me up, as well as not being sleazy.

I would get annoyed when someone disturbs my time to myself(probably wouldn't even hear them anyway I really do go into a world of my own)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Context, the way it's said etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

using your own logic, it only takes one moronic offensive sleazy "compliment" to put the recipient off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Due to my job I wear a sharp, well tailored suit on most days. Finished with a crisp baby blue charvet pinned with a set of origami wing cufflinks by Odyssey, a lilac flecked thomas pink tie and a pair of black loafers by Kurt Geiger. This has led to many a compliment from impressionable female admin staff. I won't lie, it's a nice little perk up.

• as a woman i prefer compilments from other woman they are rare and therefore more real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Wow, this happened twice??

Seriously ladies - can you really not take a genuine compliment from a guy if you don't know him? Or from a guy at all?

This is the exact attitude that has so many Irish men think you Irish women are a pack of oul gits, and pretty much completely unapproachable. (I'm not one, I do have an Irish girlfriend)

I can understand if its something sleezy alright, I know guys that are sort of sleazy in that way, and felt like slapping one or two myself.

But lets say I walked up to you and said "Excuse me, this may be a bit strange, but I just wanted to tell you I think you look stunning in that dress" or something along those lines.

Would that be out of order?

If so, there really is no hope for us Irish men with a lot of you Irish women!

Some of you need to lighten up, and take the compliment for what it is. Could you not just be even a little bit happy that someone, completely random, thinks you look good.

I never said that I was rude to him. He said it while walking past me and didn't stop and I just gave him a big smile. Later on I hoped to myself it wasn't sarcasm! Don't assume that I'm a 'typical' Irish woman who scowled at him or something. You added that bit of the story in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I got "Hi Barbie" from a guy the other day. Not sure if that was good or bad! I have no issue with it, as long as it's not talking about actually having sex with them. There will come a day when it will stop so I should be happy it's coming my way! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭xxchloexx

im quite big chested so i often get "nice boobs" dont really no how to take it i just laugh it off , would prefare if they didn't shout it half way across the street though , i also got "hole on you" the other day by a group of teenagers that was a bit embarrassing to say the least considering i was with my 5 year old sister who wanted to know what it ment :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Yes

'Nice Arse' is a sleezy thing to say no matter what you look like
    Yip it sure is. As it nice tits etc.

But lets say I walked up to you and said "Excuse me, this may be a bit strange, but I just wanted to tell you I think you look stunning in that dress" or something along those lines.
    Now that sounds like a lovely genuine non sleazy comment. In fact even though its not even directed at anyone in particular, it made me smile, and thats good going considering the shítty heartbreaking evening that I had.