Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OXEGEN

• Registered Users Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

of all places to get rat-arsed drunk OXEGEN isn't it.you're paying a lot of F*cking money to seee the bands, do so

I went last year and: hurt my back carrying a girl on my shoulders for an entire gig[my way of "picking up" women :pac:],almost had my [very small] stock of booze nicked out of my tent by some cute girls,got my tent p*ssed on while I was in it and could have gotten stabbed.

What I learned: sandwiches you bring from home will never taste quite as amazing until you've been starving in the pit for 5 hours,women are the cause of all problems,drunk F*cktards are a waste of tentspace.Live bands and live bands at oxegen are two different things.
    AWESOME WEEKEND, this year is pretty good but no one I really want to see,Jayz and prodigy spring to mind.

Just putting it here;from last year, pendulum were possibly the best gig to be at,the crowd were amazing.If pendulum and the prodigy are at the same place ever I will go and die happy.

go and see bands you aren't too sure about[white lies <3] and check out every stage at least once[concerto for constantine<3].

PRO TIP:be in the pit for "lose yourself" when eminem is on stage,same goes for Biffy Clyro-mountain they will be epic

• Registered Users Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Oxegen isn't fun. I've never been because of how unfun it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭wayhey

Oxegen is great- but you need a big group of decent friends, i.e. ones that won't start fights, get locked really fast and fall asleep all day. It's amazing though. I've gone for 2 years, live close to it but still gone 4 day camping. TBH I don't think you can properly judge it not camping. Yeah, you'll have fun- but it just doesn't compare to playing Twister at half 3 in the morning and doing shots with your completely random but sound new neighbours.

Cheesefiend's tips are all great. For the love of God stay away from the bottom of hills (in case it rans, drunks fall, etc.), the portaloos and the 24hr funfair. Unfortunately everyone that's new to Oxegen wants to camp there... but I think it's hell on Earth near there. Have all your drink in plastic bottles tis easier, not glass, amount of people downing stuff realising that going in... and then seeing the table where they bottle it for you :rolleyes:

Yeah, there's loads of scumbags at Oxegen but the sheer amount of funny, decent, legendary people I met was unreal. My tent was destroyed one year, but who brings valuable stuff to Oxegen anyway? Get a little community going and 'tis great. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭cheesefiend

Oh forgot, pick up all the empty plastic bottles you see and return them, you get two euro for every cup (I think that's it anyway)! It's brilliant if you're running low on funds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Oh forgot, pick up all the empty plastic bottles you see and return them, you get two euro for every cup (I think that's it anyway)! It's brilliant if you're running low on funds!

Nevermind a Summer job, I'm going to Oxegen! :p

Well some people actually do that! My friend told me that her uncle goes to oxegen but spends all his time collecting the cups and making loads of cash.

*She may be over exaggerating slightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Banjo Fella

Oxegen's great craic if you enjoy listening to lots of music while getting jostled about by drunkards and living with a constant, nagging fear of being pounced upon by the sort of person who keeps a hunting knife strapped to their shin. Also, don't worry about bringing warm clothes for camping as it's likely your tent will be set ablaze. :p

Seriously though, it's fine provided you stick with your friends and don't let yourself become too incapacitated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Last year at Oxegen was amazing! If you're going just to get pissed and stay in the tent all day, don't bother, you can do that at home for free. Thats pretty much what all my friends did, they saw about 3 or 4 bands in total, so when I copped that they weren't interested in actually doing anything, I left with someone else to see what I had paid to see.

The live music there is AWESOME! The atmosphere is so different to any other concert I've been at. Its a rip off alright but if theres bands there you want to see and you make the most of the weekend you'll get over that :P

Don't leave anything valuable in the tent. Rent a locker (where you can charge your phone aswel instead of paying €5 every time you want a charge) or carry things with you. My sleeping bag and jacket got stolen out of my tent last year. Locking it could just draw attention to it so its hard to know what to do...just dont leave anything there that you cant afford to lose.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 328 ✭✭thefly

new shoes wrote: »
    ha im 25 and i reckon im too old!

snap we'd be like oap's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭lou91

phlegms wrote: »
    I have honestly never got the appeal of Oxegen, can genuinely think of few things in life I would want to do less. Really struggling to see the appeal.

+1.
    Getting walked/spat on and possibly set on fire. Bad times.
    Also I'd probably KO on 4 cans after a half hour, so I can't see it not being a waste of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭new shoes

ha what a waffle!!!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭cork*girl

Im kinda dreading it.. I was there last year for a day and it ws grand but Im camping for 4 days this year... hopefully it will be ok!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

how much is it for the different rides in the carnival in blue camp, especially the bungee??

boards meet up ftw! see ye at oxegen :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I had a mad laugh last year there. I couldn't drink cos I was on antibiotics for the weekend, but on the upside, I remember everything! :)

But this year, I don't know why anybody would choose Oxegen over Picnic. I mean, at Picnic, you have The National, LCD Soundsystem, Eels, Roxy Music, The Frames, Imelda May, Cathy Davey, Modest Mouse, Jonsi, Crystal Castles, Phil Selway (Radiohead drummer!!!), and most importantly, The Tallest Man on Earth. The Oxegen line-up is only grand, I think.

I'm pretty sure that weekend was created just for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Yeah I wasn't mad about the Picnic lineup when it first came out but the more I look at it, the better it looks. Got my EP ticket a couple of weeks ago anyway; it will be my first ever music festival. w00t! \0/

Fever Ray is the one act I absolutely HAVE to see. Also really looking forward to Masssive Attack (who I've already seen live and were brilliant), Cathy Davey, Imelda May, Jonsi, The National and The Horrors. And checking out all the other stuff too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Unluckyjeje

Yeah it is sooo much fun if you go with a group of people, all my mates are going this year unfortunetly i can't afford it ! But yeah defo fun once you don't forget all the essentials toilet paper, baby wipes, money, food haha :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Oxegen- full of easi singles...haha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Been to oxegen 3 times, worked once, once for the day and camped last year. Make sure you have sturdy tents is all I'm going to say, out of 3 tents, by Saturday, we had 1 because of the wind and rain. Happened to a huge amount of people, we slept in my car, but most people had to sleep in one of the halls in binbags.

Yeah there is knackers at oxegen, but there's going to be at any festival. I've never had any bad experiences at it.
    Off to pukkelpop this year for my first European festival, can't wait, including flights it's the same price as oxegen, €145 for weekend ticket and €100 for flights.
    If pendulum and the prodigy are at the same place ever I will go and die happy.

They're both playing pukkelpop this year :D
    I don't think it's as much as think, think it's a euro a cup, although I can't really remember. I made €15 off them last year.
    RHunce wrote: »
    how much is it for the different rides in the carnival in blue camp, especially the bungee??

They're all at least a tenner. Think the bungee is about €20, they're a complete rip off.

new shoes wrote: »
    ha what a waffle!!!!:p

Ha it sounds dodgey but there is definitely money to be made!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Ha it sounds dodgey but there is definitely money to be made!

As long as you don't lose the money you just made between the place and your tent >.>

• Registered Users Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

kateos2 wrote: »
    Yeah there is knackers at oxegen, but there's going to be at any festival. I've never had any bad experiences at it.
    Off to pukkelpop this year for my first European festival, can't wait, including flights it's the same price as oxegen, €145 for weekend ticket and €100 for flights.

They're both playing pukkelpop this year :D

See you there:D

Was so stoked about that as I love European festivals but folks just (like 30 mins ago) surprised me and my bro with 3day oxegen tickets and I wasn't bothered about going but now I can't wait :D Going to be awesome

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭ihavequestions

This may sound stupid but what do you mean by a cup ??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

You get the option of paying two euro, I think, extra for a pint, and they give you a re-usable cup. If you bring it back, you get the two euro, or whatever cost it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

When you buy a drink at the bar, what Oxegen do is they give you a plastic cup that costs 2 euro to discourage littering. You get the 2 euro back when you give it in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Fringe wrote: »
    When you buy a drink at the bar, what Oxegen do is they give you a plastic cup that costs 2 euro to discourage littering. You get the 2 euro back when you give it in.
    It was €3 at EP last year. It worked great, there was very little litter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

Jay P wrote: »

But this year, I don't know why anybody would choose Oxegen over Picnic. I mean, at Picnic, you have The National, LCD Soundsystem, Eels, Roxy Music, The Frames, Imelda May, Cathy Davey, Modest Mouse, Jonsi, Phil Selway (Radiohead drummer!!!), and most importantly, The Tallest Man on Earth. The Oxegen line-up is only grand, I think.

Plus The Fall, Caribou, The New Pornographers, Massive Attack, Hot Chip and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble... Such a line up.

Never been to either festival fwiw. Doubt that I'll ever go to Oxegen, whereas EP always has a few acts that arouse my attention. The only downer is that it's way too expensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭domrush

They hardly check ID do they? I'm 18 but my passport is being renewed and its the only proper ID i have. Will I be grand?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

domrush wrote: »
    They hardly check ID do they? I'm 18 but my passport is being renewed and its the only proper ID i have. Will I be grand?
    more than likely.I went when I was 17 and no one gave a damn about ID,even if you do get checked,come back in like 10 minutes and try again.It's OXEGEN it's a whole lot different from the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Was one of the ebst weekends of my life last eyar...cant wait for thursday bring it on :D

Litrally thrusday is like a giant party ^^

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭SquirrelFace

ITS AWESOME! everyone becomes your friend and you have the most random conversations with strangers about absolutely feck all!!
    "Are the Kangaroo burgers from australia??"
    " Don't talk to strangers, you'll get stabbed..*lifts shirt to reveal huuuge scar*"

And the bands are pretty epic. Muse and prodigy??Absolutely great when Ive seen them before at Oxegen...Black eyed peas and the like can take a hike in my opinion... Just beware of the overly drunk sweaty/hairy retards who refuse to wear shirts/are covered in mud when theyre jumping around/on you, give them a shove (hard). And bring toilet paper. Seriously.