Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 10/11 (mod warning in post #7124)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I don't think Torres is finished.
    I do think he's out of sorts and that is worrying.

I think you are backing your player which is the right thing to do.
    Torres may not admit it but i reckon he'll be worried about it.
    Any chance Chelsea might alter their formation to suit him better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

amiable wrote: »

Well the last few games the 4-4-2 with Ramires coming in off the right flank to allow Bos or Ivanovic to bomb on has worked and we have won games but the only formation Torres can play in with our current strikers is a 4-3-3.

If we go back to 4-3-3 we give Torres the best chance to get back to his best but we have to drop Drogba as he wont play wide left or right and be as effective. We tried 4-3-1-2 with Anelka in the hole and it worked against Sunderland but has failed since so I'd say Carlo is relucant to go back to it for the time being.

We got to rememebr the main thing for Chelsea at this stage of the season is to win games by any means and if players are dropped and we got to stick to formations we're players arent playing then so be it, the club is more important then egos.

During the summer I can see Drogba leaving, that would leave us with Kalou, Anelka, Torres, Sturridge, Kakuta. If this is the case I can see Carlo going back to 4-3-3 with Torres through the middle and any two of the above playing off him.

Short answer, for the time 4-4-2 is working as we are winning and thats all that matters, if it means Drogba/Anelka or Torres/Drogba or Torres/Anelka then they can take it in turns to sit it out, finishing as high as possible is the main aim nd we can sort the shape in the summer when we have time to muck about with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

We already have altered our formation for him!
    Theres a number of considerations with Torres, most of them already posted!
    1/ He was bought in January, many Jan signings dont do well as they have missed pre-season.
    2/At Liverpool, he was a big fish in a small pool (No offence!)
    At Chelsea he has Drogba and Anelka to compete with and/or find a way to play with. And to a lesser extent Kalou, plus the young strikers with something to prove such as Danny S when he returns from loan. (And SuperFrank who loves to get goals!)
    3/ At Liverpool he was one dimensional and indulged by Benitez as such. At Chelsea we expect our strikers to track back, tackle and defend. Look at Drogba, a more complete player on his day would be hard to find, so Torres will have to adapt his game, which he has time on side to do

On the positive side, he has created competition for places, and just the fact that we splashed the cash gave everyone a huge lift after all the "Roman wants out" nonsense.
    Carlo bought some of the famed AC Lab medical staff with him, so any injuries will be getting the very best attention.
    He is still a class player, and it wasnt so long ago, that he scored a peach of a goal against us.
    In the summer we will probably go out and buy a winger and other players that will "fit" more with him
    Carlo is a very clever manager, and has lots of experience of getting the best out of players, making Pirlo a playmaker for example and backing Dida.
    Carlo has also shown he isnt afraid to drop big players and change system (Eventually!)
    Even Drogba had a "slow start" when he joined in 2004, scoring only 10 goals I think in the league. When Sheva was bought, many thought he would be leaving but he went onto to match Kerry Dixon 30 plus goals etc but that wasnt untill 2006

So its early days yet, if we are still talking about him negatively this time NEXT season, then come and join the roasting, but at the moment, theres more plusses than minus's in my book.
    Look at Luis who gave a peno away and should have been red carded in his first two games, but he is still being hailed as a hero after 3 games!

So onwards and upwards for Chelsea, plenty to play for, and other teams are still going to worry when they see his name on the teamsheet.

flahavaj wrote: »
    I told you I'll straighten you out by hook or by crook.;)
    Good teach me how you think a team drawing a game is dropping 3 points:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

According to talksport we are in advanced negotiations with milan over pato.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

smuckers wrote: »
    According to talksport we are in advanced negotiations with milan over pato.

Would love to see it happen but it would cost big money too get him, I dont think Milan would be to keen to let him go.

Obaraten wrote: »
    Any link mate?

Wouldnt take it too seriously, and Pato hasnt done that well apparently

http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/chelsea-launch-bid-santos-star-pair-neymar-ganso-1496331

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

He's never impressed when I've watched him, but it would mean stability on the managerial front (IF thats what we're looking for!!).

BTW C'MON BARCELONA!!!!

He's never impressed when I've watched him, but it would mean stability on the managerial front (IF thats what we're looking for!!).

BTW C'MON BARCELONA!!!!

Haha, Do we want to play Barca or Arsenal?
    Arsenal we know we can beat despite the away blip.
    Barca would be.......interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Well, I for one want Arsenal, United, City and Spurs to be in Europe for as long as possible assuming it doesn't interfere with our progress, the busier they all are the better.

Also, I'd rather not come up against Barca later in the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

am I the only one who hums "Sargent Pepper..whats the worst that can happen.." every time I see Sgt Pepper's name?!

papagormo wrote: »
    am I the only one who hums "Sargent Pepper..whats the worst that can happen.." every time I see Sgt Pepper's name?!

That's ridiculous tbh

I humm Sargent Peppers lonely hearts club band :)

Essien wrote: »
    Well, I for one want Arsenal, United, City and Spurs to be in Europe for as long as possible assuming it doesn't interfere with our progress, the busier they all are the better.

You might get your wish now!

That's ridiculous tbh
    I humm Sargent Peppers lonely hearts club band :)

REVEALED!
    Thats where it comes from - plus when i was born! :eek:

(Not that hard to work out actually, where does your Nic come from Essien???!!!)

Ara we would take Barca no bother. Look at Arsenal down to 10 men and missing a key CB and still holding up.
    Its amazing how confident I am after 3 wins on the bounce!

REVEALED!
    Thats where it comes from - plus when i was born! :eek:

(Not that hard to work out actually, where does your Nic come from Essien???!!!)

Isn't it obvious? The British R&B star..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loick_Essien

You devious little so and so:D

Care to elaborate?

Just joking mate. Relax
    I think it was fairly self explanitary

Just joking mate. Relax

I was genuinely confused as to why that would be seen as devious, perfectly logical I would have thought.

I'm relaxed though, don't worry :cool:

I was genuinely confused as to why that would be seen as devious, perfectly logical I would have thought.

I'm sure you are. I'm not worried

I'm worried I'm not relaxed :eek:

Care to elaborate?

Just joking mate. Relax

I'm relaxed though, don't worry cool.gif

Chelsea Reserves versus Bolton link here Blues fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

I'm relaxed though, don't worry cool.gif
    Just joking mate. Relax
    Care to elaborate?
    I'm sure you are. I'm not worried

Just joking mate. Relax
    Care to elaborate?

What:confused::confused::eek:

Are ye two twins like jedward except one supports chelsea and the other liverpool. Is that whats going on here,

MUSEIST wrote: »
    What:confused::confused::eek:

Are ye two twins like jedward except one suppots chelsea and the other liverpool. Is that whats going on here,
    No not at all.
    This escalated from the paranoia of Essien thinking someone was attacking him.
    Couldn't see the joke right in front of his face
    Shame on anyone coming into the Chelsea thread and disagreeing with some Chelsea fans.
    Seems quite common lately:D

No not at all.
    Shame on anyone coming into the Chelsea thread and disagreeing with some Chelsea fans.

almost as common as liverpool fans in the chelsea thread, that seems to be popular these days:rolleyes:

No not at all.
    almost as common as liverpool fans in the chelsea thread, that seems to be popular these days:rolleyes:

I LOVE LAMPs

No not at all.

Ironic post is Ironic :pac:

By that you imply that Liverpool fans aren't allowed post in the Chelsea thread.
    Jog on. If you want a chelsea love in organise one.

By that you imply that Liverpool fans aren't allowed post in the Chelsea thread.
    Jog on. If you want a chelsea love in organise one.

ah no:rolleyes:
    By that I am implying that you seem more interested in talking about chelsea than pool. Jog on:p

ah no:rolleyes:
    By that I am implying that you seem more interested in talking about chelsea than pool. Jog on:p
    Funny though i have considerably more posts in the Liverpool thread.
    Get your facts straight.

Funny though i have considerably more posts in the Liverpool thread.
    Get your facts straight.

So we are your second favourite team then:D

Not at all. I post in the Arsenal, Man United, Spurs and Celtic threads.
    Chelsea thread seems to be the only one who takes exception to it.
    Your last few posts have been proved silly.

Good for you, your badge is in the post:pac:

< hillbilly accent >

We don't take kindly too strangers round these parts, ya hear?

Good to see Cech getting his 300th appearance the other night.

I wonder if he knows he's still only halfway to the Peter "The Cat" Bonetti's league record?
    (Later only beaten by some bloke called Alan Knight)

Apparently he retired and became a postman briefly!

Nobody in this thread has taken any exception to you or anyone else posting here.

Lets leave it there.

Anyway, Chelsea, we haven't a feckin' thing to do for the next week, shame its not a transfer window this place would be buzzing! :D
    Has anyone else thought about heading over to the next CL home game? I'm still up for it.

Good to see Cech getting his 300th appearance the other night.

Indeed fair play to him.
    I honestly think he has been one of (if not our only) most consistant player this season.

Nobody in this thread has taken any exception to you or anyone else posting here.

Lets leave it there.

Anyway, Chelsea, we haven't a feckin' thing to do for the next week, shame its not a transfer window this place would be buzzing! :D
    Has anyone else thought about heading over to the next CL home game? I'm still up for it.

Well I'll be up for it anyway, depending on the dates of our home leg.

What dates are the ties to be played on?

gavredking wrote: »
    Well I'll be up for it anyway, depending on the dates of our home leg.

What dates are the ties to be played on?

5th/6th & 12th/13th of April

Actually, with Shaktar beating Roma last night, and beating them well in the end, it has dawned on me about how many strong teams are left in the competition.

I know Shaktar and Barcelona are the only teams through at the moments and when ya look at the results from the other games its hard to call between whos going out or whos going to join the 2 above in the Quarter's (with the exception of us, I think we're going through quite easily)

Now, who would ye all like to see us face in the next round? Last night I was hoping for Shaktar but their home record, coupled with their natural attacking style will cause alot of teams problems IMO.

Im fairly confident we have the squad to win it this year and we have the game to beat all types of teams. I would have loved to seen us take a 2-1 lead to the Camp Nou and see how we would have faired against Bacrelona, I think we would have got at least a draw to get us through or better yet a clean sheet. I think we have the game to beat Barcelona over the two legs and if Im honest I'd rather play them now then to possibily meet in the final where its a once off game.

5th/6th & 12th/13th of April

I'd hope for the 5th anyway as im going to London for a WWE event ( I know, I know :o ) on the 17th in the o2 arena so hopefully I wont be to financially crippled. I know what I'd rather be going to anyway.

Watching Pato with interest, seeing as we are constantly linked with him.
    Not very impressed so far! Same with Robinho. Reckon we got a lucky escape there!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Lets leave it there.

Yep il be heading over too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

If funds allow it I'll head over lads!

Thought Pato did well tonight,bit of class about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

Presuming we take care of Copenhagen..Who do we want in the next round?

Part of me says Barca to be honest, If were going to win it we need to beat the best..why not have a go in the Qtrs...

I'd love a semi final with Spurs but I'm prob getting ahead of myself now.....