Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 10/11 (mod warning in post #7124)

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

Johner wrote: »
    Zhirkov was struggling with a knee injury last season and played 26 games. Hardly warming the bench.

Well if Ashley Cole wasn't injured for a considerable chunk of last season he wouldnt have got near 26 games, Not doubting his talent for a second, just think he shouldn't even be in competition with someone like ashley cole. He would be a first choice left back/left winger in any PL club except United or Chelsea.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

smuckers wrote: »
    But Zhirkov is not an LB, he's a winger.

But he's been used as a left back mostly. Tbh I hope ye use him as a left winger more cos he is a class act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

according to here, ashley wants out.
    hope all the stops are pulled out to keep him personally.
    the oul Jose is looking to offload Kaka, according to here..hmm, im sure there would be a massive wage and price tag attached so i cant really see it happening, unless himself mentioned above is used in the agreement.
    buy in young Cunningham from man city i say, watched the game there last night, he looked promising.

finally, oezil..lets chase him up.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Hilario
    Paulo Ferreira
    Jeffrey Bruma
    John Terry
    Ashley Cole
    Yossi Benayoun
    John Mikel Obi
    Yury Zhirkov
    Salomon Kalou
    Nicolas Anelka
    Florent Malouda

Subs
    Ross Turnbull
    Sam Walker
    Branislav Ivanovic
    Michael Mancienne
    Ricardo Carvalho
    Patrick van Aanholt
    Nemanja Matic
    Michael Essien
    Frank Lampard :D
    Josh McEachran
    Scott Sinclair
    Fabio Borini

1-0 Frankfrurt, mistake from Hilario and Terry

jaysus, bar having Hilarious in goal, thats actually a daycent enough starting line up.
    tis a great day when you can have Lamps and Essien on the bench!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

I know its only pre-season but chelsea truely are shocking so far! And with only 2 more games left till the season starts proper, i really hope its a case of the players are taking it easy and bedding themselves in!

Awful so far. One thing the youths being dominated by Ajax, but this is a whole lot worse. Looks like the start of the season could be coming too soon for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

whats the story with Terry becoming increasingly prone to mistakes?

1-1 Lampard, cracking play from Van Aanholt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    whats the story with Terry becoming increasingly prone to mistakes?

bizarre comment- expressing an opinion as a question?

Yet another mistake!!!! 2-1, silly penalty to give away

2-1 Franfurt. Altintop with a penalty after Matic fouled in the box.

Ah lads pre-season friendly or not, these silly mistakes need to stop, how many times is hillario going to make a fúck up????

Have to say even though he can't kick a ball I'd have him in front of Turnbull. Mancienne and Van Aanholt were decent. Mancienne has to be ahead of Ferriera at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

a few good touches from yossi in first hlaf, Zhirkov was very quiet though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Good news that Cech could be fit for next week. We really need him back by the looks of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

would have put money on Hilarious being gone in the summer. Why he is still there is a worry. Not many big signings either (what happened on the Aguerro, Swinetieger rumours?).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Fiskar wrote: »
    would have put money on Hilarious being gone in the summer. Why he is still there is a worry.

Turnbull has been as bad if not worse in the preseasons so we would need to find a good replacement first.

Not many big signings either (what happened on the Aguerro, Swinetieger rumours?).

They were rumours. Though I really thought Aguero would join Chelsea.

Also, not any big signings, unless you count Yossi, which has been virtually our only signing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

would have put money on Hilarious being gone in the summer. Why he is still there is a worry. Not many big signings either (what happened on the Aguerro, Swinetieger rumours?).

Ye were always fooling yeerselves if ye thought ye were gonna get that calibre of player in tbh.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Ye were always fooling yeerselves if ye thought ye were gonna get that calibre of player in tbh.

Why? Premier league Champions, or are you here to try and get a bite AGAIN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Why don't you leave the Liverpool/ man utd forum for a while and head over to the spelling forum for some lessons!!

Then come back please

Why? Premier league Champions, or are you here to try and get a bite AGAIN?

Ye don't spend that kind of money any more for a start, Premier LEague Champions or not.

And the Aguero rumours amounted to nothing more than a few of ye getting over excited by some tenuous reports of him aparently being interested in signing for ye.

Not looking for a bite at all, just rather amused at yeer over excitability. Its Banayoun and maybe another body in midfield, (Ramires if yeer very lucky) for Chelsea this Summer. Thoughts of Aguero or Torres are for the fairies tbh, time to face facts.

Why don't you leave the Liverpool/ man utd forum for a while and head over to the spelling forum for some lessons!!

Then come back please

LOL grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Then come back please
    That's not on.
    Ye don't spend that kind of money any more for a start, Premier LEague Champions or not.

And the Aguero rumours amounted to nothing more than a few of ye getting over excited by some tenuous reports of him aparently being interested in signing for ye.

Not looking for a bite at all, just rather amused at yeer over excitability. Its Banayoun and maybe another body in midfield, (Ramires if yeer very lucky) for Chelsea this Summer. Thoughts of Aguero or Torres are for the fairies tbh, time to face facts.
    All true, some of us did get over excited and only have ourselves to blame for that.
    LOL grow up.
    Listen to the man.

On Terry, seriously whats up with the lad? He has become very fúck up prone. Hilarious still wearing a Chelsea shirt is totally mind boggling :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

LOL grow up.

Grow up ??? why , cos he asks you to write in a way we can understand you ????

I barely can understand the crap you write , what the f*ck is "yeer" ???

the_monkey wrote: »
    Grow up ??? why , cos he asks you to write in a way we can understand you ????

I barely can understand the crap you write , what the f*ck is "yeer" ???

Because he responded to a perfectly legitimate point with a childish jibe about spelling.

Anyway shouldn't you be pretending to hate the team you support to get a rise, instead of having a pop at me? Or have you a different gimmick for the new season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

when both Torres and Aguero line out for Chelsea come the first day of the season you'l be eating those words LOL!!

im very excitable!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

We've agreed terms with Benfica over Ramires if reports are to be believed. Somewhere in the region of €22 million.

Lukker- wrote: »
    We've agreed terms with Benfica over Ramires if reports are to be believed. Somewhere in the region of €22 million.

this pleases me.:D
    didnt get to see the game, can someone give me a quick run down on who played well/terrible?

Hilario - Liability. Can't kick the ball but yet made some impressive stops. Still has to be ahead of Turnbull. but the sooner Cech is back the better.

Ferriera - Great guy and all that, heard fantastic things about him and the stuff he does around the club but should only play as a last resort. Was constantly giving the ball away and letting his man run past him.

Bruma - Slotted in extremely well. Looked much more assured with some experience around him. Looked the most assured of the CB in the first half.

Terry - Looked the rustiest of all the players coming back, Indecision and poor communication with Hilario cost us the first goal. Could be a tough season again for JT.

Cole - Didn't look sharp. Got caught out at the back a few times and didn't get forward to great effect.

Mikel - Did all right defensively but a midfield with an odd formation and a back line playing very high up didn't help him. Will certainly be starting in DM next week.

Zhirkov - Very quiet game where he was more in the centre than on the wing. Made a few decent covering runs to bail out Cole but offered little or nothing going forward.

Benayoun - Quiet game, lost possession a fair bit, lacked sharpness after injury but did have a few nice touched on the ball. Will have to improve a lot to get Chelsea fans behind him. One nice lay off for Kalou.

Kalou - Lost the ball countless times. Didn't show the form of late last season. Some poor decision on the ball and wayward shooting.

Malouda - Probably most threatening player in the first half, but that's not saying much. Almost on the end of a great ball from Mikel but ducked out of a challenge with the GK, and rightly so.

Anelka - Wasn't in the game at all. Should have cut the ball back to Yuri int the first half but instead played it across the goal.

Mancienne - Fairly impressive. His loans spells looked to have done him good. Strong in the challenge, pacy and played in some great crosses. One sloppy back pass but promising all the same.

Carvalho - Saved us a goal by blocking a shot to an empty net. Much more solid pairing than we had in the first half. Pity he's probably on his way out.

Ivanovic - Solid as a rock

Van Aanholt - Best player on the pitch, solid at the back and made some great runs, set up Lampards goal. Also put in a few decent crosses.

Essien - Really coming back to form. Some great passes and a few shots. Controlled the game well.

Matic - Some decent passes and tackles but gave away the penalty and still shows some poor decision making which can leave gaps in the middle

Lampard - Got the goal and made some decent runs but gave the ball away a few times. Will be back to his best soon enough.

Sinclair - Started brightly with some good runs and link up play with PVA but faded quickly. Last chance saloon

McEachan - One great ball to Borini and little else of note. So far from 1st team football.

Borini - Had great chance when he should have squared it to Sinclair but took the shot on. Never looked like he was going to score. No where near clinical enough. Showed great off the ball running and positioning. Pointless playing him lone striker as he is so small and has a hard time holding the ball up.

cheers for the analysis Gonzo, good read.
    by the sounds of it, the positives to be taken are that Bruma, Mancienne, Van Aanholt should hopefully be really pushing for 1st team football, and we will have solid cover should any injuries occur during the season.
    also great to hear Essien is returning to full form/fitness, it will be like a new signing. Worrying to hear Anelka was off pace. hes going to have to be well at the races in case Drogba is out for longer than expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭The Davestator

papagormo wrote: »
    cheers for the analysis Gonzo, good read.
    by the sounds of it, the positives to be taken are that Bruma, Mancienne, Van Aanholt should hopefully be really pushing for 1st team football, and we will have solid cover should any injuries occur during the season.
    also great to hear Essien is returning to full form/fitness, it will be like a new signing. Worrying to hear Anelka was off pace. hes going to have to be well at the races in case Drogba is out for longer than expected.

Oul Anekla is a strange fish - he always plays great when Drogba is injured, then gets stuck out on the wing when he's back and plays ****e!
    Hopefully he wont have suffered too much mentality from his world cup adventure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Quote from todays UK independent,

Chelsea
    Key signings: Yossi
    Benayoun, Matej Delac.
    In the pipeline: Ramires, Mesut Özil.
    What they need: Exciting youngsters.

Like the thoughts on Özil :D

Hmmmm.. Ramires didnt play against Villa last night and with us signing him seemingly becoming more apparent.. maybe this is to ensure he doesnt pick up any last minute injuries :) David Luiz however.. did play.

Really good signing. Not a bad price either, considering United paid £18 million for Anderson..

Bloody hell , that 1st goal was absolutely SHOCKING ... worse then
    England in the WC .

We're looking at relegation if we play like that next season ffs...

Hahaha.. monkey, give it a rest for Christ' sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

what position does Ramires play??

I thought he was a DM but from different sports pages they're calling him a right sided midfielder and on another a striker??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

England in the WC .

SERIOUS!!!!

What are you on sometimes?? At first I thought it was a funny joke, "oh look at the pesimistic poster, making some crazy predictions "

Relegation?? How do you even think that would happen, if we lose all our 1st team in some plane crash or sell them all off we are not gooing to get relegated on some pre-season result when players are still coming back from holidays and only picking up the tempo of the professional game.

Next you wil be telling us if Man Utd beat us in the Community Shield that they will win the league with 38 wins from 38 scoring 1,000 goals and that Chelsea will be playing in the Blue square Premier League.

Seriously, get a grip.

On a side note, hopefully the Ramieres deal is sorted soon. Get him in the squad and used to the Chelsea system in time for the big kick off.
    LanceStorm wrote: »
    what position does Ramires play??

I thought he was a DM but from different sports pages they're calling him a right sided midfielder and on another a striker??

I always thought he was regarded as a CM who could play anywhere in midfield if he had to. Bit like Essien.

England in the WC .

Gimmick is gone stale by now tbh. Re-invent yourself or risk becoming a SOTS-level parody of yourself.

On the Ramires deal,

Notable points:
    - Will earn 2million euros per season (roughly 40000 per week)
    - Deal in the process of being finalized
    - Once complete Benfica will notify the CMVM (Portuguese Securities Market Commission)
    - Player has a slight ankle knock

On the Ramires deal,

Notable points:
    - Will earn 2million euros per season (roughly 40000 per week)
    - Deal in the process of being finalized
    - Once complete Benfica will notify the CMVM (Portuguese Securities Market Commission)
    - Player has a slight ankle knock

Class signing for ye lads, I think he'll be a serious player. Good all round midfielder and kinda like a young Essien. Gives ye the option of playiong on the right of a diamond, would do well in a midfield three with Essien/Lampard or even beside Essien in a 4-4-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Class signing for ye lads, I think he'll be a serious player. Good all round midfielder and kinda like a young Essien. Gives ye the option of playiong on the right of a diamond, would do well in a midfield three with Essien/Lampard or even beside Essien in a 4-4-2.

Right of the diamond FTW, it's the only place we were consistantly lacking in last season. Using a flat 442 would not only hinder the full backs but its not a formation we/Ancelotti tend to use.

This is more than likely going to be our last signing. Really hoping Essien stays fit this season, he has been by far our best player in pre season and it's really good to see him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

He's not like Essien all that much. Don't know where all these comparisons are from.

This is more than likely going to be our last signing. Really hoping Essien stays fit this season, he has been by far our best player in pre season and it's really good to see him back.

Well with the impending departure of Deco, I still think that we are in the market for another AM/Striker with Oezil and Aguero both realistic targets. We are going to rely on youth more this season and that will probably involve another young signing.