Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 10/11 (mod warning in post #7124)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Dont Feck it up now Chelsea!

From the BBC

642: At long last, I can give you an update on Fernando Torres' switch to Chelsea. Well, an explanation on why it hasn't progressed for the last few hours. BBC Sport understands that the delay with the deal is down to a hitch in negotiations about the mechanics of his Stamford Bridge contract, concerning image rights etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

the new 'Trial" chat page on Chelsea Chat is bloody brutal !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

yeah I'm not too gone on it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

CHELSEA BECOMES CASH POSITIVE
    Posted on: Mon 31 Jan 2011

Chelsea FC plc becomes cash positive as it prepares for UEFA financial fair play rules

Chelsea FC plc today announced that results for the financial year end June 30, 2010 show the group had become cash positive for the first time since its acquisition by Roman Abramovich. The club had a positive cash inflow of £3.8m in the year compared to a net outflow of £16.9m in the previous year.The club believes it is now well positioned to meet UEFA's financial fair play rules.

In addition, the group had a reduced operating loss of £68.6m on an improved group turnover of £205.8m. The operating loss was £3.6m better than the previous year. The total loss for the financial year was £70.9m.Amortisation of player transfer fees constitutes the largest component of the difference between the positive cash flow and the operating loss.

Group turnover has increased by £2.5m despite the economic situation and reflects the strength of the team, and the attractiveness of the FA Premier League allied with the continued allegiance of our fans and commercial partners.

The main figures were:

- Group turnover was up from £203.3m to £205.8m

- Operating Loss for the financial year reduced from £72.3m to £68.6m

- Net capital expenditure reduced from £4.2m to (£15.5m) due to player sales

- Cash inflow of £3.8m against an outflow of £16.9m in 2008/09.

Chief executive Ron Gourlay said: 'The reduction in operating losses and increased sales in 2009/10 shows that we are moving in the right direction especially when viewed against the difficult macroeconomic environment.

'The club is in a strong position to meet the challenges of UEFA 'financial fair play' initiatives which will be relevant to the financial statements to be released in early 2013.'

Chairman Bruce Buck added: 'That the club was cash generative in the year when we recorded a historic FAPL and FA Cup double is a great encouragement and demonstrates significant progress as regards our financial results.'

Lol :D

Johner wrote: »
    CHELSEA BECOMES CASH POSITIVE
    Posted on: Mon 31 Jan 2011

Chelsea FC plc becomes cash positive as it prepares for UEFA financial fair play rules

Chelsea FC plc today announced that results for the financial year end June 30, 2010 show the group had become cash positive for the first time since its acquisition by Roman Abramovich. The club had a positive cash inflow of £3.8m in the year compared to a net outflow of £16.9m in the previous year.The club believes it is now well positioned to meet UEFA's financial fair play rules.

In addition, the group had a reduced operating loss of £68.6m on an improved group turnover of £205.8m. The operating loss was £3.6m better than the previous year. The total loss for the financial year was £70.9m.Amortisation of player transfer fees constitutes the largest component of the difference between the positive cash flow and the operating loss.

Group turnover has increased by £2.5m despite the economic situation and reflects the strength of the team, and the attractiveness of the FA Premier League allied with the continued allegiance of our fans and commercial partners.

The main figures were:

- Group turnover was up from £203.3m to £205.8m

- Operating Loss for the financial year reduced from £72.3m to £68.6m

- Net capital expenditure reduced from £4.2m to (£15.5m) due to player sales

- Cash inflow of £3.8m against an outflow of £16.9m in 2008/09.

Chief executive Ron Gourlay said: 'The reduction in operating losses and increased sales in 2009/10 shows that we are moving in the right direction especially when viewed against the difficult macroeconomic environment.

'The club is in a strong position to meet the challenges of UEFA 'financial fair play' initiatives which will be relevant to the financial statements to be released in early 2013.'

Chairman Bruce Buck added: 'That the club was cash generative in the year when we recorded a historic FAPL and FA Cup double is a great encouragement and demonstrates significant progress as regards our financial results.'

Lol :D

What, we MADE a profit?!!! Soon to be a negative again I hope

Amazing what happens when Ballack, Deco, Belletti, and Cole (am I missing someone?) get taken off the books!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

What, we MADE a profit?!!! Soon to be a negative again I hope
    No you lost £68.6m but they are putting a spin on it

All I hear is the word "positive" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

All I hear is the word "positive" :D
    Deluded?

amiable wrote: »
    Deluded?

Sush you, its transfer deadline day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

"His armband said he was a red... Torres, Torres.

But now he plays in front of The Shed... Torres, Torres.

Won nothing with the scouse...

but now he's turned his life around,

Fernando Torres... Chelsea number 9."

The Editor:
    Sky Sports' Guillem Balague says on Twitter that the deal to take Fernando Torres to Chelsea is done pending his medical. The fee is reported to be £50million.

chelseayouth Chelsea Youth
    ... RT @DuncanCastles: Word from Lisbon is that #Benfica have agreed to sell David Luiz to Chelsea. Not confirmed by #CFC yet. Details l8r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Johner wrote: »
    ... RT @DuncanCastles: Word from Lisbon is that #Benfica have agreed to sell David Luiz to Chelsea. Not confirmed by #CFC yet. Details l8r

Ah lads, Torres and Luiz on the same day?:D We'll hardly be that lucky!?

The Editor:
    Reports emerging from Portugal that Chelsea's move for David Luiz could be back on: A Portuguese football website says Benfica have accepted the Blues' £25million offer for the defender. More on this story as we get it. Follow me on Twitter - @skysportsed

portugoaldotnet PortuGOAL.net
    by OliverKayTimes
    Breaking news: Benfica accept Chelsea offer for David Luiz! £25m (20m up front) + Matic

YES!!

A Bola - perhaps the most reliable source in Portugual - confirm David Luiz deal is done - http://bit.ly/ghOOTJ

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Feckin hell..........still not getting my hopes up

The Monkey will bananas if this all comes off! :eek:

who wont be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

david luiz :D according to sky sports

skysports_bryan:
    Transfer latest - will David Luiz get here in time to complete #cfc deal? we're told fee agreed with Benfica worth in excess of ₤21m #ssn [via Twitter]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The Luiz deal is the one ye really need to happen. Good player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

luiz deal agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

Abramovich you LEGEND! :)

flahavaj wrote: »

Yeah I'm much happier about Luiz in a way!

flahavaj wrote: »

You can sing that. Torres will be a fantastic addition but I think we've all been apprehensive about it to some degree. Luiz is the player we need and therefore want more, thats just imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Torres and Luiz?? What a transfer window this could be.

Please just give us Luiz, Torres would be a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

No comment until its signed sealed and in the post.

hopefully these signing rejuvenates the team towards the form shown at the beginning of the season.
    But whos going to be benched should Nando lando?
    Try and pick a line up now lads, jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

If these deals go through, I cant thank Roman enough.

Just over 4 hours until the window closes, we are cutting this tight but lets hope.

papagormo wrote: »
    hopefully these signing rejuvenates the team towards the form shown at the beginning of the season.
    But whos going to be benched should Nando lando?
    Try and pick a line up now lads, jaysus!

Reckon Kalou will start banging them in now, just to be awkward!
    Must admit, I was amazed at how he took his Everton goal.. it was oh, chance, oh no its Kalou, Oh feck its actually in!

21m upfront for Luiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Pending any last minute hiccups, well done Roman, maybe an attacking midfielder too :)

We have a big game tomorrow guys

You have to laugh though, We are saying "oh no, not Torres, he's not worth the fee" and the 'Pool are saying the same thing about Carroll!

Still, I fancy their 2 new arrivals in a fight over our two!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

21m upfront for Luiz

From the BBC Website.

1850: I can tell you now that David Luiz-Chelsea deal is definitely ON, we can confirm, for £21m - £17-£18m up front. The Blues's search for a centre-half looks to be over...

I'm just gonna sit here looking at the official CFC site clicking F5 for the next few hours, l8rz!:pac:

I'm glad Nic isn't part of the deal, a valuable member of this squad

LOL @ Ess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

The Roman Empire has been rebuilt!

****ing Delighted today really chuffed. Good to see Danny getting some regular games as well at Bolton.

Gonna back us for the league now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

21m upfront for Luiz

Telegraph
    18.54 From Jason Burt: "David Luiz now desperately trying to fly from Portugal to London in time to sign for Chelsea..."

Fiskar wrote: »
    Telegraph
    18.54 From Jason Burt: "David Luiz now desperately trying to fly from Portugal to London in time to sign for Chelsea..."

Roman, tell the driver to fire up the private jet, and have the yacht on standby just in case. Put rockets on the side of it just in case.

Hopefully he has started doing his medical on the plane

Matic included in the Luiz deal. Pity but worth the sacrifice.

If we make a third signing it will be an english player as we have the full quota, thats unless someone is leaving

acc to a chatter on CFC website we're in negotiations for a third player, a midfielder. Either Mccarthy or Leon IMO

Hopefully he has started doing his medical on the plane

don't forget, some deals have gone thru after

Bruma to West Brom on loan.