Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 10/11 (mod warning in post #7124)

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

the_monkey wrote: »
    Why aren't we playing this weekend ?

Because Birmingham are in the Carling Cup Final..We'll play them in April instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Blackpool away ticket arrived, glad they will be without Charlie Adam for that game anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

ah ok, same reason Arsenal are playing tonight then too ....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

ah ok, same reason Arsenal are playing tonight then too ....
    No i think arsenal were due to play spurs this weekend, pardon the pun

Games this weekend were meant to be us V Birmingham and Spurs V Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Happy enough, more time for Torres, Luiz and Co to get to know one another, new tactics etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

:confused::eek:, still better than "Back on the ball"!!

Chelsea TV, where ever you want it.

And here, to compare and contrast, the musical stylings of 1984

I'd love to smash his annoying face in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

dooferoaks wrote: »
    Incidentally, although I am in a minority of one, I think Claudio would have won us the league the season Jose took over anyway. Hes still a legend to me for getting us 4th place without spending a penny in 02/03 and looking on wikipedia we apparently had second best defense in league that year.

Claudio, IMO, was a seriously underrated manager. We came second in the league under him the year he got fired, this with Arsenal conquering all before them and constant questions about when (not if) he'd be sacked to undermine him. And his performance before Chelsea had money to burn was superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

RANIERI is a brilliant coach but can only take a team so far. good article on goal.com about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

gavredking wrote: »
    Torres was good, goals will come, the main thing is he doesnt look to be frustrated even though he really is trying to score and was unlucky with his left leg effort that he couldnt get it away from the keeper.

Even better news last night was Spurs losing, having watched the game I cant see how they didnt put away at least 3 good chances through out the game.
    Torres' attitude is good. That bodes very, very well. If he beds down and scores regularly, that's Drogba confirmed down the pecking order. That will be a big change in the Chelsea dressing room which, it has to be said, is overdue.

Spurs going down was an unexpected bonus. A result against MU will be really confidence-boosting, not to mention a win!!! ;)

RETURNED MANCHESTER UNITED TICKETS
    Posted on: Wed 23 Feb 2011
    Some tickets have been returned for the Manchester United home game which takes place next Tuesday 1 March.

These tickets will go on sale to members who have not already purchased a seat for the match tomorrow (Thursday).

They will go on sale from 7am online only, one ticket available per person.

dooferoaks wrote: »

:confused::eek:, still better than "Back on the ball"!!

Chelsea TV, where ever you want it.

And here, to compare and contrast, the musical stylings of 1984

That is so f**king bad!!!, i was sure it was a pistake untill i saw the players...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Think he will ever come home?

Soby wrote: »
    Think he will ever come home?

Dont want him!

Dull, boring football, all the drama etc.

Carlo is the man. I was having my doubts, but recently he has shown he CAN change tactics, does have a plan B, and isnt afraid to drop big players. And he just gets on with it without moaning. Mourinho would have been off the minute Ray got sacked or had to shoehorn in Torres

Its like asking should I remarry my ex-wife after a bitter divorce and giving her a big wad of cash?

He's always hanging around chelsea, either watching games or texting players, why? Does he need to feel loved THAT much?

Just remember the good times and leave it all in the past :D
    Thanks for the memories Jose (And all the trophys)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Sgt_pepper64, I couldn't disagree more

Dull, defensive football + Winning >>>>>>> Flamboyant, attacking football + Not Winning. imo

Also, who needs a plan B when plan A works game after game with ruthless efficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Cant believe that somebody would not want jose back! The man has not been defeated at home for 9 years! I'd hop on a manager with that record!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I'm amazed a Chelsea fan wouldn't take him back
    Leaves a big question mark IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Sorry Sgt Pepper I got to disagree with ya there, I'd have Jose back in an instant. Hes been the best manager of the last 10 years, his recorrd speaks for itself.

2 league titles with Porto, Us and Inter
    a UEFA cup, 2 Champions League

2 trebles.
    Inter ( League, Cup, CL)
    Porto (League, Cup, Uefa Cup)

His record is second to none and hes still under 50, this man has another decade or decade anfd half at the top and hes going to win more with R.Madrid.

I hope he comes back one day for a few seasons as i think not inning the CL with us is a personal blot in his career that he wants to fix.

Carlo is a great manager but if Jose said he would come back tomorrow I'd take him over Carlo in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭bullpost

Funnily enough I'd mostly agree with Sgt Pepper. Long time supporter here (from early seventies) so not sure if thats a factor - when I started to support us we were a flamboyant , exciting club.

I really appreciate the success Jose brought us, but at the time he left felt that he hadn't fully delivered given the resources he had at this disposal. My chief gripe was that for the amount of money spent , besides delivering success, he should have delivered a more entertaining brand of football and brought the sport onto the next level, much the way Barcelona have done. I also felt that some of his antics left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth.
    However I now feel that his time was compromised by boardroom interference and he never got a chance to fully deliver his vision. I now believe that had he been given the freedom to develop and not got embroiled in politics with RA, that eventually we would have come close to a brand of football, more powerful than that played by Barca, but entertaining nonetheless.

I'm not doubting Jose's ability to win things.
    But if I had a choice of watching a Carlo team or a Jose team, I would pick Carlo's everytime.
    With Jose, you scored one goal and that was it. With Carlo, the players were encouraged to get more. Ok, sometimes it left you exposed, but that was how we broke the scoring record last year and STILL won the double!

Which is exactly what Roman was looking for, exciting AND winning football.

amiable wrote: »
    I'm amazed a Chelsea fan wouldn't take him back
    Leaves a big question mark IMO

Question mark about what? Who? Me?!!!!

Well lets all be honest here for a minute, with Carlo we dont exactly have a dud of a manger :D

We still have one of Europes top managers at the club so all the premature Jose returning talk can be stopped for a minute and we can get behind a man who brought us a historic double, a man who brought me, personally, some of my favourite moments supporting Chelsea.

Dont get me wrong, Id have Jose back no problem but with Carlo at the helm im confident he can bring us success in the EPl and CL for years to come.

Also, i cant wait for Tuesday night ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Jose is a legend, I would have him back in an instant, no doubt about it. I loved the way he motivated the team and gave them a winning attitude. I think the media overplayed his negative tactics, there were plenty of times when we played good attacking football. Also, jose had plenty of width in out team with the likes of duff and robben, look at us now, no width at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

cant believe all this Jose talk!

legend of a man and we'll always love him and hope that oneday he comes back, but carlo won us a double in his first season, sure we're struggling this season but im 100% sure its down to the squad, not being given transfer funds in the summer as he was told to bring through some youth, it didnt get us results and so he has had to begin re-shapping it starting with Torres and Luiz, give him another season and lets see what else happens in the summer with transfers, its a re-building period that had to arrive eventually, good times are ahead I assure ye!!

We were poor enough away from home last season, the signs were there last year imo that a season like this might have been on the cards, sure we were battering teams at home but our away form nearly lost us the title last season.Now fast forward we are still poor enough away and not a force at home anymore. I'd take Jose back tomorrow without a doubt.

Johner wrote: »
    We were poor enough away from home last season, the signs were there last year imo that a season like this might have been on the cards, sure we were battering teams at home but our away form nearly lost us the title last season.Now fast forward we are still poor enough away and not a force at home anymore. I'd take Jose back tomorrow without a doubt.

Good point,last year at home we we're nearly unstoppable, our home record coupled with us beating all our rivals in the "top 4" won us the league.

A year later we cant string together a run of wins, its frustrating but after last year nothing short of a double again would have been disappointing, maybe a CL victory will soften the blow of a potetinal lost EPL crown. ;)

I've also got to say I have man love for David Luiz, cant wait to see him in a Chelsea jersey for years to come, what a terrific player. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

So Lads is anyone going in for the Champions League final lottery ?

God look what ive started.
    Ill bring some joy back with another vid.Speaking of Ranieri.Everyone remember this night?
    The night he finally,FINALLY beat Arsenal :D

So Lads is anyone going in for the Champions League final lottery ?

Id love to go, but the price's are an absolute joke. The only good thing is I've an aunt that lives about 2miles from Wembley so finding a place to stay would be easy and free :)

Everyone to gav aunt's gaff! :)

Johner wrote: »
    Everyone to gav aunt's gaff! :)

Hey, if Chelsea get to the final ye are all welcome. :D Im sure we can all squeeze in somewhere lads, the more the merrier.

Now, how do I apply for a ticket? I pressume on UEFA's website.

Soby wrote: »
    God look what ive started.
    Ill bring some joy back with another vid.Speaking of Ranieri.Everyone remember this night?
    The night he finally,FINALLY beat Arsenal :D

dirty cheating c*nt Henry --- he is always up to that sh*t...

and what does us beating Arsenal have to do with this video ???

Best thing Bridgy ever did!

dirty cheating c*nt Henry --- he is always up to that sh*t...

and what does us beating Arsenal have to do with this video ???
    Apologies as you posted above that the vid i meant :P

Notts County - Charlton on Sky Sports now, pity Clifford is on the bench. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

Surprised theres no sign of him starting..he'll prob come on soon enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Sturridge has scored...AGAIN!

We should have loaned out Torres instead:pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

At this rate he will be our top scorer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Utd are 15 points ahead of us, we only have ourselves to blame, an embarrasment.:(

smuckers wrote: »
    Utd are 15 points ahead of us, we only have ourselves to blame, an embarrasment.:(

embarassment indeed, lets see if we can get a consolation win on tuesday....

Cork got the winner for Burnley today.

Youth team won 3-0 today against Ipswich in the league.

Youth Cup match on Wednesday against Watford at the bridge.

Also Sunderland had Billy Knott on the bench today, we released him at the end of last season due to discipline problems, very talented player though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Jose is a legend, I would have him back in an instant, no doubt about it. I loved the way he motivated the team and gave them a winning attitude. I think the media overplayed his negative tactics, there were plenty of times when we played good attacking football. Also, jose had plenty of width in out team with the likes of duff and robben, look at us now, no width at all.

United fan in peace, couldn't agree with you more. IMO the only reason United are ahead of the others this season is the fact that even though our CMs are playing Championship level, we have the width, that Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal to an extent are lacking. Something I am sure will be addressed by both Ye and the Pool during the summer.

A front page story relating to Chelsea in tomorrows notw. No idea what it's about yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Probably "Kaka in, Drogba out this summer" or something like that.
    In reality it should be "Dannys back, and wants to score goals for the Blues!"

papagormo wrote: »
    Probably "Kaka in, Drogba out this summer" or something like that.
    In reality it should be "Dannys back, and wants to score goals for the Blues!"

Hardly front page news though :P More likely off field related, I would imagine.