Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When the Private Number calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Abrasax wrote: »
    I never understand why people don't answer private numbers.
    Do they think the caller is going to put a curse on them or something?
    I never understand why people use withheld numbers,you're going to be found out as soon as you start talking,
    unless you've something to hide or are a prank caller, which is why people dont answer private numbers.
    plus if you miss the call, how the hell are you supposed to call back?

answer them normally a freak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Boskowski wrote: »
    A bit of a pet hate of mine, hence the rant. Sorry. Here we go.

Not answering private numbers is surely a pretty paranoid thing to be (not) doing. Like Oh Dear I might have to interact with someone. Possibly someone I don't know.:eek: I might have to say to someone 'I don't want to talk to you', or 'I don't want to buy something from you' or 'fvck off'. I might actually have to say something 'real' instead of a fake 'How are you love. Glad you called, listen I was just on my way but I call you back, surely.'? How mortifying, embarrassing, humiliating, inconvenient. Seriously.

Very fvckin American really.

In America people now get caller monitoring. Like you ring that person and a machine talks to you first where you have to leave your name and intent and then press a key or something. So that the person being called can screen the incoming call first without actually having to interact with someone. :confused: I should actually start selling those what with the huge number of paranoids on this forum alone.

Pretty fvckin sad really. And very American. So no doubt it will be the must have over here soon, too.

Question by the way to you people not answering to withheld caller id's.
    Do you only open letters with the sender firmly written on it? Surely most of those are trying to sell you something or are looking for money...

OMFG! LA! The Hills!

How can someone with fingers so utterly miss the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I always answer it out of sheer curiosity. If it's cold-calling or whatever, just say "Sorry, I'm not free right now" and hang up - it's not that much of an ordeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭i.need.a.job

i never answer private numbers to avoid conversations i dont want to have. i.e the guards (even though i never do anything out of the way) or my house mate wanting me to turn on the immertion.

i also keep my voice mail box full.. becuase i hate hearing messages back from numbers i didnt want to answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Biggins wrote: »
    Always display my number.

No, I don't answer them.
    If someone come up to your door knocking but wearing a mask hiding their face, would you answer it?

Anyway, frankly I consider it rude.
    If they have any manners they will say who it is - not have you play constant guessing games.

TBH, cold callers can buzz off whatever form they take - I never answer my door unless I know who it is - life is too short and inevitably it's some total cnut trying to sell something, indoctrinate you or ask you to 'lend' them your vote.

Go away, you dirty bastards. (and that includes private numbers - invariably BAD NEWS or just a waste of my fcuking time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

Yes I answer private numbers. 99% of the time its one of my sisters calling off their house phones.

I dont even know how to turn my phone on to private number so safe to say my number comes up when I ring people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

One of my friends never answers a call if it’s from a privet number and it is really annoying.

Generally when I was living in the same country it was fine as I would be ringing from my mobile and my name would come up but now that I am overseas and ringing from landline numbers in work or home so it comes up as unknown number. It means I have to leave him a message saying “Its me pick up the phone.” Then ring back in 5 minutes and hope he has checked his messages.

I also was back in the country recently and didn’t want to be paying roaming charges every time I wanted to ring someone so I used phone boxes. It would be bloody annoying to have to pay to ring him twice when everyone else just picked up straight away.

I would never turn my number onto private. I don’t see the point. Nor do I see the point in not answering private numbers. I mean you can always hang up if it’s someone you don’t want to speak too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

There's a subtle psychology to it too, being anonymous gives the caller a bit of dutch courage and room to push the envelope, which they wouldn't\might not do if their number was visible.

Ever get a call from someone you just about know, barely, and they're getting a bit leary with you, so annoying.

I don't answer anon. numbers. The EU were looking at the ability of mobile phones to block their number, it might not be something you can do in the future..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

I have my own number on private (due to the habit of ringing virtually everyone in my phonebook when drunk), but won't answer private number calls.

Hypocritical, but there you go.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I've recently stopped answering private calls because of a crazy girl I met a couple of times at uni 2 years ago who calls me every day to talk inane ****e. I'd enjoy the conversations sometimes but there were times when I just wanted to hang up on her i.e. when I was in the pub and she didn't take the hint or when I was out shopping and couldn't really hold the phone and do everything else. I've stopped answering her now but still get the odd call that I just know is her.

If it's important, someone will leave a message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

My dad is a freak for not answering calls from private phones numbers. He keeps thinking that the only reason people call with private numbers is that they want to find out if you're home or not and remain anonymous ... conspiracy freak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

i rarely answer Private Numbers

A little tip for you people who use X-directory Landlines.
    If you want the person your ringing to know what number you're calling from press 141 before dialling the number

it will then show your landline number on their mobile.

Simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

I never answer private numbers. No idea why people do this.
    If you do answer them they always turn out to be some stupid marketing company trying to sell you crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Hoofball

There are some valid reasons for blocking your number, I work from home for most of the week and ring customers etc a fair bit from my land-line, and I don't want them knowing my home number so I've it blocked. Couldn't be arsed remembering to put in the number every time to block it as no doubt I'd forget it and be plagued by customers ringing at any time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Iomega Man

Jay D wrote: »
    People who don't answer their phone to private numbers are retards.

I remember one well educated gaw bean who said they have something to hide doing that.

What about landlines x directory you knob head? (to him)

No one is that important to not answer.

Unless of course they're not on o2 and are afraid of a call from the Gardai.

So I'd imagine, judging by your "poetic" response.. you have your phone set to private?

It figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Carstuck

I answer my phone whenever it rings, regardless who it is whether their number is showing or not, just like I used to when there was no caller ID on landlines. Can't see why people won't answer private numbers, if its marketing or anything just say no thanks and hang up. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Lots of people have to have private numbers for lots of reasons*. Not to answer a call from a private number is just ridiculous I think (unless you are roaming abroad maybe where it'll cost you). Sure just hang up if you don't know them!

*such as teachers, politicians, gardaí, important business people, celebrities, ...

I would love to disable all caller id's being sent for a few days, the country would grind to a halt judging by people here's fear/utter stupidity of refusing to answer private numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Seriously, I don't get this phobia have of private numbers, it's idiocy. What do you think is going to happen? You're going to get hypnotised and mugged over the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

I take the calls, don't like answering them but if I don't answer them, I end up wondering who it was so easiest to answer and find out :D

I would love to disable all caller id's being sent for a few days, the country would grind to a halt judging by people here's fear/utter stupidity of refusing to answer private numbers.

Whats stupid about it?
    Would you answer the door to a guy in a balaclava?

Whats stupid about it?
    Would you answer the door to a guy in a balaclava?

Is someone likely to mug you through your phone?

I am not talking about getting mugged I am talking about answering the door to someone who you cannot identify

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I am not talking about getting mugged I am talking about answering the door to someone who you cannot identify

Do you have a peephole on your door?

I don't and by your rationale I should never answer my door.

Well going back to your original example, I think it's safe to assume that someone trying to get you to open your front door while wearing a balaclava is not up to much good.

Indeed it's likely that answering a door to someone wearing a balaclave may present a threat to your phsyical safety. Answering a phone call from an unknown number will not.

Do you see the difference yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

If you don't understand why some people aren't worth talking to, you are perhaps one of those people.

Tell me, have more of your calls been getting through now you use private number?

Well going back to your original example, I think it's safe to assume that someone trying to get you to open your front door while wearing a balaclava up to much good.

Indeed it's likely that answering a door to someone wearing a balaclave may present a threat to your phsyical safety. Answering a phone call from an unknown number will not.

Do you see the difference yet?

original example is irrelevant.
    it was a methaphor
    answer the door to someone where you cannot see them then - hows that?
    I wouldnt.
    And no - I dont have a peephole but I have a window.

this threads going too far off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I dont like phones, dont like using them, I absolute hate it when your trying
    to have a conversation with someone on the phone and you know someone
    else like a Co-Worker or your boss etc that may be working close buy can listen in. When on a Bus or in a waiting room, I dont like answering the phone and having a conversation.

Getting a call from the Mother is the worst.
    She'd typically ring out of the blue and ask a million and one questions,
    and say your on the bus home and your trying to answer them, you've got
    other passenger on the bus overhearing your business/conversation.
    I think its ignorant and rude when you hear people being fairly loud
    when chatting on a bus/train or in a queue at shops/banks etc.
    Especially rude when they reach someone like a shop keeper etc
    that is trying to serve them and they carry on with their conversion on
    the phone with someone.

I hate Keep getting odd numbers appear on the caller id lately like 11111111
    or if the same place is ringing I'll get different numbers from the same place.

If I am not specifically expecting a call, or I dont recognize a number or its set to private it does NOT get answered and I do not return calls to unkown numbers.

If I'm expecting a call from the Gardai (sometimes deal with them as am a gun owner) or if I've a package due to be delivered by courier etc I will answer a private number or odd number as I know who its likely to be.

I dont like giving my number to people at all.
    There have Occasions were people have specifically asked me for my phone number and I could not find a suitable excuse to say no without sounding odd or rude. Like an Oddball neighbor, or a weird friend of a friend or
    someone in work who could ring you to get you to come in to work at odd hours.

Answering the door. Sick to death of Door to Door sales poeple calling, Religious groups trying to convert me,
    politicians canvessing, and Dodgy Odd Job men trying to tell me my drive-way can be powerwashed re-tar'd and they could clean my gutters for only a few hundred Euros.
    Anyone with a Van and hi-vis vest or a clipboard in their hands Does Not get answered.
    If I need something done or I need a service, I can google or use the golden pages.

~B

How do/did you manage without caller ID's? If you have to answer a normal landline with no caller ID??

Comparing it to someone at the door wearing a balaclava is idiotic, would you answer the door to someone whose face you don't know? Do you answer the phone to a number you don't know? whats the difference.

A lot of genuine calls are from private numbers for instance I have family members working in hospitals they are alway private number, if you are avoiding a call from a bank or credit card company well thats your own fault and in any case even when the number is displayed it will be some random number not one you would have saved.

As far as I can see nobody leaves voicemails I know if I'm calling someone I never let it go to voicemail so why not just answer and find out who it is?

I would like to add though that I do obviously much prefer if the number is displayed.
    bullets wrote: »
    There have Occasions were people have specifically asked me for my phone number and I could not find a suitable excuse to say no without sounding odd or rude. Like an Oddball neighbor, or a weird friend of a friend or

~B

You sound like a bit of an odd ball yourself tbh judging by your post. If there is one thing I hate its people who never answer their phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

When I see a private number I always assume its the CIA and hide in the Shed for an hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

~B

i normally in this situation give my number except leave one digit wrong. most of the time it's just put in the phone and no more's said and needless to say i never hear from that person again (at least not by phone)...but people have this annoying habit these days of taking your number then saying 'here, i'll ring you there now so you have mine'...

it's at this stage i flip, pull out my gun and shoot the poor annoying f'ucker stone dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

You sound like a bit of an odd ball yourself tbh judging by your post. If there is one thing I hate its people who never answer their phone.

i think you're the oddball for not getting the message...if someone doesn't answer their phone to you, THEY DONT WANT TO TALK TO YOU. build a bridge, get over it, move along and remember you dont have the god-given right to make people listen to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

I rarely answer private numbers, because as has been stated already, there must be a reason that they feel the need to hide their identity from you. The last time I answered a private number it turned out to be my manager asking me to come in the next day on my day off, and I agreed because I didnt have time to think of a good reason not to. Was proper f*ckin sickened, was planning on hitting the beer that night. What also pissed me off was that it was obvious that they called on private number to catch me off guard, last time that will happen cause wont be answering them again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Vodafone in the UK has a service where if you call someone on a concealed/private number you will get the recorder message; "We cannot connect your call as you are calling with a concealed number".

Gits have no intention of introducing it here :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I dont think anyone has the right to accuse people who dont answer witheld numbers as being "paranoid"

Especially if theyve never experienced persistant nuisance/malicious calls or high volumes of unsolicited marketing/scam calls.

Calling someone basically amounts to an intrusion (albeit one that people are mostly prepared to overlook as the benefits generally outweigh the inconvenience) business which routinely withold their numbers are not very customer focussed.

pajodublin wrote: »
    A little tip for you people who use X-directory Landlines. If you want the person your ringing to know what number you're calling from press 141 before dialling the number

Or if in NI/Britain 1470 (why the fup cant these things be standardised internationally)

Is there any way one can be ex-directory without being "number witheld" by default ?

BTW caller ID in the UK (on BT anyway) distingushes between "witheld" and "unavailable" numbers. Is it the same in the Republic ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Never answer private numbers,and with good reason.It is either,i dont want to speak with them and they know this or its is some other lunatic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Mango Joe wrote: »
    When I see a private number I always assume its the CIA and hide in the Shed for an hour or so.
    Do no good, if we came looking for you thermal imaging would show you up in a flash.

Biggins wrote: »
    Do no good, if we came looking for you thermal imaging would show you up in a flash.

It wont he is cold blooded :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

caseyann wrote: »
    It wont he is cold blooded :p
    LOL
    Good try but our sensor probes inserted under the door would show higher levels of carbon dioxide present (from his exhaling) than normal within the shed, indicating that there was someone there! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

the little book of calm taught me that my phone is for my convenience, not the caller's. so feck you if you're calling from a private number. if you're not arsed to tell me who's calling, i'm not arsed talking.

What about people who ring your phone,you say "hello" they reply "who is this? you reply " what you mean who is this? You rang my phone so who are you?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Usually I display my number when I call someone from my mobile. When I phone from my company's landline the call is routed through a switch which has separate "incoming" and "outgoing" numbers, so all outgoing calls have ID withheld. We don't cold-call, so that's not the reason we withhold the number.

But, if I need to contact somebody for business purposes using my mobile phone I prefer to withhold my number, because I do not want them calling me back when I'm not at work. My time is for me, and I don't want to be disturbed by customer inquiries at weekends or when I'm away with my family.

I usually do answer private calls.

But if I'm busy, or just chilling, I set my Nokia phone to a mode where it only rings if it recognises the incoming call ID. This blocks private calls. The only snag with this is that all my stored numbers must be classified as belonging to a group (e.g. Friend, Family, Business, VIP, etc).

Not paranoia, just good time management.

Be at peace,

Z

What about people who ring your phone,you say "hello" they reply "who is this? you reply " what you mean who is this? You rang my phone so who are you?:mad:

Used to get them too

Tell them you are Jesus/Elvis/Hitler and hang up

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Used to get them too

Tell them you are Jesus/Elvis/Hitler and hang up

The neck on people it is almost laughable isnt it.
    I dont get any now as i changed my number gave it out to very few people and under strict warning not to hand it out to anyone at all.And i have peace :D

i changed my number gave it out to very few people and under strict warning not to hand it out to anyone at all.And i have peace :D

I still get calls for the person who had my landline number before I did (Debt collectors I suspect)

Ive only had it for four years like :mad:

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I still get calls for the person who had my landline number before I did (Debt collectors I suspect)

Ive only had it for four years like :mad:

Damn thats annoying :mad:
    I get post still for people who used to live here,get this he was a postman and never changed his address :rolleyes:

I get post still for people who used to live here,

I get that too (again I suspect someone did a runner owing a load of companies money)

The worst are "Private-Addressee only" but no return address on the envelope

WTF like ?
    Zen65 wrote: »
    Usually I display my number when I call someone from my mobile. When I phone from my company's landline the call is routed through a switch which has separate "incoming" and "outgoing" numbers, so all outgoing calls have ID withheld. We don't cold-call, so that's not the reason we withhold the number.
    If you worked for a customer focused company it would be set up so when calls are made on the outgoing line customers get the incoming number on their display.
    Zen65 wrote: »
    But, if I need to contact somebody for business purposes using my mobile phone I prefer to withhold my number, because I do not want them calling me back when I'm not at work. My time is for me, and I don't want to be disturbed by customer inquiries at weekends or when I'm away with my family.
    So its okay for you to disturb them but not for them to disturb you ?

If you have to use a mobile for work purposes your employer should be providing you with a seperate phone
    would you answer the door to someone whose face you don't know? Do you answer the phone to a number you don't know? whats the difference.

Calls from a number one doesnt know and calls from a witheld number are hardly the same thing
    As far as I can see nobody leaves voicemails.

If it isint important enough to be worth leaving a voicemail then it probably isint important enough to be bothered with
    Answering the door. Sick to death of Door to Door sales poeple calling, Religious groups trying to convert me,
    politicians canvessing, and Dodgy Odd Job men trying to tell me my drive-way can be powerwashed re-tar'd and they could clean my gutters for only a few hundred Euros.

Thought you said you were a gun owner :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Cannot believe the idiocy of people.........oh i wouldn't answer my phone to a private number or a number i don't recognise.

What if a relation of yours was mugged/beaten/raped or something else horrible had happened to them and a passer by gave them their phone to call you for help?? Oh i'll not answer that number cause i don't know it......genius!!

I know a guy who's mother crashed her car one winters night. Another car stopped and went in to the field to help her out. She was badly shaken and the other person gave her the phone to call her son.........he didn't "recognise" the number so he didn't answer. The mother was badly shaken and when it came to the "you have reached the voicemail of 086..." she hung up and handed the phone back.

What have you got to lose by answering........someone in trouble, a new job offer, a wrong number??
    Who gives a shít.....just fcuking answer it!!

mfceiling wrote: »
    when it came to the "you have reached the voicemail of 086..." she hung up and handed the phone back.

Why ?

If people who wont answer their phone are "idiots" what does that make people who wont leave an important message on voicemail ?

As for "New job offers" one generally only gets them when one has actually applied for a job in the recent past