Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ESB underestimating bills

Options
  • 02-07-2010 12:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Awh I'm gonna scream, I lived in a student apartment from January - May and when living there all my ESB bills came to about €100 - €150, which was fine. Now when they were closing my account I find out that all this time they were estimating my bills and in my closing bill (which I moved out 10 days after the previous bill) I get hit with a bill for €263!!!!!! I am a jobless student and I think its madness that they can underestimate someone by so much and then just hit them with it. After all it was just 5 months of living there and I recieved two bills so I think its an awful lot to underestimate someone by and totally unfair. Especially when I rang the ESB upon recieving the closing bill and I got told that I could take my last bill away from the total due, I then lodged that amount and since this wasnt the case im now in dept in my bank account :( I think this is so unfair and the ESB shouldn't be able to do this to their costumers, a better system should be in place!!!!!!!! :(:(:(

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

you could have easily submitted regular reading to them which would have been used instead of their estimates.

Estimates are based on prior usage so when you moved in you obviously used a lot more power than previous tenants. Can't really blame ESB for that. They commit to 2 readings a year with 4 estimates, seems reasonable to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Electric Ireland: David

Hi irishbluebabe,