Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the worst accent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Joan Fontaine

I don't have a problem with any accent per se, just any accent that's too strong, e.g:
    strong bogger accent - ugh
    strong knacker Dublin accent - ugh
    strong D4 accent - horrendous
    strong Cork accent - owwww my ears!
    strong London accent - pass
    strong nordie accent - sounds like a seal in heat
    strong Glasgow accent - as rough as a badgers arse
    strong kilkenny accent - woeful

the list goes on...

I, on the other hand, have a beautiful accent :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Why do the Irish say "so" at the end of a sentence, when it clearly doesn't belong there? I have always wondered.

For me, worst accents ever are american and northern English. Best accents ever = Welsh & Scandinavian. I would do almost anything for someone with a Welsh accent, especially something dirty.

Not at the end of every sentence. It's only placed at the end of a sentence that has affirmed a decision has been made or a certain set of circumstances has been pretty much set in place.

E.g. "Right, so! That's the end of that. We can all go home now."

"I lost my train ticket"
    "Do you have any money with you?"
    "I have."
    "Ah, you're grand, so!"

I believe it's a throw back to when we all spoke Irish much like there not being a literal Irish word for yes or no so when you ask someone if they like football, they most likely won't say "yes" or "no", but rather "I do" or "I don't".

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

unknown13 wrote: »
    The monaghan one

Mawwwwnaghan :pac:

The worst one is Deh MiDlands accent by far. Then Waherfurh, Cark, Limerick, Loudd, Innar Cihy Doobla, the Dorsh and finally the Mayo accent (schtop would ye?!).

Any accent is bad when its fairly thick. Most are fine when there is only a hint of an accent, but the Midlands accent is a huge no no for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭dave 27

ya i think the Limerick one is probably the more intimidating..watch form 29 sec..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Personally, I think the Irish have possibly the most endearing range of accents in the world.

Louth and Monaghan excluded, naturally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Niche market

Two words...... Eddie hobbs :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Australian accent ... ew.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

Derry accent ugh.. sounds like a seal grinding in my ear
    County down accent.. ugh
    Belfast accent..
    Fermanagh accent ew..
    Dublin accent.. ewgh that is just filthy!
    texas ewgh..

Accents i love..
    Ballymoney/cloughmills.
    Coleraine.
    Bushmills lol they say "enny" in every word lol i know one boy who says Wouldenny , couldenny, hittenny, diddenny... lol you get it, but i love it!
    London!
    American accent florida... wet for what i love that!.
    California.
    Australia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    The accent in Drogheda is pretty bad but it comes 2nd place to the North Dublin accent. That is awful.

the same accent that can be found all over South Dublin as well

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭moonandstars

D4 FAKE accent!!!!!!! Twats!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

This cockney woman in town calling her daughter in for dinner: STAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYSAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYY!!
    Jesus..
    Facking cant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

The Cork accent on lads is horrible!! Interestingly I don't find the same with girls, I actually think it can be quite nice, but whenever a lad is talking to me in that high pitched rabble I just cringe and shudder!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

And of course South Africa ( "Goot now blaaadee probe-lem shooting you, moy frind!")

Oh I'm the opposite it's definately one of my favourites. I think it makes every word sound cool and tough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

I dont mean to be racist or sexist here but personally i find the travellers accent to be one of the worst, in particular the males.
    It does vary a bit though, depending on which part of the country you are in.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 shampoo2223

I think Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭rantyface

I like most Irish accents and I like that we have so much variety, even if it is due to inbreeding.

I don't like
    New Zealand
    Australian
    South African
    Southern US accents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 carvaggio

I hate Amanda Byrams accent in particular, especially when she tries to Irish it up every so often (or at least it seems that way to me).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Anyone who talks like a nacker.

Id say galway has the nicest irish accent.. not too extreme like.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

jugger0 wrote: »
    Anyone who talks like a nacker.

Id say galway has the nicest irish accent.. not too extreme like.

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

I don't have a problem with any accent per se, just any accent that's too strong, e.g:
    strong bogger accent - ugh
    strong knacker Dublin accent - ugh
    strong D4 accent - horrendous
    strong Cork accent - owwww my ears!
    strong London accent - pass
    strong nordie accent - sounds like a seal in heat
    strong Glasgow accent - as rough as a badgers arse
    strong kilkenny accent - woeful

the list goes on...

I, on the other hand, have a beautiful accent :D

Spot on.

There isn't really any accents that sound bad, but the over-exaggeration of accents can sound appalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Thuck_Fat

Q: So what do you think is the worst accent in Ireland?

A: That Dublin southside accent really grinds my gears. It almost sounds like they go to an effort to put it on. Plus it sounds British.

Roish?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,260 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Tis only an accent, why hate any of them ffs?
    Different strokes etc

• Registered Users Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I think this clip just about sum's it up in a nutshell!

Also extreme poshy noshy accents and k-nackerish accents aren't great! Makes us cluchies look bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

cork its ****ing disgusting

dublins accents are ****ing cool man

scousers have the sexiest

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

I think this clip just about sum's it up in a nutshell!

Also extreme poshy noshy accents and k-nackerish accents aren't great! Makes us cluchies look bad!

Thats one of the worst attempts of a Cork accent iv heard. Why is it that when someone from outside Cork trys to do one of our accents they get it so wrong.

Thats beside the point anyway, like Dublin, Cork has many accents, someone from the southside has a different accent to someone from the northside, same as East cork is much different to west cork accent. Its immposible to generalise the Cork accent because theres too many variations.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

31 counties have the worst accent apart from louth, because everyone says "hey" after everything!

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Seannew1

31 counties have the worst accent apart from louth, because everyone says "hey" after everything!

Which one's better, dundaaaaawlk hey or draaaaaaawda hey??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Seannew1 wrote: »
    Which one's better, dundaaaaawlk hey or draaaaaaawda hey??

Lets not go slagging dundalk, hey... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Fortune_Cookie

The worst Irish accent is the Donegal accent.

The worst accent in the world has to be the Scouse accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Seannew1

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Lets not go slagging dundalk, hey... :)

Sure I'm from Dundalk anyway!