Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any Irish electricians Working for Werc in Norway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 tevion1

mvt wrote: »
    can anyone tell me what they mean by having yuor paperwork "certified" when you apply for the dsb?

thanks.

Copies of documents have to be signed and stamped by a garda. ( also a judge, justice of the peace )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 mooseygoat

Hi lads been reading yer posts , whats the longest people have waited for the clearance ive heard nothing since 11 may.
    Also for those of ye that are there is it much different from working in ireland . Im currently working in canada and its off the wall the differences here its like stepping back about 30 years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭el diablo

mooseygoat wrote: »
    Hi lads been reading yer posts , whats the longest people have waited for the clearance ive heard nothing since 11 may.
    Also for those of ye that are there is it much different from working in ireland . Im currently working in canada and its off the wall the differences here its like stepping back about 30 years .

Working in Canada is like stepping back 30 years? :confused:

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 mooseygoat

im not taking the piss its is ask any good spark that has been here , well whats the longest people have waited for this dsb licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

mooseygoat wrote: »
    im not taking the piss its is ask any good spark that has been here , well whats the longest people have waited for this dsb licence.

Dont bother your hole trying to explain yourself,anybody that has worked around the place knows what you are saying.If you applied online then you should have the confirmation email.Longest I've heard of was 4 and a half months but some of his application was incomplete so it slowed it down.Give them a ring and see,it wont do no harm and they are very friendly.
    As for the wiring side of things,industrial and commercial buildings dont differ a whole lot from Ireland wise though they seemed to have less use of trunking and more use of rack and a more economical way of stacking it.Wiring codes are the same though in some panels I was wiring they had weird colour codes though it only seemed specific for the job we were on.From what I could seee in the house we were living in it seemed ancient techniques were used but it must be working for them.As is the same in Canada,you'll learn something new all the time.
    How is work going over there in Canada?Are you out in that hellhole Oilsands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 sparky 83

hi kippure,just recieved my dsb today,whats the best way to look for work now?

sparky 83 wrote: »
    hi kippure,just recieved my dsb today,whats the best way to look for work now?

Great news, how long did it take from confirmation to get your cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 sparky 83

took roughly 4 months,no hastle,anyone working in norway at the minute??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭rum and coke

got dsb yesterday
    anyone know of any work going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 jasonglynn

Hi Lads, i recieved my DSB cert a couple of weeks ago but dont really know where to start to find work. Ive applied for the ICDS jobs advertised on FAS and thats about it.In Jan i will be doing BOSIET & MIST offshore courses which i hope will help.Do you guys think it would be worth going to Aberdeen to get Compex training?

So did all you lads who recently got your DSB certs get a job in Norway yet?

Orange pilled.

el diablo wrote: »
    So did all you lads who recently got your DSB certs get a job in Norway yet?

Got the DSB,CompEx,BOSIET,MIST and Medical. Only back from Scotland where I did my training so only really starting to look for work now. If anybody knows of any work kicking off anywhere I'd be glad to here!

jasonglynn wrote: »
    Got the DSB,CompEx,BOSIET,MIST and Medical. Only back from Scotland where I did my training so only really starting to look for work now. If anybody knows of any work kicking off anywhere I'd be glad to here!

How much did all the courses set you back, I have the dsb cert and thinking of goin over to do the compex. Did you get all courses done back to back?

Theres nothing really advertised at the moment that i can see. Might try and get on to some uk forums.

tevion1 wrote: »
    jasonglynn wrote: »

How much did all the courses set you back, I have the dsb cert and thinking of goin over to do the compex. Did you get all courses done back to back?

Theres nothing really advertised at the moment that i can see. Might try and get on to some uk forums.

The Compex cost £1000 sterling, I was lucky enough to get on the FAS pilot course "Access to Offshore" which was up in Donegal if your unemployed check out the FAS website or Effective Offshore. ie. The course consists of:
    BOSIET
    MIST
    Rigger Stage 1
    Slinger/Banksman Stage 1
    I'm also down to do a 10 week Instrumentation course in June if nothing comes up in the meantime. Also if your unemployed contact FAS about a grant towards the Compex, they give €500 its not loads but it helps as flights and digs bring it closer to €2000 to do the course. If you want to PM your email I have the course cd I can burn you a copy so you have an idea what it's all about before you go over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 colin469

jason can you tell me what the medical in the access to offshore consists of as my hearing in one ear isnt great

colin469 wrote: »
    jason can you tell me what the medical in the access to offshore consists of as my hearing in one ear isnt great
    Hi Colin
    The hearing test is probably the toughest part but even if you don't do to well on that you can get a restricted medical cert from the doctor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 colin469

Will it prevent me from getting work offshore

colin469 wrote: »
    Will it prevent me from getting work offshore
    TBH I don't really know it depends how bad it is, but I do know that you can get restricted access so you wouldn't be able to work in areas where the noise is above a certain level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 corkspark

Hi Jason,
    Apologies but first time posting!!
    Where did u do the compex course?

corkspark wrote: »
    Hi Jason,
    Apologies but first time posting!!
    Where did u do the compex course?

ASET in Aberdeen it's a great centre and the instructors explain everything very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭lledlledlled

Hi guys,

Thinking of sending away for my DSB cert.

Is there much work for electricians in Norway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 ibabe100

Yes if you have d.s.b cert i.c.d.s hireing now for norway. Need guys a.s.a.p,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

ibabe100 wrote: »
    Yes if you have d.s.b cert i.c.d.s hireing now for norway. Need guys a.s.a.p,,,,

I've applied for this, I have DSB cert but what is the FSE cert that they are also looking for is that handy enough to get? I need to get out of this country before I go demented sick to the teeth of no work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭lledlledlled

I've applied for this, I have DSB cert but what is the FSE cert that they are also looking for is that handy enough to get? I need to get out of this country before I go demented sick to the teeth of no work

Did you have any luck getting this job?

The course is designed for: English-speaking electricians who work with and carry out maintenance on Norwegian low-voltage electrical installations.

Here's a link to the course:

http://www.trainor.no/servlet/store?f=subjectinfoe&id=903&courseid=416

Having the EX Basic course would be helpful too but some companies will pay for you to do this course (probably not ICDS though ):

http://www.trainor.no/servlet/store?...0&courseid=398

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 richie elecrician

hi i recently got my DSB cert. does anyone know of any 2/2 or 3/3 rotation jobs going or anything like that? is there as muck work as everyone says over there. i dont know where to even start looking. any help would be great.