Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why do MMA clubs in Ireland emphasise stand up?

• 06-07-2010 3:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

Played Judo for about 10 years on and off, never been to a boxing, Muay Thai or full contact sport up until last week when I went to a MMA club on the northside of Dublin (not going to name names).

My opinion is that when it comes to MMA in Ireland, there appears to be an emphasis on stand up where people are only interested in knocking someone out which appears to me to stem from this tough guy, hard man, what are u looking at type of person.

For example, went down to the club last week for first time, had a supposed "light" sparring session with one of the lads, who tried to take my head. Went straight in and took him down with ease every single time and choked him or got an arm lock, he then got so desperate and angry that he started to struggle like a bastard when I had him in a side hold and just wore himself out. I mean this is basic stuff that you don't gas urself out so easily. Not to mention the fella I was sparring wasn't a beginner and was held in fairly high esteem in the club. Needless to say that all the head the balls in the club were giving me the cold shoulder for why I can only assume was because a Judoka went in on the first night and threw one of their better fighters all around mat and he had absolutely no way of countering it. Then when we're getting changed, all the lads are talking about is the confrontations they got into at the weekend and you just know that they're going out at the weekend hoping to get into a row. I wont be going back to that club anyway.

On a side note, can anyone recommend a decent club that isn't full of wannabe hard men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

You're not painting yourself in a very complimentary light there Kid curry. Right now you don't seem like the type of guy anyone wants in their gym. I've a Judo background myself (about 10 years too so I might know you) and you're welcome to try http://www.xtremefitnessireland.ie/ here.

plenty of other good mma gyms in dublin that cater for all aspects of mma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Your welcome to come out and try a session with us lads in Rush free of charge if you'd like, im not into the hard shaw mentality and my club has a good friendly atmosphere, as far as the stand up striking mentality goes, If the coach favours teaching that style of fighting then thats just there way, otheres are very 1 sided on the ground, i try to mix the class into all the areas of MMA and do the specialist stuff seperately-horses for courses an all..

The other thing i must add is when fights are coming up the focus of clubs can change to more sparring orientated than technical for obvious reasons, try not to be put off by this experience and get back into it, all the best paul.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Performance Martial Arts

Depending where on the northside you are here is a few, Informed Performance are based in glasnevin, Bjj Revoloution are based in Baldoyle, Kokoro are based in the north city centre and if its north county well Rush Academy are out in rush and we are based out in Ashbourne. Sorry for your expierience but most places are not like that so shop around. Hope this info is what your looking for an they all have websites too. Best of luck!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

I would not say that all MMA clubs emphasise stand up.

I know we don't and I know most I have been to don't.

The grappling game is still the dominant range. Though you need to have striking ability for sure. At the end of the day all fights start standing.

I'm not sure what club you were at and whether it was one of the better ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Kid Curry wrote: »
    Played Judo for about 10 years on and off, never been to a boxing, Muay Thai or full contact sport up until last week when I went to a MMA club on the northside of Dublin (not going to name names).

My opinion is that when it comes to MMA in Ireland, there appears to be an emphasis on stand up where people are only interested in knocking someone out which appears to me to stem from this tough guy, hard man, what are u looking at type of person.

For example, went down to the club last week for first time, had a supposed "light" sparring session with one of the lads, who tried to take my head. Went straight in and took him down with ease every single time and choked him or got an arm lock, he then got so desperate and angry that he started to struggle like a bastard when I had him in a side hold and just wore himself out. I mean this is basic stuff that you don't gas urself out so easily. Not to mention the fella I was sparring wasn't a beginner and was held in fairly high esteem in the club. Needless to say that all the head the balls in the club were giving me the cold shoulder for why I can only assume was because a Judoka went in on the first night and threw one of their better fighters all around mat and he had absolutely no way of countering it. Then when we're getting changed, all the lads are talking about is the confrontations they got into at the weekend and you just know that they're going out at the weekend hoping to get into a row. I wont be going back to that club anyway.

On a side note, can anyone recommend a decent club that isn't full of wannabe hard men.

Is your opinion based on this one visit to an MMA club?

I would say that different fighters have different styles and the better they get (ie move up from MMA league to C Class to the pro classes) they would become much more rounded.

Two things though:
    -If your sparring partner is going too hard, trying to take your head off or whatever its no problem to ask them to calm down or cool it
    -I also find it unlikely that an reputable MMA club would pair a complete novice with one of their "better fighters".

Name the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Why won't you say which club it was if you're not going back? You've already effectively narrowed it down to Barry's, Andy's or Shane's, since most people don't say 'the north side' for Rush or Swords.

Mud sticks, and it's a bit unfair to sling it at a group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭mmaireland.com

We've a syllabus that specifically ensures we don't focus on any one range; so you're welcome to head down. Doesn't sound anything like our place (not to mention we wouldn't have put someone with 10 years experience in our "light and for beginners" class) but if it was; please do let me know about it. If you fancy paying us a visit; head down on a Monday night at 18:30 and we can chat before you head onto the mat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭_oveless

Needless to say that all the head the balls in the club were giving me the cold shoulder for why I can only assume was because a Judoka went in on the first night and threw one of their better fighters all around mat and he had absolutely no way of countering it.

Wow you really showed him! I agree people shouldn't be bullied it gives the gym and the sport in general a bad name. Where did you learn Judo?

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭wetdogsmell

it sounds a bit childish insulting a whole sport because they were doing stand up on the night you went,
    did you find it hard doing your judo throws with sparring gloves on?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Kid Curry

_oveless wrote: »
    Wow you really showed him! I agree people shouldn't be bullied it gives the gym and the sport in general a bad name. Where did you learn Judo?

I "learned" or first started in Palmerstown, then when in college in UCD and moved to America for a few years for work and joined a club over there. I havent joined a club since i got back but have gone to classes in a few places and just pay as i play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Kid Curry

it sounds a bit childish insulting a whole sport because they were doing stand up on the night you went,
    did you find it hard doing your judo throws with sparring gloves on?:P

There are lots of ways to get someone on the ground.

I dont think I was insulting the sport, I just said that in Ireland the emphasis appears to be on stand up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭youllneverknow

informed perfrmance in glasnevin is a good gym. there are no egos in the gym classes are on most nights.

www.informedperformance.com

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭wetdogsmell

There are lots of ways to get someone on the ground.

I dont think I was insulting the sport, I just said that in Ireland the emphasis appears to be on stand up.

fair enough mate, but a well placed head shot is a great way of taking someone to the ground aswell,
    the point i was making was maybe it was a stand up class on when you visited the club, most clubs do alot of nogi classes as part of there mma, could have just been the nite you turned up,
    what club was is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

informed perfrmance in glasnevin is a good gym. there are no egos in the gym classes are on most nights.

www.informedperformance.com
    Technically it's impossible not to have an ego. According to Freud (if you buy into that) it's a fundamental aspect of our personality. just FYI.

I'm not convinced by this thread. I reckon you're just bragging about flinging an MMA fighter about, in which case I don't think you'd fit in at our place, so thanks anyway but we'll stick to having nice people who don't brag about how they kicked people's asses on the web.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭kid chaos

I'm not convinced by this thread. I reckon you're just bragging about flinging an MMA fighter about.
    when i first read it, i got the same impression.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Bres

My opinion is that when it comes to MMA in Ireland, there appears to be an emphasis on stand up

Listen mate, if your gonna make an opinion of an entire sport based on a single training session your a twat! You went to a light sparring session, and you probably got as much as you gave. The majority of the mma clubs i know offer stand up, grapling and submission classes seperate. You were clearly trying to show off some trips or throws that the other guy might not have had experience in, why not try participate in the class instead of fighting judo V mma. If you don't go in with an open mind what are you expecting to get out of it? If i'm trying any sport i start from scatch, not try see how i would fair against that style...

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

Then when we're getting changed, all the lads are talking about is the confrontations they got into at the weekend and you just know that they're going out at the weekend hoping to get into a row. I wont be going back to that club anyway.

I train in one of the 'possible' clubs on the Northside and that above behavior you described would not be tolerated and the general hard man attitude is not allowed in the club and I would well believe that that attitude would not be allowed in any club so I find your post skeptical to say the least.

Also a lot of clubs do separate striking and grappling classes so maybe you want to one of them.

Also I can PM a recommendation of the club I train in in the Northside which is very good and would suit what your looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

Considering most clubs seperate their grappling and stand up nights, do you think your behaviour was possibly not well received because you were essentially breaking the rules by not sticking to stand up.

I'd be pretty annoyed if i'd arranged a Thai fight, and my opponent started throwing techniques that were illegal in the discipline we were supposed to be practicing for.

I'd also be annoyed if you I was training a class and you refused to stick to the programme, although in a sparring situation, i'm not sure i would intervene, for risk of undermining your opponent.

Also, when you say your sparring partner was trying to "take the head off you", can you confirm on what basis you know his level of force was unacceptable? Considering you say you have never done a combat/striking sport, could i suggest you are not used to the level of acceptable force and contact in training.

I did Karate for 14 years, and my first night of MMA I was totally taken aback at the level of force used.

MMA is not point sparring. your supposed to get hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

lads lets be honest, must clubs have one or two muppets who are wanna be hard men, but its the same in all walks of life so there is no piont complaining or letting it bother you,
    You find these kind people in every different sports club around the country, from Judo to football to anything, so don' be trying to say its just MMA lads.
    There are some but there every where,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Ya, you are dead right mate. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING AT MURPHY?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

YOUR FACE!
    Wot u gonna do bout it?!

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭crosdad

i totally disagree that mma clubs in ireland tend to focus more on standup training.From my experience in irelands mma clubs it's actually the other way around, that clubs focus more on the grappling aspect of mma. how many bjj/grappling tournaments have there been over the last few months? Its not hard to find a place where you can grapple or do bjj in ireland. However, i think alot of people would have a hard time finding a place where you can get regular wrestling training. that would be my biggest complaint, that irish mma clubs dont put enough emphasis on wrestling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The OP is obviously a Walter Mitty type..

I mean, who else see's Israeli secret service agents everywhere?..

And even ride's one while she's giving him a blow job (in the hair dressers chair ya muppets :p ).. Post #9.

Unless the OP is willing to name the club I'm calling BS, and 'Troll' on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭youllneverknow

OT here but shes not giving him a blowjob shes straighting his hair with a hair straightener

after a second reading of the first post its mostly him saying he bet some one up and making himself look tuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

This bloke sounds like good craic, shagging birds in shopping centres and judo chopping mma guys, I kinda want to go drinking in temple bar with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

after a second reading of the first post its mostly him saying he bet some one up and making himself look tuff

Thats about it.

I'd have a fairly decent level of judo and I've been given a hard time no matter what MMA club I've trained it, I've never had a walk in the park in any MMA club like the OP seem's to have done.

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Very well put Barry!!!!!!! Classy statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Rickson1

You're 100% correct about mma gyms having complete tards who care nothing for learning proper technique and developing good skills, all they care about is going as hard as they can on their training partners as if it is life or death (hence the guy going mad when you had him in side control). Personally, I know to look at them if they are like that and if the guy then behaves that way, then someone makes him leave the training session with an injury to teach him a lesson. It's the same with guys who don't tap.

People do focus on the ground though...the problem is that around 70% of clubs in Ireland can't teach it correctly or think they can. I'm no expert by any means!!! FAR from it. But there are too many guys who just go mad when they roll and have no structure to their game..that would be what you experinced at that club whatever/wherever it was.