Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

515 are looking for DJs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

515 tripod wrote: »
    Its unfortunate that some really good DJs wont get a shot because they can't bring people but this is the way things are at the minute.

So you'll say no to a better DJ, in order to give a worse DJ who's guaranteed to bring people a slot? Come on.

As one of the bigger promoters in Dublin, and Ireland, you guys are in a position to change these kinds of things, but instead you're just making it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

cnuts!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

First up this is not a DJ competition. We would like you to send over your DJ mixes, if they tick the boxes then we would like you to come and play for us. If none of the mixes tick the box then we will continue to use the DJs we always have.

Reasonable
    Second, the DJ slots going are not for the main stage. If we like your mix, you will be asked to come and play the back room. This is very much a work your way up from the bottom gig. If you have a problem with this, then best not send over your mixes. If all goes well over time, then there is nothing to say you wont be in the main room at some stage but at the same time there is no guarantee.

Reasonable
    Third, there is no pay for this gig. When you have a following and feel there is demand for your talent with us then we can talk €'s.

This is where i said its almost like an abuse of power, you should out of decency throw a token amount of money to the DJ after the gig if it is for no pay, but a precondition from a venue as big as this that surley pulls thousands on the door & bar in 1 night is Exploitative. I dont concur with the view that if the DJ is a wiling party then it is not exploitative, you are using your name, position & potential recognition for the DJ as a lever to strong arm some free DJ's.
    TO be honest, I was a bit shocked at some of the comments in this thread. I dont know any (up & coming/bedroom) DJ's, unless they have demand or are in some way established in the scene to ask for cash.

Now this is where my red mist is beginning to rise.........are you for fuc.king real trying to pass it off that it is because you have to prove that people like your tune selection & way of mixing before you will recognise they should be paid!!!! You are just using your position to get free DJ's. If you have listened to the demo's that have been sent in & made a decision that this is a DJ we want to play in our venue then surley the onus is on you or the people within your organisation that are being PAID to make the decision on who plays or not to make the right choice that will attract people to the venue. It sounds like you havnt a clue whats good or contemporary for the patrons of your own venue & are shooting in the dark by saying you will give some DJ's a go & if they dont fill the venue eventually then they are gone, fair enough if the DJ doesnt do it for the venue he cant stay but what are the reprocussions for the continued ppoor slection by you & your team if it becomes a trend? This is where it starts to pi.ss me off, none is the answer i am guessing & you will go through DJ's withour paying them, then tell them they are not quite good enough & next please without any consequence for you. What the fu.ck are you getting paid for so. Or is that the arrangement agreed at management level to get free DJ's continuously at no cost?
    You said you are a little shocked, well i can tell ya i hope to jaysus i never cross paths with the like of you in business as you appear to be out & out chancers blagging it.
    I DJ and for years I never got paid. I was just happy to play. Maybe times have changed

Times have not changed, it has always been decent to fix the guy up who served the music to the crowd & i have been around a bit. Also it sounds even more deservedly so now in the case of your venue as i get the impression its the DJ's that are keeping the place alive & nothing to do with the 2nd rate managment.
    Fourth & Final, If we like your mix and you are asked to come and play then you must bring a certain amount of people on a reduced guestlist and you must do your share of getting the word out.
    So if you bring people along and you work at getting the word out your playing ect then there is more of a chance of you coming up from the bottom.

Reasonable but shouldnt be a necessity for gaining credibility, how the crowd reacts to the entire gig should be of more importance to the management running the venue even if the room is only half filled. If the gig is a blinder to the folks that are there then the management should see this & act on the potential that has been discovered & use it then to its full potential.

The below quote's isolated from the one post are confusing a litte, when you say you 'Are looking for the proper fit', i would assume this to mean someone the crowd wants to hear! Paerhaps i am wrong as you then went on to say that they 'wont get a shot because they cant bring people' . So can you please clarify for all DJ's reading this that are looking to start making a few quid from doing what they love what the 'Proper fit' is? Is it good skill & ear for tunes & pleasing the crowd? or the ability to round up custom to come along while they are playing for free only to eventually be axed in place of another DJ with whole new bunch of friends & avenues to bring in punters? Sorry i just answered it for you i think.
    We aren't looking for a massive amount of DJs fast, we are looking for the proper fit.
    Its unfortunate that some really good DJs wont get a shot because they can't bring people but this is the way things are at the minute.

NO PAY - NO PLAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭milltown

I'm curious.
    Would this sort of a night have a "subs bench"? In case, say, you have a guy coming from beyond the pale for his big night in Tripod and 40 of his Facebook friends have said they're coming along. The bus they've hired breaks down/ doesn't show up, or only half his friends actually arrive at the gig. Is he told "sorry you didn't hit your sales target, you're off the team", and the guy who rounded up 25 mates on the off chance, gets to play?
    Or is it even closer to a pyramid selling deal, and the aspiring DJ needs to sell tickets beforehand?
    Just curious is all.

My €0.02.
    I can certainly see why starry eyed bedroom DJs would jump at the chance to play a recognised venue, even if it is just in the spare room, and be happy to do it for free. And if it was me, I'd be a lot happier to do it if I knew that at least some of the crowd was made up of mates who were there to support me.
    Using this as a business model sucks balls though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,821 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

As i've said previously, i've been contacted by 515 to send on another mix, which i've heard nothing back about yet!

Sending another one later today...so we'll see how it goes.

I'm NOT expecting any money from this gig, as im sure they could just put a Dublin DJ on who will get gauranteed numbers through the door.

But if they are willing to give me the chance, i'm willing to drive up from Waterford, and play my heart out, if i get another gig out of it, with money being changed hands, so be it....if not, i can at least put tripod/pod/smoking areas in tripod on my CV which looks damn good!

As they have said themselfs, the influx of digital DJs over the last few months is a bit daunting...they have to pick the cream of the crop...hopefully they don't float past my mixes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

i gotta say fair play for clearing things up but that policy of having it a requirements you bring a group of people with you and still not get paid is bollox.

looks like what was said in the thread about ye is correct.

would you not even give them an incentive of a share of there guestlist.

this also really excludes anyone who isnt from dublin too

seannash wrote: »
    i gotta say fair play for clearing things up but that policy of having it a requirements you bring a group of people with you and still not get paid is bollox.

looks like what was said in the thread about ye is correct.

would you not even give them an incentive of a share of there guestlist.

this also really excludes anyone who isnt from dublin too

Well, i have a feeling, if they give me the chance of playing, we'll see how it goes....being from Waterford and all.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Lol.

So this i's why 515 have such a bad reputation around Dublin. I'm impressed.

Ahh....515 were on skulking around at 13:05 just now & no response, must of hit a little to close to home so best to hide away & allow all the negative publicity to peter out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭515 tripod

Guys this is Donal replying to you if you dont no me im the booker and promoter of 515 id like to clear a few things up

Ive been djing and promoting in dublin for 10 years for the first 4 years of that time i hardly ever got paid for any gigs i did i played with some really big names and only got a 100 pounds at the time thats the way it is for all big venues and for every dj you have to establish yourself. After those gigs i was able to ask for cash its a hard slog if you want to do this professionaly. I know it seems unfair we used to have a budget for smaller djs but as things have gotten quieter in the venue things have been cut of course the support in the main room gets paid and we have promoters that take the back room they get a fee and they book there own line up but for new comers they play for free until they have made a name for themselves with production or just being a good dj. We get hundreds of people wanting to play for us and its easy to say let them all have a chance but if the club is not busy then we are loosing money especially a venue the size of tripod it costs a fortune to open our doors every week and we need to make sure that the venue is full.

i actually had a conversation with paolo mojo about this 2 weeks ago and he told me that some of his first gigs abroad he played for free they just payed his flights and hotel until his name grew. The best way to make it and for us to recognise you is production thats the key to making money out of this game and getting gigs. This is a business and when you have established yourself then you can make money thats the way it has been and will always be i think every big club in the world does excatly the same thing.

I know it seems unfair we used to have a budget for smaller djs but as things have gotten quieter in the venue things have been cut of course the support in the main room gets paid and we have promoters that take the back room they get a fee and they book there own line up but for new comers they play for free until they have made a name for themselves with production or just being a good dj.

You see thats my point i posted this morning, your venue has gotten quieter - Why? Thats what you should be analysing & attempting to resolve, perhaps its the way you conduct your affairs has given you a bad rep??
    Dont even try & say recession, there wasnt a whole lot of money around at the very beginning of the 90's but the OLYMPIC, ASYLUM, SIDES, WATERFRONT, ORMOND etc etc were jammed every week, Why? they served up to the punters quality DJ's & Quality tunes & looked after the DJ's. If the tunes & DJ's were dire those venues would have died a death.
    We get hundreds of people wanting to play for us and its easy to say let them all have a chance but if the club is not busy then we are loosing money especially a venue the size of tripod it costs a fortune to open our doors every week and we need to make sure that the venue is full.

Again here you have to look at why it is not filling, if you cannot manage to fill a venue in the city centre in a nation of alcoholic party lovers then you really have to look at how you are currently running & approaching things. Surley from this thread you can recognise that if you made the gesture to give back €50 or €100 to the new DJ trying to get going by taking it out of the Big name DJ's fees you would gain a lot of credibility as a decent venue to work for, or have you not got the balls to negotiate a big DJ's fee down €100 in support of the new lads out the back trying to get going? If a big name DJ wouldnt even move a €100 down on their Fee to support the new lads then they are wan.kers.

Some food for thought i know but the problem of the venue not filling lies squarley with you. You need to approach it with a new strategy.

That will be €100 consultancy fee please:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Chloroplast

@ tripod :

Why do you guys keep comparing everything to back then. if you or the other user posting under his profile had to do gigs for free years ago, then what makes you think its ok to continue this trend now ? just because that's what you went trough yourself doesn't make it a valid enough excuse for not sorting anyone out with a few quid, and that's what we are talking about here, a few quid, you cant even pay that much and the excuses for it are dire to say the least.

i was one of the first people to post here in this thread and i had a genuine interest doing so. i asked if it was for dublin only or what... so its for anyone.now let me ask do you really think im a desperate/sad enough person to travel from wexford for a free gig ? answer is NO. but get me a train ticket and a few beers, yes. but this zero payment thing is cheap,low and discriminating, to the point that you should actually stop posting on these boards altogether before you damage your reputation even more than it is damaged now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭/\ NIGHTFLIGHT

99% of promoters in Dublin are DJs. Therefore, if a local dj brings no one along, he adds nothing to the night and the promoter would be better off djing himself.

Everyone is a dj these days, so to get decent gigs you'll need to have more than good taste in music and be able to mix. Irish DJs who do get paid gigs are usually producers i.e: Chymera, John Daly, Donnacha Costello, Lerosa, Sian, Fish Go Deep, Mano Le Tough etc

The more i think about it i am getting even more pis.sed off now........i remember even at illegal raves we had up in the Hellfire club & in gaffs even we had a whip round for the DJ's for the effort!!!!

Unless you make a gesture to look after the DJ's you are attempting to swindle your name is Mud.

We a running a comp for djs to play before Tony lionni in the Button Factory. The winner gets to play to a crowd alongside an established act and they get a few beers and guestlist for their mates. As well as good night and the opportunity for more gigs.

You see thats my point i posted this morning, your venue has gotten quieter - Why? Thats what you should be analysing & attempting to resolve, perhaps its the way you conduct your affairs has given you a bad rep??
    Dont even try & say recession, there wasnt a whole lot of money around at the very beginning of the 90's but the OLYMPIC, ASYLUM, SIDES, WATERFRONT, ORMOND etc etc were jammed every week, Why? they served up to the punters quality DJ's & Quality tunes & looked after the DJ's. If the tunes & DJ's were dire those venues would have died a death.

Again here you have to look at why it is not filling, if you cannot manage to fill a venue in the city centre in a nation of alcoholic party lovers then you really have to look at how you are currently running & approaching things. Surley from this thread you can recognise that if you made the gesture to give back €50 or €100 to the new DJ trying to get going by taking it out of the Big name DJ's fees you would gain a lot of credibility as a decent venue to work for, or have you not got the balls to negotiate a big DJ's fee down €100 in support of the new lads out the back trying to get going? If a big name DJ wouldnt even move a €100 down on their Fee to support the new lads then they are wan.kers.

Some food for thought i know but the problem of the venue not filling lies squarley with you. You need to approach it with a new strategy.

That will be €100 consultancy fee please:D

you dont have a clue what you are talking about the asylum and all those clubs payed residents but never payed local supports i know because alot of those guys would be friend's of mine it was a time when electronic music was just starting off but where are all those clubs now the pod is open 20 years and im working there 8 years and we are still going. I deal with every major club in ireland that includes northern ireland and everyone from cheesy to dance venue are all struggling because of the recession all club's in the city centre apart from copper face jacks is having the worst time they have ever had of course we look after dj's with drinks. Until they establish themselves as an artist or name that can pull then they will be playing for free you ask any other big promoter in ireland and i garuntee thats what they will say

No one is being swindled if they know what happens before they play. If you think its unfair, don't send in a mix.

If you actually read my response i considered & posted this morning you will see i actually agreed with that - 'if you dont like it dont send in your mix'......that doesnt detract from the issue just because one chooses not participate. By ignoring the reasons the venue is not filling will not resolve it for the promoters of 515 even if i choose not to participate & does not make it any more justified because only people that are willing to go along with the terms apply.

you dont have a clue what you are talking about the asylum and all those clubs payed residents but never payed local supports i know because alot of those guys would be friend's of mine

Accepted & i am now educated on that, thanks. Do you reckon any of them venues made anywhere near as much money as you do in a weekend?
    it was a time when electronic music was just starting off but where are all those clubs now the pod is open 20 years and im working there 8 years and we are still going.

Closed due to very relaxed door policy's, drug wars, shooting's & stabbing's but they were packed every night that they were open. I fail to see your point in applauding your venue being open so long but struggling to fill the dance floor but all the while you will pay top money to the 'Big name DJ's' & not look after the guys starting out.
    I deal with every major club in ireland that includes northern ireland and everyone from cheesy to dance venue are all struggling because of the recession all club's in the city centre apart from copper face jacks is having the worst time they have ever had of course we look after dj's with drinks. Until they establish themselves as an artist or name that can pull then they will be playing for free you ask any other big promoter in ireland and i garuntee thats what they will say

So your defense is that it is an industry norm.....now you really are pis.sing me off.......just because its being done in other clubs you portray it as being the only way.......maybe if you were to stick your head above the parapit & start promoting your venue as looking after new up & coming DJ's word might get around that this place are good guys & lets support them ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

ffs lads, a promoter has a slot he would like to fill.

Your monetary worth as a dj is how much of a crowd you can pull. Whether you do that being a proper serious artist/producer or by facebook spamming the crap out of your mates, is up to you.
    Either way, to expect to be paid regardless is illogical.
    If your presence at an event directly leads to revenue for the promoter then you deserve to get paid. Simple.

I would be willing to bet my left nut on the fact that if Donal puts on a complete unknown from this mix submission thingy, there won't be any sort of meaningful revenue generated in the grand scheme of things.

The fact is, that if you won't do it without getting paid, then there are hundreds of equally entitled guys who will.

Jesus lads, if you wanna get paid to dj non-commercial music, go become a producer. It's the ONLY way.

Or else become wedding/mobile dj's.

If you actually read my response i considered & posted this morning you will see i actually agreed with that - 'if you dont like it dont send in your mix'......that doesnt detract from the issue just because one chooses not participate. By ignoring the reasons the venue is not filling will not resolve it for the promoters of 515 even if i choose not to participate & does not make it any more justified because only people that are willing to go along with the terms apply.

People are not sitting at home boycotting clubs because the warm up dj has to play for free. This has no relevance to why clubs aren't full.

As with many industries, sometimes you have to work for free to get your foot in the door and make useful contacts.

What!!!! Work for free.......this is very basic,

Fair days work for a fair days pay.

€50 for the new guy is fair......using your position to lever some free DJ's all the while paying top dollar to 'Big name DJ's' & whining about the venue being empty & crying the poor mouth will get you no where.

Sure there is talk now about making people on the dole work for their money, why? beacuse you should earn your money not get it for free. The DJ's are putting in the effort of coming from maybe Waterford, Wexford or wherever & playing for the night, why should the Venue get it for free & the DJ not get anything when they are a profitable organisation?

this is my last post on this guys normally new warm up djs will also be given as much free guestlist as they want depending on what main room guest we have on and if they impress with set then they will be asked to play again we are all about supporting local talent and we will have loads of new djs playing for us in room 2 for the winter and of course if the become regular residents they will get paid

What!!!! Work for free.......this is very basic,

Fair days work for a fair days pay.

€50 for the new guy is fair......using your position to lever some free DJ's all the while paying top dollar to 'Big name DJ's' & whining about the venue being empty & crying the poor mouth will get you no where.

Sure there is talk now about making people on the dole work for their money, why? beacuse you should earn your money not get it for free. The DJ's are putting in the effort of coming from maybe Waterford, Wexford or wherever & playing for the night, why should the Venue get it for free & the DJ not get anything when they are a profitable organisation?

Fair days work? Its playing some music for an hour.

As I said, we aim for local djs who live in Dublin and who would probably be going to the night anyway. I wouldn't expect anyone to travel up from Waterford.

this is my last post on this guys normally new warm up djs will also be given as much free guestlist as they want depending on what main room guest we have on and if they impress with set then they will be asked to play again we are all about supporting local talent and we will have loads of new djs playing for us in room 2 for the winter and of course if the become regular residents they will get paid

Your name is MUD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

why should the Venue get it for free & the DJ not get anything when they are a profitable organisation?

BECAUSE THEY CAN!!

And why can they?
    Because a local no-name dj can be replaced by a hundred others and it will make no difference to revenue. If you are disposable in any job, you will have a low wage. The only reason that wage drops to 0 with local unknown dj's is because the local unknown dj's are in massive abundance and are willing to do it for free.

Jesus, it's simple facts and figures lads.

People are not sitting at home boycotting clubs because the warm up dj has to play for free. This has no relevance to why clubs aren't full.

I think I actually applied to one of your comps through facebook, and now I know why!

In saying that, if you are offering warm up slots to capable djs, I'm sure there's plenty who would be willing to travel such a distance to have a club like the button factory on their CV. So just keep that in mind!

As regards to 515, I'd gladly travel up to play, and if I need to spam the crap outa my facebook page to help the cause, that could be done aswell, I'm sure everyone knows a number of people who are living in Dublin and who'd happily go on the cheaplist to support a friend and also have a good night out!

If I ever get the chance to play these clubs, and I get offered further gigs off the back of them, I'm sure the promoter would understand that I'd have a fair ammount of traveling to do, so I hope for future gigs something could be worked out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

will someone please give eeloe a gig

tanx

Meh, I'm just saying how I see the whole situation, as myself and sweeno are the only ones who have applied, and gotten replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

well after reading 515's paolo mojo story im sure they will pay for your petrol and put you up for the night in a hotel and sort you out for beers and food.

I hope so! :-)