Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Holland -v- Spain - World Cup Final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Both of them deserve a world cup tbh. Netherlands claim is older but the sheer class of that Spanish team demands a title.
    I'm neutral, wouldn't mind either way. But Spain looks massive and destined to win this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Spain will win this 2-1 .....

Listen to this , put your money on ... you WILL make money , I have been spot on with every Spain match so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

so is the thought of a faker like Capdevilla for me too!

And f*cking Busquets.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Im waiting for the Oracle Octopus to predict it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Macker1

PHB wrote: »
    I think Van Bommel will get booked early too, after all the talk about him.

With a bit of luck he will get the Red Card he so richly deserves. A dirty spoiler who doesn't give a feck about playing football. Hopefully Xavi and Inestia will dance their merry jig around him inviting the crude tackles he excels at.

Viva Espania :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Paul only does German football matches, lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

Jaysus octopi are Fúckin sick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Damn it, I had good money on Redout starting this thread!

Anyway, adiós Alemania, viva España!!!

Bring on la Naranja!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

My money's on Holland. Should be a close game though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I can't bring myself to want any of these cheating gets to win the World Cup. Not sure I'll even watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

ye im bemused as to why anyone wants spain who got 2 players sent off by play acting,and most of their team who plays for barca thinking they are above the rules in football by spewing fabregas barca DNA BS in the media,to win the world cup.

xavi pique puyol busquets are the biggest cu#ts in football.

though the dutch aint much better,but something very arrogant about spain and their barca/real madrid players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Macker1 wrote: »
    With a bit of luck he will get the Red Card he so richly deserves.

There's a couple of Spanish players who deserve the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

ye im bemused as to why anyone wants spain who got 2 players sent off by play acting,and most of their team who plays for barca thinking they are above the rules in football by spewing fabregas barca DNA BS in the media,to win the world cup.

ah come on. What teams dont use tactics to sign players. In the english league Manchester United, Chelsea and Man City all spring to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

xavi pique puyol busquets are the biggest cu#ts in football.

van Bommel outweighs them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Boskowski wrote: »
    Both of them deserve a world cup tbh. Netherlands claim is older but the sheer class of that Spanish team demands a title.
    I'm neutral, wouldn't mind either way. But Spain looks massive and destined to win this.

No one deserves a World title, you have to win one.

I hope Spain win it now. The last thing soccer needs is another ugly side winning a major trophy ala Inter with the CL. Spain have the better players and the coach is doing his job now. Playing Pedro instead of Torres worked last night and he should start in the final too. They started to click into gear but still they over-elaborated with their passing. Just fcuking shoot. They can be frustrating at times but Xavi and Iniesta are the 2 main men and everything goes through them. Iniesta is just back from injury but unlike Torres he can still play.

Spain need this WC more than Holland, they have clearly the better players and if they dont win this now they will be labelled the biggest "bottlers" of all time. This is their moment to prove that they are not chokers, I think they have enough experience especially with all the Barca boys to pull it off. ;)

Dirty as he is, at least Van Bumhole is blatant about it. I blame the refs more for not sorting him out and have slightly more respect for his kind of thuggish spoiling than what e.g. Capdevila or Keita did. Robben's been guilty of some woeful sneakiness too.
    Warper wrote:
    Spain need this WC more than Holland, they have clearly the better players and if they dont win this now they will be labelled the biggest "bottlers" of all time. This is their moment to prove that they are not chokers

This game is truly the battle of the bottlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Dirty as he is, at least Van Bumhole is blatant about it. I blame the refs more for not sorting him out and have slightly more respect for his kind of thuggish spoiling than what e.g. Capdevila or Keita did. Robben's been guilty of some woeful sneakiness too..

Let's not forget Sergio Ramos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Have the dutch insisted on being called the Netherlands instead of Holland? I've heard a few commentators tripping over calling them "Holland", and correcting themselves and saying Netherlands afterwards. I noticed Gilesy doing this a lot last night, and Lawro was bleating on about it on BBC in there quarter final game.
    Anybody know what thats all about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭blobert

Have the dutch insisted on being called the Netherlands instead of Holland? I've heard a few commentators tripping over calling them "Holland", and correcting themselves and saying Netherlands afterwards. I noticed Gilesy doing this a lot last night, and Lawro was bleating on about it on BBC in there quarter final game.

Holland is a region in the west of the Netherlands, though people tend to refer to the whole country as Holland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Turtyturd wrote: »
    He does...after standing in a queue for hours with loads of other people that want to get their hands on it.

There is no justice in a world where Dirk Kuyt has more World Cup winners medals than Lionel Messi.

Kuyt has I think 1 goal and 3 assits in this tournament

He may not have Messi's natural talent but you have to admire the man for his sheer hard work and determination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I obviously want Spain to win, and think they will. But in the end it's a triumph for football that we're guaranteed to have one of the underachieving heavyweights in world football finally getting their hands the WC trophy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Ill be taking my spot in the same place again on Sunday. Munster final then World Cup Final. Thank God I have Monday off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,843 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

gimmick wrote: »
    Ill be taking my spot in the same place again on Sunday. Munster final then World Cup Final. Thank God I have Monday off.

Hahaha, I'd say we saw each other yesterday. Place was hopping, quite like my head is this morning. :p

Officially only. In popular parlance the alliterative Hup Holland is the de rigueur chant in all provinces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Kuyt has I think 1 goal and 3 assits in this tournament

He may not have Messi's natural talent but you have to admire the man for his sheer hard work and determination

Kuyt in my opinion is the glue keeping the team together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

eZe^ wrote: »
    Hahaha, I'd say we saw each other yesterday. Place was hopping, quite like my head is this morning. :p

Where were you? I was up on the balcony, but I went into the small room at teh back of that and watch the small TVs as I had no proper view of the mad big screen.

you'd swear the rest of the players in world football were angels.

yes, Busquets, Ramos and Capdevilla are dislikeable people.

but so are Robben, de Jong and van Bommel.

as are players on any football team.

i don't see why all the recent hate for Spain.

i really think it's resentment towards the fact those Spain players are so good and successful, that it's now somehow 'cool' to dislike them now.

i don't really care who wins Sunday.

i'd love Sneijder to win a Grand Slam of a domestic treble and the World Cup. i'd love to see Kuyt lift the trophy. but i'd also struggle to stomach van Bommel lifting it.

i'd love to see Xavi, Villa and Torres lift the trophy, as they're amongst my favourite players. but i'd also struggle to stomach Busquets getting his hands on the trophy.

i'd be wary of supporting a team based on cúntish behaviour. you wouldn't support anyone then ;)

i foresee a cagey final, which springs into life 2nd half, and Spain winning 1/2-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I don't think Paul Oktopus will be predicting this game, he only does German ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

SlickRic wrote: »
    you'd swear the rest of the players in world football were angels.

yes, Busquets, Ramos and Capdevilla are dislikeable people.

but so are Robben, de Jong and van Bommel.

as are players on any football team.

i don't see why all the recent hate for Spain.

i really think it's resentment towards the fact those Spain players are so good and successful, that it's now somehow 'cool' to dislike them now.

i don't really care who wins Sunday.

i'd love Sneijder to win a Grand Slam of a domestic treble and the World Cup. i'd love to see Kuyt lift the trophy. but i'd also struggle to stomach van Bommel lifting it.

i'd love to see Xavi, Villa and Torres lift the trophy, as they're amongst my favourite players. but i'd also struggle to stomach Busquets getting his hands on the trophy.

i'd be wary of supporting a team based on cúntish behaviour. you wouldn't support anyone then ;)

i foresee a cagey final, which springs into life 2nd half, and Spain winning 1/2-0.
    Jealous?i find their football boring and for all their sexy football it took a header from a set piece to beat the germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Jealous?i find their football boring and for all their sexy football it took a header from a set piece to beat the germans.

It was a truly English goal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,268 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

iVamos Espana!

I really hope they do it on Sunday. I love Spain and their team. They're such a disciplined and well-organised side. Iniesta and Villa have been outstanding for them.

I don't have that many problems with the Dutch, just van Bommel. He is a major scumbag and I hope he never wins a WC medal. I know Marchena is the Spanish equivalent of him but Marchena hasn't contributed as much to Spain's run.

In 08 it was for Puerta. In 10 it'll be for Jarque. :)

so they can do it all so.

a great team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Poor Mark Van Bommel getting all this abuse.

Second most fouled player in the tournament so it's all just a self defence mechanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

CorkMan wrote: »
    I don't think Paul Oktopus will be predicting this game, he only does German ones.

Just announced on SSN that he will be predicting the Final as well as the 3rd Place Playoff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Just announced on SSN that he will be predicting the Final as well as the 3rd Place Playoff!

Who knew a WC final would be decided by a German octopus.

Hard to know who to want to win. Spain have been the best side in the world over the last 3-4 years and whilst their style of play hasn't been easy on the eye in this tournament, they're still unreal at retaining possession and winning it back. Del Bosque obviously realised that if they went into the WC and played the likes of Argentina/Brazil in the same attacking manner as they did in the Euro's then they could well get caught out on counters etc.

I've a soft spot for Holland though after reading 'Brilliant Orange'. 36 years on from the West Germany final I think this will be their year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I was little undecided about who to cheer for until...

http://www.football365.com/mediawatch/0,17033,8749_6251815,00.html
    Go Holland, Go Holland
    Mediawatch would like to alert all its readers to the following headline on nextround.net - 'Dutch Porn Star Promises BJs To All Twitter Followers If Netherlands Wins The World Cup' - and we're happy to pass on the name: BobbiEden.

62,686 and counting...

Needless to say, she can consider herself followed!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Expect the Netherlands to play ultra negatively and dirty and the uncultured half of boards to whine about how boring Spain made the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

At least they found a way to beat them. Doesn't matter how, but they always seem to find a way, like all good teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

A referee who allows a more physical game and Holland are a dead cert, even more so if the constant play acting gets punished (Capdevila shouldn't be playing any further part in this tournament after the Portugal red card).

It's a big fear that Spain will win. They are so interminably boring, yet so many people think that they are so great. What's great are things like Maradona's second against England in '86. Not 100,000 passes in a move that ultimately gets broken down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

tolosenc wrote: »
    A referee who allows a more physical game and Holland are a dead cert, even more so if the constant play acting gets punished (Capdevila shouldn't be playing any further part in this tournament after the Portugal red card).

It's a big fear that Spain will win. They are so interminably boring, yet so many people think that they are so great. What's great are things like Maradona's second against England in '86. Not 100,000 passes in a move that ultimately gets broken down.

Have to disagree... Fluid, flowing passing is the essence of what 'the beautiful game' is. Spain do it so well, and I don't find a team being able to string a perfect cutting and perfectly timed passes together boring. I find that to be a spectacle to watch.

I have no love for Spain, if I'm to be honest, but they have been arguably one of the most consistent teams in the World Cup; yes, they have been. Apart from the boo-boo against the Swiss, they have won every other game and have been playing good football. The other teams in the semi-finals were also equally consistent and all thoroughly deserved to be there; the Dutch are on a 100% streak (I think) and the Uruguayans were undefeated going into the semi-finals. The Germans (again, like Spain, had one blemish against Serbia) were also very consistent and were playing some spectacular football.

Spain-haters beware; regardless of what that octopus says, I reckon Iker Casillas will be hoisting the World Cup high come Sunday night. It won't be an easy victory, but I think Spain will just have too much in the tank for the Dutch...

Unless van Bommel hacks them to victory...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I think its the 1st World Cup final where i hate both teams. I shall be playing pro evo on Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    Expect the Netherlands to play ultra negatively and dirty and the uncultured half of boards to whine about how boring Spain made the final.

I'm expecting this to be one of the nastiest world cup finals. The dutch are going to be fouling and diving from the beginning to try and disrupt spains passing game. Once the rhythm of the play has been broken up the dutch will be free to cross and try long shots. Depressingly, they are probably going to win too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I was little undecided about who to cheer for until...

http://www.football365.com/mediawatch/0,17033,8749_6251815,00.html

Needless to say, she can consider herself swallowed!
    Fixed that for you, mind you don't fancy sloppy 62,266's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Pauleta wrote: »
    I think its the 1st World Cup final where i hate both teams. I shall be playing pro evo on Sunday night.

Spoken like a true fan who would rather play a video game than watch the biggest game of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

spain to win and villa to score twice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

DazMarz wrote: »
    Fluid, flowing passing is the essence of what 'the beautiful game' is. Spain do it so well, and I don't find a team being able to string a perfect cutting and perfectly timed passes together boring.

It's not fluid or flowing when Spain do it. It's predictable and static. It is executed perfectly, however. Germany this year and Brazil(usually) going forward, passing and running, switching sides is the beautiful game (in which I believe there is also a lot of merit for strong defences, which seem to be detested in htis day and age). Short taps side to side in the middle third is a very conservative, unnatractive form of offence.

I can see we're going to agree with each other now :P It's just one of those things.

If Xavi or Iniesta have an off day, Spain will be in serious trouble. Villa too, though to a lesser extent.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

tolosenc wrote: »
    It's not fluid or flowing when Spain do it. It's predictable and static. It is executed perfectly, however. Germany this year and Brazil(usually) going forward, passing and running, switching sides is the beautiful game (in which I believe there is also a lot of merit for strong defences, which seem to be detested in htis day and age). Short taps side to side in the middle third is a very conservative, unnatractive form of offence.

I can see we're going to agree with each other now :P It's just one of those things.

If Xavi or Iniesta have an off day, Spain will be in serious trouble. Villa too, though to a lesser extent.

If it was predictable and static (you might want to look that word up in a dictionary) it would be easy to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

patmac wrote: »
    Spoken like a true fan who would rather play a video game than watch the biggest game of the year.

It may be a big game for you but considering i hate both teams, me watching this match would be like going to a Coldplay concert, lame, irritating and i know when its all over im gonna be sad and depressed :D