Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overkill UK Police?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

still finding it hard to believe they haven't found him yet tho, t

have they looked behind themselves yet?

"he's behind you"

"Oh no he's not"

" oh yes he is"

"Oh no he's n..." BANG BANG BANG

[wipes off blood splatter]"told ya!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Given that they cannot find a bouncer who's mind is melted from steroids I sincerely hope some soldier who has been tracking the taliban in Afghanistan for 2 years doesn't decide to flip out some day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    If you won't end this now, they will kill you. Is that what you want? It's over Johnny. It's over!

Trautman: It's good to hear your voice Johnny, it's been a long time. Look John, you've done some damage here, they don't want anymore trouble. That's why I've come. I want to come in there and fly you the hell out. Just you and me. We'll work this thing out together. Is that fair enough?

Rambo: Where did you come from Sir?

Trautman: Bragg.

Rambo: I tried to get in touch with you, but the guy's in Bragg never knew where to find you.

Trautman: You know I haven't been spending much time there lately, they've got me down in D.C. I'm shining a seat with my ass.

Rambo: I wish I was back in Bragg now.

Trautman: We'll talk about that when you come in.

Rambo: I can't do that Sir.

Trautman: Look John, we can't have you running around out there killing friendly civilians.

Rambo: There are no friendly civilians!

Trautman: But I'm your friend Johnny! I was there with you knee-deep in all that blood and guts. I covered your ass more than once. Seems like baling you out of trouble's got to be a life-time achievement for me.

Rambo: There wouldn't be no trouble except for that king shit cop! All I wanted was something to eat. But the man kept pushing Sir.

Trautman: Well you did some pushing on your own John.

Rambo: They drew first blood, not me.

Trautman: Look Johnny, let me come in and get you the hell out of there!

Rambo: They drew first blood...

Trautman: Rambo, are you still reading me? Company leader to Raven! Rambo! Acknowledge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

It's the ultimate game of hide and seek.

Man I'd love to be over there looking for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It'll all end in tears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

The BBC have reported that Ross Kemp has flown back from the amazon to take on the gunman.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,602 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Maybe he is in a hut, with a moat around it...

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

Get Trent to sort it out. PEOWWW PEOWWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Moat is slowly being surrounded.

Now, THAT's irony :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Davei141 wrote: »
    The BBC have reported that Ross Kemp has flown back from the amazon to take on the gunman.

Send Ross Kemp's ex-wife instead !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

If/When they do find him, he's not going to go quietly - his mom was hardly clever was she, telling him there's no point living any more? Idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

brummytom wrote: »
    If/When they do find him, he's not going to go quietly - his mom was hardly clever was she, telling him there's no point living any more? Idiot

Maybe she's named on his life insurance policy?

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭Brendygg

im sick of watching the manhunt on Sky but i cant turn it off because i cant find the Raoul Moat control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Jesus, have you seen the hair on the main policewoman thingy?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Biggins wrote: »
    The SAS it has been announced (this morning) has been called in too.

What use will an airline be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,925 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Anyone who thinks that is Overkill has not seen me come back from a 5 to 1 round in Counterstrike.

They don't happen often, but when you can pull it off, it's magical.

funny, that exact point came up with the work crowd over breakfast today too :D
    and it wasn't even me that made it!

Would save a fortune in taxes, most expensive region in the UK for the government in subsidies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The Gardaí would have got him by now.

darkman2 wrote: »
    The Gardaí would have got him by now.

They must have improved since they were looking for the Mad Dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Have they got him surraoulded yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

They must have improved since they were looking for the Mad Dog

Or Prawo Jazdy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

brummytom wrote: »
    Jesus, have you seen the hair on the main policewoman thingy?!

Her name is Sue Sims. I was expecting to see a woman of Asian origin given the name.
    Instead I saw what appears to be a human ferret with a hairstyle fresh from the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Brady

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Her name is Sue Sims. I was expecting to see a woman of Asian origin given the name.
    Instead I saw what appears to be a human ferret with a hairstyle fresh from the 80's.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Excellent oppertunity for a danger **** me thinks with that many police tracking you down

and ffs

Just call Dog The Bounty Hunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

They should bring in the US Military to find him. It'll only take them 2-3 years, and a few thousand dead civilians.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

They should bring in the US Military to find him. It'll only take them 2-3 years, and a few thousand dead civilians.
    ...and they'd have to invade Ireland too ....just in case! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

That second photo reminds me of Gary Oldman in Leon

"Bring me everyone"

"What do you mean "everyone"?"

"EVERYONE!!!!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

They should go really nuts, rolling around in Tanks adorned with miniguns and flapping strands of ammunition, bowie knives between the teeth, grenades strapped to belts and harrier jets hovering overhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Brady wrote: »
    True, i somehow doubt holding a fully automatic machine gun to what looks like a pensioners head is necessary!?

That's a bit odd alright. MAybe they asked him to pose like that or something!
    Further more in the other picture there are at least 2 guys with huge sniper rifles which is of no use close quarters...

Well that's why all the other guys have guns that are of use close up. IF they got a radio message the guy was half a kilometre away those rifles would be pretty handy.
    Im from the north and i can remember when there was a real terrorist threat, it was no were near as bad as that.

I'd say if they were on a capture mission like this they'd have just as much weaponry. And I can't imagine army patrols in south Armagh weren't as armed as above. Sure I was walking past the barracks in coleraine a few weeks ago when a soldier came to the gates to get a delivery and he had a gun bigger than the machine guns in that photo

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Hey,

Im sure all of you's have been reading the story about this massive police manhunt for Raoul Moat.

Having read some of the latest developments and checking out the images i couldnt believe hardware on display of the UK police force (check out attachements)

Is it just me or is this overkill?!

Images are Sourced from BBC Newswebsite

Not overkill imo.

If they didnt have the full force out people would complain, but when they do have the force out, people still complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Brendygg wrote: »
    im sick of watching the manhunt on Sky but i cant turn it off because i cant find the Raoul Moat control

Okay, I laughed and felt bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

A piece on the radio this morning had an interview with a forensic psychologist.

http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback/49/thursday/2/

Basically said that he thinks Raoul Moat is going to die one way or the other, either by suicide or cop suicide.

Harldy overkill when it's a mad murdering gunman on the loose who wants to go out in a blaze of glory.

Brendygg wrote:
    :D clever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I say they should send in Vic Mackey.

He'd have the guy caught in under one day with enough time left to rob the Armenian mob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well we don't know if the Brits have special forces deployed, or if they can even use the military as an aid to the civil power's.

But in this country the Defence Forces would have been deployed in the search efforts much earlier in the search.

This is the kind of thing soldier's excel in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭sxt

It's all over the news over here, and i have to say I did think it was all a bit overkill, but can now understand the psychological tactic behind it. Apparently he has waged war on the wider public now, so they are stepping their search..still finding it hard to believe they haven't found him yet tho, they've found two places he slept rough so far..

..but didn't the police release a statement the day before , where the individual stated, paraphrasing here " the general public were not at risk":confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

sxt wrote: »
    ..but didn't the police release a statement the day before , where the individual stated, paraphrasing here " the general public were not at risk":confused:
    He has declared war on the general public as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Is it just me?!

I hope its just you, the wanna be Ned Kelly wants to go out in a hail of bullets like some white trash idol, i hope they oblige...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Well we don't know if the Brits have special forces deployed, or if they can even use the military as an aid to the civil power's.

But in this country the Defence Forces would have been deployed in the search efforts much earlier in the search.

This is the kind of thing soldier's excel in.

Indeed. Without the help of the Irish Defence Forces, Don Tidey may never have been found. Pte Patrick Kelly died when the team of Gardai and soldiers successfully found him that day in the woods of Derrada but unfortunately it disturbed his terrorist captors too.

RIP Private Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    i imagine he'd probably change his mind if all of them appeared all tooled up outside his tent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I had to laugh when I heard their figures for Northumbria - 4,100 cops and just 40 trained to use firearms.

Here we have 13,000 with 3,000 constantly armed detectives and then the RSU and ERU for specialist stuff like this. Not often we beat the UK in terms of our ability to have cops defend themselves, imagine if something happened in the far corner of the county now? Intersting that in the US, albeit their gun culture is total bull****, that this just wouldn't be able to happen because every member of the local community would have a gun :P

Time for all cops in the UK to be armed has come if you ask me, and I'll say the same of the Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

sdonn wrote: »
    I had to laugh when I heard their figures for Northumbria - 4,100 cops and just 40 trained to use firearms.

Here we have 13,000 with 3,000 constantly armed detectives and then the RSU and ERU for specialist stuff like this. Not often we beat the UK in terms of our ability to have cops defend themselves, imagine if something happened in the far corner of the county now? Intersting that in the US, albeit their gun culture is total bull****, that this just wouldn't be able to happen because every member of the local community would have a gun :P

Time for all cops in the UK to be armed has come if you ask me, and I'll say the same of the Gardaí.

the de Menezes family might disagree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

harsea8 wrote: »
    the de Menezes family might disagree with you

Theres a difference between armed cops and incompetent armed cops in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The first picture,the police man is aiming the rifle at the boot,not the old womens head,thats what he is there for,to cover his buddy opening the boot....

And no,it is not overkill,armed man goes crazy and is hiding in a huge forest with difficult terrain and is threating to kill anything that comes near him,sure lets send in a few unarmed officers with big sticks to arrest him!

The fact he has evaded arrest this long means he has some cop on and knowledge about living out doors and it seems the whole thing has been well planned by him.

The more police the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

All I can say is,they look bad ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

I'm from the North-East of England, and can safely say that Northumbria's finest are absolutely clueless.

That Sue Simm leading the investigation is a joke, asking Moat to hand himself in after saying the previous day that he was hiding in a tent in Rothbury.

Aye Sue, he's going to have Sky News in his tent like :rolleyes:

An incident happened between Sunderland football fans and Northhumbria Police last August, which still hasn't been resolved in court as they ''lost'' the CCTV they allegedly had.

Moat has given them the complete run-around and it's not surprising.

What a bunch of idiots Northumbria's finest are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

Kiwi_knock wrote: »

He hasn't.

It stinks as a tactic that Northumbria Police have used to put more fear and awareness in people to help capture Moat.

This whole incident is seen as a bit of a laugh in the North-East at how incompetent the police there are.

Raoul is probably sitting in his mothers house in France as we speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3047313/Tornado-jet-called-in-for-Raoul-Moat-search.html

They're sending fighter jets now.

Won't sending all this badass hardware in encourge more people to be hard men? He probably thinks he's John Rambo.

sdonn wrote: »
    Theres a difference between armed cops and incompetent armed cops in fairness.

the London MET would beg to differ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

What did they send over from N.I ? Was it amour plated X5's or the old landrovers?

(if it was the landrovers he will hear them coming from miles away )