Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words/phrases that irritate you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

"Thats like, so awesome, high five"

Anyone else immediately think: Jedward?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Taught when you mean thought
    Thread when you mean tread (as in tyres)

Thats enough for now or I'll get on me igh orse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭starlit

"you know what i mean/saying" like three or more times in a sentence or confersation!

"you alright love"

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭BMF Plint

carlow people when they say laaaad really bugs me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭revz

When people say genious instead of genius
    Really pisses me off, i.e
    "that was genious" or even worse "man, your a genious"

One that i haven't seen in a while but definitely had people say to me (on facebook and the likes) was genii as the plural of genius.
    IT'S GENIUSES AHHHHHHH.

Also hate Americanised English

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭swe_fi

Maybe someone said before but this...this....boils my blood

"-Am I asking myself a question as a statement and then answering it?"
    "-Yes I am"

Like when a reporter asks plonkers on tv are interview about shiii like

"-Excuse me Mr So and so, but why did you not save that whale (you monster)?"

"-Am I a person that likes to see whales die...?" "-No I am not.."

Yuk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Dont know if it has been mentioned already but...

When people say "do be" or "does be"

"When I am at work I do be posting on boards"

"He does be looking at the internet all day"

GRRRRRRRR iritates me so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭patmac

I hate when people say 'the cheques in the post' no it's not lying bastard, most Czech people go by plane or boat anyway.

I hate when people say 'end of', lazy feckers.

I also don't like when girls call other girls 'lads' feckin lezzers.

Anyway my board's subscription cheque is in the post, end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"There's fierce heat off that sun"

No sh!t... it's a giant ball of fire! you don't open your freezer and say "there's fierce cold from that ice"

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

irregardless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Thepones wrote: »
    When people say "do be" or "does be"

"When I am at work I do be posting on boards"

"He does be looking at the internet all day"

I do that :o
    But don't hate me, it actually makes sense.
    Irish has tenses that English does not have so it's a direct translation of what a native Irish speaker would say.
    I did a presentation on this once, there is a technical explanation for this, I'll try to find it
    It's not correct English but there is history and a reason why people use it.
    It's done in the midlands, mid-west and further west anyway.

Edit: good info on Hiberno English here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hiberno-English

Certainly not just a Mayo/Sligo thing
    Some Irish speakers of English, especially in rural areas, especially Mayo/Sligo in the West of Ireland, use the verb "to be" in English similarly to how they would in Irish, using a "does be/do be" (or "bees", although less frequently) construction to indicate this latter continuous present:[12]
    "He does be working every day." Bíonn sé ag obair gach lá.
    "They do be talking on their mobiles a lot." Bíonn siad ag caint go leor ar a fóin póca.
    "He does be doing a lot of work at school." Bíonn sé ag déanamh go leor oibre ar scoil.
    "It's him I do be thinking of." Is air a bhíonn mé ag smaoineamh.
    Irish has no pluperfect tense: instead, "after" is added to the present continuous (a verb ending in "-ing"), a construction known as the "hot news perfect" or "after perfect".[13] The idiom for "I had done X when I did Y" is "I was after doing X when I did Y", modelled on the Irish usage of the compound prepositions i ndiaidh, tar éis, and in éis: bhí mé tar éis/i ndiaidh/in éis X a dhéanamh, nuair a rinne mé Y.[14]

My pet hate is "guards" to refer to the Gardai.
    "The guards have a checkpoint in the town"
    So, so difficult to say gardai?

It's not correct English but there is history and a reason why people use it.
    It's done in the midlands, mid-west and further west anyway.

I've only heard knackers talk like that and it's only been in the last few years.

same difference

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Am I Evil?

Might have been said but people that say..
    Nuff said

**** right off you ***** :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

You people are easily upset. Language brings colour. It needs to be diverse or it gets boring.

Lets face it, you really hate the what you associate with the phrase and not the phrase itself.

Your all douche bags - LOL

steve06 wrote: »
    I've only heard knackers talk like that and it's only been in the last few years.

See above, I edited my post

And you need to get out of your town and get around, it's common/
    You live in Dublin anyway, completely different

it's common

that was my point :D

Yes, common for many tens of thousands of people all over the country
    No common as in low class!

You posted:
    I've only heard knackers
    and
    and it's only been in the last few years.

Meaning you're pretty young or you don't know very many people or possibly both.

I'll tell you what's common.
    People in Dublin turning Steven into Stevo :p

So to go back to the OP, what's with people in cities called Liamo, Stevo, Anto, Deco and so on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Blue Sky

Going Forward

Put a loop in it and get back to me

Touching base

Eggs in a row

This evil corporate speak...I would love to cleanse it from all middle manager's mouths with a fiery archangel sword.

TBH or IMO or IMHO

Thinking outside the box :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Being referred to as "kid" or "ked" by somebody that is younger than me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 35 mitsy

A girl in work finishes every sentence with 'you know that kinda way'............after every sentence............it does my head in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

A girl in my work starts her sentences with "No, but"
    I could say i really like vanilla ice-cream and she will always say something like "no, but i think vanilla is crap i much prefer banana ice-cream, and because i said it, its right."
    One of these girls that has to disagree with everything you say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

It's probably been mentioned here before...but I hate the word "banter"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

More corporate speak that winds me up

Keeping the lights on
    The big picture
    40,000 foot view
    let's not reinvent the wheel
    let's touch base about that

eeeerrrrggghh they drive me mad and show so little imagination :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

"in terms of"

• Registered Users Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Going forward-should only be used by soccer commentaters