Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stephen Gately sculpture to be erected at train station

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

They shoudl put up a statue to mikey graham isntead, for his phenomenal ACTING TALENT, as witnessed in fatal deviation

skip to 8:20 to see mikeys oscar winning performance. or watch the whole thing if you really want to see if its possible to get cancer from a film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

Why doesnt Ronan erect it in the grounds of his new mansion he's having built in Malahide or wherever it is, instead of shoving it in the rest of our faces?! Seriously, its utter nonsense..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Will it be a bronze sculpture I wonder.

It should be a hugh tourist attraction for the Sherriff street area one should think,
    You could have the Stephen Gatley Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus, the Stephen Gatley Grill and Spit Good Time Eating Euphonium with all the waiters dressed as Stephen Gately doing Stephen Gately things, the Stephen Gately Pub Crawl. Feck it why not re name the whole area Gatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Jennyfer wrote: »
    Why doesnt Ronan erect it in the grounds of his new mansion he's having built in Malahide or wherever it is, instead of shoving it in the rest of our faces?! Seriously, its utter nonsense..

There won't be enough room for another statue, not after the 900 feet tall statue of himself is bolted to the lawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

They shoudl put up a statue to mikey graham isntead, for his phenomenal ACTING TALENT, as witnessed in fatal deviation

skip to 8:20 to see mikeys oscar winning performance. or watch the whole thing if you really want to see if its possible to get cancer from a film

Oh. My. God. Im mortified for all those "actors"..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Jennyfer wrote: »
    Oh. My. God. Im mortified for all those "actors"..

Dont worry, im sure they all went on to lucrative careers in porno, or McDonalds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

brummytom wrote: »
    Yet there's money for a statue of this talentless 'singer'?

What's with the inverted commas? He was a singer, and quite a talented one at that.

So what if he's going to get a statue? Fair play to his mates for wanting to remember him.

But sure, Luke Kelly didn't get a statue and he was a true Irish singer so let's have a moan and put down someone else while doing so :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I guarantee in 10 years time every single person who walks past that is going to say "Who the hell was Stephen Gately?"

I understand that some people want to commemorate the man's memory, but this is not the right way.
    He wasn't that famous, plain and simple...
    I didn't know his name untill after he died and I'm from the boyzone generation.

This is a pointless waste of money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Good to see homophobia and begrudgery operating side by side here. Boardsies are really operating on over drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I guarantee in 10 years time every single person who walks past that is going to say "Who the hell was Stephen Gately?"

And the statue will probably be wearing a Tesco shopping trolley.

He wasn't that famous, plain and simple...

15 million albums = not that famous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Xavi6 wrote: »
    What's with the inverted commas? He was a singer, and quite a talented one at that.

So what if he's going to get a statue? Fair play to his mates for wanting to remember him.

But sure, Luke Kelly didn't get a statue and he was a true Irish singer so let's have a moan and put down someone else while doing so :rolleyes:

Thats a first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gmol wrote: »
    Thats a first

A first for what? Care to elaborate rather than making a poor attempt at a witty quip?

Are you saying that Gately couldn't sing and wasn't talented?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭gazzer

You can just see the unveiling of this statue. Ronan will blab on about how much he misses Stephen but neglecting to mention how they have milked the hell out of the lads tragic death.

Then he will sing a song (badly) and the other 3 members will mime (badly)

gazzer wrote: »
    You can just see the unveiling of this statue. Ronan will blab on about how much he misses Stephen but neglecting to mention how they have milked the hell out of the lads tragic death.

Then he will sing a song (badly) and the other 3 members will mime (badly)

Theres that meme again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

rovert wrote: »
    15 million albums = not that famous

He Personally sold 15 million albums?? :eek:
    That's amazing... I didn't know he even released a solo album.

He was part of a band that was famous... He personally wasn't that famous.

Can you without checking tell me the name of Led Zeppelin's Drummer?
    He was part of a band that sold a hell of a lot more albums than Boyzone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

The idea behind is very nice but there's two problems I can see. The First is that the station is only open Monday to Friday 7am to 7pm.
    The second is that the station is to be demolished and moved elsewhere in 8 or 9 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

He is getting a statue because he was gay. Simple as. If he were straight he wouldnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Good to see homophobia and begrudgery operating side by side here. Boardsies are really operating on over drive.

It's not homophobia to oppose building a statue to someone who will be forgotten in about twenty years.

You should get a statue for leading a nation, for winning a battle, for doing something other than warble a few catchy tunes.

Giving him a statute belittles everyone else who got one, like when Barack Obama won the Nobel Prize for getting elected President.

Nice story mate.

John Bonham is a bit more famous than you give him credit for.

It's not homophobia to oppose building a statue to someone who will be forgotten in about twenty years.

Im referring to actual homophobic posts in this thread.
    IYou should get a statue for leading a nation, for winning a battle, for doing something other than warble a few catchy tunes.

Phil Lynott says hello
    MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    He is getting a statue because he was gay. Simple as. If he were straight he wouldnt.

If he was a Republican you wouldnt be saying this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Superbus wrote: »
    I get that they want to commemorate him, but a sculpture is overdoing it. A plaque would have done imo, they're just opening themselves up to criticism with a sculpture.

A plaque wouldn't have been enough since a plaque, well, it's only words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Xavi6 wrote: »
    A first for what? Care to elaborate rather than making a poor attempt at a witty quip?

Are you saying that Gately couldn't sing and wasn't talented?

That's the one

Im referring to actual homophobic posts in this thread.

Phil Lynott says hello

If he was a Republican you wouldnt be saying this.
    What has he done to deserve a statue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

If he wasn't gay he would be getting a statue.. it's just a pretentious effort to show that Ireland respects people's freedoms.. when in fact all it really is is the same old singling out of people that the gay community has been fighting for years

if they want to put up a statue for someone who was gay but actually done something noteworthy - oscar wilde, instead of some clown from a boyband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

aDeener wrote: »
    if they want to put up a statue for someone who was gay but actually done something noteworthy - oscar wilde, instead of some clown from a boyband

Already is one

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/48/Oscar_Wilde_Statue.JPG

=p

I bet Gatley's won't be as kick ass as that either

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    What has he done to deserve a statue?

He didnt kill da Brtis 100 years ago so I doubt any answer I give you will not entertain.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Jaysus lads, scorn not his simplicity.

He didnt kill da Brtis 100 years ago so I doubt any answer I give you will not entertain.
    Thats just pure bollix :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭purpur1

I see the point you're making but i'm wondering was he really that important to the majority of Irish people to be awarded a statue? For example, if it was to be publicly funded and not funded by Boyzone members, then would it actually be granted by the government? It's been suggested and it's being implemented solely by the band, not the public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

You should get a statue for leading a nation, for winning a battle, for doing something other than warble a few catchy tunes.

Giving him a statute belittles everyone else who got one, like when Barack Obama won the Nobel Prize for getting elected President.
    are you for real? of course talented legendary musicians deserve memorials.

Stephen Gately is not a 'talented legendary musician'.

Give it two decades and no-one will remember him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

L..

**edit88 wrong forum, thought I was in DCF**

Are you seriously suggesting that he who is generally regarded as one of the greatest drummers of all time , isn't famous?

ha i wasn't talking about Stephen Gately

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

Already is one

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/48/Oscar_Wilde_Statue.JPG

=p

I bet Gatley's won't be as kick ass as that either

also a wilde 'statue' in galway

http://www.visittartu.com/10984

Are you seriously suggesting that he who is generally regarded as one of the greatest drummers of all time , isn't famous?

Welcome to AH were objectivity and factual evidence are a rarity.

Explain how he wasnt a talented singer?

If what you say happens what makes this different from a great many statues?

pop music changes constantly, he will be forgotten!

oscar wilde said: 'what's popular isn't very good'

A bench would be grand but a statue is over the top.. No disrespect for the fella but he's the jade goody of ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

if you know about decent music you would know him. yitebags around here wouldnt have a clue

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

People have different tastes in music folks.
    Some folks reckon boyzone had talent. Others reckon they were a pile of steaming cack. Neither party is necessarily wrong. So, you know, calm down.

A bench would be grand but a statue is over the top.. No disrespect for the fella but he's the jade goody of ireland.

How can you respectfully compare someone to Jade Goody?

is the station named after somebody already? wolfe-tone to gately or something as insulting.

I don't want my children thinking gatley was greater than robert boyle!

• I don't see the problem in it. He was a hugely famous singer in a hugely famous band (whether or not you think their music was any good), and was from the area. Never heard about him committing any crimes so it's not as if he was a bad role model. And as for the people suggesting he's only getting a statue because he's gay, cop yourselves on. Do you really think there wouldn't have been a request for a Ronan statue if Ronan Keating had died? I mean, what is the problem here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

RIP

Did she sell 15 million albums?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

[quote=[Deleted User];66819247]Do you really think there wouldn't have been a request for a Ronan statue if Ronan Keating had died? I mean, what is the problem here?[/QUOTE]

Their probably would by someone :rolleyes: but still doesnt mean they gotta put one up.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Who's paying for this erection?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭questionmark?

JOE JOE ITS A BLEEDING DISGRACE I TELL YAZ THEY COULD AVE'S SPENT IT ON BUYING A FIELD FOR DA KIDS HORSES JOE