Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭the watchman

- you can be guaranteed that if I do the same thing with them, they won't reply![/QUOTE]

Your dead right there Boneyarse! lol. And then even if you reply with half a page you often get a reply something like......"yea ur right" lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

mood wrote: »
    That's great. Did he stop using the dating site as well? And after how long did you discuss this? It's just so hard to know what to do if you have meet someone you like. Do you stay on the site until you are officially going out or just stop using it when you have arranged a second date! I so new to this!!!

Well after the 2nd date, when i knew we had really clicked, i just stopped using the site. Still have a profile, but dont go on it anymore. We discussed it after the 2nd date and i just asked him if he was dating anyone else? He said he hadnt even been on the site after meeting me.
    It is tricky, better to be upfront though. Ask after the 2nd date, as then you will really know if you like them or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭xoixo

liah wrote: »
    OkCupid is definitely my favourite, seem to be little to no creeps/pervs/taken people messaging me on it which is a nice change. Plus, if you're bored, there's plenty of quizzes to take and other activities you can do on the site, so there's always something.

But it's globally based instead of just Irish so the results aren't quite that localized, but there are a fair amount of Irish people on it.

I never joined any of those kind of sites before, but after reading this (and also being incredibly bored stuck indoors on a Friday night) I decided to check it out. I'm not looking for romance, nor feel very comfortable meeting someone off the internet but have to say this site seems really different.

Its young, has so many fun quizzes and tests (though I'm a bit of a dork for things like that) and actually a fair few hotties. Also just had a couple conversations with some really sound people.

Glad I stayed in tonight now :) can see this site becoming a slight addiction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

xoixo wrote: »
    I never joined any of those kind of sites before, but after reading this (and also being incredibly bored stuck indoors on a Friday night) I decided to check it out. I'm not looking for romance, nor feel very comfortable meeting someone off the internet but have to say this site seems really different.

Its young, has so many fun quizzes and tests (though I'm a bit of a dork for things like that) and actually a fair few hotties. Also just had a couple conversations with some really sound people.

Glad I stayed in tonight now :) can see this site becoming a slight addiction!
    Age/sex/location haha :p joking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Some people really annoy me on dating sites. They have absolutely no information in their profile, which makes the whole first contact thing so much harder. I've put some amount of effort into my profile, so it annoys me even more when a girl sends me a message with just, "hey, how are you?" in it - you can be guaranteed that if I do the same thing with them, they won't reply!
    I find it's usually a bad sign if a girls first message is like that. I don't think I'll reply to any more one-liners. Totally get why girls don't reply to guys who do the same.

Pembily wrote: »
    I don't have much information in my profile, if you want to know as and I will tell you!!!! I don't reply to people who are outside Ireland as I am not looking for a penpal or a long distace relationship... I have said that in my profile too, b!tchy and all as it sounds I don't care!!!
    Maybe it's just me, but profiles that don't have much information or don't talk about any interests seem really boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Tony Sopranoe

I recently set up an account on POF and would love to get it checked over by some of the girls on here.
    Im hoping for any feedback good or bad that would help make a good impression on the ladies.

If anyone would kindly help me out, please reply and i will PM you a link.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

flash1080 wrote: »
    Maybe it's just me, but profiles that don't have much information or don't talk about any interests seem really boring.

i agree, why would you be compelled to send someone a message if there's no "point of information" :D I would imagine that ones without that much info tend to elicit the "hey how are you?" messages even more. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Has anyone else found that the first two weeks you get loads of e-mails etc then very little?

I also find that very few men who contact me would suit me.

Yea it goes in spells. The 1st two weeks i got loads of mails, then it went quiet.
    Then i went off it for a week, then it went really busy again.
    Just have an open mind, dont think that blokes wont suit you, im with a guy i would never have thought of being with.

Snoopy1 wrote: »
    Yea it goes in spells. The 1st two weeks i got loads of mails, then it went quiet.
    Then i went off it for a week, then it went really busy again.
    Just have an open mind, dont think that blokes wont suit you, im with a guy i would never have thought of being with.

When I said don't suit I'm not taking about hobbies or personality.

I would like to get married and have kids one day if I meet the right guy so that rules out a lot of men who have been contacting me!

Ok lets get this straight WOMEN for the first few weeks get loads of messages lol
    Not men its not how works for us mainly cause.......
    Women dont seem to make first contact on these sites unless there either open very friendly or very much so attracted to the fellas profile and of course you will get the desperate ones as well.

So being a man on that site you have hell lot more work and effort to put in. From being on Plenty fish meself for more then a year i have noticed that no matter how much effort and taught you put into your profile and messages your still gonna get ignored and your still gonna wonder what feck is the point?

I get nice messages now and again though i have to say by odd girl who actually make it worth while for me being there.

I dunno what age you all are on here but im not looking for anything like sex or any that just looking for someone who i get on with and who can trust.

Main problem with dating sites is unless you have a very good looking person in your picture you wont get the attention your intentions deserve.

The decent nice people will most of the time get ignored cause of the weirdos and sex driven fools male/female.

Why do ye think it works for some people and not others. I have always wondered about that. I met my partner on a dating site and i had a few relationships with men i met on dating sites.

Yet anytime the subject is mentioned you get a lot of people ( mostly women ) saying i have had bad experiences with dating sites..."lots are all ready attached"..."anyone i meet was only looking for sex/or an ego stroke" or "i met weirdo's"

I have a few theory's about why this happens..i have lots of theory's about everything:D

but i would like to here what other people think.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Why do ye think it works for some people and not others. I have always wondered about that. I met my partner on a dating site and i had a few relationships with men i met on dating sites.

Yet anytime the subject is mentioned you get a lot of people ( mostly women ) saying i have had bad experiences with dating sites..."lots are all ready attached"..."anyone i meet was only looking for sex/or an ego stroke" or "i met weirdo's"

I have a few theory's about why this happens..i have lots of theory's about everything:D

but i would like to here what other people think.

hi maria, yeh, i had good experiences, never chatted/met up with any marrieds, or any other weirdos, all lovely normal down to earth guys. But i have heard horror stories! I would love to hear your theories!

[1 possible, maybe some of the people who try it men & women, are not that net savvy, and can't weed the weirdos out?]

I have had good experiences from these sites but bad ones as well.
    People can seem great at first but then you find out other things about them and it can turn into a mess.

I guess that can happen both online and offline though.
    I guess my main problem with these sites is nearly half women on them will judge you before they even get to know you i dont understand how you can ignore someone who goes to bother of sending you a decent size message with taught put into it and is just trying to be nice.

Ah i don't know ...i had one bizarre experience which looking back was funny....in the end i realized he was just selfish and a bit of a coward.

I think it comes down to honesty...from simple things like not saying your interests are surfing and hillwalking, (when you have never done either!!) or saying the wire was the best tv series ever made( when you have never watched it but some guy you work with told you it was brilliant) I know some one who did both of those thing because they though telling the truth made them sound boring

...to more serious things don't lie about you'r age/weight/hight....i have talked to both male and female friend about this and its the biggest turn off...

I guess my main problem with these sites is nearly half women on them will judge you before they even get to know you i dont understand how you can ignore someone who goes to bother of sending you a decent size message with taught put into it and is just trying to be nice.

Yeh, i've heard a lot of the fellas say that here, and on the sites. One reason, as we said is that maybe women are getting flooded, especially if they have a picture up, you could literally be getting 10 mails a day. But you're right of course, it is polite to respond. One of my [girl]mates signed up for a site and put up profile etc, but then was basically too chicken to reply to anyone, so that could be another factor ;).
    mariaalice wrote: »
    Ah i don't know ...i had one bizarre experience which looking back was funny....in the end i realized he was just selfish and a bit of a coward.

I think it comes down to honesty...from simple things like not saying your interests are surfing and hillwalking, (when you have never done either!!) or saying the wire was the best tv series ever made( when you have never watched it but some guy you work with told you it was brilliant) I know some one who did both of those thing because they though telling the truth made them sound boring

...to more serious things don't lie about you'r age/weight/hight....i have talked to both male and female friend about this and its the biggest turn off...
    Yeh, this is disengenuous, and shortsighted, i mean the person is going to find out what you're really like, physically and personality wise, if you meet, so don't lie. And don't big yourself up, most people are just looking for a nice sweet normal person to cuddle up with :D

[i've heard of people putting up photos that are literally 10/20 years old, i mean, wtf? who are they fooling?]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Wow after reading some of the stuff in this thread I signed up to POF...got a reply after 2 minutes and have to say I don't know whether to reply or not...

kingtut wrote: »
    Wow after reading some of the stuff in this thread I signed up to POF...got a reply after 2 minutes and have to say I don't know whether to reply or not...

Em why?

Em why?

Well although I only signed up for the laugh I did spend about 15 mins making sure I left no blanks and put a pic up and I get a message from someone who has no pic which said

"hi there! im <username>!"

Surely first contact should say a bit more like "I saw your profile and liked what you had to say, I'm looking for x myself and if you want to know anything please ask etc...something like that"...

Well although I only signed up for the laugh I did spend about 15 mins making sure I left no blanks and put a pic up and I get a message from someone who has no pic which said

"hi there! im <username>!"

Surely first contact should say a bit more like "I saw your profile and liked what you had to say, I'm looking for x myself and if you want to know anything please ask etc...something like that"...

Are you male or female?

And being honest your not gonna get the perfect message from people all the time if they keep at the small messages its different but some people also look at it from the point of view that its better to start the conversation off get ball rolling instead of a big detailed message when person may not even reply :p

Are you male or female?

And being honest your not gonna get the perfect message from people all the time if they keep at the small messages its different but some people also look at it from the point of view that its better to start the conversation off get ball rolling instead of a big detailed message when person may not even reply :p

I am male.
    Oh I know I won't get the perfect message I just now see what people have been saying when they say that you won't get far / get much attention if you don't say a lot ha :D

To be honest mate being a man on here getting messages that quick after joining up id be happy enough ha usually you have to do all work on there being a fella so make the most of it :P

Ha thanks, well when I checked my e-mails this morn I got 2 more messages from people, all only 1 liners so maybe people don't like to say much the first time :confused: for a talker like me I am used to chatting a bit more ha :D

Oh and one person added me as a favourite :o .... that site is kinda fun ha

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

A couple of weeks ago, I signed up to okcupid out of boredom. I love it, and have met two guys from it. I was supposed to meet a third last week, but he rang to say his friend had been in an accident and he'd probably have to reschedule. I haven't heard back from him, so really hope everything's okay because we seemed to really like each other :(.

But then from reading this thread, I signed up to POF. I hate it! It's so user-unfriendly. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but the pages are so cluttered with ads and recommendations for matches that are completely inappropriate. On okcupid I started getting messages from really nice guys who've actually read my profile and had something to say. In the past 30 minutes I've gotten 4 mails on POF - 3 "Hi how are you"'s and one clearly generic message that he sends to everyone he's interested in. Incredibly disappointed with that site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

I signed up on match.com last week for a a laugh.Just logged in a week later.
    I have 200 views and theyre all nice girls ,I only wish I had have filled out my profile.:(

BumbleB wrote: »
    I signed up on match.com last week for a a laugh.Just logged in a week later.
    I have 200 views and theyre all nice girls ,I only wish I had have filled out my profile.:(

What are you waiting for!! Go get that profile complete :) no time like the present! Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

What are you waiting for!! Go get that profile complete :) no time like the present! Best of luck!
    Thanks Tut, will do ,no good at this profile stuff though. good luck ,Yourself

BumbleB wrote: »
    Thanks Tut, will do ,no good at this profile stuff though. good luck ,Yourself

Thanks - four responses so far.

Well my advice - be blunt in your profile!
    Tell them a few things you like and a few things you don't like...

eg.. "I love hill walking" - if someone reading your profile loves hill walking they might want to contact you, if they hate hill walking they might not but at least it saves both of you wasting time..

Another example "I don't like people who smoke" - anyone who smokes prob won't contact you but once again it saves both of you wasting your time.

The more useful info you put on your profile the more likely you are to get responses from people who 'fit' your needs....that's my opinion anyway :)

Oh and put at least 1 photo up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I signed up for Hookup.com. No pictures and very vague info about myself. Was getting about 10 emails a day off of girls that was interested in me. Can't reply to them unless I pay a subscription. Sorry girls.

Just remembered i joined Okcupid before now i remember why i never used it :p The people your matched to aint been online in months!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭musicmonky

i would not recommend www.parship.ie .
    reasons are

1. a lot of the profiles are old and in my opinion fake.

2. Continuous Credit Authorisation. This is a direct debit on a credit card.
    YOU can't cancel it the company has to .

3. They make it very tricky for you to go though the process to canceling. Once you find the right part of the account settings you then have you have to take to decipher what to do.

4. Sneakily they keep your profile active. So you go back to the website and the web browser has remembered you password and you logon automatically.
    You will be charged as you are back to using their services. This is not clear, you need to read the lengthy t&cs.

5. email contact only. no phone number and as they are a German company you cant complain to any Irish consumer protection as it is out of their jurisdiction.

Yes other companies may some or all of these things as well but they usually look dodgy. this website looks professional has a great hook about it being all about doing a profile on your personality. The website is smart bait and switch.

best to stay to the irish owned dating sites or the free ones.
    I think www.okcupid.com is the best free site.

Although dating sites in general are not for everybody. Its usually about looks than personality and dating sites are probably better for women than men.
    Men are better just being nice to random women in random locations at least that way you should get a reply.

Avoid the ones you have to pay for - I've been on one or two, and they all had a lot of fake profiles on there.

Met a girl last nite i talked to while back from POF but was bit going on at time so never really got to meet her.

Anyway everything went perfect i really really like her shes type girl i was hoping i would find and get to know better. Shes quite not loud mouth friendly kind good looking and actually knows how to pay her way haha u be surprised amount women that forget how to open that huge bag there carrying around with them when its time to get a drink :p

Even stayed night in hers last nite *No didnt have sex ha*
    So fingers crossed things go well gonna see her again Saturday bring her to zoo for day then dinner in town should be a laugh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭Purple Lemons

Met a girl last nite i talked to while back from POF but was bit going on at time so never really got to meet her.

Anyway everything went perfect i really really like her shes type girl i was hoping i would find and get to know better. Shes quite not loud mouth friendly kind good looking and actually knows how to pay her way haha u be surprised amount women that forget how to open that huge bag there carrying around with them when its time to get a drink :p

Even stayed night in hers last nite *No didnt have sex ha*
    So fingers crossed things go well gonna see her again Saturday bring her to zoo for day then dinner in town should be a laugh :)

Hope all goes well for you! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Ya congratz on getting out and meeting someone you like :)

Hope all goes well for you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭Purple Lemons

Tell me what she's like, physically(hair colour, eyes height etc) :D:D

Why would you want to know? Does it matter?

Didn't see that coming ha
    She has medium lenght black hair browny dark coloured eyes was hard to make out in the dark. She's bout 5ft8 nice height for her body which is slim.
    What else u want me say? Before gets odd lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Sparks 1

Hi All

Is there any alternative to dating websites ie any pubs or cafes where single girls hang out (not coopers). I have been thinking of joining a dating website but have been put off for a number of reasons. I think it would be better to see someone in person - u would know straight away if you make eye contact it there is a spark.
    Cheers for any advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Sparks 1 wrote: »
    Hi All

Is there any alternative to dating websites ie any pubs or cafes where single girls hang out (not coopers). I have been thinking of joining a dating website but have been put off for a number of reasons. I think it would be better to see someone in person - u would know straight away if you make eye contact it there is a spark.
    Cheers for any advice.

you could try speed dating, that way you could see who are talking to. I'm sure there are some places in Dublin that do it/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Scarlet 27

I took the plunge recently and joined okcupid.com and find it great. I was totally unsure about the whole online thing, but I love all the questions, quiz etc. I find it a very well put together site and have met lots of men that I seem to have things in common with. The more questions you answer the easier it is for you to find men you have things in common with. Also worth spending a while doing up your profile the more sparse it is the less likely someone is to mail you, because they wont have a whole lot to work with in an opening email if you dont have some specific details of what you like on your profile.

I really like that someone can rate you or you them and if you get rated 4 or 5 stars out of a possible max of 5 stars you are sent an email with nine faces and told that one of them has rated you 4 or 5 stars and you can go through there profiles and if you rate them 4/5 stars you are both sent emails saying that you both like each other and if you don't no ones ego gets bruised because you don't know which of the nine men/women liked you in the first place. At least this way you know in advance that the person likes you and you will both have things in common if you send them a message.

It is definitely easier to meet someone on this then out in a pub, people are much more likely to send you message or rate you whereas if you are out only the very confident tend to come over to you (totally understandable must be kind of daunting but it does mean that you just seem to keep meeting the same kind of men and not necessarily men who are a bit shyer but otherwise lovely). There is the odd person on it who is a bit odd but they seem to be in the minority and on the whole I would highly recommend this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Tony Sopranoe

Whats the main difference between POF and okcupid?

POF is a badly laid out confusing site, crammed full of people with no pictures and the literacy skill of a 5 year old. The average mail consists of nothing more than "hi how are ya" and it seems the vast amount of people are only looking for sex. Okcupid is much easier to navigate, most messages are from people who've actually bothered to read your profile and have pictures. The downside to okcupid is that there's only a fraction as many members as POF so you can exhaust your choices quickly enough if you're not in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I met a couple of girls off maybefriends.com after using it for a few weeks
    I've been on okcupid for a bit, but had not logged in for ages. Okcupid seems to be more laid back and user friendly.

Looked at POF ages ago, but heard bad storys about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

been on okcupid for a while, answered a silly load of questions and that's about it. Then again i've never gone out of my way to talk to the women on the site which defeats the purpose of it im sure :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭whatsherface

Well looks like OKcupid is the way forward we should have a poll on what everyone uses and see who gets most votes. I have heard pof is a no no!!

POF is alright, i met my boyfriend on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

okcupid seems pretty grand, (although I have nothing to actually compare it to as its the only site I'm on).
    Wouldn't mind a chat forum on it, the only way to get chatting to someone on it is by sending them a message/or a wink or one of the prizes.
    Or try what I tried once, comment on the answer one of the girls gave to one of the questions, it was about STI's, quite possibly the strangest/but funniest conversation I've had online in a while! I may not have made any real or lasting impression but I would like to think I at the very least gave her a giggle!:D

Is it worth paying for membership to one of the sites like match.com or whatever?