Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards chewing gum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Blay wrote: »
    Surgeon- Talking to people, operating

Garda- Standing guard, bored on duty in uniform in eye the of the public, serving the people not with force but by moral authority.

There's no reason to deny a guard a piece of chewing gum jesus if that's all people had to worry them they'd have easy lives.

One would have thought these basics were taught in primary school. If he wants to chew gum, he can do so while in the station or during his break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,833 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

sesna wrote: »
    It's a simple thing for him to chew it on his break, while in garda station etc. I would have thought these basics are taught at school.

Maybe he just didnt pay attention in that class:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

No chip on my shoulder. However, no sympathy for a garda having to stand on-duty for a few hours as is his job description.

Thanks for an obvious explanation of unprofessionalism. Sorry that you have no idea of basic work standards though.
    don't get paid to not chew gum
    most ridiculous thing i ever read

Water denying was brought into the discussion as a stupid diversion..
    that is what you will find here when you question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I was passing by the GPO at about 7 one freezing Sunday morning in December. Gard standing there with his hands in his pockets, collar pulled up as far as it would go, iPod in, about to fall asleep. The poor guy was proabably there all night, bored out of his tree! He's only human sure!

I do feel sorry for the garda you saw facing the elements.
    If theres a problem with cold exposure etc, higher ranks should roster them differently to get more relief/rotation after a couple of hours, so they are not exposed as long without adequate breaks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Garda- Standing guard, bored on duty in uniform in eye the of the public, serving the people not with force but by moral authority.

One would have thought these basics were taught in primary school. If he wants to chew gum, he can do so while in the station or during his break.

A garda chewing gum reduces their moral authority? Surely you're having a laugh? You must be, or else those primary schools really beat it into you that chewing gum is wrong :rolleyes:

If you honestly expect a person, and that is all they are, to maintain the utmost appearance at all times of their shift, while doing all manners of things then I'm afraid that while I appear to have no knowledge of "basic work standards", you're sadly out of touch with people on a general basis. No amount of money would make me not get bored at the GPO, even were I to count it in my head during my entire shift on it.
    most ridiculous thing i ever read

You mustn't read a lot. I doubt there's anything in Garda practice/handbooks along the lines of no chewing gum, no bottles of water in your belt etc. There probably is something about maintaining appearances, but let's face it, there are a few moaners on this thread and that's about the height of it. Hardly a shocker now, and you'd all still run up to the Garda who's chewing gum were you to get a syringe in the face or be robbed. I think it's time to find a new minor thing to rag on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Unprofessional - Below or contrary to the standards expected in a particular profession - I don't expect the Gardai to not chew gum. I don't think it's a standard to not chew gum. I expect them to uphold the law and ensure citizens do too, which most of them do

I don't know if you're in the job or not, but if you are you could try that one next time you're talking to the Chief. :)

A garda chewing gum reduces their moral authority? Surely you're having a laugh? You must be, or else those primary schools really beat it into you that chewing gum is wrong :rolleyes:

If you honestly expect a person, and that is all they are, to maintain the utmost appearance at all times of their shift, while doing all manners of things then I'm afraid that while I appear to have no knowledge of "basic work standards", you're sadly out of touch with people on a general basis. No amount of money would make me not get bored at the GPO, even were I to count it in my head during my entire shift on it.

You mustn't read a lot. I doubt there's anything in Garda practice/handbooks along the lines of no chewing gum, no bottles of water in your belt etc. There probably is something about maintaining appearances, but let's face it, there are a few moaners on this thread and that's about the height of it. Hardly a shocker now, and you'd all still run up to the Garda who's chewing gum were you to get a syringe in the face or be robbed. I think it's time to find a new minor thing to rag on
    you do not know what i read, may be i will send this link to the garda hq and ask them if there is anything in the handnbook re gum

RT66 wrote: »
    I don't know if you're in the job or not, but if you are you could try that one next time you're talking to the Chief. :)

I'm not but I'd say you could try telling the Chief that it was a roaster of a day at Croke Park and you only unbuttoned one button and loosened the tie just a fraction. Or maybe that it was mid-December and your hands were like ice and they were only in your pockets for five minutes to warm them up. You'll get no sympathy of them for that either. Not even the dude freezing his balls off at the GPO mentioned above would have gotten leeway.

Not all Gardai chew gum on the job. Not all of them put their hands in their pockets. Not all of them carry ipods so they can listen to the match while directing traffic. But those that do those things are no less capable or unprofessional than those that don't in my opinion. Appearances are not everything, and as far as I'm concerned, in the Gardai they've got very little to do with how a certain member operates. I'd sooner take the iPod Garda who's good at his job than the one who obeys the rules, nods and walks on or says he'll get back to me and never does. I'd sooner take that Garda because he's relaxed, laid back and is probably happier than somebody standing to attention, nads frozen off who just got chewed out of it for having his hands in the pockets.

There's a lot of schoolboy shít in the Guards that needs to be done away with, one of those being the uptight "appearance is everything" approach.
    you do not know what i read, may be i will send this link to the garda hq and ask them if there is anything in the handnbook re gum

Knock yourself out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

the emergency services thread have gone to the dogs lately, full of tripe.

I never said chewing on gum reduces moral authority, no more than chewing gum changes the colour of your uniform. I said doing so relies on numerous things including professional image/conduct.

Its not utmost of appearance, just basic standards you'd see everyday from most employees in any industry/sector.

I doubt there is anything in the garda manual about not showing up to work with clown paint on your face either. Just because every eventuality is not covered in the manual doesn't mean you should do it.

And lastly this is a discussion forum. Personally I've never even thought about it, but a poster brought up this minor point they witnessed looking for some feedback. Of course, there are more serious issues but doesn't mean we have to talk about nuclear holocaust or economic default all day long.

I never said chewing on gum reduces moral authority, no more than chewing gum changes the colour of your uniform.

Ahh but you were suggesting it with your "fixed post" there
    Have a bit of cop on whining on about being bored during shift work at the GPO. Trying keeping it to yourself. Have you no respect for yourself or the force? Everyone faces boredom in their job. Besides whats chewing gum got to do with it. Do you find that's a good form of entertainment?

I didn't think I had to repeat myself, but I'm not a member of the force. I've never applied, nor would I. If you want to know why, it's bullshít stuff like this that'd keep me away. No hands in the pockets. No chewing gum. Being constantly under the eye of Joe Public who think they're better than you. Living in fear of the Ombudsman for trivial crap that wouldn't get entertained in a month of Sundays anywhere else. Constantly worrying about dropping the ball, even ever so slightly and storms in a trivial-teacup over it. No thank you, I'll take my desk job over it any day knowing the crap most Gardaí have to put up with. Oh, and I'll chew gum while I'm at it, maybe while leaning up against the water cooler with reckless abandon too :eek:

As for trying to keep it to yourself, I honestly wish people like the OP would. There'd be less time for Joe Duffy-esque pantomime threads like this.
    I doubt there is anything in the garda manual about showing up to work with clown paint on your face either. Just because every eventuality is not covered in the manual doesn't mean you should do it.

Your clown paint analogy is weak at best. Clown paint looks ridiculous, chewing gum is just chewing gum.
    And lastly this is a discussion forum. Personally I've never even thought about it, but a poster brought up this minor point they witnessed looking for some feedback. Of course, there are more serious issues but doesn't mean we have to talk about nuclear holocaust or economic default all day long.

You seem to have given it enough thought today. I know full well what boards.ie is, I've been around the block. As such I'm fully entitled to disagree with you, and question the reasons behind your opinion that leaning up against a wall, and chewing gum - on one occasion might I add, because that's all the OP observed - makes it disgraceful, unbecoming of a Gardai and highly unprofessional. Shall we engage any futher, or leave it at that?

shakin wrote: »
    the emergency services thread have gone to the dogs lately, full of tripe.

I suspect they always were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

I suspect they always were.

on the contrary there used to be some interesting discussions and questions asked here, now its just a forum for people like yourself and others to have a go at the Emergency Services, and most of it is nit picking, its quite pathetic.

Ahh but you were suggesting it with your "fixed post" there

What are you talking about. I commonly edit posts for clarification/enhancement.
    Living in fear of the Ombudsman for trivial crap that wouldn't get entertained in a month of Sundays anywhere else.

The Ombudsman has dismissed the vast majority of complaints. The Garda Siochana Act is quite clear which guards must abide by. Don't blame the public for the Ombudsman, it was brought about by all those wonderful guards up in Donegal (and by virtue of the uselessness of the now defunt Garda Complaints Board).
    As for trying to keep it to yourself, I honestly wish people like the OP would. There'd be less time for Joe Duffy-esque pantomime threads like this.

Come on, boards.ie is at best a tabloid website, akin to watching Jerry Springer. What do you expect.
    Your clown paint analogy is weak at best. Clown paint looks ridiculous, chewing gum is just chewing gum.

Yes clown paint does look ridiculous and I chose the analogy for that very reason, to highlight that it's ridiculous to contend a garda manual covers every eventuality with regard to conduct, uniform, etc.
    makes it disgraceful, unbecoming of a Gardai and highly unprofessional. Shall we engage any futher, or leave it at that?

No, I think I'd reserve that for corruption, planting evidence, engaging in criminal behaviour. It's a very minor point that slightly diminishes the image, in my opinion. Neither my discussing it nor the OP's makes it any more minor or major.

shakin wrote: »
    on the contrary there used to be some interesting discussions and questions asked here, now its just a forum for people like yourself and others to have a go at the Emergency Services, and most of it is nit picking, its quite pathetic.

When did this dramatic shift occur, and if thats your interpretation of what this forum is about why was this thread not moved ?

I did not start this thread, merely made a very simple observation that I agree with the OP, which some such as yourself have disagreed with so vehemently over numerous posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,094 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Chewing gum - yes; bubble gum - no.

Where's deadwood when you need him?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

wheres NGA and deadwood when you need them i m sure they would have a great input here ;):cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Have to say, for all my law enforcement aspirations and constant priase of the Guards I have to agree with the OP on the gum front, don't like to see it purely because I think it looks a bit knackerish. Eating is different - but then you don't see Gardaí shovelling down brekkie rolls while leaning on the GPO, they'll sit in a squad car or some such, relatively out of sight.

Don't agree with any of the other shíte though, denying Gardaí water would surely be a huge breach of human rights if nothing else. Now if it was a can of lager maybe there'd be an issue :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

esel wrote: »
    Chewing gum - yes; bubble gum - no.

Where's deadwood when you need him?
    da__flash wrote: »
    wheres NGA and deadwood when you need them i m sure they would have a great input here ;):cool::pac:

Here, NGA, wake up pet, they need us. They REALLY need us.

What are you eating?

Take that gum out of your ears and stop chewing your eye pod, there's trouble down at the old abandoned mental asylum, i mean boards.

Now, follow me, left.. .right. . . left....stop...chew....left ....right....stop....scratch......hand in pocket....rummage....left ...right....STAY IN STEP....aaaaaaaaand, eat. We'll get there in time for overtime, don't worry.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Now can we please get back to some serious topics please.

Chief---