Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armenia v Ireland thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

naughto wrote: »
    from watchig this it just shows how slow he is,and that he keeps making the same mistakes week in week out.there has to be some one better in the whole of ireland to take his place.i feel he was at fault for the france goal as well

edit has the team being announced?

Any amateur sunday footballer worth their salt wouldn't make the mistakes he makes.

McShane + Thierry = Ireland stayed at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

from watchig this it just shows how slow he is,and that he keeps making the same mistakes week in week out.there has to be some one better in the whole of ireland to take his place.i feel he was at fault for the france goal as well

Yep,

Given

JOS
    Kilbane
    Dunne
    St Ledger

Mcgeady
    Lawrence
    Green
    Whelan

Doyle
    Keane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

Any amateur sunday footballer worth their salt wouldn't make the mistakes he makes.

McShane + Thierry = Ireland stayed at home.

yet he still makes the team.he should not be allowed on the bus never mind the bloody team.i have a pair off boots in the press if it ill help them win ill put them on ill even fork out for new scoks as theres holes in the one i have now

Yep,

Given

JOS
    Kilbane
    Dunne
    St Ledger

Mcgeady
    Lawrence
    Green
    Whelan

Doyle
    Keane

when we loose dunne in the back line we will be fu1ck
    and whelan not a fan but he tries his best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

From Wikipedia:

"Group B is interesting in that only 1 of the 6 teams in the group (Republic of Ireland) existed 20 years ago."

So its fair to say 20 years ago we probably would've won this group :pac:

was jack charlton the manager then.itwas not great football but at least we got the the world cups,ueros when he was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,798 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

From Wikipedia:

"Group B is interesting in that only 1 of the 6 teams in the group (Republic of Ireland) existed 20 years ago."

So its fair to say 20 years ago we probably would've won this group :pac:

Politics ruining our chances again I see:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

I looked through all pages and couldn't see this posted.

OTB's Ken Early took a pic of the match poster outside the stadium

155323271-41ada3410b70cff4e0ead4c9d.jpg

I see the Nordies have finally succombed :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Have a sick feeling about this match. I fear for our midfield pairing of Glenn Whelan and Paul Green. In fact, I really am starting to fear for the team as a whole, Keano and Duffer aren't going to be around forever.

connundrum wrote: »
    I looked through all pages and couldn't see this posted.

OTB's Ken Early took a pic of the match poster outside the stadium

I see the Nordies have finally succombed :p

Finally someone attached it to boards!! I was waiting for someone to do it on the other thread! (work proxy won't let me see links to sharing sites)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056019568

(I assume its the same poster?!)

I wonder did they do that on purpose? Hopefully they've been looking at the wrong videos too.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Thanos

Yep, its

Shay Given, John O'Shea, Sean Saint Ledger, Richard Dunne, Kevin Kilbane, Liam Lawrence, Glenn Whelan, Paul Green, Aiden McGeady, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle.

Edit: btw does it list the subs anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Finally someone attached it to boards!! I was waiting for someone to do it on the other thread! (work proxy won't let me see links to sharing sites)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056019568

(I assume its the same poster?!)

I wonder did they do that on purpose? Hopefully they've been looking at the wrong videos too.....
    Its a completely different poster I am afraid. The one you have linked in the other tread is 100x funnier, you really should see it <.<

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Its a completely different poster I am afraid. The one you have linked in the other tread is 100x funnier, you really should see it <.<

Feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Have a sick feeling about this match. I fear for our midfield pairing of Glenn Whelan and Paul Green. In fact, I really am starting to fear for the team as a whole, Keano and Duffer aren't going to be around forever.

Duff is an important player for us but I'm sure McGeady can eventually fill his boots, well at least to a certain extent.

The future after Robbie Keane is looking quite bleak though, at least what we can see coming over the horizon. Anthony Stokes seems to be our best bet there, unfortunately. Nevertheless Keano still has a bit left in the tank, he's only 30. Maybe by the time he has retired (5 years probs), we'll have some wonder kid who is only 14 or 15 now - here's hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

We are definitly going to win since McShane is not playing

Duff is an important player for us but I'm sure McGeady can eventually fill his boots, well at least to a certain extent.

The future after Robbie Keane is looking quite bleak though, at least what we can see coming over the horizon. Anthony Stokes seems to be our best bet there, unfortunately. Nevertheless Keano still has a bit left in the tank, he's only 30. Maybe by the time he has retired (5 years probs), we'll have some wonder kid who is only 14 or 15 now - here's hoping!

Christian O'Ronaldo

all iam going to say is

come on ireland
    flag.jpg

Who are the subs for this game?

post man pat tomas the tank engine little red riding hood and peter pan to name a few

or main team is weak so i cant see there being any thing on the bence to be happy about
    still think we will win 1 or 2 nill but or mid field could get a roasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

all iam going to say is

come on ireland
    flag.jpg
    post man pat tomas the tank engine little red riding hood and peter pan to name a few

or main team is weak so i cant see there being any thing on the bence to be happy about

:(

I think MF will be ok. Whelan likes to get stuck in, though I am worried about Green being thrown in at the deep and. At least out wide we're ok with McGeady & Lawrence.

Surely Gibson is on the bench? He's not injured, is he?

eventually found the squad list (may have changed slightly)

Shay Given

Keiren Westwood

Joe Murphy

John O’Shea

Richard Dunne

Sean St Ledger

Greg Cunningham

Kevin Foley

Stephen Kelly

Paul McShane

Darren O’Dea

Kevin Kilbane

Keith Andrews

Glenn Whelan

Darron Gibson

Paul Green

Liam Lawrence

Aiden McGeady

Andy Keogh

Damien Duff

Keith Fahey

Keith Treacy

Robbie Keane

Kevin Doyle

Shane Long

ya know what i for got about him how come hes not starting seeing that we have a lot of injuries??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭radiospan

Cillian Sheridan was called up too.

ya know what i for got about him how come hes not starting seeing that we have a lot of injuries??

Don't know. With Traps preferences, surely it would have been Gibson & Whelan?

Ya know, play the Man U player, who plays in the Prem & CL instead of a young unknown quantity. (not that Gibson is old or anything, 23?)

he likes to shoot to even if its at his own goal line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Why do I hear George Hamilton in my head saying "Oh no, it's gone in" every time I think about the match?

Armenia to be 1 to the good in an hour's time :(

tolosenc wrote: »
    Why do I hear George Hamilton in my head saying "Oh no, it's gone in" every time I think about the match?

Armenia to be 1 to the good in an hour's time :(

Jaysus you're some glass half empty merchant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

whats with all the negativity!

Ireland 3-0

common the boys in green!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

nuxxx wrote: »
    whats with all the negativity!
    Or some might say, whats with all the realism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Getting nervous now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Sure we`ll see at the end of the game, im optimistic tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,791 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

CMON IRELAND!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭ko4jm6y9iwv2lc

Oh give over with this sh!t, its the start of a new campaign, can't we even be somewhat optimistic?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

40 degrees :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,465 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Hot and humid temperature, not really going to be beneficial to us at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Whats the team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Is this going to be shown on the RTE player later on?

Whats realism got to do with Ireland????

LL - it'll be on RTE player, as Bill would say 'loyve'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

What are the weather conditions like currently in Armenia?

If it's pretty warm, I can't see the lads having the energy for chasing the ball - best to keep possession as much as possible. I think we'll nick it about 1-0, with Keane scoring hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,465 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

RasTa wrote: »
    Whats the team?
    Given
    O'Shea
    Kilbane
    Dunne
    StLedger
    Lawrence
    Mc Geadey
    Whelan
    Green
    Keane
    Doyle

LL - it'll be on RTE player, as Bill would say 'loyve'.

Yeah in work and it's a no go. Just wondering if they'll leave it up so that I can experience the painful ordeal in full when I get home.

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Given
    O'Shea
    Kilbane
    Dunne
    StLedger
    Lawrence
    Mc Geadey
    Whelan
    Green
    Keane
    Doyle

That team is good enough to get a result (even with the heat). Come on lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Hot and humid temperature, not really going to be beneficial to us at all.

Tony said it's very humid but here http://www.wunderground.com/global/stations/37789.html says 13% humidity :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    That team is good enough to get a result (even with the heat). Come on lads!!

Kilbane's playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭PCros

Vokes wrote: »
    What are the weather conditions like currently in Armenia?

If it's pretty warm, I can't see the lads having the energy for chasing the ball - best to keep possession as much as possible. I think we'll nick it about 1-0, with Keane scoring hopefully.

They are allowed take water at any time during the match.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Yeah in work and it's a no go. Just wondering if they'll leave it up so that I can experience the painful ordeal in full when I get home.

Same with me - bloomin' UK proxy so I can't view RTE player :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

Anyone watching it on RTE player!? Doesnt seem to be working for me here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

SantryRed wrote: »
    Kilbane's playing.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,832 ✭✭✭✭briany

Same with me - bloomin' UK proxy so I can't view RTE player :(

What about Justin.tv?