Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fuppin house party next door...

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

IT-Guy wrote: »
    As for the bolded bit, it sounds like good advice but tonight was just ridiculous, the bass was rattling the radiator in my room it was that loud!
    Used to live in an apartment in Galway, where the neighbours had a lot of late-night parties. I kept my sanity knowing that, in the morning, revenge was on it's way. You see, my flatmate had a bass guitar and with it, a 250 watt bass amp. At 8am the next day, I would be up, and the bass would be so loud that every freestanding item in my apartment would visibly shake.

My advice OP? Get yourself a bass guitar and at least a 250 watt bass amp, wait until the morning, and play the start of I Wanna Be Adored until your fingers hurt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 master_chief

I can't see any other option than to keep ringing garda / their landlord and keep complaining. They should sort them out pretty quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Gaunty

I had this problem before, made a topic on it last week or the week before. If they are just playing music loudly the Guards will fob you off and tell you its a Department of the Evironment issue and do nothing. I imagine they only called over to you because he was trying to get into your house. I can't see the Guards being bothered enough to keep calling to your area to stop them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Brick up his doors.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Play some ****ty ass music on repeat, full blast when you leave for work, having it play all day non stop till you get home.

Revenge time!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Don't want to shít you up OP, but I often wonder how many stabbings and beatings occur because of something so simple as this.

Maybe talk to your neighbours when they are sober? Like have a chat and just explain your situation? Keeping you awake at 4:30 is just taking the piss. I know i'd lose the plot too.

He had company while he was kicking your door? I would make a formal complaint to the Gardai about this, even if nothing happens, it would be on record so if anything happens in the future you can say you made a previous complaint and he caused you trouble in the past, you know? Stay away from them when they are drinking, that's the best advice I can give ya.

This seems like the best option to me. It sounds like it'll get worse before it gets better. It's not like they'd arrest anyone for loud music. But you might get a broken door or worse if they're drunk and belligerent.

Retaliate = You've done something wrong = They've got a point = Gardai will be less likely to help you as it's not a one-sided complaint.

Best of luck, i hope it sorts itself out

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Gaunty wrote: »
    I had this problem before, made a topic on it last week or the week before. If they are just playing music loudly the Guards will fob you off and tell you its a Department of the Evironment issue and do nothing. I imagine they only called over to you because he was trying to get into your house. I can't see the Guards being bothered enough to keep calling to your area to stop them.

I find this ridiculous. What good is calling some department on monday going to do when you are kept awake on saturdaynight?

Loud music in the middle of the night should be taken care of by the guards. Warn the party once. Have to drop by a 2nd time that night? Confiscate the equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Burn their house down!

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭IT-Guy

Gaunty wrote: »

Have to say the Gardai were brilliant, they've been called to the house before by the neighbors on the other side. The guys last night were very laid back and I don't mean that as an insult, it was the right attitude to bring into the situation, took the tension levels down a notch or two. They told me to get onto the Noise Pollution department of the council and make a complaint there. Hopefully the landlord will kick them out though, told him on the phone last night that's what I wanted, well pissed off with that cnut next door this morning. Have put up with this crap for too long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I don't mean to burst your bubble but the landlord is probably not going to kick them out unless they cost him money.

AFAIK it takes a lot of effort to evict someone if they're paying their rent and not damaging the property. Also imagine the lost rent if he kicks them out and has to wait for new tenants.

Also if he did kick them out, there would be a notice period in which they could make your life hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭IT-Guy

That would normally be true but it's a slightly different case here. The landlord is a local businessman and the tenant next door is also an employee of his! So not only is knobhead in danger of being evicted he may potentially be fired as the landlord is ruthless. Also no fear of finding a tenant, in the 2 years I've been here the house has always been occupied.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭thebullkf

IT-Guy wrote: »
    That would normally be true but it's a slightly different case here. The landlord is a local businessman and the tenant next door is also an employee of his! So not only is knobhead in danger of being evicted he may potentially be fired as the landlord is ruthless. Also no fear of finding a tenant, in the 2 years I've been here the house has always been occupied.

its the weekend ffs.

both of you are lucky to be working,i reckon you should get over yourself.
    what are you gonna do if new neighbours have parties?
    call the cops?....cops will soon tire of YOU.
    consider yourself lucky you have a job,if you didn't there's a chance you'd be in there with them partying.

he's entitled to a party....as you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Holsten wrote: »
    Play some ****ty ass music on repeat, full blast when you leave for work, having it play all day non stop till you get home.

Revenge time!
    The biggest problem with that is if they are willing to kick at your door to bitch at you for calling the guards, they would be more than capable of knocking your door down to cut out that racket.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭barneygumble

thebullkf wrote: »

Says who?

If anyone is entitled to anything, it's a night's sleep. This may come as news to you, but some people work weekends and don't have the luxury of losing a night on Friday or Saturday.

And WTF has "being lucky" to have a job got to do with it anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Whats the landlords number, we'll all ring him 24 7 and see how he likes it

Says who?

If anyone is entitled to anything, it's a night's sleep. This may come as news to you, but some people work weekends and don't have the luxury of losing a night on Friday or Saturday.

And WTF has "being lucky" to have a job got to do with it anyway?

1/ says me and the million or so people that socialise @ the weekends:rolleyes:

2/ it has everything to do with it.the guys renting,off his boss,chances are its for poor wages,things are hard enough in this day and age,and chances are the guy can't Afford to drink in pubs.

i am not condoning his other behaviour,just the party bit.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

shuvly wrote: »
    Im not gonna killa like, but the bitch is still gonna end up under the feckin cement...

How's the head Shuvly?

Whats the landlords number, we'll all ring him 24 7 and see how he likes it

yeah cos the polish guys have party's 24/7.

give over ffs.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

its the weekend ffs.

consider yourself lucky you have a job,if you didn't there's a chance you'd be in there with them partying.

Yea of course he's entitled to have a party, but not having the music so loud that it manages to rattle the OP's radiator like he mentioned in one of his posts. You surely don't need music that loud ffs.That really is just taking the píss. And then to go banging and kicking on the OP's door...

Just keep getting onto the Gardai OP. And get onto that department they mentioned...you're gonna have to get this sorted, unless you just want to grin and bare it, so you might as well start now. You got FA to lose. Good luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

its the weekend ffs.

I have found the moronic post of the day

• Registered Users Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

Minstrel27 wrote: »

judging by your recent posts,i think you have a problem.

good day sir.

A lot of saints on this forum....gosh:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

its the weekend ffs.

Not everyone works Monday to Friday, 9-5, music at 5am is unacceptable!
    Lucky to have a job? Maybe but over 85% of the labour force is still working.
    And if the OP is so lucky then going into work shattered isn't going to help and is pretty unsafe.
    You don't want drivers or forklift operators or maybe operating a crane while having no sleep at all.

OP, the tenant wakes you up, you wake the landlord up. It's the landlord who will solve this far faster then the council.

Realy, what happened last night was serious, numerous people have been stabbed over stupid incidents and disagreements just like this over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 maggot12345

keep records of what's happening, continue calling the gardai on a regular basis, continue complaining to the tenants and the owner. Put a letter to the owner in writing-it's his responsibility to deal with it. If he does nothing sue him, at least you'll get some satisfaction that way. You'll have records over a long period of time and garda records also. You can be sure the owner of that house wouldn't want to live beside that so why should you??

Not everyone works Monday to Friday, 9-5, music at 5am is unacceptable!
    Lucky to have a job? Maybe but over 85% of the labour force is still working.
    And if the OP is so lucky then going into work shattered isn't going to help and is pretty unsafe.
    You don't want drivers or forklift operators or maybe operating a crane while having no sleep at all.

OP, the tenant wakes you up, you wake the landlord up. It's the landlord who will solve this far faster then the council.

Realy, what happened last night was serious, numerous people have been stabbed over stupid incidents and disagreements just like this over the years.

i'm not condoning the Polish guys behaviour.Just his right to have a party.

i agree 5am is a bit much,the problem is if he gets moved out and another crowd move in and cause trouble...or worse it doesn't get rented out and attracts undesirables....

everyone needs to take a chill pill here,in the past the guys always turned the music down,this time they took offence,too much drink?,who knows.

the best way to deal with it is to speak to the offender,in the daytime.

explain his bahaviour is OTT,not accaptable and if it persists he'll get him evicted.
    at the end of the day,they're neighbours.
    if the polish guy bought the house,then there'd be no landlord to ring would there?

you catch more flies with honey.

crane drivers?...forklifts?.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've no idea what job the OP has.
    Was just giving examples of jobs where being tired is unsafe.
    If the OP is working at the weekend, it's unlikely it's just an office job where they can take things easy.

Anyway, it's not for me to speculate.
    If the OP wants to tell us their job that's up to them

It might be gone beyond that at this stage.
    But I accept your point

• Registered Users Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭jiltloop

i'm not condoning the Polish guys behaviour.Just his right to have a party.

i agree 5am is a bit much,the problem is if he gets moved out and another crowd move in and cause trouble...or worse it doesn't get rented out and attracts undesirables....

everyone needs to take a chill pill here,in the past the guys always turned the music down,this time they took offence,too much drink?,who knows.

the best way to deal with it is to speak to the offender,in the daytime.

explain his bahaviour is OTT,not accaptable and if it persists he'll get him evicted.
    at the end of the day,they're neighbours.
    if the polish guy bought the house,then there'd be no landlord to ring would there?

No person's right to have a party should intrude on other people's right to have decent night's sleep and to feel safe in their own home. In the past he's turned the music down.... so what? Why should the OP have to get up out of bed every night they have a party to ask them to turn it down? They obviously know it's at too high a volume in the first place.
    I have had the same problems in 2 different places (both times polish), I work weekends and I have 2 young kids (one was a baby at the time) and they didn't give a f*ck. I've had to put up with fights outside the house, music that has made walls shake. Gardai have no powers to do anything at all unfortunately.
    The last problem I had with neighbours was solved by getting my landlord involved. He took legal proceedings against nextdoor's landlord, problem was solved before anything went to court. Threat of getting sued was enough.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Since when is partying a right?

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭barneygumble

1/ says me and the million or so people that socialise @ the weekends:rolleyes:

2/ it has everything to do with it.the guys renting,off his boss,chances are its for poor wages,things are hard enough in this day and age,and chances are the guy can't Afford to drink in pubs.

i am not condoning his other behaviour,just the party bit.

I'm not disputing his right to do what he likes in his own home; at least up to the point where it infringes on the OP's right to do likewise (in his case, sleep).

Your point about having a job is still irrelevant.