Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Final Sligo vs. Roscommon 4pm Sunday

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I thought it was sweet haha :pac: Sure if Limerick won munster, I'd be cutting up half the pitch, bringing it home and worshipping it for the rest of my life, never mind kissing it. I was highlighting and admiring the man :P

Ah sorry, totally misread your post in that case.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

thats bull

Parc Uí Chaoimh was built in the 70's
    Dr Hyde Park was built in the 90's

McHale park was built on a FAS scheme until recently with all that brutal concrete seating

and anyway, Castlebar is a nightmare to get in and out of on match days.

Have you seen the state of Parc Uí Chaoimh's facilities!

What a win by Roscommon! Completely deserved the victory. However on a big pitch in Croke Park they will be severely exposed and absolutely hammered by a half decent team in the Quarter-Finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

DH2K9 wrote: »
    However on a big pitch in Croke Park they will be severely exposed and absolutely hammered by a half decent team in the Quarter-Finals.

The last time they played a big team in Croker they registered 3-10 against Kerry and that was in 2003 when they hardly had one of their great teams.

I wouldnt be that harsh on them and I really doubt their chances of pulling off a shock victory buy to say they'll get absolutely hammered is a bit too dismissive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

The last time they played a big team in Croker they registered 3-10 against Kerry and that was in 2003 when they hardly had one of their great teams.

I wouldnt be that harsh on them and I really doubt their chances of pulling off a shock victory buy to say they'll get absolutely hammered is a bit too dismissive.

Good point but they played a different way back in 2003. The style they play is to get everybody behind the ball. Only the best teams can pull off this tactic in Croker, eg: Tyrone, so I fully expect them to get exposed. However, great win and I am glad to see their work at Minor and U21 level is paying off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Pool4Life

Well Done Lads well deserved. Hopefully we will give it a good lash in croker no matter who we play. :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Brilliant match, some great long range point taking. No one really deserved to lose but in fairness to Ros they tore into Sligo and Donal Shine had a great game, could teach Aidan O'Shea a few things on how to play at full forward! ;)

Fair play to them anyway, was a good advertisement for the Connacht Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Had to practically drag my dad to the game at the last minute, caught in the trailgate for about 40km (seriously!), came in so late the ticket office was closed but big props to the stewards for letting all us latkes in for free! Needless to say as a Roscommon man it wasn't a day I'll forget easily and to share it with my dad makes it all the more special - this is what these provincal finals can mean to people.

Oh, and hey to a small row of loud and utterly abusive Sligo 'lads' behind the factory end goal - you made the victory a thousand times sweeter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Syferus wrote: »
    Had to practically drag my dad to the game at the last minute, caught in the trailgate for about 40km (seriously!), came in so late the ticket office was closed but big props to the stewards for letting all us latkes in for free! Needless to say as a Roscommon man it wasn't a day I'll forget easily and to share it with my dad makes it all the more special - this is what these provincal finals can mean to people.

Oh, and hey to a small row of loud and utterly abusive Sligo 'lads' behind the factory end goal - you made the victory a thousand times sweeter!

I'm delighted for Roscommon-honestly, you're my 2nd favourite county in Connaught:p

As for some of the Sligo 'fans'-we got abuse from a lot up in Markievicz-as well as them booing when Mayo were taking frees-very unsporting. I wish I was there to see those behind you today!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

lippy88 wrote: »
    I will eat my socks if the Ros win!! and thats a promise

Well done lads, great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Congrats Roscommon. This result was always on the cards. Sligo needed to come back down to earth after their magnificent wins over Mayo and Galway and the Rossies certainly brought them back down today. Sligo weren't mentally prepared for this game, no matter how much they tried to respect Roscommon, in the back of their minds they thought they had one hand on the trophy. We've all seen it happen before, after a great high comes a great low. A case of the opposition waiting in the long grass. That said, i think Sligo shot themselves in the foot today with some ridiculous wides (mixed with some spectacular scores) particularly in the second half. Roscommon just did enough and probably deserved it with their first half performance and Donie Shine's immaculate kicking from open play and frees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭alabandical

Best Connacht Final in a long time, fair play to both teams. The future looks bright Connacht football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

SomeFool wrote: »
    Hopefully it will be a good game, think the Rossies might pull off a suprise win.

*cough* :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭rn

On the game well its a night to praise our heros. Well done to all involved. Massive day for Roscommon. It was always on when the draw was made, but it took a monumental effort to realise a title.

Painfully disappointing for sligo and I sympathise with their plight tonight - the rossies have been in that situation too, we don't carry the favourites tag well. I can only wish ye well in the remaining game(s) and next year.

As for the crowd trouble. I saw some young lads, fueled with drink behaving disgracefully after the game in the ground. I told a steward who in formed me I'd have to get the guards. Thankfully some more mature Rossie fans stepped in and broke it up so I didn't get the guards - but it obviously kept going then outside the ground.

This is a prime incident where you need the guards to step in and take 3-4 lads off in the group and the will be no trouble after that.

I don't its fair to appropiate those kids with the Roscommon footballers or genuine GAA fans from GAA clubs all over Roscommon - They certainly weren't from my club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭munsterrugby09

a fantastic victory for the rossies!!a great bunch of people too,they were down here for the minor final in 06,nothing but mannerly people celebrating a great win..isnt it just a pity the great dermot earley wasnt around....im sure he was looking down with a huge smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

NUIG FiannaFail, they're some wild accusations you're throwing around and unless you can provide links to back up what you're saying, I can't allow you to post that here. If you've an issue with this, you can pm me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 spirit in the sky

Well done Roscommon, what a great way to honour Dermot's memory! I imagine him with a broad smile this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭stantheman8

I will eat my socks if the Ros win!! and thats a promise but maybe ur right and things cud just go their way tomorow! im headn to the game and the most important ting i want 2 c is that the game is an intersting one.....I would love to see the rossies up by 3 or 4 points during the break and see a fighting comeback 4m sligo to win the game by 2 or 3!!!:) whatever the case i dont wana c idr team get hammerd!!!!make it a gud 1 lads!!

So are you a man/woman of your word??
    Please post video of sock eating.
    The fact that so many of you wrote us off made the win all the sweeter.

I listened to Killian Burns on Newstalk on Friday - he should also tuck into a portion of his socks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Well done Ross - brilliant team performance.

I only saw this thread after the game and the prematch comments made wonderful reading tonight. Write off the Rossies at your peril. All the people who sang the praises of David Kelly - let me introduce Seanie McDermott (and Claffey just in case) !!! Ye all had heard of Donie Shine - (although Fergal O'Donnell said after the game that someone called him Donal Shannon on the radio) - today he played his best game in a Roscommon jersey, and he was a pleasure to watch. Those of us who have been following the careers of the likes of Cathal Cregg and Michael Finneran since they were minors and younger know what they are capable of. A lot of this team have won All Ireland minor, Connaught Junior, Connaught Under 21. Cathal Cregg hit the crossbar with the last kick of the game to miss out on a Connaught Under 21 just a few years ago. We Rossies have had the hard days and we will savour this win.

Who knows what will happen in the Quarter final - but is doesnt matter. This win today means more to Roscommon than an All Ireland to Kerry. The pride and emotion felt at the game and in all the celebrations will be savoured in Roscommon. This is what the GAA is all about.

An when we line out in Div 4 in 2011 there will be plenty of Ross fans there to cheer them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Roscommon deserved winners today and seeing how much it meant to the fans was fantastic and I'm a Sligo man that was in the crowd. I dont think Sligo would have appreciated the win as much. Maybe appreciate is the wrong word but you know what I mean!! Sligo didnt perform but they weren't let either. Well done Rossies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

Great game. Great result. Exactly what the GAA needed after all the negative press lately. Just one thing though, does anyone know why there wasnt a minutes silence for Dermot Earley before the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭supermilk1

I will eat my socks if the Ros win!! and thats a promise but maybe ur right and things cud just go their way tomorow! im headn to the game and the most important ting i want 2 c is that the game is an intersting one.....I would love to see the rossies up by 3 or 4 points during the break and see a fighting comeback 4m sligo to win the game by 2 or 3!!!:) whatever the case i dont wana c idr team get hammerd!!!!make it a gud 1 lads!!

How ya Lippy!did your socks taste nice?promise is a promise!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭NUIG_FiannaFail

juma wrote: »
    Great game. Great result. Exactly what the GAA needed after all the negative press lately. Just one thing though, does anyone know why there wasnt a minutes silence for Dermot Earley before the game?

Because he's been dead for a month now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

WAAAHHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!!!!

Having predicted that Roscommon would give it everything but still come up short I am delighted to be proven wrong (on one front, cos they sure gave it everything).

I went down to Castlebar genuinely believing Roscommon would not win, but even early on I could see they were really, really up for it and Sligo were a little sluggish.

It all stemmed from complete midfield dominance, both in the air and on the breaking ball (which is such a surprise as that has been the weakest part of Roscommon's game for 15 years, with the exception of John Hanley's few years).

I couldn't believe how well Michael Finneran played. I have been critical of him (as have most Rossies) but his honesty was never in doubt and his performance yesterday was immense. For someone not noted for his mobility he covered every inch of the pitch and for a change he didn't spill possesion in contact.

He was more than ably assisted by Cathal Cregg who was responsible for mopping up an amazing amount of breaks. I have been a big advocate of his ability for a long time now, but was aware of the lack of consistency that has frustrated many of his believers. I thought he was MOM and considering how well he played v Leitrim, I hope he has found that level of concentration to enable him to consistenly play the way we know he can.

The backs to a man were excellent, but I have to give special mention to Seanie McDermott (are you listening Rossie1977????) and David Casey. Seanie had the unenviable job of marking the best forward of the championship so far in the brilliant David Kelly and what a job he did. Without resorting to dirt he almost cleaned Kelly out, though it has to be said that the awfully slow delivery from Sligo helped our cause.

Casey (according to an interview in one of the papers) has had ELEVEN operations on both knees and will probably need knee replacement surgery and yet he continues to play knowing this. What a man.

Donie was brilliant again and is so, so important to Roscommon. The only little blip is that the other forwards need to start scoring more. They are very good at winning possesion and drawing fouls, but just need to take some of the pressure off Donie.

Anyway, a wonderful, wonderful day for the Rossies.

P.S. To the politically correct non-thinkers - I absolutely loved the pitch invasion too !!! Happiness in it's purest form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

so what was the official attendance ? (for revenue purposes)

and what was the real attendance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

The official was 23,500 roughly, but the actual would have to have been at least 3k above that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Yes I'd estimate 30k, great weather too,
    Overall as a Sligo fan , well done to ros , we could have won it thou some below par performances, Sligo had 3 big games especially the replay against. Galway ,
    Alan c was motm for me, 5 brilliant points from play, proved he's a fine footballer,
    Overall I think this was a great conn championship, some great scores, close games and no big ref conterverasity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Syferus wrote: »
    The official was 23,500 roughly, but the actual would have to have been at least 3k above that!

The official attendance announced was 25,300 odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 thebuilderbob

rn wrote: »
    As for the crowd trouble. I saw some young lads, fueled with drink behaving disgracefully after the game in the ground. I told a steward who in formed me I'd have to get the guards. Thankfully some more mature Rossie fans stepped in and broke it up so I didn't get the guards - but it obviously kept going then outside the ground.

This is a prime incident where you need the guards to step in and take 3-4 lads off in the group and the will be no trouble after that.

I don't its fair to appropiate those kids with the Roscommon footballers or genuine GAA fans from GAA clubs all over Roscommon - They certainly weren't from my club.

At least 5 rovers sligo fans were removed from behind the goal opposite the scoreboard... came across a good few others 'fueled with drink' who came in just before half time and sat beside our group and who bend down and roared into a young fan's ears everytime they scored or we missed. They weren't long moving when myself and another 6'3 fan told them to leave him alone... From their new position they stood and gave us the fingers everysligo score/ Ros miss... But it was the minority looking for trouble and i am frendly with many good sligo gaa fans..

However was very disappointed at the majority who booed all of donie's frees (he silenced them at the end tho;) ).. sligo and mayo fans also experienced the same.. i hope this does not become a regular part of ours games!! there was also trouble at the at the same end after the game which i didnt see.. rant over

On the game itself we were excellent at midfield.. mick lorded most of the game and mannion had 2 very important catched, the second of which set up the winner... case and creggers runs and workrate were epic. o'gara and keenan have some engines too... full back line had a stormer, seanie mc gave a lesson in marking, but it was helped by sligos slow delivery to kelly.. ger h and rodge worked very hard and made countless selfless runs to give space to donie! rodge had one great catch near the end and ger won the free that ended the game. still a little concerned about dineen at chb but he seems to be getting better every game. don't know where senan is going to come in if he's fit!!

enjoy the week lads and give the quarters a good rattle..as fergie said we're in bonus territory now and who knows how many we can get

ros comain abu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

I will eat my socks if the Ros win!! and thats a promise

Were they nice?! :D

Sorry I have been beaten to it I see!!

Hmm It appears the Sligo fans were all to quick to assume they had it in the bag. It amazes me when people do that, like they have some insight into the future!! Hard luck all the same to ye.

Roscommon were more than comfortable in the underdog position and we silenced the critics.

What a great day to be from Roscommon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Because he's been dead for a month now

Well its roscommon's first match since his passing, so it would have been appropriate if they had one. However, i think there are too many minute silences before games, and some of the crowds (small amount) just dont respect them any more. nothing more annoying than idiots shouting during a minute silence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Derryleigh

What a result but more importantly what a game after some of the dreadful crap that has been on this summer. Good honesht to God football. 4/1 odds. Any bookies on bicycles around Roscommon today??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I was saying to people in the run-up to the game, Roscommon would win this game for two reasons: The Roscommon players seem to get on with the manager. I think this was a cruical factor because they knew after last year if they were beaten out the door on Sunday pressure might come on to him to step down.
    The second reason is Sligo perform best when they are seen to be the underdog. I think as evidenced by their demeanour in the first 10 minutes they has got carried away with all the glowing press coverage.

The way Roscommon played in that first-half reminded me of Tyrone at times due to their sheer tenacity and determination to stifle Sligo. The Roscommon player on David Kelly was particularly impressive - ok he had that one moment where Kelly gave him the slip but this is the same guy who gave O'Shea a torrid time last year. So it was an excellent performance overall. That guy who has no cartilege in his knee also had a superb performance as did the midfield pairing. O'Hara and Taylor didn't get a sniff of the ball in the first half.

Finally it was a nice sight to see yer man lepping up in the air at the end and then immediately running over to the manager to celebrate.

Regrets? We have plenty

By Eamonn O'Hara

Monday July 19 2010

OUR bus streamed away from Castlebar with a garda escort helping us past the worst of the traffic. Behind us, we left the Connacht championship and a stream of regrets.

We did things in the game we said we wouldn't and didn't do other stuff that we promised we would. We gave away too many frees, for which we were punished by Donie Shine. You'd have arguments with a few of those decisions, but that's not an excuse. When it came to it, the hungrier side won out.

I'm just home and still looking for reasons for why it went wrong. Did the Galway games take too much out of us physically and emotionally? I don't think so but something that would help rationalise it would help, especially with just six days to turn things around against Down.

The major factor was the performance of Roscommon. They got their tactics bang on and locked up some of our key men. Fergal O'Donnell came into our dressing-room afterwards and spoke about how it was the best performance his side had given all year. Conversely, we hadn't lost since playing Wexford in the league on March 7 and that run included a seven-point win over Roscommon.

Failed

There certainly was no complacency on our part. We approached the game in the same way as our other Connacht matches. We did our video work, talked about what way we needed to play and what we needed to avoid. The disappointing aspect is that we failed to put some of those things into practice.

We showed a bit of character to get ourselves back into the game. When we got level, I knew the next score was crucial. But they got what I felt was a soft free and Shine pointed. We got level again but just couldn't see them off when we had the run on them.

The dressing-room was an awful place to be. The sound of boots hitting the floor and people rummaging through bags was all you could hear. No one said much until Kevin Walsh told us that although one light had gone out, another one was turned on.

We have Down next weekend in the qualifiers and if we win that one we'll find ourselves in the last eight in the country. They were playing this weekend too, so they'll have all the same bumps and bruises that we'll have.

Getting right physically won't be an issue for us -- the challenge will be to get focused mentally. The week will fly in.

- Eamonn O'Hara

Irish Independent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

What a game! Congrats Roscommon. I was afraid of a big Roscommon performance and it was obvious from early on in the game that it would take a huge effort from Sligo to hold Roscommon. Even Roscommons body language before the start was ominous. Pumped but alert and controlled.
    Finneran was immense and came back to defence many times when Sligo had the ball. Roscommon stifled Sligos running game, staying with Sligo runners to ensure that any movement up the pitch was laboured. McDermott had a great game on Kelly hassling him but staying just on the right side of the law. i think one free for a foul on Kelly was the return for Sligos best forward.

Hitting balls in to Shine was like feeding buns to a bear in the first half.
    The wind was stronger than may have been evident on the TV or in the stands and I was hopeful that Sligos 2 points at the end of the first half might give Sligo a lifeline.
    Sligos chance to change the game may have been at the start of the second half. I felt they rushed their point oppurtunities and had a poor return from their possesion in the early part of the half. A lot of this was down to Roscommon though. They wouldnt allow Sligo to get two points in a row!
    The Rossies no 12 was immense in this regard playing as a left sided midfielder and collecting kick outs and launching attack afetr attack down that side after Sligo had neutralised Finnerans fileding to some extent.
    The two points at the end were typical of roscommon. They had only scored two in the second half till then and with Sligo equalising they could easily have settled for a draw. No way, the pushed up and won it.

I was really disappointed but I saw a Roscommon woman in floods of tears and that made it a bit easier. They are another small counttu although stil a bigger county in football terms than Sligo as they showed us on Sunday.

As I drove back to Dublin through Roscommon several groups of nipper Roscommon fans were lining the road. When they saw the SO reg they started leaping up and down in triumph. Hopefully they wont be tormenting sligo on the pitch in 20 years!

Well i would have been watching this as a neutral but that Sligo man T-Runner wrecked my head and many others with his crap around the time of the Galway game, think he threw his great opinions into the Wexford thread too.... let's see what he has to say now :D

Go on the Rossies
    God I cant wait for Trunner to crawl out from under his stone

Ah now lads i mentioned maturity around the time of the Galway game and the same applies here.

I have the upmost respect for Roscommon, i guessed correctly that they would put everything and more into this one once it became clear that Sligo were the likely opponents.

Their minors have rarely lost to Sligo--there is no real fear there and Sligo would carry theyr favouritism in a way that Galway or Mayo wouldnt. It was set up for a classic ambush.

On the Galway/Sligo thread I was just putting a lad straight who said that teh only way Sligo would win the replay was if Galway underperformed. I called that arrogant and that was fair enough. Annoying to you perhaps, but thats more a case of immaturity and sour grapes on youre part and completely outside my control.

I think Sligo showed they were probably the better team than Galway this year and Roscommon certainly showed the were the better team than Sligo.

Lets hope for two Connaught teams in the quarters this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

T runner wrote: »
    On the Galway/Sligo thread I was just putting a lad straight who said that teh only way Sligo would win the replay was if Galway underperformed. I called that arrogant and that was fair enough.

Yeah that was me T runner. You might think that I have gone into hiding but I was in America for the past 3 weeks. I didnt even see the replay, nowhere in the city would show it due to cost and the world cup so I could only listen to it on radio. From what I heard, and what I have heard since, Galway were fairly unlucky (Meehans injury, last breaking ball) and a terrible back pass changed the game. So i would have to say they underperformed. Then again, it is only the scoreline that matters. Sligo are a much better team than I gave them credit for and well done on yer victory. I haven't checked that thread so here's hoping you didn't gloat too much afterwards! I was very surprised with the result on sunday. Indicipline and indicipline alone cost ye and i'm sure Kevin Walsh will be wringing a few heads in training this week. Best of luck against Down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bobo the clown

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Yeah that was me T runner. You might think that I have gone into hiding but I was in America for the past 3 weeks. I didnt even see the replay, nowhere in the city would show it due to cost and the world cup so I could only listen to it on radio. From what I heard, and what I have heard since, Galway were fairly unlucky (Meehans injury, last breaking ball) and a terrible back pass changed the game. So i would have to say they underperformed. Then again, it is only the scoreline that matters. Sligo are a much better team than I gave them credit for and well done on yer victory. I haven't checked that thread so here's hoping you didn't gloat too much afterwards! I was very surprised with the result on sunday. Indicipline and indicipline alone cost ye and i'm sure Kevin Walsh will be wringing a few heads in training this week. Best of luck against Down.
    its indiscipline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

I disagree about the reason for Sligos defeat. As Eamonn O'Hara gas alluded the major factor was Roscommons performance. It was the best performance in Connaught this year and deserved the win. Sligo were a little lucky to get back into it before half time. If they hadnt got those two points it would have not gone to the wire.

A lot of frees that Sligo conceded werent soft. We were under severe pressure and were being beaten by our oponents.

Roscommon showed thay had the absolute belief as well as the game to win by scoring those two points at the end.

Sligo actually did brilliantly to get back into that game from 6 points down. We put it up to them and they could have settled for a draw or a moral victory but they didnt. Im delighted for them, genuinely, even though unforyunately, it was my own county they bet.

Now, where werte we? Oh Yes! Yes, Galway underperfomed thats why Sligo beat them in the replay. Thats why Roscommon won too-Sligo played bad......in fact..wait a minute...if Galway are better than Sligo..and Sligo are better than the Rossies does this mean....Galway are the best team in Connaught??????

Terrible the way Wexford beat ye. Apparently (according to that thread) that was bad luck too. Isnt amazing the way that bad luck can follow some teams around all the time...theres no other explanantion for it.

I dont gloat by the way, i just dislike arrogance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

I disagree about the reason for Sligos defeat. As Eamonn O'Hara gas alluded the major factor was Roscommons performance. It was the best performance in Connaught this year and deserved the win. Sligo were a little lucky to get back into it before half time. If they hadnt got those two points it would have not gone to the wire.

A lot of frees that Sligo conceded werent soft. We were under severe pressure and were being beaten by our oponents.

Roscommon showed thay had the absolute belief as well as the game to win by scoring those two points at the end.

Sligo actually did brilliantly to get back into that game from 6 points down. We put it up to them and they could have settled for a draw or a moral victory but they didnt. Im delighted for them, genuinely, even though unforyunately, it was my own county they bet.

Now, where werte we? Oh Yes! Yes, Galway underperfomed thats why Sligo beat them in the replay. Thats why Roscommon won too-Sligo played bad......in fact..wait a minute...if Galway are better than Sligo..and Sligo are better than the Rossies does this mean....Galway are the best team in Connaught??????

Terrible the way Wexford beat ye. Apparently (according to that thread) that was bad luck too. Isnt amazing the way that bad luck can follow some teams around all the time...theres no other explanantion for it.

self loathing is unhealthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

History speaks for itself, Galway and Mayo are the 2 best and most successful teams in Connacht. Maybe not right now. There's a reason Sligo have only ever won 3 Connachts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Big big thank you to Fergie and all the lads for putting extra pep in all Rossies steps this week!!!
    Superb battling honest performance from all the lads, giving their all from the very start.
    I missed the 01 win as i was in the states for the summer (still celebrated!!) so was 19 long years waiting to celebrate that victory. As Ger Heneghan said while the celebration at the end would have thought to be over the top by more illustrious counties it meant an awful awful lot to every primrose and blue supporter.

Sunday was a great boost to a genuinely hugely passionate and proud GAA county, and also to the huge work being done with underage development squads by men like Willie Hegarty and Seamus Sweeney and their squad of coaches.

While not wanting to sound mushy or that the manner of victory was also a fitting tribute to the late great Dermot Earley.

Ya would also have to feel sorry for Sligo coming up short after beating both Mayo and Galway and not having anything tangible to show for it. I hope they dont let all their work go to waste now as to beat Down is well within their compass and would be good reward for 99% of their support at last sundays game. The roar that went up when they leveled at 12 points all and 13 all was unreal (i say 99% as i was behind the goals 2 rows behind those aforementioned young louts drinking during the game, but in fairness it only added to my joy and David Pleat type pitch celebration :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Look, I tried to be the bigger man here but there is no talking to you. I congratulated ye on your win. But if you yourself cant see that two of our best players being injured and handing ye a goal would have made a difference in a 1 point game, then there is no point.

I know it's hard for some people. Watching their succesfull province counterparts, going up to Croke park, winning All Irelands playing glorious football, a rich history and tradition and a decent hurling side to boot.

In fairness I dont blame you. If I was a GAA man in Sligo having to put up with watching putrid s***e football year in year out, never any success and no chance of any, a diabolical club scene, a kip of a stadium and a hole of a town that is more interested in soccer, I would be a bitter, ignorent f****r too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Look, I tried to be the bigger man here but there is no talking to you. I congratulated ye on your win. But if you yourself cant see that two of our best players being injured and handing ye a goal would have made a difference in a 1 point game, then there is no point.

I know it's hard for some people. Watching their succesfull province counterparts, going up to Croke park, winning All Irelands playing glorious football, a rich history and tradition and a decent hurling side to boot.

In fairness I dont blame you. If I was a GAA man in Sligo having to put up with watching putrid s***e football year in year out, never any success and no chance of any, a diabolical club scene, a kip of a stadium and a hole of a town that is more interested in soccer, I would be a bitter, ignorent f****r too.

Come on, there's no need to get bitter, Sligo have had a good year and Galway/Mayo haven't. Get over it. We're underage again next year.

You could hardly call Sligo's performances over the past few years putrid *****, they've won the Connacht Title, gave Kerry a serious scare and this year they've won Div 3, defeated Galway and Mayo and they're still in with a chance of a quarter final. Not bad for one of the smaller counties. They certainly should never be written off by the big 2 of connacht again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

I believe Sligo fans were doing a "Mayo" on it last weekend, commiserating with Rossies before the game....I was basically stunned this year to see the cockiness from Sligo fans in general (not all of course but a huge majority) and was delighted to see Ross win the last day (never thought i would hear myself say that). I didnt hear any of that pre match s**t from the Rossies.

Reality check Sligo...You dont get silverware for beating the worst Galway team in years and a completely demoralised Mayo team.

After Sligo beat Mayo i had nothing but respect for them and followed there progress closely. I have always enjoyed the banther from the fans but there is such a thing as humility. Yes ye are now a force to be reckoned with in Connaught but please save the cockiness for when you have won 20+ titles as Ross have done and 40+ for Galway and Mayo

It will be very interesting to see how Sligo fair this weekend now that they leave the comfort zone of Connaught!

Again congrats to Ross....Considering what happened last year it took some heart to pull it off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Dools2007

I believe Sligo fans were doing a "Mayo" on it last weekend, commiserating with Rossies before the game....I was basically stunned this year to see the cockiness from Sligo fans in general (not all of course but a huge majority) and was delighted to see Ross win the last day (never thought i would hear myself say that). I didnt hear any of that pre match s**t from the Rossies.

I don't think us Sligo fans were "cocky" as such. You have to remember that this is the first time we have gone into a major game in living memory where we were actually favourites and this was a different (and new) experience for most Sligo fans. I certainly don't remember any major championship game where we went in as favourites.

You also have to remember that this is the first time in 63 years that both Mayo and Galway had been knocked out of Connacht and we had beaten them both so of course we had a right to be confident (not cocky) going into the game whereas Roscommon have had a bad year by their own admissions.
    **NOTE: Even though I think league form goes out the window when the Championship rolls around.
    Reality check Sligo...You dont get silverware for beating the worst Galway team in years and a completely demoralised Mayo team.

Yeah, we have been brought down to earth BUT I don't think we are a bad team just because of one loss. If we had won on Sunday last, everyone would be talking us up but once we lose, we're crap and all the teams we bet were crap???

What annoys Sligo fans mostly is that if we beat Mayo or Galway, it is always down to the fact that Mayo or Galway either are or played badly. Very few people will compliment the fact that maybe Sligo put so much pressure on them that they did not allow them to play to their gameplan.

After Sunday, the majority of Sligo fans coming out of McHale Park did not complain that Roscommon only won because we played cr*p. Everyone I talked to said that on the day, Roscommon were the far hungrier team around the middle of the field (with some great individual performances: Shine, Cregg, Casey) and gave them credit for this rather than just belittling their achievements.
    After Sligo beat Mayo i had nothing but respect for them and followed there progress closely. I have always enjoyed the banther from the fans but there is such a thing as humility. Yes ye are now a force to be reckoned with in Connaught but please save the cockiness for when you have won 20+ titles as Ross have done and 40+ for Galway and Mayo

Once again, most Sligo fans will admit that we have a long way to go here but I think over the last few years, we have shown that we are well capable of stepping up and being a lot more competitive. Previous to the first year of the qualifiers (2001), we were seen as a soft touch, let's just turn up and we beat them sort of a game whereas since then, we have become a team that nobody likes to draw as on any given day, we can give any team a run for their money but consistency is our problem.
    It will be very interesting to see how Sligo fair this weekend now that they leave the comfort zone of Connaught!

I hope that the players can pick themselves up for Saturday (no easy task six days after a defeat in a Connacht final) and give Down a good run for their money because there is still an All-Ireland quarter final place to be won.
    Again congrats to Ross....Considering what happened last year it took some heart to pull it off...

Yes, congrats to Rossies. I hope that they can perform to that level again in the quarter finals as if they do, they will be a match for most teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

Reality bites! Lesson learned??

In fairness even i didnt want to see that happen to Sligo...The whole "standard of Connaught football" debate rages on.........

busbybhoy wrote: »
    Reality bites! Lesson learned??

In fairness even i didnt want to see that happen to Sligo...The whole "standard of Connaught football" debate rages on.........

i didn't see the game, would it be fair to say that the six day turn around was a factor in their thumping? or is it the case Down are just vastly superior to any of the teams Sligo have faced in Connacht this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Dools2007

i didn't see the game, would it be fair to say that the six day turn around was a factor in their thumping? or is it the case Down are just vastly superior to any of the teams Sligo have faced in Connacht this year?

I think a mixture of both. In both the Mayo and Galway games, we got parity at midfield and used this to good effect to get the scores to win those games. However, I think that the six day turnaround should be looked at because I think that six days is not enough to get over losing a provincial final to play a last 12 game. Both ourselves and Monaghan today suffered from this I think.

However, in both the Roscommon game and the Down game, we have been severely exposed at midfield and this has really led to our downfall. For Christs sake, David Kelly (our most potent forward) spent most of the second half out around midfield just trying to get on the ball and pick up a few of the breaks.

About 20 minutes into the first half, we were 0-5 to 0-3 down and had a half chance of a break, made a bad pass and Down went straight down the field and scored a point. This was the difference between the two teams tonight. When Down broke, they broke at a serious speed and moved the ball into their inside forwards very quickly whereas we laboured to get the ball into our inside forwards once again.

Think we may have made Down look a little better than they are but don't get me wrong, they were well worth their win on the night and could have even won by a lot more were it not for some fine save by Philip Greene in goals and Down just fisting over a couple of chances where a goal possibility was on (think they fisted over about 6 or 7 points tonight).

So, that's it for Sligo's footballing year which was a mixed bag really, started off the league with a mixed bag of results finishing strongly and gaining promotion winning the title along the way, beating Mayo and then Galway in a replay, going into a Connacht final as favourites and coming away severely disappointed after being beat by a hungrier team on the day and then six days later going down to one of our largest Championship defeats in our history. The trials of being a Sligo supporter. Roll on next year.........

it was a real hard game to watch, Down all over Sligo,

Players were not up for it bar a few, Donovan, Coen was quite good, kelly, ohara,

Felt sorry for them, they had 3 good games, messed up against ros and then this, really 6 days was too much after the ros game, for a team like sligo, think ill start a new thread on beaten finalist s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

Hard luck Sligo.

Didnt see the game but heard it was tough to watch.

Didnt want to see ye get knocked out yet....

Pity