Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Limerick Manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

liammur wrote: »
    Gary Kirby I believe is to be the new manager.
    so in other words the 3 guys given the job of creating a shortlist are wasting their time,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Word has it that Gary Kirby will be the new manager, with ciaran carey also involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Two weeks and no posts????

Its apparently between Kirby and Dave Keane..although im sure the committee will have their own nominees to interview too.

Oh and with all due respect , who nominated TJ Ryan?
    No experience as manager until this year with Garryspillane and look where they are now? I know hindsight is a great thing but they were in trouble before the nominations were made.

Davy could be looking for a new job if things keep going the way they are in Croker.:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

we need a new manager as well and fast.

Donal O'Grady, Ciaran Carey & TJ Ryan.
    Expect this to be proposed at the meeting during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

pajoguy wrote: »
    Donal O'Grady, Ciaran Carey & TJ Ryan.
    Expect this to be proposed at the meeting during the week.

Yep, heard about Donal O' Grady alright.
    And supposedly JP would be paying him a lot of moneyzzz to leave his RTE pundit job and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I'd be surprised if DOG takes it to be honest. Lets face it Limerick are a division 2 team and will probably do very little come championship and the job is a poison chalice because as a set of supporters, although loyal are quite delusional at times. Then again money talks.

Yep, heard about Donal O' Grady alright.
    And supposedly JP would be paying him a lot of moneyzzz to leave his RTE pundit job and all that.

I wonder will he be on jp's payroll rather the Limerick county boards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

I wish we had a JP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Morninglory

Deise Tom wrote: »
    I wish we had a JP

Ya it's Donal O Gradys supposedly. And according to my fanatical Limerick housemate a lad called "Beefy" will be a selector

It's been confirmed Donal O Grady has the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,465 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Damn it anyway. Thought he would make a good Waterford Manager. It really shows what the power of money can do.

Best of luck with his new job but remember Ger Loughnane made a return to management with Galway in 2007 and didnt achieve much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Donal-O39Grady-set-to-be.6541550.jp

I don't believe it.

How the hell have they managed to pull that one off? He'd be one of a few people I'd gladly see take over from Davy Fitz.

Fair play to them/JP, this should be the boost Limerick hurling needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm very pleased with this appointment. JP really deserves something back for all his investment, a Munster title will do for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭TheWarrior

I wish them the best of luck. Please god our fortunes can only go 1 way from here.
    I guess one of Ciaran/TJ/Beefy are being primed for promotion to the senior manager in 2 years.

Donal O Grady is only seeking a one year term, doesn't fill me with too much confidence so it doesnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Deise Tom wrote: »
    I wish we had a JP

I hear JP can use it as a charitable donation because Limerick hurling is a charity case at the moment.

Not going to change too much I feel. We're still not good enough but if we avoid Tipp in Munster I suppose anything can happen can't it? (Damn that optimism thing is kicking in already)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

The annual managerial selection has been the highlight for Limerick Hurling supporters , so let us enjoy our few days. :D:D OGrady looks a good choice and the selectors would have a good knowledge of whatever hurlers are in Limerick.
    Bye bye the Justin era and here's hoping :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Does that mean the dissenters who walked last year are allowed straight back?

what does both carey and ryan bring to the table ?, one has well documented personal problems, the other from what i hear from players who he is coaching this year, is amounst other things is not very approachable,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

JP's, I'm guessing.
    My dad heard from an insider that DOG was looking for a high 5 figure sum a year seeing as he'd have to give up his comfortable pundit position :P
    dcr22B wrote: »
    Does that mean the dissenters who walked last year are allowed straight back?

They'd want to be.
    'coz seriously, look at the shtate of the team now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Good move for O'Grady, the only way is up and expectations will be low I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

The backroom team seems to me an improvement from that of McCarthys tenure. These guys would have a good knowledge of the players available to them . Hopefully they combined with OGrady, will gell to bring out whats best in Limerick hurling. Really we have tried so many combinations at this stage :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭munsterdevil

flutered wrote: »
    what does both carey and ryan bring to the table ?, one has well documented personal problems, the other from what i hear from players who he is coaching this year, is amounst other things is not very approachable,
    Ah yes the ever reliable "from what I hear"

Donal O Grady is only seeking a one year term, doesn't fill me with too much confidence so it doesnt

This is strange one alright but there may be a number of reasons for this...

1. Promotion from Division 2 essential but by no means guaranteed and would need to be playing Division 1 hurling to make any impact on the championship. If we dont get promoted in year 1 he might feel having to wait another 2 years to impact on championship might be too much.

2. Wary of the Co. board?

3. Wary of the discipline of the panel? Not saying there was any but no smoke without fire.

I spoke to somebody last night who chats with a current cork midfielder on a regular basis and he says he is the best coach he ever had. Absolute total commitment and discipline or else. Concentrates mainly on hurling and improving the ball skills of players

Also I recall "The Rock" talking about how he changed his attitude to training. It wasnt about doing laps but more about your speed over the 20-30 yards that counts when the ball is coming your way.

Best of luck to all involved. Luimneach Abu!:D

Ah yes the ever reliable "from what I hear"
    it was told to me by a player over a cuppa in my kitchen table, also there were two other people present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Somebody going into a situation from the outside can never really know all the ins and outs of an internal dispute. Donal O'Grady would understandably be reticent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 jacksyhoulahan

Great Appointment for Limerick.
    O' Grady comes across very well, straight to the point, no fuss and has a great record behind him.
    In Selectors, you have one of the greatest limerick hurlers ever in carey who all players will look to for inspiration and two more ex hurlers who gave their all for limerick. They all know their hurling and the limerick club scene and i would like to be in a limerick dressing room before a match getting ready to face opponents with these guys getting you pysched up.

As for the county board, this is a year too late and they should step down. What a bunch of senile idiots with absolutely no leadership skills. When you have a chairman saying only the real supporters turned up for matches last year even though we were getting hockeyed, it was embarassing.
    Fair play to the players who came in last year, but they should not have been put in this position of having a totally new team that would obviously not be at the required level.
    I see maybe seven of the '09 panel making it back with the rest being '10 panel and a few new-comers.
    Interesting time ahead only a pity we are playing division 2 now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Great Appointment for Limerick.
    O' Grady comes across very well, straight to the point, no fuss and has a great record behind him.
    In Selectors, you have one of the greatest limerick hurlers ever in carey who all players will look to for inspiration and two more ex hurlers who gave their all for limerick. They all know their hurling and the limerick club scene and i would like to be in a limerick dressing room before a match getting ready to face opponents with these guys getting you pysched up.

As for the county board, this is a year too late and they should step down. What a bunch of senile idiots with absolutely no leadership skills. When you have a chairman saying only the real supporters turned up for matches last year even though we were getting hockeyed, it was embarassing.
    Fair play to the players who came in last year, but they should not have been put in this position of having a totally new team that would obviously not be at the required level.
    I see maybe seven of the '09 panel making it back with the rest being '10 panel and a few new-comers.
    Interesting time ahead only a pity we are playing division 2 now

I don't think O Grady will have much success (a munster title would be) because I think that is beyond this limk team. However, if there was 1 manager I would like to see get the job it's o'grady, so let's see can he do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I see it as a positive move by the Limerick CB. It should though, not be seen as anything more than a stop gap appointment intended to get the first team back on the road again. O'Grady's main task will be to bring the strikers and dropped guys back into the fold and maybe with Ryan and Carey find a few new young players. Above all, i hope he improves the players first touch, its non existent and something which none of the past six managers since Tom Ryan have managed to correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Is there even the lightest chance of HQ asking questions about the compensation package? Didn't Cristoir make a load of little speeches about this craic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mallowmarc

Good job bringing in Donal O Grady and his new selectors. Pat Heffernan,Ciaran Carey and Tj ryan. sounds like Limerick will have a good year this year bringing back all the ledgends of the game of hurling. This is what the game needs!

Wish The Lads The Best Of Luck In The New Job Ahead!!

Whats the story with all the players now?

mallowmarc