Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Central Bank hiring 60 graduates - closing date 28th July 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Another day, another empty inbox. Has anyone contacted the HR department recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭lil*lady

Grumble, grumble.
    This isn't fun any more...not that it ever was to start off with mind.

Not from my end Aldebaran but I will after 2pm tomorrow if I haven't heard anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭ToasterSparks

This is getting ridiculous. When I applied at the start of July, I didn't expect to be still awaiting a final verdict in mid-September.

Then again, how sure can we be that they'll really take on 60 people? Other companies have been known to accept applications for jobs and then not actually take people on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭AEG

Completely agree ToasterSparks. I applied to both this and the DAA graduate programme and I can't believe the length of time they have taken - although the DAA is actually much worse as I applied in mid June, completed the aptitude tests in mid July and haven't heard anything since then. It is only due to friends and because of the thread on here that I know people are being interviewed at the moment, and that the PFO's were sent out in the last few weeks.

Really can't get over how bad it is, especially since I had interviews with a couple of other (private sector) places where they interview was a day or two after the closing date. Obviously there would be more people applying to these programmes, but that this doesn't explain the 3 or 4 months it takes to go through the process.

Hopefully tomorrow - though I've been saying that for days now.

AEG wrote: »

Hopefully tomorrow - though I've been saying that for days now.

Fingers crossed!

At this stage I'd like to know though. This job is my only real hope of work right now, and if I don't get it I need to consider all options, including leaving Ireland. I can't be 'on hold' indefinitely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

AEG wrote: »
    It is only due to friends and because of the thread on here that I know people are being interviewed at the moment, and that the PFO's were sent out in the last few weeks.

What is a PFO??? I hear about these things a lot.

Urban Dictionary says it nicely:

PFO
    A rejection letter received after an unsuccessful job interview. Also applicable for any polite-but-final rejection. Origin: An acronym of "Please F--k Off"

Have PFOs been sent out to some people for this already? Or is that for the DAA programme?

As far as I know, nobody has heard either way so far from the Central Bank.

As far as I know none have been sent out for this, just the DAA programme.

Then again, how sure can we be that they'll really take on 60 people? Other companies have been known to accept applications for jobs and then not actually take people on.

Ah jaysus, don't be saying that now. Sigh. Now my maths and statistical predicitions are all over the place! :) I jest.

Fingers crossed tomorrow there'll be something.. bon chance et bon nuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 wowza

Ridiculous, thinking of ringing HR to find out... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭EI111

wowza wrote: »
    Ridiculous, thinking of ringing HR to find out... :eek:

go for it, let us know how ya get on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 pbot

This really is taking the proverbial...

Has anyone been in contact with HR?

its officially not early in the week any more

pbot wrote: »
    This really is taking the proverbial...

Has anyone been in contact with HR?

I've decided to give them until this time 2moro... such a joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Queue 60,000 graduates applying.

ILA wrote: »
    Queue 60,000 graduates applying.

?

I really don't know how much more of this I can take.

The boat to England is looming...

I sent them a quick email earlier today. No reply yet.

Aldebaran wrote: »
    I sent them a quick email earlier today. No reply yet.

Expect a reply in 2 to 3 months. :D

Sounds about right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Renolds

You will all hear tomorrow. According to HR.

You doubted me last time and see what happened... :)

Just received an email from HR stating that they are hoping to get back to all candidates tomorrow. Also, they say it is now likely that they will be recruiting more than 60 people.

Would they not have sent that email to everyone?!!

It would have been nice if they kept us updated by email. Still - word tomorrow! And instead of having a 1.6:1 chance of getting a job, it might be even better odds! Cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Nedbroy

Goooood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Nedbroy

Thanks Aldebaran - must have been nerve racking when you seen that mail in your inbox! What way did they put it when they said they might be looking for more than 60?

Nedbroy wrote: »
    Thanks Aldebaran - must have been nerve racking when you seen that mail in your inbox! What way did they put it when they said they might be looking for more than 60?

They basically said that they had initially advertised for 40-60 positions but that it was likely they would now be taking on 'more candidates than this' and that they couldn't get back to candidates until they knew exactly how many offers of employment they would be making.

And yes, part of me was hoping that the email was a job offer!

They basically said that they had initially advertised for 40-60 positions but that it was likely they would now be taking on 'more candidates than this' and that they couldn't get back to candidates until they knew exactly how many offers of employment they would be making.

Eep! Might not be as many positions as we think! Still, it will be nice to know either way. Let the nerves begin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 pbot

I dont think I'll be having any sleep tonight, whatever about the rest of yous....

This time tomorrow we will be ecstatic or at least be able to move on with the rest of our lives, because honestly this job is all I've been able to think about for the last two weeks.

Yes! Mathematical probability is moving further in my favour.

I cannot take anymore of this!!!:mad::mad:

At this stage I've a sinking feeling that it won't be today and might not even be tomorrow.

I would really, really, really love if they proved me wrong though.

Id almost take a pfo just to stop this anticipation its not nice

EI111 wrote: »
    Id almost take a pfo just to stop this anticipation its not nice

Me too, I just want to get on with my life!

Still nothing.

After getting my hopes up for today, I'm gonna be raging if I get no email. Like you guys, I just need an answer either way at this stage.

Would it kill them to update us on what's going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 chuusty

this is ridiculous :(

I wasn't expecting them to let us know till around half 4 or 5, so my hopes aren't dashed just yet.

Just got a PFO... thank god I now don't have to choose between jobs!:) Goodluck to every1 else!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭brehayes

Just got a PFO... thank god I now don't have to chosse between jobs!:) Goodluck to every1 else!!

very sorry to hear wowza. was it by email or call?

brehayes wrote: »
    very sorry to hear wowza. was it by email or call?

Thats alright, wasn't for me! Email just there at 15:02!

Just got a PFO... thank god I now don't have to choose between jobs!:) Goodluck to every1 else!!

Sorry about that Wowza.

As you can imagine I've been clicking inbox anxiously for the past 10 minutes. I wonder if not having heard anything yet is a good or bad thing :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 dazman5000

Got one myself at the same time, very disappointed. Best of luck to the rest of you

dazman5000 wrote: »
    Got one myself at the same time, very disappointed. Best of luck to the rest of you

Sorry to hear that dazman - best of luck with everything in the future!

@ Denerick; good I'd say, hard to know with this crowd though!!

now to unfollow thread:D- it's been torture guys.. good luck!

Very sorry to hear that dazman and wowza.

I'm refreshing my inbox nearly every 10 seconds here.

PFO! @ 15:18....gutted!! :( Best of luck to every1 else.

Just got a PFO, very disappointed but at least I know now. Best of luck to everyone else.

Really sorry to hear that dazman, wowza, and chuusty.
    Best of luck with everything else, really hope something turns up for ye.
    The small consolation you can take from it is that least you can move on from the anxious wait now.
    Really sorry to hear that, best best best of luck.
    Fingers crossed everyone else.

I wonder how many they took on in the end?????