Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Kinda hope this doesn't just copy a certain plotline storyline from The Sopranos
    Eg Adrianna informing on Tony

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Where do you get that Mask that Fran had ?

Heard on the radio this morning they have them in Fun Place, King Street (beside Stephen's Green SC). Selling like hot cakes apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,019 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i'm passing time by watching season 2 again.....great series!! Let's not forget the cop Nidge inherited from john boy has a passion for rent boys! There's a few other bits and pieces are still relevant for the new series...but i've forgotten them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Enjoyed sunday nights episode but not as much as I thought I would. Despite not being a fan of Robert Sheehan's performances or character in the series I felt his character brought a bit of humanity to the show. Now with him dead & Tommy simple I think its lacking in this department. There isn't a tortured soul any more looking in on himself like Darren & Tommy were, all of the male leads are either cops or psychopaths.

Overall though I still think its very high quality as a show & was never going to be as entertaining as the last seasons opening. It mustn't be easy for them when RTE are cutting the budget for it year after year,

Btw anyone else find the IRA sidestory a bit boring now, that Lizzie one is about as interesting as watching someone go for a shi*e on a sunday morning

• Registered Users Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

leonidas83 wrote: »
    Btw anyone else find the IRA sidestory a bit boring now, that Lizzie one is about as interesting as watching someone go for a shi*e on a sunday morning

So you think I'm boring?

de0b73bb2848d32dbad4bc323f79d275:c6b6903d59e5f7c6a3d67e2c0048113c

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Just Saying Dublin Trish (Love/Hate)

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

GrumPy wrote: »
    I thought both the security guards were rubbish. The scene where they discussed what to do after seeing the photo of his family, the whole dialog seemed "off" or something.

I thought that was brilliantly scripted.

You could tell there was something slightly off about the co-driver before he is revealed to be an inside man.

Where he says to the victim "whatever you want to do buddy, just say the word......" making those lines sound a bit suspicious/ insincere was the thing he had to convey.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    I thought that was brilliantly scripted.

You could tell there was something slightly off about the co-driver before he is revealed to be an inside man.

Where he says to the victim "whatever you want to do buddy, just say the word......" making those lines sound a bit suspicious/ insincere was the thing he had to convey.
    yeah the script would seem off, because one of them was lying

Brilliant season opener IMO.

The tiger kidnapping was a big job for the gang, a long time in the planning. Nidge only slipped the RA €200k for his own neck in the last series so 800 would have been a huge score for them. I wonder however does he have to kick up the lions share (or maybe the whole lot) to the lads in the North for the cause? The celebrations in the brassers were a bit low key.

Regarding Fran – he is so tight with Nidge at this stage I doubt he would even care if he found out about Linda. He has moved on.

Tommy is just a tragic, pathetic figure now. Totally useless to the guards as a potential supergrass. Siobhan is their angle.

In relation to all the predictions, what I’d love to see is a bit of a twist – a bad lieutenant style cop possibly or some totally surreal scenario – for example key gang members going abroad or say big bad Fran getting tortured by the RA youngfla’,………

yeah the script would seem off, because one of them was lying

Yes that's the point I was making.

Other poster was saying it was crap acting by the 2

• Registered Users Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Yes that's the point I was making.

Other poster was saying it was crap acting by the 2

Still think it was crap acting, but good point made about the guy who was in cahoots with Nidge, seeming particularly "off".

• Registered Users Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Dandelion6 wrote: »

Have to say that made me laugh.

Brilliant season opener IMO.

The tiger kidnapping was a big job for the gang, a long time in the planning. Nidge only slipped the RA €200k for his own neck in the last series so 800 would have been a huge score for them. I wonder however does he have to kick up the lions share (or maybe the whole lot) to the lads in the North for the cause? The celebrations in the brassers were a bit low key.

Regarding Fran – he is so tight with Nidge at this stage I doubt he would even care if he found out about Linda. He has moved on.

Tommy is just a tragic, pathetic figure now. Totally useless to the guards as a potential supergrass. Siobhan is their angle.

In relation to all the predictions, what I’d love to see is a bit of a twist – a bad lieutenant style cop possibly or some totally surreal scenario – for example key gang members going abroad or say big bad Fran getting tortured by the RA youngfla’,………

I'm not too sure about that, he seems to have really loved her, I reckon he would put a bullet in Nidge or else hand him over to Danno if he ever finds out, and definately if he finds out Nidge was shagging her.

No sign of debbie yet, looks like the writers aren't going to develop the storyline any further between herself and Tommy now at this stage.

I'm not too sure about that, he seems to have really loved her, I reckon he would put a bullet in Nidge or else hand him over to Danno if he ever finds out, and definately if he finds out Nidge was shagging her.

He never gave a rats ass about Linda while she was alive, and then hooked up with Linda mark 2 when she checked herself out.

The only basis he would have for revenge on Nidge would be if he perceived an insult to his own manhood. Too much water under the bridge now for that to matter to him now.

Look for the writers to go away from the obvious for a change.

No sign of debbie yet, looks like the writers aren't going to develop the storyline any further between herself and Tommy now at this stage.

Could be off in India getting clean (my guess).

the last guy to even refer to her as "Linda two" got a glass though the head!!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I think Debbie's arc is pretty much done tbh. She is a good example of the fallout from organised crime and Love/Hate does try to show how lives and families are ruined by this. It should leave her story at robbing her mother to fund her habit imo. If she does come back into the story, I hope its not in a contrived way.

One thing that caught me as a but silly was when Nidge was delighted when the driver told him the delivery was only 800k so there would be no armed escort....

So if it was over 1m, there would of been an escort and the whole plan would of been ruined?

Seems like a pretty important detail to leave to chance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 246 ✭✭mrbrown69

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    One thing that caught me as a but silly was when Nidge was delighted when the driver told him the delivery was only 800k so there would be no armed escort....

So if it was over 1m, there would of been an escort and the whole plan would of been ruined?

Seems like a pretty important detail to leave to chance

The money would have been turned over without the need for an armed raid, that's why they kidnapped his family....remember the 2nd security man was in on the scam too

mrbrown69 wrote: »
    The money would have been turned over without the need for an armed raid, that's why they kidnapped his family....remember the 2nd security man was in on the scam too

So the armed escort would just of stood and watched as the drivers drove off the route and dropped the money to Nidge?

The paid off driver was probably part of the plan to disable the armed escort

Dempsey wrote: »
    The paid off driver was probably part of the plan to disable the armed escort

Ok i'm not usually one for going on about minor details but...

The paid off driver couldn't even persuade the other fella to hand over he money, I doubt he would of been able to get rid of an armed Garda escort!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

What I found strange about the raid was, the van pulling into the petrol station was not part of the plan yet the car they had planned switching over to seemed to be just around the corner.

I don't mean to be nit picking its a great show

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Left Back on the Bench

dave1982 wrote: »
    What I found strange about the raid was, the van pulling into the petrol station was not part of the plan yet the car they had planned switching over to seemed to be just around the corner.

I don't mean to be nit picking its a great show
    but the petrol station was probably still on the same route so it was done there instead of down the road

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

What was Danos reason for putting the hit in Nidge? I thought Nidge got the all clear when he had Darren killed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

What was Danos reason for putting the hit in Nidge? I thought Nidge got the all clear when he had Darren killed.

Personal.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Yeah he got the all clear from the IRA but Dano still has a axe to grind.Whats being done now is without the IRA's knowledge

Ok i'm not usually one for going on about minor details but...

The paid off driver couldn't even persuade the other fella to hand over he money, I doubt he would of been able to get rid of an armed Garda escort!

Thats what the picture was actually for, (i.e. show that to "them") the paid off driver was there to bang the "**** the job, give them the money" drum with the armed escort.

They didnt know his powers of persuasion were that bad before setting up the job so yea, it would probably not gone well if an armed escort was involved. Their plan was by no means fool proof!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Between the cat being shot and Tommy choking a chicken it was a grim night for animal rights :)