Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Dempsey wrote: »
    Thats what the picture was actually for, (i.e. show that to "them") the paid off driver was there to bang the "**** the job, give them the money" drum with the armed escort.

They didnt know his powers of persuasion were that bad before setting up the job so yea, it would probably not gone well if an armed escort was involved. Their plan was by no means fool proof!

Well ye, I just don't see then how the plan was abandoned when the driver called in the robbery, surely that's the same as there being an armed escort....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Well ye, I just don't see then how the plan was abandoned when the driver called in the robbery, surely that's the same as there being an armed escort....

That paid driver could have done anything to hinder the armed escort to give the gang extra leverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

Oh FFS give it a rest about the armed guard or lack of it, who cares, it's a bloody great drama for RTE on a Sunday night, just enjoy it.

BTW just loving Killian Scott's
    performance, Tommy just gets to you, doesn't he.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Oh FFS give it a rest about the armed guard or lack of it, who cares, it's a bloody great drama for RTE on a Sunday night, just enjoy it.

BTW just loving Robert Sheehans performance, Tommy just gets to you, doesn't he.

Ye you're right, details don't matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

dave1982 wrote: »
    What I found strange about the raid was, the van pulling into the petrol station was not part of the plan yet the car they had planned switching over to seemed to be just around the corner.

I don't mean to be nit picking its a great show

As you'll more than likely see in upcoming episodes, petrol stations have CCTV, the phone call between Nidge and Van Guard 2 will be traced and whoops...there's the next episode blown. John Boy would have aborted, Nidge is too dim and greedy to do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

has any one noticed that when nidge was nearly kidnapped in the last series his jeep was shot up, riddled with bullets yet hes driving this very jeep again in series 4

Insurance fixed it in between seasons :D

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

also theyve been usin the same black mitsubishi lancer since 1st series its been

a special branch car

a pizza delivery driver

one of damos lads cars

and that lad who shot the cat is usin it now,,

Easily explained, due to the recession the special branch copper delivers pizza on the side and does some work for the cause - his young lad is getting in on the act and has animal rights issues. Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,890 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Tommy like a cabbage going back to the house to ask the girl he kidnapped is she ok...That is a stupid story.
    And then he is chocking the chicken on his sofa and his woman comes in and catches him.And he keeps going..WTF...
    As for the kid shooting cats ffs anybody could have reported him.

Yes very poor story line, if he is that cabbaged he shouldn't / wouldn't have been picked to go. I know they used Fran for that line of argument.

Also the calmness of the young girl around Tommy in house was ridiculous. Almost a stockholm syndrome scene.

I like love/hate, I loved love hate, but don't want to hate love/hate. You get the feeling they are going to run out of ideas if they push it too much.

The last hope for another series is a war with fran. That would save it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

The last hope for another series is a war with fran. That would save it.

Yawn. Predictable.

A focus on the cops' perspective, running a tout in the gang say - that would be a good direction for the series to go in. The new cop = Elliot Ness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭sirgockster

For me Tommy is showing child like symptoms because of his beating, Turning up at the house, asking for fizzy orange even his line to Fran, I will punch you back, It's all very child like behaviour, Even the guard saying to Siobhan that he has not been the same since, For her she has been raising 2 kids, As the series goes on more may be revealed.

Nidge had the chance to choose Nadine to come along but he just does not trust anyone outside of his group, So he only really had Tommy to turn to

As for saving the show, We're one episode into series 4, I think you're jumping the gun, We are led to believe the show will get even darker and push the boundaries even more than they have done in this series

A lot of shows on tv are far fetched, What about breaking bad that has just finished,
    What about the scene that blew up gus and he came out doing his tie?

It was great television but we all no it would not happen in real life, You just go with it and see were it leads, If it leads to better television then all the better

• Registered Users Posts: 20,890 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Yawn. Predictable.

A focus on the cops' perspective, running a tout in the gang say - that would be a good direction for the series to go in. The new cop = Elliot Ness?

That has been mentioned, so isin this series, I'm talking next year, I'd say they will go one more.

Is an Elliot Ness tout not all Yawn too.

A good point above is the series always had a perspective, this is now Nidge with Darren gone, this transition will be important, but could be tricky for audience, your asking an audience to shift a well formed allegiance, but to who.

To put it simply, who is good, who is bad, who are we up for:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

To put it simply, who is good, who is bad, who are we up for:confused:

Why not mix it up and keep the audience guessing.

A bad cop?

One of the gangsters turns out to have been working undercover all along?

Stuart Carolan mentioned he wants to create more characters like Darren who has a tortured sole, It just takes time because the more successful the show becomes then the more offers the actors get from abroad and they could end up leaving the show, Every season a major character has been written out, Pretty much because they have bigger jobs to go to and they can't do the show anymore, It takes time to build characters

I'm sure this season we're suppose to feel for Tommy and Siobhan, Is in their suppose to be a black character coming into the show soon? I though I read in the papers about him joining the show, So it will be interesting to see how that develops

Actor Aaron Heffernan is set to become the next heart-throb in Stuart Carolan's gangland series, after joining the cast of the RTE show for its fourth season.

The 23-year-old rising talent will take the mantle from Portlaoise-born Robert Sheehan, whose character Darren was killed off in the climax of season three last December. Heffernan plays an ambitious detective out to bring down kingpin Nidge and his criminal gang.

The Trinity College graduate attended the launch of the Dublin Fringe Festival last night and told the Irish Independent it was a "scary and exciting" experience working with Tom Vaughan-Lawlor and Peter Coonan in his biggest role to date.

"I finished filming three weeks ago and it's a very intense schedule because they have to get so much done in so little time," he said. "They literally have 12 weeks to shoot six episodes, so basically 20 set-ups a day. But it was really cool to watch that and be thrown into the deep end. They're such a well-oiled machine at this stage.

"I was a fan of the show already, much like everyone else in the country, so meeting Tom blew my mind."

Heffernan is one of the founders of the Collapsing Horse theatre company. He joined up with college classmates Jack Gleeson, who has gained widespread recognition as evil King Joffrey in 'Game of Thrones', producer Matt Smith, and writer Eoghan Quinn to set up the company.

Their production 'Distance from the Event' features as part of the 2013 Fringe Festival line-up.

Meanwhile, Sheehan, left, took to the red carpet in Hollywood for the world premiere of 'The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones'. Sheehan (25) wore an eye-catching suit as he posed alongside his co-stars Lily Collins and Jamie Campbell Bower.

We may see the new character in next few episodes, Will be interesting to see how it develops, He looks young enough to go in undercover, If that is the route they take, Should be interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

What was Danos reason for putting the hit in Nidge? I thought Nidge got the all clear when he had Darren killed.

Not from Dano did he get the all clear. He got it from Tony, provided he keeps bringing in guns for the CIRA. Dano still is out for revenge a clip from the new series sees Tony reassure Dano that he will get his revenge on Nidge once Tony has got all he can out of Nidge. So, is Tony's reassurance sincere or will Tony ultimately side with Nidge against Dano (who could become a liability for the CIRA - that young hitman Wayne is sure to commit a very violent act where many innocents die and which will give bad PR for the IRA)? That is what remains to be seen.

Dano's reason for wanting Nidge gone is that Nidge was involved in his father's (pigeon loving rapist Git) death (ironically, Nidge was the one who didn't want this death!). Indirectly, Lizzie too wants Nidge gone as he was perceived to be allied to Darren at the time Darren kills her brother to save Nidge! So, without Nidge, Lizzie's brother would still be alive she feels. Dangerous times ahead for Nidge. If I were Nidge, I would try to turn Tony and the leadership of the CIRA against Dano/Liz/Wayne (make them feel these three are loose cannons).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

dave1982 wrote: »
    Yeah he got the all clear from the IRA but Dano still has a axe to grind.Whats being done now is without the IRA's knowledge

This is why Nidge will probably continue to sell himself to Tony with a campaign of him remaining useful to bring in the guns for the CIRA along with trying to convince him that Dano, Lizzie and Wayne (the cat killer) are all loose cannons and of less use to the CIRA. Indeed, Wayne is probably not even CIRA and been used by two for personal rather than organisational reasons. Tony and Nidge could end up very close allies in the end!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Time for an ad break here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I know at the start of the episode Nidge commented that there would be no dye packs in the boxes of money, but how did they manage this?

Lapin wrote: »
    Time for an ad break here.

Funnily enough i had thought of this one when i seen poor kitty meeting its waterloo

cofy wrote: »
    I know at the start of the episode Nidge commented that there would be no dye packs in the boxes of money, but how did they manage this?

I thought about that too.

Well, apparently they don't use an armed escort on anything under a million, so I wonder if the same is applied to the use of dye?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,695 ✭✭✭brian_t

I thought about that too.

Well, apparently they don't use an armed escort on anything under a million, so I wonder if the same is applied to the use of dye?

Thats a good point but I would have thought that it would be one or the other.

Armed escort for amounts over a million and dye packs for amounts less than a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Yep dye/smoke packs for small amounts. Does any one remember the robbery in Cork were yer man on on a bike and smoke coming out of his backpack?

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Curly head

Anybody else getting fed up with all the talk about love/hate. It's a great show n I love watching it but it's only tv after all!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭dobman88

Curly head wrote: »
    Anybody else getting fed up with all the talk about love/hate. It's a great show n I love watching it but it's only tv after all!!

Nope, just you I'd say :D

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭RustySpoon

I'd love to read some outsider opinions on it, are there any British etc forums where it's discussed much?

I'm curious how people who aren't familiar with the places and types in the show feel about it.

I have given it to a few aussie mates, who really enjoy it once they get the accent. Got an email from one today telling me it had started again and asking did I have the latest episode downloaded.

One or two are surprised at the grittyness of the place and are a bit confused about the whole IRA storyline (and the dynamic of fear behind it).

• Registered Users Posts: 39,332 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

RustySpoon wrote: »
    I have given it to a few aussie mates, who really enjoy it once they get the accent. Got an email from one today telling me it had started again and asking did I have the latest episode downloaded.

One or two are surprised at the grittyness of the place and are a bit confused about the whole IRA storyline (and the dynamic of fear behind it).
    The first 3 series have aired at least twice this year on an Australia TV. So presumable its got a few fans out here.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭RustySpoon

Mellor wrote: »
    The first 3 series have aired at least twice this year on an Australia TV. So presumable its got a few fans out here.

hmmn, didn't know that. I avoid watching the TV due to amount of ad breaks and normally terrible programs.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

RustySpoon wrote: »
    hmmn, didn't know that. I avoid watching the TV due to amount of ad breaks and normally terrible programs.
    +1 for Terrible aussie tv.

brian_t wrote: »
    Thats a good point but I would have thought that it would be one or the other.

Armed escort for amounts over a million and dye packs for amounts less than a million.

Maybe the inside man (gunshot security man) arranged for there to be no dye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

toodleytoo wrote: »
    +1 for Terrible aussie tv.

Underbelly is fantastic, one of the best crime dramas in years, plus it's based on fact.