Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

What is that beer they all seem to drink from the bottle? Clancy's? Is it a real beer or a made-up one?

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭KeanSeenan

Found some scenes to be quite funny this week. The one when the hospital door opens and there's screaming and then it goes quiet and cuts to Nidge saying 'it's mad how they come out naked and you put clothes on them'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    What is that beer they all seem to drink from the bottle? Clancy's? Is it a real beer or a made-up one?

Not made up at all.. I've been known to head down to the off license on my hoverboard, grab a six pack of Clancy's, and head over to Shrek and Captain America's pad for a night's drinking :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Its looking like johnboy will get wacked next week i assume by nidge with approval by fran & the other gang members ?? But then again wasent expecting frans woman to kill her self so we wont know till next sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

realies wrote: »
    Its looking like johnboy will get wacked next week i assume by nidge with approval by fran & the other gang members ?? But then again wasent expecting frans woman to kill her self so we wont know till next sunday.

i hope not, would like this to keep going beyond this series, one of the best things on RTE in ages.

so many funny bits in it last night.... john boy(nidge weasel, nidge weasel and sons)..haha.

nidge after he runs into the hospital to trish.."dya need anything..im fcuking starving, havent eatin all day" classic.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭rod flanders

The whole thing looks like its shot around Knocklyon or Castleknock, not places you would find many tough gangsters

The end of the first series Darren got shot leaving Mortons pub on the Firhouse Road which is around Knocklyon but apart from that most of it is shot in D8 & D12.

CALLING ALL IRELAND WITH A MESSAGE FROM SOMEONE WHO ACTUALLY IS FROM A WORKING CLASS AREA IN DUBLIN AND HAS KNOWN SOME SERIOUS SCUMBAGS IN MY TIME

This attempt by the D4 based RTE types to portray a realistic 'gritty' gangland working class Dublin, really is pants.

Nobody from working class Dublin talks like they do on love/hate

Nobody from working class Dublin dresses like they do on love/hate

No criminals/scumbags act like they do on love/hate

The whole thing looks like its shot around Knocklyon or Castleknock, not places you would find many tough gangsters

Id imagine if it were filmed round the likes of the Inner City or Finglas the 'tough guy' gangster actors of this show would get eaten alive

And I don't know many gangsters who look like lead character of Love/Hate, with his indie band haircut, Brown Thomas getup and stick thin skeletal figure.

Not a nike tracksuit, one back and sides haircut in sight

I'm afraid for me its just hate instead of love/hate

Again RTE and the Irish film industry fail in attempting to capture working class Dublin

I have seen and do see loads of Blokes dressing really well who are criminals,

Last night I identified Ballyfermot/st michael's estate/Bluebell/tallaght/cork street ?

Most of the people seen on love/hate are in the Top structures of the gang and would be dressed and more well of than then lower tracksuit types you see around.
    And imo there doing a good job in there portrayal of gangland in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Did he just kill a swan or was I dreaming? :eek:

Wasn't the swan dying or injured and he put it out of its misery ?

Think he took his rejection from darren's sister on the swan.

Shush you, I'm looking for the good in things !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

The only non-realistic issue for me is the lack of hard work done by most of the guys. From what I know of that world, you don't get any income when you sit around on your ass partying. You only get income with a fairly constant level of low-level activity, whether it is selling or moving the drugs, or extortion or loansharking or whatever. The Sopranos was great for showing how the guys always had a few irons in the fire going at any one time. Love/Hate seems to gloss over this a bit.
    Shane10 wrote: »

nidge after he runs into the hospital to trish.."dya need anything..im fcuking starving, havent eatin all day" classic.:D

Brilliant, and then he wolfs down her toast after the birth too. The scene with him running into the hospital carrying the bags and cases was just a little bit too slapstick for me, but the rest was excellent.
    Lapin wrote: »
    "Couldn't think of a name for him so I named him after myself"

F'n brilliant line. :D
    Yeah, those little quiet lines can be the best ones. The actor who plays Aido is a distant relation, which made it all the more funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,385 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wasnt Mary with Tommy last season what happened with them?

The only non-realistic issue for me is the lack of hard work done by most of the guys. From what I know of that world, you don't get any income when you sit around on your ass partying. You only get income with a fairly constant level of low-level activity, whether it is selling or moving the drugs, or extortion or loansharking or whatever. The Sopranos was great for showing how the guys always had a few irons in the fire going at any one time. Love/Hate seems to gloss over this a bit.

Brilliant, and then he wolfs down her toast after the birth too. The scene with him running into the hospital carrying the bags and cases was just a little bit too slapstick for me, but the rest was excellent.

Yeah, those little quiet lines can be the best ones. The actor who plays Aido is a distant relation, which made it all the more funny.

there was a brilliant one was it 2 weeks ago where john boy and nidge were there with stumpy grilling him on been a rat.."dya know what they do to rats in mexico? they cut the heads off them. there was this one rat last week where they cut his head off, then they cut of face of the head skin and all. then they sewed the face onto a football so his kids could play with it...would you know anytin about that? brilliant :D

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭MikeyCdublin

Hi guys could anyone tell me where John Boy's apartment is?? I noticed Croke Park in the background of a scene in last weeks episode and its just been annoying me.
    Thanks in advance.:D

Think it's called distillery road it's in ballybough

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Hopefully at the end of season 2, model boy and Ruth Negga are disposed of - they don't look like they belong and contribute nothing to the plot. The opportunity is there with JohnBoy becoming increasingly paranoid.
    Sets up season 3 with a real air of reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Ainekav

I wasn't going to but I will......
    1) At John boys level he would not socialise with the "workers", be out drinking in the same pubs as them etc.
    2) The boys at that level are way to hands on with the drugs, that would not happen in real life, there would be more of the "Aido" types to do it. The likes of Nidge & Tommy are way too wide to be any where near them. Paying a donkey is a lot less expensive than a prison sentence.
    3) No one in this day and age wakes up one one morning and says to them selves dya know what, think i'll start selling the coke. €300 grand for 50kgs to start with. How hard can it be? Fran had no customer base, finding customers of that end of the scale, in todays already over supplied market would be lunacy. Maybe the writers are trying to show he is thick? Or not? I don't know.

Thats my only complaints so far. Oh yeah and in real gangland Darren would be chewed up and spat out in ten seconds. Sorry girls :)

I wouldn't know much about the goings-on in gangland dublin now, but I would agree with ya about Darren. The eyes are just too soft...

Ps. You sound like you know an awwwwwwwwwful lot about this kind of thing

Are u in the game yourself??? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Oh yeah one more....The cut of them lads going into a cheap hotel with a few gym bags. Doesn't take sherlock to cop that one. Gards dont need a warrant to check out a hotel. Was a really stupid move.
    Stupid move but was clearly based on the incident which sparked the crumlin/drimnagh feud. That occurred in the holiday inn on pearse st

Oh yeah one more....The cut of them lads going into a cheap hotel with a few gym bags. Doesn't take sherlock to cop that one. Gards dont need a warrant to check out a hotel. Was a really stupid move.

Not really, the gardai wouldn't be keeping an eye on the hotel and it was going grand until they got messed up. Where would you do it, your own house or an address that could be connected to you?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Hopefully at the end of season 2, model boy and Ruth Negga are disposed of - they don't look like they belong and contribute nothing to the plot. The opportunity is there with JohnBoy becoming increasingly paranoid.

Nooooooooooooooooooooo - keep Ruth - amazing eyes...

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

the part when he killed the swan wasnt needed

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭THENORTHSIDER

Darren takes of his dog tags during the sex scene and all of 2 seconds later they are back on him again:confused:

He is a quick mover, No messing with our darren :rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Ruth Negga was naked and you were looking at dog tags? Congratulations

longshanks wrote: »
    Ruth Negga was naked and you were looking at DARRENS dog tags? Congratulations

:D;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,602 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

in real gangland Darren would be chewed up and spat out in ten seconds. Sorry girls :)

I'd sleep with one eye open from now on,if I was you- saying that about our Darren.:eek:

.......you might be right,though.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Wasnt Mary with Tommy last season what happened with them?

Mary was with Tommy alright last season. They were just about to go public but Siobhan made a massive play for Tommy, and sure he could not help himself:p:p. Fair play to our Tommy he kept them both happy for a while.
    At Nidge s wedding Tommy with Mary, Mary asked him to get her fags, and Tommy ended up in leaba with Siobhan. To the best of my knowledge that was the end of Tommy and Mary

Lisha wrote: »
    Mary was with Tommy alright last season. They were just about to go public but Siobhan made a massive play for Tommy, and sure he could not help himself:p:p. Fair play to our Tommy he kept them both happy for a while.
    At Nidge s wedding Tommy with Mary, Mary asked him to get her fags, and Tommy ended up in leaba with Siobhan. To the best of my knowledge that was the end of Tommy and Mary

Tis some dilemma to have in fairness. Mary and Siobhan. oooh yeah....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭bbbbb

KeanSeenan wrote: »
    Found some scenes to be quite funny this week. The one when the hospital door opens and there's screaming and then it goes quiet and cuts to Nidge saying 'it's mad how they come out naked and you put clothes on them'.

Was funny all right.
    I found the side story with Warren (?, the young son), the santa visit, and then with the commotion with the birth, him being dropped off at the grans but Nidge forgot the santa presents.

So basically the 5yr old does a pee on Santa, and then gets no presents on Christmas day!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭THENORTHSIDER

longshanks wrote: »
    Ruth Negga was naked and you were looking at dog tags? Congratulations

If a quick look at a naked body on tv does it for ya:eek::eek: , fair play but i prefer to see a naked body in the flesh and for lot longer but everyone to there own