Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭gazzer

Just caught up with the latest episode. Really enjoyed it, this season is great. Have to say though that Darren is not needed in this show at all. He is totally out of place in it (as is he annoying girlfriend). I actually fast forwarded any scenes with just those 2 in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I think the Darren character has a place, it's to show that the 'glamour' can suck some people into the life of crime, who once find themselves in there they can't hack it but can't just leave and just get sucked in deeper and deeper and you see the conflict they have with themselves and the life they chose as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

twincamman wrote: »
    the part when he killed the swan wasnt needed

It could have just been to show that Luke is unhinged.

Its common for people who go on to hurt people to start by hurting animals.
    Also, he said to Darren that he was "Buzzin" after Stumpy's shooting so he's obviously going to try and kill someone at some stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

bbbbb wrote: »
    Was funny all right.
    I found the side story with Warren (?, the young son), the santa visit, and then with the commotion with the birth, him being dropped off at the grans but Nidge forgot the santa presents.

So basically the 5yr old does a pee on Santa, and then gets no presents on Christmas day!!! :D

I think this is a very interesting subplot. It shows how kids can be affected by their home life. Obviously the kid is insecure.

Luke, God help him, shows the damage caused by a lifetime of no love at all.
    I could see Luke killing Darren if he thought Darren was keeping him from Mary. Poor Luke has no place in the world.

I am anti drugs, so apologies to any one who is not interested by the following statements.
    Drugs ruin lives. Some people can dabble in drugs and escape un harmed. In my opinion they are the exception not the rule.
    Love/hate, shows many examples of this:
    Siobhan being forced into acting as a money mule .
    debbie debasing herself for any fix going
    THe joy rider guy, for a 1500euro debt he was asked to be a driver in a shooting. His own stupidity got him killed.
    Even Darren caught up in a money spiral that he cant break

Scum bags like Aido and Johnboy and Fran use people's greed to get rich.
    They dont care that Siobhans baby could grow up motherless if she gets caught. Everyone is disposable bar money.

I would love it love/hate would prevent any kid out of drug scene. The reality is shocking harsh out there for some people.
    But the big money men keep on rolling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

No one in this day and age wakes up one one morning and says to them selves dya know what, think i'll start selling the coke. €300 grand for 50kgs to start with. How hard can it be? Fran had no customer base, finding customers of that end of the scale, in todays already over supplied market would be lunacy. Maybe the writers are trying to show he is thick? Or not? I don't know.

Good insights - however, regarding Fran, wouldnt he have been able to launch the coke business on the back of his established counterfiet ciggie operation, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

She wouldnt go to jail, the money would just be forfeit to the state unless she can account for it & explain why she had it.

Fair enough, but I suppose the point Im trying to make is that she is now caught up in the cos of Tommy. Neither of them can stand up to Johnboy, and prob if he told her to carry drugs next week she d have no option either.
    Some one I know releation is caught up in a real life mess like this so I suppose I was just posting while mixing reality with fiction.
    I have heard people say that love/hate is too hard to watch as they know of similar real life situations. Complete disregard for human life can be hard to watch sometimes. But I also agree that it was not 100% realistic either, e.g. John boy would never socialise with the ground workers.

Anyway no more sermonising from me (i promise).

I cant wait for next weeks show, I think love/hate is the best thing to come out of RTE in years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Lisha wrote: »
    But I also agree that it was not 100% realistic either, e.g. John boy would never socialise with the ground workers.

Isn't there are few photos floating around of John Gilligan holidaying with 'his gang' (Ward, Meehan, Holland etc)?

And my definitive source for how gangs work - Goodfellas - clearly showed how they all socialised together and holidayed together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Lisha wrote: »
    But I also agree that it was not 100% realistic either, e.g. John boy would never socialise with the ground workers.

Isn't there are few photos floating around of John Gilligan holidaying with 'his gang' (Ward, Meehan, Holland etc)?

And my definitive source for how gangs work - Goodfellas - clearly showed how they all socialised together and holidayed together.
    Most of the modern gangs have mambers that come from the same area, grew up together, got into trouble together and graduated into dealing together so makes sense they would still socialize together. Added to that the members are pretty young

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I feel a bit sorry for Nidge as well, when he was trying to have a bit of a moan about Trish and the baby, JohnBoy just told him to shut up and he had no interest hearing it.

I suppose in a lot of ways you could look at it as what happens when people get caught up in their careers - family suffer, relationships suffer, health suffers etc.

Agree with the poster who said Luke could whack Darren if he gets in the way of his obsession with Mary.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,384 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is the season finale this week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is the season finale this week?

No is the penultimate episode this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

CALLING ALL IRELAND WITH A MESSAGE FROM SOMEONE WHO ACTUALLY IS FROM A WORKING CLASS AREA IN DUBLIN AND HAS KNOWN SOME SERIOUS SCUMBAGS IN MY TIME

This attempt by the D4 based RTE types to portray a realistic 'gritty' gangland working class Dublin, really is pants.......................

"Pants" - Erm, D4 heads up lads!.

Ok, lets see. Get rid of Darren and John Boy - they're brutal.

Last Sundays episode was crap mostly, mainly because of these two muppets.

While there is going to be a certain bit of productive creativity in the show no doubt, the message is pretty powerful. This gangland situation is a cold harsh reality in Ireland, and love/hate captures this scenery really well imo.

Similar to the way the public need to be aware of diseases, conditions and suicide , so should they be made aware of the criminal underworld and what goes on if for anything to make them realise how volatile, grim and unpredictable a life of crime is.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 redeye101

The whole thing looks like its shot around Knocklyon or Castleknock, not places you would find many tough gangsters

The end of the first series Darren got shot leaving Mortons pub on the Firhouse Road which is around Knocklyon but apart from that most of it is shot in D8 & D12.

Nidge's house is in an estate near the Castleknock Gate of Phoenix Park called Chesterfield. Looking at last weeks episode a lot of it was Rathmines and Drumcondra. AFAIK the scenes with Nidge's house is the only part filmed around Castleknock

• Registered Users Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

How many episodes in total are there in season 2?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

How many episodes in total are there in season 2?

6....no.5 is airing on 4th December.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Just watching the repeat...

Why was Nidge watching the Twin Towers after the planes hit.. Thought this was a bizarre, distracting thing to throw in

Also, dont think there is great chemistry between Gillen and his "daughter"..

Other than that .. Fantastic..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Just crabbed the repeat there, really good episode.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Just watched it again myself.

Still don't get that swan killing scene. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Lapin wrote: »

killing beauty

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Wayne Scales

Maybe the next episode will shed some light on that scene;)

Just watched it again myself. Still don't get that swan killing scene. :confused:

Probably would have made more sense if he'd shagged the swan.. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

He doesnt handle rejection very well. Its a sign that the chap is unhinged.

Dempsey wrote: »
    He doesnt handle rejection very well. Its a sign that the chap is unhinged.

Darren will wish he let Fran's dogs eat him id say

• Registered Users Posts: 10,414 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Probably jealous that the swan had a partner while he didnt.
    Thought it wasnt necessary though.
    Better than last season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭julyjane

Probably jealous that the swan had a partner while he didnt.
    I thought that too, swans mate for life AFAIK so the surviving swan would end up a loner like him

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

julyjane wrote: »
    I thought that too, swans mate for life AFAIK so the surviving swan would end up a loner like him

That's how I saw it too but maybe it's just a OTT was of showing he's not right in the head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Why was Nidge watching the Twin Towers after the planes hit.. Thought this was a bizarre, distracting thing to throw in

I really liked that scene. It sorta gave an insight into Nidge's don'tgiveafúckness that he'd find that an entertaining video to watch.
    I think Nidge is by far the best realised character in it. I love how he's really polite and charming in most normal public settings, kinda selfish with the missus, then otherwise a complete and other bastardo.

Does anyone else think the character of Fran was meant to be a traveller then they backed away from it? Or is actually meant to be one?

Would have been some start to the show if Johnboy had Enda whacked.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Bring on the real state of the nation.